View Full Version : What do you work as?

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

23/11/2007, 1:16 PM
No college paper. Don't worry Dodge, I'm going to be a sports journalist seen as I can't articulate well enough to be a social commentator.

You missed the joke too.

I was going to be a sports journalist until I realised I might have to miss the odd Pats game. Seriously

23/11/2007, 1:21 PM
Mortgage Brokerage business owner and as a hobby, portfolio photographer.

Ahhhh, good old america, land of the dreams, if it wasnt that I was going to guess Insurance, "well, what do you do Sir?!" "Me, I sell Insurance" :D
You must be affected by the lack of funds from the Fund Banks, the whole sub-prime thing I heard was drying up a lot of brokers business due to lack of money coming through to the lending organisations?! Its funny I was out at a ( Irish )wedding in Italy a couple of months ago, and a lad who lives in san diego ( was on a scholarship to the states for soccer many years ago ) has his own business in the same area, but he said business was so dry that he and his missus decided pack up for a month and to come over to "Europe" as nothing at all was happening.....

That would have been funny, you are not allowed to read my articles cos you are only an armchair supporter. I am more EL than you \_/ :D

23/11/2007, 1:23 PM
I was going to be a sports journalist until I realised I might have to miss the odd Pats game. Seriously
Fair play to you.

23/11/2007, 1:42 PM
You must be affected by the lack of funds from the Fund Banks, the whole sub-prime thing I heard was drying up a lot of brokers business due to lack of money coming through to the lending organisations?!

Oh indeed, but, we're not as bad as California, yet. Luckily, sub-prime was/is only a small part of of my business. The problem is that the sub-prime fallout is rolling over and is having a serious impact on all types of lending.

Sligo Hornet
23/11/2007, 1:46 PM
Oh indeed, but, we're not as bad as California, yet. Luckily, sub-prime was/is only a small part of of my business. The problem is that the sub-prime fallout is rolling over and is having a serious impact on all types of lending.

"Neither a borrower nor a lender be"........said the cigar maker;)

23/11/2007, 1:47 PM
You missed the joke too.

Oddly enough sports journalist was my dream job for a while too. Until I realised I'd most likely end up covering schoolboy football for the Wexford People for about 20 years.

Obvious dream like most young lads was professional sport star, wasn't fussed whether it was football, darts or even GAA.
Other one was to take over the world, and I'm now on the first step of that ladder having ensconced myself in the civil service. (Insert evil laugh here).

23/11/2007, 1:49 PM

Ya I know, reigns being tigthened all over the shop, to ensure it doesnt happen again and in any other sector. It always happens in america and then they bring in new directives/regulations to make it more rigid and difficult, hence why london is becoming a hub.

23/11/2007, 1:52 PM
Full-time PLC student in computers but hoping to get part-time work soon.
Got rid of the fecker over 8 yrs ago!Maybe it's time to let him go then?:D
Mortgage Brokerage business ownerAny jobs going?:o

23/11/2007, 1:54 PM
Full time 4th year student.

23/11/2007, 2:00 PM
Other one was to take over the world, and I'm now on the first step of that ladder having ensconced myself in the civil service. (Insert evil laugh here).

You're actually on level 4. Its in the handbook you were given on the first day. Towards the back, just after "how to use the internet fully" and just before "how to answer claims that all civil servants are lazy good for nothing waste of tax payers money"

Torn-Ado
23/11/2007, 2:00 PM
There is some amount of geeks in this thread.

23/11/2007, 2:04 PM
It always happens in america and then they bring in new directives/regulations to make it more rigid and difficult, hence why london is becoming a hub.Interesting. One of my major lenders, Deutsche Bank, moved all of its management decisions to London.

"Neither a borrower nor a lender be"........said the cigar maker;)Indeed.

Any jobs going?:o
Only if you wear a skirt...:D

Schlooooomp
23/11/2007, 2:04 PM
There is some amount of geeks in this thread.

By geeks you mean cool people, right :confused:

Torn-Ado
23/11/2007, 2:10 PM
By geeks you mean cool people, right :confused:

No...

23/11/2007, 2:26 PM
ah i see where you are coming from Ado.

I fit into the geek category, somewhat, and I am definitely cool. So I am in the cool geek squad.

Torn-Ado
23/11/2007, 2:37 PM
ah i see where you are coming from Ado.

I fit into the geek category, somewhat, and I am definitely cool. So I am in the cool geek squad.

You are a geek who trys to act cool. There is a big difference.

:D :p :D

padjoe
23/11/2007, 3:15 PM
Sports editor of paper in roscommon...... wanted to be a war correspondent......i was a referee will be returning.....hope to work as a journalist abroad....and maybe one day in broadcasting

KevB76
23/11/2007, 5:01 PM
Officially I'm a Design Engineer / Project Co-ordinator, but because I work for a small company I get to do EVERYthing now and again, from meeting with clients and costing projects, to driving the forklift and making the tea :)

23/11/2007, 5:15 PM
4th year student

Also do a lot of heavy lifting but am not paid for that :o

Tend to spend my summers in the Costa del Dell

23/11/2007, 6:18 PM
I am A full Time Student

Oxymoron? :p

Full time Moderator, part-time Team Manager in software company.

