View Full Version : What do you work as?
24/11/2007, 7:36 PM
They do both sound pretty dull to be fair :)
Gus, if I had a choice in the matter, work - of any sort - would come nowhere near my top 100 list of things with which to fill my time. Dull time it most assuredly is. :D
:ball: PP
24/11/2007, 8:03 PM
full time 2nd level student/
part time worker in an opticians
24/11/2007, 8:11 PM
I used to be a Repo man. Did it for about five years over here. That any good?
Carpenter
Got a fanciful title but at the core of it I'm a docker. That the kind of thing Anto? :D
Thats exactly what i'm talking about, fair play men.
Schlooooomp
24/11/2007, 8:26 PM
So being a repo man (no disrespect strangeirish) is a manly occupation, taking stuff from people who have in most likelyhood very little is a manly thing to do, not where I come from Anto McC!
FarBeag
24/11/2007, 8:30 PM
For my sins i work for the NHS as a SHO in Psychiatry.
24/11/2007, 8:49 PM
Studying for the LC at the moment, hopefully will be studying commerce this time next year.:)
how the jaysus are you a UCD fan?
Warehouse manager.
kdjac
Noelys Guitar
24/11/2007, 9:32 PM
Ex-employee of the Gambino's in New Jersey ( No Joke). Now working for T-Mobile.
24/11/2007, 10:41 PM
So being a repo man (no disrespect strangeirish) is a manly occupation, taking stuff from people who have in most likelyhood very little is a manly thing to do, not where I come from Anto McC!
None taken there Schlooooomp. I have to say though, it was a highly dangerous way to make a living. Also, not all the folks that had stuff taken back had very little. As a matter of fact, I quite enjoyed taking BMW's, Merc's, Boats and the like.
kingdom hoop
25/11/2007, 12:34 AM
I'm also growing an energy rating and consultancy business on the side and hope to leave the former for the latter dull-time early in 2008. :)
Very good idea. I'll offer you €40,000 for a 15% stake in that company. :p Seriously though, you may be interested in my signature. Also, if you'd like me to work for you I'd like to work for you. Or at the very least start a 'Plastic Paddy's Booming Company' thread so I can contribute and feel a part of it in some way. :)
25/11/2007, 9:36 AM
Well for a start i wasn't exactly talking about what the job entailed just the fact that, it's usually hard, heavy work with lots of heavy lifting. Also, including what it entails, i still think it's manly job, where you need to show no emotion or remorse. It's a job i'd have no problem doing.
What about the people who have little or nothing, who have no choice but to take that job in order to keep a roof over their families heads?
Where do you come from anyway?
25/11/2007, 5:37 PM
Also, including what it entails, i still think it's manly job, where you need to show no emotion or remorse. It's a job i'd have no problem doing.
*splutters tea all over table* :D
What about the people who have little or nothing, who have no choice but to take that job in order to keep a roof over their families heads?
So what was it drove you to the mob Anto??
It takes a special kind of scumbag to be a repoman IMO
Where do you come from anyway?
DON'T TELL HIM Schlooooomp, IT'S A TRAP!!!!! :eek:
Software Engineer! Not as exciting as it sounds :p
Work in telecoms and before anyone asks ... no, I dont get free phones!
Had the usual thoughts of being a sports journalist ... either that or a drifter!
Maybe some day...
Babysis
25/11/2007, 9:06 PM
I'm going to guess that babysis is a legal secretary.
Eh no..I work as a supervisor within healthcare...won't say anymore than that ;)
25/11/2007, 9:10 PM
I am temping in admin in Education, part-time cage rager ;):D
25/11/2007, 9:53 PM
A job, is a job, is a job.
Repomen don't get paid to show emotions, they get paid to take peoples stuff and so be it. As i've already said, i'd do it no problem.
25/11/2007, 10:10 PM
A job, is a job, is a job.
is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job, is a job,
See I can repeat stuff without it helping my argument too...............
Repomen don't get paid to show emotions,
They sound SOOOOOOO COOL
they get paid to take peoples stuff and so be it.
Parasites Anto, leeches feeding on human misery.*
Real manly though, I'm sure.
As i've already said, i'd do it no problem
Yeah, I know :D :rolleyes:
You're argument that a Repoman is somehow more "manly" then a student or a doctor or an IT consultant or a bus driver is pathetic tbh.
