View Full Version : Hugely Over rated/Under rated Players
gilberto_eire
03/12/2007, 1:13 AM
why has nobody said wayne rooney!!.... just because he's english theres so much hype about him and your made to think he's a world class player.
imagine he picked ireland over england, you wouldnt hear a peep about him!
over-rated= Rooney, Heinze, Giggs, Figo, shevchenko, Crespo,
under-rated= Duff, Fabregas, Vidic, Torress, Given,
hard to think of players off the top of your head..... but as a man united fan i can name there players more seeing as i watch them a lot!
03/12/2007, 1:36 AM
over-rated= Rooney, Heinze, Giggs, Figo, shevchenko, Crespo,
under-rated= Duff, Fabregas, Vidic, Torress, Given,
hard to think of players off the top of your head..... but as a man united fan i can name there players more seeing as i watch them a lot!
Shevchenko.....I don't think he's overrated, he's had a bad spell at Chelsea, not helped by Mourinho not really wanting him, but he is a fantastic striker. Celesea is the only place he hasn't scored lots of goals at a high strike rate (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andriy_Shevchenko)
Fabregas....most people seem to consider him on of the best midfielders in the world, so I don't think he's underrated. He is correctly rated very, very highly.
03/12/2007, 10:02 AM
Oh yeah, Torres is massively over rated. in fact I don'rt know how anyone can think he's inderrated given the amnount of hype about him
Rooney is pretty over-rated in my opinion. He really hasn't been that brilliant this year. Good, but not earth-shattering. Lampard too, though I think a lot of people manage to see past the hype, as shown in this thread. Gerrard is not so much over-rated as much as too much is expected of him when he plays for England. He can't carry England the way he does Liverpool because international football is different to the Premiership.
Agree with Dodge on Torres too, though his recent performances are starting to justify the huge transfer fee and hype.
Under-rated players would be David Bentley (only now is he getting the credit he deserves), Obafemi Martins (what an athlete) and Craig Bellamy. I know I'll get stick for the latter, but he carried Newcastle for two years while he was there, and is in my opinion one of the best players in the Premiership when he's on top of his game.
03/12/2007, 3:10 PM
Nemanja Vidic is the most under-rated central defender in the Premiership
Serbia-Montenegro ( with Vidic) best defence in the Qualifiers for WC 2006
Serbia-Montenegro (without Vidic) worst defence in the Finals Tournament.( He was suspended for the first group game injured for the other two. Named in the squad never kicked a ball in anger at the World Cup)
Man United ( with Vidic) League Champions 2006/07
Man United ( without Vidic) lost to Bolton away last week.
Serbia ( with Vidic) Got within two games of qualifying for Euro 2008
Serbia (without Vidic) gave away two soft goals only drew with Poland and were eliminated.
I think that proves the point. Sometimes you have to take the player out of the team to see just how sh1t they are without him.
03/12/2007, 10:22 PM
He was in the team of the year last year and his partnership with Ferdinand is regarded as the best in the Premiership.
03/12/2007, 10:58 PM
More on a global scale i think he means.
Outside the England people still talk about Terry being the best centre half when clearly Vidic is. He showed tonight vs Fulham why he is, he won every ball that came his way.
gilberto_eire
04/12/2007, 1:42 AM
Shevchenko.....I don't think he's overrated, he's had a bad spell at Chelsea, not helped by Mourinho not really wanting him, but he is a fantastic striker. Celesea is the only place he hasn't scored lots of goals at a high strike rate (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andriy_Shevchenko)
Fabregas....most people seem to consider him on of the best midfielders in the world, so I don't think he's underrated. He is correctly rated very, very highly.
actually Fabregas is under-rated his ommison from the ''FIFA 50'' or whatever it was a month or two ago prove this, there was a thread on it here thats where i saw it, also most wouldnt say he is ''World-Class'' tbh(although he is)
he is is some circles but overall he could be called under-rated id say there are many fans in spain,germany etc... who wouldnt know who is he...
04/12/2007, 1:47 AM
actually Fabregas is under-rated his ommison from the ''FIFA 50'' or whatever it was a month or two ago prove this, there was a thread on it here thats where i saw it
Fair enough, I didn't see that thread. Clearly the people at FIFA are not as clued-in as the gurus on foot.ie.:)
Although I'm pretty sure people in Spain know who he is. Particularly those at the Barcelona academy!
actually Fabregas is under-rated his ommison from the ''FIFA 50'' or whatever it was a month or two ago prove this, there was a thread on it here thats where i saw it, also most wouldnt say he is ''World-Class'' tbh(although he is)
he is is some circles but overall he could be called under-rated id say there are many fans in spain,
everyone I know has him in the top 5 players in the world, and you better believe the good people of Spain know who's played central midfield for their country the last 10 games or so.