Dilbert Life (http://www.dilbert.com/comics/dilbert/archive/images/dilbert2007113333109.gif) :)

23/11/2007, 8:14 PM
Tets, I always thought you were a Pharmaceutical Distributor?! Is that only on yer spare time these days?! ;)
Is that because I tried to poison you that one time? ;)

23/11/2007, 10:06 PM
I'm supposed to be a QC Lab Analyst, but because that is for a small pharma company, I could also be termed a day-to-day magician.

Blue-Army
23/11/2007, 10:37 PM
Full Time sixth year student..:mad:

24/11/2007, 12:39 AM
Full time waster who works 2 hours a week...

officiallly called a PhD Candidate and Part time Lecturer

24/11/2007, 7:50 AM
Mac Operator/Graphic Design temp. Moonlighting as a barman the odd evening too.

24/11/2007, 8:25 AM
EX hubby! Got rid of the fecker over 8 yrs ago!

You're a babe and into football . What more could any man want ? :D

Oh I work for the State. I am afraid I can't say anything more Official Secrets Act and all that craic ;)

24/11/2007, 9:26 AM
Primary Teacher :(

24/11/2007, 10:06 AM
Primary Teacher :(
Snap but I enjoy it

24/11/2007, 11:17 AM
Still in secondary school myself, LC summer 2009!

24/11/2007, 12:22 PM
Snap but I enjoy it

First year out, bad school environment/atmosphere, difficult principal, may not be able to do my dip because of said principal, wse after christmas, incidents of theft in class and a pretty tough class.

All in all not sure if I made the right choice

blackholesun
24/11/2007, 12:36 PM
IT developer in financial services co. Spend my days digging into C++ calcs code to figure out e.g. why a 600000+ pension fund rollup over 27 years at 6% is out by 1.77 euros compared to the excel test system written by the actuary upstairs. Nice work if youre the type of person who enjoyed 500 piece jigsaws as a kid ;-)

bhs

24/11/2007, 12:48 PM
Where are the real men?

24/11/2007, 12:50 PM
Where are the real men?

I'm a pro boxer, moonlighting as a hitman, with a weekend job as a porn star.

atfconline
24/11/2007, 12:52 PM
Admin with a worldwide shipping company. Dabble with some design stuff.

24/11/2007, 12:59 PM
I'm a pro boxer, moonlighting as a hitman, with a weekend job as a porn star.

Thats what i'm talking about, fair play. Seriously though, we're 5 pages in and everyone works in an office or the likes, not one person is a builder or tradesman.

24/11/2007, 1:19 PM
Thats what i'm talking about, fair play. Seriously though, we're 5 pages in and everyone works in an office or the likes, not one person is a builder or tradesman.

Thread was started during work hours in fairness. Most people who answered did it in work...

24/11/2007, 1:42 PM
I'm a petrol delivery mechanism supervisor.

part time that

Full time journalism student/waster

24/11/2007, 1:47 PM
I used to be a Repo man. Did it for about five years over here. That any good?

green army
24/11/2007, 1:48 PM
work as a quantity surveyor for a building company.

aido_b
24/11/2007, 2:38 PM
work as a researcher in the ole media! do a bit o programme development too ...

steno
24/11/2007, 2:49 PM
Phd student.

24/11/2007, 3:48 PM
First year out, bad school environment/atmosphere, difficult principal, may not be able to do my dip because of said principal, wse after christmas, incidents of theft in class and a pretty tough class.

All in all not sure if I made the right choice
Ah the dreaded WSE, was in a school for sept and Oct and they have it this month. School I started in after that, had theirs last year so I escaped thank goodness

Burny89
24/11/2007, 4:45 PM
Carpenter

Sniffer
24/11/2007, 5:11 PM
I'm in Communications - a postal operative - OK,:)a full-time postman, part-time website maintainer type-person.

24/11/2007, 5:22 PM
My main job is as a policy and strategy analyst for a large London council. I'm also growing an energy rating and consultancy business on the side and hope to leave the former for the latter dull-time early in 2008. :)

:ball: PP

24/11/2007, 5:24 PM
My main job is as a policy and strategy analyst for a large London council. I'm also growing an energy rating and consultancy business on the side and hope to leave the former for the latter dull-time early in 2008. :)

:ball: PP

They do both sound pretty dull to be fair :)

24/11/2007, 5:40 PM
Sports editor of paper in roscommon...... wanted to be a war correspondent......i was a referee will be returning.....hope to work as a journalist abroad....and maybe one day in broadcasting

have you ever used the name pjdc on any other forum? Anyhow whats the paper?

24/11/2007, 5:41 PM
Where are the real men?

Did you not see the bit about heavy lifting??

Real Men :rolleyes:

I'd take that builder in Hollyoaks that wears a skirt, no bother

24/11/2007, 5:43 PM
Doing a bit of philantropy at the moment but really can't see it lasting if I'm being honest.

stann
24/11/2007, 7:30 PM
Got a fanciful title but at the core of it I'm a docker. That the kind of thing Anto? :D