View Full Version : Katy French

Pages : 1 [2] 3

06/12/2007, 2:25 PM
Its newsworthy, noby, and is all over the papers and tv news. Therefore I opened a thread on it. Because its topical. Thats what forums are for. If you don't want to participate in it, then don't. Simple really. All I said was that I hoped there wouldn't be a lot of mindless character assassination of the girl because of it. Simple enough for you?

anto1208
06/12/2007, 2:40 PM
Just to point out: idle speculation on either case isn't something I'm 'ok' with, but is inevitable, so the point of (the beginning of) this thread still confuses me.

Same could be said for most threads here :D

anto1208
06/12/2007, 3:34 PM
But, my point is, like it or not, the story consists of two sides: (a)wishing the girl well, and (b)speculating on the cause. Starting a thread stating that we should only focus on (a) and not (b) was always going to raise eyebrows, and my participation on the thread is only to agree with others who questioned the merits of such a thread.

I'd dissagree i havent seen anything to suggest drugs where involved and it allways makes me uncomfortable when people throw out the "thats the drugs" line.

A mate of mine died this time last year from sudden adult death syndrome and i heard that line quite a bit because he was only 27.He never touched any drugs was really fit. It was such a shame that he was labelled by people that never knew him nor any of the facts behind his death.

All im saying is we dont know what happened her so shouldnt be making any asumptions.And usually the people that say that was drugs say it in such a way that they imply the person then deserves it for messing with drugs.

06/12/2007, 5:28 PM
I've just heard some bad news on this.

Can't get confirmation online so have edited post.

MojoPin
06/12/2007, 5:43 PM
ah ya cant say that... heres to hoping she doesnt join the 'so farewell then' thread

:(:(:confused:

Aberdonian Stu
06/12/2007, 6:23 PM
Sky News has just reported that she has died.

michaelguineys
06/12/2007, 6:23 PM
yes was on sky news and is on www.rte.ie
She passed away this evening.
RIP

MojoPin
06/12/2007, 6:31 PM
poor girl

rest in peace both katy and kevin

Ringo
06/12/2007, 6:43 PM
Very sad news. She did a shop opening for the company i work for earlier in the year. She was very nice, no airs and graces & did a good job. rip

06/12/2007, 6:47 PM
Shocking stuff, RIP:(

06/12/2007, 11:17 PM
tragic.

RIP.

cheifo
06/12/2007, 11:18 PM
R.I.P.

07/12/2007, 8:09 AM
RIP Katy.

anto1208
07/12/2007, 8:44 AM
Very sad for the families of both these kids .

07/12/2007, 11:28 AM
Jaysis. Only last weekend was she all over the papers talkin about her birthday party. And she passes away a week later. Tragic stuff altogether. R.I.P.

citizenerased
07/12/2007, 12:47 PM
very sad altogether..rip

Babysis
07/12/2007, 12:49 PM
Regardless of the cause its a tragic waste of two young lives. Its very sad.

Wolfie
07/12/2007, 12:51 PM
Very sad - R.I.P

Ireland4ever
07/12/2007, 1:43 PM
A tragic story....RIP

jmurphyc
07/12/2007, 1:55 PM
She was so young. Tragic. R.I.P.

07/12/2007, 2:12 PM
As pathetic as this thread is, it must be tough on her parents, especially at this time of year.

RIP.

6yardpunisha
07/12/2007, 2:23 PM
As pathetic as this thread is, it must be tough on her parents at this time of year.

RIP.

I think it would be tough on the parents anytime of the year.

RIP

07/12/2007, 2:32 PM
I think it would be tough on the parents anytime of the year.

RIP

Post edited for the feeble minded among us. ;)

I meant the whole christmas vibe.

You do have christmas, right??

6yardpunisha
07/12/2007, 3:15 PM
Post edited for the feeble minded among us. ;)

I meant the whole christmas vibe.

You do have christmas, right??

not the right thread to be starting an argument on

ramsfan
07/12/2007, 5:27 PM
what a waste of life, if it was drugs then hopefully it may make some people stand up and take notice and hopefully save someone else:(

07/12/2007, 7:20 PM
what a waste of life, if it was drugs then hopefully it may make some people stand up and take notice and hopefully save someone else:(
We say that and we hope that but nothing ever changes. People have the ability to say yes or no

07/12/2007, 9:15 PM
i spose the more ye see someone in the media the closer ye get to someone and the more of a shock it is. Poor family, if it is what people expect, after what she had written herself its going to make it even harder on the family.

Tragic stuff. RIP

07/12/2007, 9:32 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1207/frenchk.html

07/12/2007, 9:38 PM
ya, its not even ironic now. the poor family.