Fairly thick of you to think that German's dont watch English football too
04/12/2007, 10:20 AM
It won't be long before Fabregas has a dip in form and then people start saying he's overrated. Then you can say he's underrated. ;) The same goes for Messi.
Ceirtlis
04/12/2007, 12:16 PM
Some people are including players because they play for clubs not in the champions league ala Arteta, Cahill, Elano .They are all very much rated in my opinion. Personaly i think Shay Given is overrated in Ireland and underated in England. He has always been a colosuss for Ireland but i dont think he is as good for Newcastle. Aidan McGeady polarises opinion some people think he is pure horse ****e other people think he is the new Messi. Probably because he is so inconsistent.
OldKentRoad
04/12/2007, 12:51 PM
Over rated:
Sergie Yuran and Vasili Kulkov
Under rated:
Harry Cripps, Barry Kitchener, Terry Hurlock
sligo23
04/12/2007, 6:59 PM
Serbia-Montenegro ( with Vidic) best defence in the Qualifiers for WC 2006
Serbia-Montenegro (without Vidic) worst defence in the Finals Tournament.( He was suspended for the first group game injured for the other two. Named in the squad never kicked a ball in anger at the World Cup)
Man United ( with Vidic) League Champions 2006/07
Man United ( without Vidic) lost to Bolton away last week.
Serbia ( with Vidic) Got within two games of qualifying for Euro 2008
Serbia (without Vidic) gave away two soft goals only drew with Poland and were eliminated.
I think that proves the point. Sometimes you have to take the player out of the team to see just how sh1t they are without him.
you can prove anything with facts:rolleyes::p:D
Hibs4Ever
04/12/2007, 7:27 PM
Over rated: Rooney, Gerrard, Nakamura, Ronaldinho, McFadden
Under rated: Hleb, Scott Brown, Kilbane, Beuzelin, van Persie
04/12/2007, 7:28 PM
Over rated:
Sergie Yuran and Vasili Kulkov
Under rated:
Harry Cripps, Barry Kitchener, Terry Hurlock
Couldn't agree more. Terry Hurlock's a bandit! Who's Terry Hurlock?
04/12/2007, 7:29 PM
Over rated: Rooney, Gerrard, Nakamura, Ronaldinho, McFadden
Under rated: Hleb, Scott Brown, Kilbane, Beuzelin, van Persie
I would have said mcfadden is under rated
stojkovic
04/12/2007, 8:14 PM
Under-rated
Pippo Inzaghi
My main man does it again.
Best goalscorer in European Cup history.
Commiserations Der Bomber.
Schlooooomp
04/12/2007, 8:38 PM
he's the only player I forgot to include. Except I was going to have him as overrated. Fecking waster who has never come close to performing well in big games.
If your view of big games just includes European football then you are probably right, however, if you accept that there are big games in South America then you are off the mark with Riquelme.
Check out his achievements for Boca Juniors (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Juan_Roman_Riquelme)
He just couldn't settle successfully in Europe, I don't think that he should judged as a lesser footballer because of that.
Schlooooomp
04/12/2007, 8:41 PM
My main man does it again.
Best goalscorer in European Cup history.
Commiserations Der Bomber.
I have to say that I used to detest Inzaghi when he played for Juve, I thought that he was living off of Zidane and Del Peiro's ability, however as I have gotten older I have come around to respecting Pippo. His only skill is in scoring goals but man he is pretty damn good at doing that.
gilberto_eire
04/12/2007, 9:19 PM
Fair enough, I didn't see that thread. Clearly the people at FIFA are not as clued-in as the gurus on foot.ie.:)
Although I'm pretty sure people in Spain know who he is. Particularly those at the Barcelona academy!
soz just meant football outside of England in general obviously he is an international :D
Believe you'll find Rooney as my first name on the over-rated list back on page 2 lads. Seriously he's the new Michael Owen, a good player who will never be great, pumped up by the British media, and is currently on his way to becoming Sicknote The Third after Darren Anderton and Owen himself. Read a rumour that Barca asked United how much they wanted for him, I'd say £40million and run to the bank laughing when Barca hand it over on the basis of the Sun's Fantasy Football stats
04/12/2007, 9:57 PM
I have to add Nakamura to the underrated list now considering how few people actually rate him. ;) Genius. He's easily marked out of a game but the work he does off the ball, how rarely he gives the ball away and the one moment of magic he'll produce in a game mean he's always worth having on the pitch. He's probably like Seedorf in how people don't appreciate the basic things he does so well. It's harder to argue in his favour when he's injured after a run of poor form. Many people forget how good he is at his best.
Hibs4Ever - Beuzelin is rated highly. I love him as a player.
I think it's a real pity how few people appreciate Naka. You could be sure he'll always be the star man and most respected player at the club as long as he's there. Not necessarily the most respected by the fans though.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ7Zm4ZVzQQ - If you have 9 minutes spare. :)
shaneker
04/12/2007, 11:16 PM
Underrated - Seedorf, Elano (although probably for not much longer), Dunne, Vidic, Pirlo, Iniesta, Finnan, Forlan, Van Persie, Nakamura, Drogba (nobody talks about him as one of the top strikers in the EPL, but he is), Benni McCarthy, Tom Huddlestone, Diego, David James, Luis Fabiano, Gabriel Agbonlahor, Kaka (because nobody can rate him highly enough; the best player in the world by light years)
Overrated - Vennegoor of Hesselink, Lampard, Wright-Phillips, Duff, Rooney, Adriano, Ibrahimovic, Ferdinand, Defoe, Daniel Alves
04/12/2007, 11:24 PM
Kaka must be the fastest player in the world with the ball at his feet. Look how quickly he gets away from Messi:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rL6g_BRM7wg
04/12/2007, 11:53 PM
Kaka must be the fastest player in the world with the ball at his feet. Look how quickly he gets away from Messi:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rL6g_BRM7wg
Only because Messi paused half way through tracking back (he thought a centre half was coming IMO)
Not saying he's slow...
Spudd
05/12/2007, 12:11 AM
Kaka came on as a sub in that game so had fresh legs...If wouldnt have been so easy otherwise.
Still some speed tho.
stojkovic
05/12/2007, 12:47 AM
I have to say that I used to detest Inzaghi when he played for Juve, I thought that he was living off of Zidane and Del Peiro's ability, however as I have gotten older I have come around to respecting Pippo. His only skill is in scoring goals but man he is pretty damn good at doing that.
Think it was Ferguson who said "Inzaghi was born offside".
Cruijff's quote was better "Watch him, Inzaghi, he can't actually play football, he's just always in the right place at the right time".
scottish_bohs
05/12/2007, 9:59 AM
Shunsuke Nakamura is waaaay over-rated.
05/12/2007, 10:22 AM
Shunsuke Nakamura is waaaay over-rated.
Again, 100% of non-Celtic fans in the SPL think he's rubbish too. Who do you support? There's plenty of Celtic fans that don't rate him highly too. Naka was easily motm at least once against every SPL team last season bar Rangers (although he was class in the first 45 minutes of the game in which Ugo Ehiogu scored). His performance against Benfica was bloody class. He dominated the game against Copenhagen. He played really well at Old Trafford. He was rested in Copenhagen but came off the bench for the last half hour and dominated the game, as he usually does when he comes off the bench.
Because of the type of player he is he can be the most influential player on the pitch without being involved in a goal. He tends to be involved in 70-80% of the Celtic goals anyway. 11 goals and 22 direct assists last season. He absolutely ran away with the player of the year award on a Celtic forum which is measured by the top 3 players in each match. As I said, every SPL player has been on the same pitch as him when he has dominated the game and they'll have appreciated that.
Spend a match watching Naka and hopefully you'll appreciate him. I can't help watching Naka more than any player on the pitch. Unlike the neutrals I don't have to watch 22 players, I just watch the Celtic 11 so that makes it easier. It's actually interesting because there are plenty of games where Naka is clearly the best player on the pitch (eg. last season Hearts away, Motherwell away) and he's getting poor ratings in the media.
I'm disappointed that he's injured atm but he should have a good 6 or 7 years left in him.
05/12/2007, 10:49 AM
Strachan in his autobiography: "In the areas of touch and vision I would say he is the best player I have ever worked with or seen."
Strachan can't speak highly enough of Naka so I'm happy to be in agreement. ;)
scottish_bohs
05/12/2007, 11:04 AM
Again, 100% of non-Celtic fans in the SPL think he's rubbish too. Who do you support? There's plenty of Celtic fans that don't rate him highly too.
I'm one of them too. I don't think he's rubbish. He's a good player, but i don't think he's as good as Strachan makes out. He's maybe a model pro, but for me, he doesn't do enough to justify the hype.
There's too many games where he is non-existent.... particularly at places such as Ibrox, Old Trafford etc. Other than his free kick at OT last season i thought he had a poor game.
Just my opinion.
05/12/2007, 11:27 AM
I like Nakamura myself. Wouldn't class myself as a Celtic fan in case anyone is in doubt. Not sure he's world class but enjoy watching him play in SPL and Champions League
05/12/2007, 11:31 AM
It just shows scottish_bohs because I've watched that Man utd-Celtic game about 3 times now and I couldn't disagree more. I posted this before, a minute clip of him doing what he does best:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Evd4iHPypcg
Just look at his positioning and awareness. It's very rare that Naka makes a wrong decision. Because he's not doing anything spectacular it goes unnoticed by many but he played half the passes in that clip.
Celtic are an ordinary team without him atm. They had 60% possession at home to Shakhtar last week and still looked ordinary. I'd be pretty sure it would have been much better football if Naka was playing. If Celtic have 60% of possession against any team with Naka on the pitch he'll usually dominate.
danonion
07/12/2007, 10:02 PM
Overrated: Cech - honestly not watched chelsea in a while, but he doesn't seem to be able to deal with low shots or a slick pitch.
Roy the boy - Can't see how people put him in the underrated category! Born leader - yes. A truly great central midfielder - yes. But he got a fair bit of credit for this all along. Even the American commentators during the '94 World Cup billed him as soon-to-be world class. Total lack of sportsmanship and pace also noted.
Rio Ferdinand - He makes Titus Bramble like errors. The team he plays for can clean up after him. Did yous see that backpass he made that time O'Shea was in nets? Makes me mad when people refer to him as a modern day libero
Adriano - what a teet
Dida - very inconsistent goalkeeper for a team like Milan
Anelka - Wonderful talent, woefully incosistent and prone to long periods of very patchy form.
Patrick Kluivert - He was my favourite footballer for many years. But it makes me sad he is still in the game at all.
Steven Gerrard. Magical goals, magical moments for liverpool, but his passing range lets him down, very much a kick and rush player.
Underrated
Edwin van der Saar: 37 years old, wonderful organizer of the backline, He was always talented, I think the amount of appearances he made for a club like Fulham demonstrate how underrated he has been for much of his career.
Philip Cocu - played as many positions as John O'Shea but played well in all of them. Great central midfielder who could play on top of the back 4, box-to-box or behind the forwards. Won the medals to back up his status, but rarely remembered by football fans outside of Holland.
Gui'varch - great forward, the forgotten man of fond France '98 memories.
Anti Niemi - not much to say except he was/is (still playing?) a great goalie
Fabien Barthez - rose-tinted glasses here but I like to remember the good times with this guy. Made some phenomenal acrobatic saves. I remember one where he made a point blank stop and to stop the ball from going back into play he overhead kicked it over the crossbar. A lot of his better saves were becasue he was dreadfully out of position, but its unfair to remember only his gaffes.
That Croatian guy who scored all the goals in one of those tournaments. One of you more knowledgeable guys will know who I mean, I can't remember his name
John Sheridan - talented midfielder who really didn't fit all that well into Charlton's system.
Kevin Kilbane - Don't care how much you hate him, has played some great games for Ireland. That France game was a magical performance in central midfield, although mostly do to Roy Keane rolling back the years for a night.
Dean Kiely - a fine goalkeeper, if Shay Given wasn't so damn good he would have been a good number one for us. Not related to him being underrated, but he never takes the position of an English player in interviews nowadays. Takes every opportunity to say he's proud of his time in the green (err yellow with black sleeves) shirt. Also offered his services as a "midfield dynamo" when Keane got sent home from Korea. Quality
07/12/2007, 10:42 PM
Rio Ferdinand - He makes Titus Bramble like errors. The team he plays for can clean up after him. Did yous see that backpass he made that time O'Shea was in nets? Makes me mad when people refer to him as a modern day libero
Croatian is Suker
Ferdinand is generally thought to have been one of his teams best players this season by the fans of Man United that go to the games week in and week out
gilberto_eire
07/12/2007, 11:33 PM
It just shows scottish_bohs because I've watched that Man utd-Celtic game about 3 times now and I couldn't disagree more. I posted this before, a minute clip of him doing what he does best:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Evd4iHPypcg[/B]
Just look at his positioning and awareness. It's very rare that Naka makes a wrong decision. Because he's not doing anything spectacular it goes unnoticed by many but he played half the passes in that clip.