Is it because it has the word "man" in the job title?? :confused:
*I am of course thinking of the more Dickensian style repoman, taking unwashed babies from their mothers' teeth. I still think it takes a certain kind of character to do it though...........and I still think Antos' opinions on manliness are ludicrous tosh
25/11/2007, 10:18 PM
how the jaysus are you a UCD fan?
Warehouse manager.
kdjac
Learn something new every day!
MojoPin
26/11/2007, 1:18 AM
so repo men are evil???????
id put doormen a million miles worse than them
kingdom hoop
26/11/2007, 2:39 AM
You're argument that a Repoman is somehow more "manly" then a student or a doctor or an IT consultant or a bus driver is pathetic tbh.
:rolleyes: And what's your argument?
Smartasses are great, if they have an answer.
Is it because it has the word "man" in the job title?? :confused:
Inadvertently I think you found the answer, but were probably revelling in your bravura too much to notice. The job of a repo-man is one thoroughly unsuitable to all but the most manly of women. For example, can you imagine some lass coming to the door of a burly lumberjack telling him she must take away his chainsaw cos he's defaulted on the hire purchase payments?
How could you think chasing random people, not knowing what could be in store, trying to prise their prized possessions off them, does not require brave and intimidating attributes usually the preserve of men?
:D I hope you open a business some day. You'll get great custom from me. No money, but your stock turnover figures will be best in class. WTF, if someone doesn't pay up after numerous warnings nothing should happen? Wonderful logic. Are prison guards 'a special kind of scumbag' for not releasing prisoners?
26/11/2007, 9:33 AM
Kingdom Hoop put it better than i could.
26/11/2007, 9:43 AM
We should start a "Jobs I dont agree with" thread or a "I would rather gouge my eyes out with plastic spoons than work at that" thread.
26/11/2007, 11:04 AM
And what's your argument?
That you can't judge someones "manliness" by someones profession
Smartasses are great, if they have an answer.
I'll take that as a compliment given my answer
Inadvertently I think you found the answer
Oh, it is because the word man is in the title??
Fair Enough.
Does that mean the ice cream man is more manly then a US Marine in you book??
but were probably revelling in your bravura too much to notice
Revelling in bravura??
WTF??
The job of a repo-man is one thoroughly unsuitable to all but the most manly of women.
LMFAO :D
For example, can you imagine some lass coming to the door of a burly lumberjack telling him she must take away his chainsaw cos he's defaulted on the hire purchase payments?
Worst example ever
How could you think chasing random people, not knowing what could be in store
WOW, like a superhero
does not require brave and intimidating attributes usually the preserve of men?
So sexist, it's pathetic.
Nothing brave or intimidating (Jesus Wept btw) about any of the repo gangs I've come across
I hope you open a business some day.
Why thank you.
Not really in my life plan though
WTF, if someone doesn't pay up after numerous warnings nothing should happen?
Show me where I said repomen weren't necessary. It just takes a certain kind of character to want to do it.
Does that make them more "manly"
No, of course not
Wonderful logic.
Try reading next time
Are prison guards 'a special kind of scumbag' for not releasing prisoners?
Absolute garbage comparison.
Congrats on a post of twaddle
26/11/2007, 11:04 AM
Kingdom Hoop put it better than i could.
Despite his being wrong I agree with you 100% on him being able to put himself across better
Man.
26/11/2007, 11:07 AM
We should start a "I would rather gouge my eyes out with plastic spoons than work at that" thread.
I'll get the ball rolling
Repoman
Traffic Warden
Debt Collector
Prison Officer
Army Private
Operator of football forum
Monaghan United manager
Rat Catcher
Surgeon
Nurse
I could go on but I've broken out in a cold sweat :)
26/11/2007, 11:14 AM
I'll get the ball rolling
Repoman
Traffic Warden
Debt Collector
Prison Officer
Army Private
Operator of football forum
Monaghan United manager
Rat Catcher
Surgeon
Nurse
I could go on but I've broken out in a cold sweat :)
Class! :D
Schlooooomp
26/11/2007, 11:55 AM
Anto the repo man, it has a surprisingly poetic ring to it :D
soccerc
26/11/2007, 11:59 AM
Where are the real men?
That's great, glad to know my contribution as a carer* is deemed less than manly.:eek:
* FYI I don't get paid or any allowances for it, all for love
26/11/2007, 12:04 PM
Any man who needs to question the manliness of things is not a real man in my book. A real man accepts what life throws at them and carries on through it all. Having met you soccerc not only do I rate you as a man but you are also a better variation of one, a gentleman.
citizenerased
26/11/2007, 12:17 PM
IT developer in financial services co. Spend my days digging into C++ calcs code to figure out e.g. why a 600000+ pension fund rollup over 27 years at 6% is out by 1.77 euros compared to the excel test system written by the actuary upstairs. Nice work if youre the type of person who enjoyed 500 piece jigsaws as a kid ;-)
bhs
what bank to ya work for?