07/12/2007, 11:16 PM
was really hoping this was not the case, but it really angers me that 2 people have lost their lives in this way. Just so selfish, do they not think how their actions can affect their families:(
very sad, hope it puts young people off, but probably not :mad:

08/12/2007, 9:09 AM
was really hoping this was not the case, but it really angers me that 2 people have lost their lives in this way. Just so selfish, do they not think how their actions can affect their families:(

I agree that it's very sad GT to see two young people who should've had long lives ahead of them heading for the grave -but the selfish angle is no worse than with any other substance abuse. You only have to read the "Your drunk stories" thread here to see any number of instances where individuals (myself included) narrowly avoided getting a toe-tag.

People tend to think they're bullet-proof on pretty much any drug.

08/12/2007, 12:21 PM
Just so selfish, do they not think how their actions can affect their families:(
I don't think it's selfish. It's down to the person themselves to do the drugs and they're hardly thinking about their families at the time.

I just heard on the radio that the second Waterford guy died. It's very sad that these three people have died in such circumstances. I was already put off cocaine by a report in IT a while back, this just reinforces it.

I'll find it interesting to see how the tabloids portray these three deaths over the next few days. Will they publicly criticise Katy French's drug use and vilify her, like they did to Kate Moss? Or will they go with an approach that suggests "she didn't know what she was doing"?

And how will they portray the two Waterford lads? Will they get as much press as Katy French?

The photos of George Best on his deathbed hasn't put anyone off drink abuse, so I doubt this episode will put anymore people off cocaine.

Imo, what should be done is to hold up these three cases as examples that anyone in any economic situation can be affected by this drug and that the risks are equal for everyone.

michaelguineys
08/12/2007, 12:37 PM
was really hoping this was not the case, but it really angers me that 2 people have lost their lives in this way. :mad:
Make that 3

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1208/waterford.html

Tragic

kingdom hoop
08/12/2007, 4:23 PM
Every line has a grey cloud.

Excuse the jumbled cliché, it just neatly captures my sentiments; that the silver lining to this cloud is that the media publicity WILL have an affect on the attitudes of some of the takers of the extortionately priced, and extremely unhealthy drug (vis-a-vis its bedfellow ecstasy for eg) that is cocaine. It's very easy to become addicted to coke and because it doesn't alter one's consciousness all that much consumers don't think it could be doing them much harm. Similarly, the day after is a breeze compared to a proper alcohol hangover so in some cases people may look at it as actually being good for them!

More importantly for me though is that the media onslaught should provide a wake-up call to analyse the broader problem of Ireland's addictions generally, with emphasis on the over-indulgence of alcohol, a significant contributory factor in so many deaths, and bad health generally.

I think it's somewhat disingenuous of people to be vitriolic towards people who take drugs when they themselves may have a dependence on alcohol. It's one and the same issue for the most part; relying on substances to fill some self-imagined void. Moderation is acceptable, excess isn't. Education is key in my opinion. For example, the Herald reported that she had taken a mix of pills and coke. If she did then the chances of death are dramatically increased. I don't think many people realise the dangers of poly-drug use. Unfortunately, our Minister for Drugs (something Carey?) seems like a retard, an eyes-to-heaven sort from the 'well whad'ya expect kids, drugs kill' school of thought. People will always take drugs, educate them on how they work and how they may be bad for you, ie respect people, then you'll begin to see improvements. Being snotty and just castigating people is useless. Just good parenting really isn't it?! :)

ramsfan
09/12/2007, 5:35 PM
what a post extremely well written, dead right in all you say:)

gilberto_eire
09/12/2007, 5:39 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kh48CcSXzIM

right!!!!!:confused:

09/12/2007, 6:05 PM
its dave chapelle, the american comedian.

Rick James used to use coke as the reaosn behind some of his strange behaviour!

anto1208
10/12/2007, 8:44 AM
Every line has a grey cloud.

Excuse the jumbled cliché, it just neatly captures my sentiments; that the silver lining to this cloud is that the media publicity WILL have an affect on the attitudes of some of the takers of the extortionately priced, and extremely unhealthy drug (vis-a-vis its bedfellow ecstasy for eg) that is cocaine. It's very easy to become addicted to coke and because it doesn't alter one's consciousness all that much consumers don't think it could be doing them much harm. Similarly, the day after is a breeze compared to a proper alcohol hangover so in some cases people may look at it as actually being good for them!

Id say for every 1000 people taking coke this media coverage might make 1 stop for good 3 or 4 stop for a weekend or so (untill they have a few pints).

The rest will pile out the excuses to themselves to make it ok. At the weekend i heard

the mixing drugs excuse ( they took coke pills speed etc)
The they where up for days thursday night friday sat sun .
Even redbull got blamed.

The problem is people that take drugs just dont believe what the goverment tell them why ? because its normaly a load of bull. 1500 people die from lung cancer each year that figure rises to nearly 5,000 with other smoking related deaths , its the same for deaths from drink. thousands die each year from legal doctor prescibed drugs. So a goverment that profits from selling these drugs, tell you not to take the illegal ones that they dont make any money out of its very hard to believe them.

These kind of deaths are totally avoidable through eductation but the goverment still take the "drugs are bad , dont do drugs " approach

Edit :

Just been on the news that there are 2 more guys in hospital in critical condition from coke.

10/12/2007, 10:05 AM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1210/midlands.html

probably should be split but didnt want to start another thread. I said it earlier, but if this is true, there must be some dodgy coke going about at home....

ramsfan
10/12/2007, 12:40 PM
its being cut with rat poison and horse tranquiliser ketamine, in all fairness you would go out to the shed at home or the traps at work and sniff the poison , so why in hell would you pay for it and snort it up your nose , fools

anto1208
10/12/2007, 1:03 PM
All coke in ireland is cut you will never get "pure" coke the amount of coke in what people are buying is between 7 and 45%, the rest could be anything.

10/12/2007, 1:20 PM
All coke in ireland is cut you will never get "pure" coke the amount of coke in what people are buying is between 7 and 45%, the rest could be anything.

Other drugs in recent years were cut with strychnine and rat poison. What amazes me is some people are sceptical about the pharmaceutical industry, and last weeks programme Prime Time Investigates would give some credence to that. However, they have no problem trusting a Columbian drug dealer......

anto1208
10/12/2007, 1:51 PM
Other drugs in recent years were cut with strychnine and rat poison. What amazes me is some people are sceptical about the pharmaceutical industry, and last weeks programme Prime Time Investigates would give some credence to that. However, they have no problem trusting a Columbian drug dealer......

They have no option !

stiofain
10/12/2007, 2:19 PM

True. I'm just about to finish a placement at a Substance Misuse service here in England and the stories i've heard about what local dealers have used to 'bulk' up cocaine, herion etc would make your eyes water.
I know its stating the blatantly obvious, but these dealers are unscrupulous beyond belief. If anything, it makes me feel more sorry for people who are so desperate they feel the need to put this rubbish into thier bodies.

RIP Katy French

kingdom hoop
10/12/2007, 7:10 PM
Id say for every 1000 people taking coke this media coverage might make 1 stop for good 3 or 4 stop for a weekend or so (untill they have a few pints).

Obviously it's very much conjectural, but I think the effect may be a little more profound.

The Rubicon to be crossed in relation to addictions is acknowledging that there actually is a problem. It usually takes something stark for people to appreciate their problems. A spate of highly publicised drug-related deaths should be such a spur in this case. People are ripe for manipulation through the media, hopefully this will be one of the rare times something good can come out of such gullibility.

Billsthoughts
11/12/2007, 8:28 AM
Just like there are still crime gangs long after the Veronica Guerin murder so there will still be cocaine abuse after Katy Frenchs death.

BaZmO*
11/12/2007, 9:33 AM
The Rubicon to be crossed in relation to addictions is acknowledging that there actually is a problem. It usually takes something stark for people to appreciate their problems. A spate of highly publicised drug-related deaths should be such a spur in this case. People are ripe for manipulation through the media, hopefully this will be one of the rare times something good can come out of such gullibility.
Nothing will change. We've had all this media hysteria before after the death of Lea Betts after taking E in 1995. There'll be the usual fist shaking and outpour of outrage from the press coupled with initiative after initiative from the government but it'll pass.

Found it interesting that Bertie sent a representative to Katy French's funeral. I wonder will he send one to Kevin Doyle or John Grey's funeral.

citizenerased
11/12/2007, 9:34 AM
Nothing will come of it...Wouldnt mind but the biggest joke is, that about 20 times more people die from drink related deaths per year, and you dont see people goin into a frenzy about that. Aswell as that 55 homeless people died on the street in 2007, nothing being done about that either...

They are going over board on the Katy French thing aswell which is very annoying. 9 pages in the Irish Independent about it yesterday..9 pages.... And saying she was 'Irelands Princess Diana'...it was sad but we have to get a grip, at the end of the day she was a coked up glamour model ffs

11/12/2007, 9:41 AM
Found it interesting that Bertie sent a representative to Katy French's funeral. I wonder will he send one to Kevin Doyle or John Grey's funeral.

I didnt want to say it, but ya exactly.

11/12/2007, 10:17 AM
I hear today 24-year-old from Bray died of a suspected drug overdose and there was the two lads in the Midlands at the weekend just shows that no matter how much hype and coverage Katy French is given, drugs will still be done.