Celtic are an ordinary team without him atm. They had 60% possession at home to Shakhtar last week and still looked ordinary. I'd be pretty sure it would have been much better football if Naka was playing. If Celtic have 60% of possession against any team with Naka on the pitch he'll usually dominate.
i dont think it was appropriate for you to put up the clip talking about my peno against Hamburg:D (0:22)
On the basis of what I've just been watching, Sulley Muntari is underrated :D
10/12/2007, 9:57 AM
Glen Johnson way overrated. I thought he was rubbish at Chelsea and I now see Alan SMith touting him again for England (he has one cap) because he's in a successful Pompey team. Count the number of times he gives the ball away. Unbelievable.
10/12/2007, 9:59 AM
Ferdinand is generally thought to have been one of his teams best players this season by the fans of Man United that go to the games week in and week out
Very true. A more important (and better) player than Vidic.
endabob1
10/12/2007, 10:40 AM
It well and truely is a game of diverse opinions, to see Gatusso listed as over-rated astounds me as does Seedorf in the Under-Rated category, was there ever a luckier player??
It's obvious to most people that the majority of players in the premier league (especially the English players for some reason) are over-rated, the hype around it makes people think that Frank Lampard and his ilk are world beaters when the reality is, he is a decent footballer in a good side, Essien is far more important to Chelsea.
Steve Bruce
10/12/2007, 2:23 PM
Over-rated – Gerrard, Lampard, Adebayoor, Saha, Robbie Keane, Defoe, Hleb, Carrick, Cech & Michael Owen
Under-rated – Giggs, Vidic, Evra, Cahill, Shaun Wright Phillips, Carragher, Crouch, Joe Cole, Benni McCarthy, Teves & Marlon Harewood.
About right – Rooney, Torres, C.Ronaldo, Drogba, Van Persie, Cesc Febregas, Van Der Sar, Toure, Micah Richards
14/12/2007, 1:09 PM
Overrated: Cech - honestly not watched chelsea in a while, but he doesn't seem to be able to deal with low shots or a slick pitch.
Unbelievably good first season at Chelsea. Hasn't played to anywhere near that standard since and I think it's wrong that that hasn't been recognised. In fact to almost anyone who comments professionally on the English game he's the best in the world.
14/12/2007, 3:06 PM
Over-rated – Gerrard, , Robbie Keane,
Robbie Keane. Is he one of the leading scorers in the Premiership is this season? Must be overrated.
Gerrard: only pulled Liverpool by the scruff of their necks through to the next rnd of the CL. Overrated.
Robbie Keane. Is he one of the leading scorers in the Premiership is this season? Must be overrated.
Gerrard: only pulled Liverpool by the scruff of their necks through to the next rnd of the CL. Overrated.
Gerrard is certainly overrated. He only gets the plaudits for Liverpool as he's, like, their one decent player and they build everything around him. Watch him play for England and argh it's just kick, run, shoot. No tactics or thought put into his play really. Some of his runs are good, but that's it.
16/12/2007, 2:23 PM
Gerrard is certainly overrated. He only gets the plaudits for Liverpool as he's, like, their one decent player and they build everything around him. Watch him play for England and argh it's just kick, run, shoot. No tactics or thought put into his play really. Some of his runs are good, but that's it.
Anonymous yet again in the biggest game of the Premiership season.
inexile
16/12/2007, 2:43 PM
dirk kuyt is over rated as well, due to the fact he is rubbish!!!
16/12/2007, 7:36 PM
dirk kuyt is over rated as well, due to the fact he is rubbish!!!
nobody rates him anyway :D
24/12/2007, 6:39 PM
If yesterdays match was anything to go by Cambiasso is terribly underrated.
JoeSemi
28/12/2007, 5:34 PM
Agree with Cambiasso. Holds it all together for Inter at the moment.
Two players I've seen a lot of lately (partly because I have them on my fantasy team and back their team regularly) are Bentley and Santa Cruz. Not getting half the credit they deserve and it won't be long before the big guns are on the blower to Hughes asking him to name his price. Why, at 4.5m, did nobody else try get Sanata Cruz last summer? Proven at every level, young enough and ideally suited to the Premiership. Bentley deserves as much credit for the service he's providing though. I've my fingers and toes crossed that Dirk Kuyt/Harry Kewell or Jermaine Pennat might fancy a swap deal in January for one, or both, of these two!!