Software Engineer! Not as exciting as it sounds :p
Not heard any one suggest IT was exciting since 2001 when everyone spend 20% of the time working & the remaining emailing jokes. :p :eek:
26/11/2007, 12:28 PM
what bank to ya work for?
I dont think he means a personal bank.
26/11/2007, 12:32 PM
I'm an MA Media student and the assistant manager in a Spar store. In the course of this work I have tangled with all sorts of ne'er do wells (though most are students or scumbags) trying to rip us off. So it is now clear that my scrawny 150lb body is the most manly of all. Go me.
I was also the well-paid mascot for a pro sports team but that's a whole other story. :)
26/11/2007, 2:54 PM
That's great, glad to know my contribution as a carer* is deemed less than manly.:eek:
* FYI I don't get paid or any allowances for it, all for love
You're clearly a big girls blouse ;) :rolleyes:
Torn-Ado
26/11/2007, 3:42 PM
I work on building site. Currently Im re-pointing bricks in walls. I work in a pub at the weekends.
My degree is collecting dust and losing value every passing day :(
stojkovic
26/11/2007, 4:33 PM
Un-employed Concorde pilot.
26/11/2007, 5:17 PM
Despite his being wrong I agree with you 100% on him being able to put himself across better
Man.
Look, you said it takes a special kind of scumbag to be a Repoman. I say, it takes a special kind of pussy, to be afraid to do it and there's a lot of them. So in my logic, being a repoman is a manly job.
26/11/2007, 5:20 PM
Very creditable job and fair play, this country will always owe people like yourself a debt of gratitude but would you honestly say it's as manly a job as said a hod carrier on a building site?
26/11/2007, 6:08 PM
Look, you said it takes a special kind of scumbag to be a Repoman. I say, it takes a special kind of pussy, to be afraid to do it and there's a lot of them. So in my logic, being a repoman is a manly job.
Scumbag was a bit harsh, rather a certain personality
Why would anyone be afriad of doing it??
Pussy??
Are you for real??
Pathetic
Man.
:D :D :D
Very creditable job and fair play, this country will always owe people like yourself a debt of gratitude but would you honestly say it's as manly a job as said a hod carrier on a building site?
Mortified for you.
Man.
soccerc
26/11/2007, 6:08 PM
Don't be so patronising, this country owes me nothing and I am not looking for plaudits or gratitude, I signed up for it the day I married, you know the part, ".....in sickness and in health, for rich or for poor".
If you think sacrificing going out to work every day to look after a much loved and wanted partner is less manly than being a hod carrier then I'll swap you for a working week - My 24/7 for your 8/5.
I know I am richer in many more ways than financial. Before you say it, yes, it is my choice. I could always just absolve myself of the responsibility and get some one else to do it, be that privately or the state.
26/11/2007, 6:10 PM
IT Engineer and general all round nice guy
26/11/2007, 6:11 PM
If you think sacrificing going out to work every day to look after a much loved and wanted partner is less manly than being a hod carrier then I'll swap you for a working week - My 24/7 for your 8/5.
Spot On.
1000%
Well done for putting He-Man in his place
26/11/2007, 6:12 PM
This manliness thing is absolutely ridiculous.
Can the cavemen please go somewhere else and whack each other over the heads with clubs?
PS I wrestle alligators for a living and have a nixer testing parachutes at the weekend...
26/11/2007, 6:13 PM
Big girl's blouse.
soccerc
26/11/2007, 6:14 PM
PS I wrestle alligators for a living and have a nixer testing parachutes at the weekend...
Do you ever confuse the two? :D
26/11/2007, 6:15 PM
Can the cavemen please go somewhere else and whack each other over the heads with clubs?
Saying Please?!?!
You big jessie :p
26/11/2007, 6:19 PM
MVyFuQ7m3Rw
26/11/2007, 6:20 PM
Do you ever confuse the two? :DAn alligator makes a crap parachute, but its worth it to see the look on its face....:D
soccerc
26/11/2007, 6:22 PM
An alligator makes a crap parachute, but its worth it to see the look on its face....:D
Still, you survived the fall :eek: