View Full Version : Kudozovic puts in transfer request

Boo_Boy
22/11/2007, 10:00 AM
From sligorovers.com:

Fahrudin Kudozovic has submitted a transfer request to the club this week. The Bosnian who was many people’s player of the year last season was already the subject of a bid from Drogheda United, however the bid was rejected by the club.

i had a feeling he wouldnt be here next season,dissapointed but thats football.

if the request is accepted i hope he goes to drogs, bohs would be a bad move for him.

celticV3
22/11/2007, 10:15 AM
well can hardly say im shocked! was obvious in the way faz was acting of late, even in the pub after bray he wasn gona be here much longer. i know he's a brilliant player but he's had one great season and he's replacable. best of luck if he leaves but world keeps turning

22/11/2007, 10:18 AM
we're just a feeder club at this stage, to all the clubs above us. i knew he'd he leave, he wont be the last player either....we'l have about 15 players for next year i reckon

Knappagh Red
22/11/2007, 11:16 AM
On a positive note he's not going anywhere for free, we'll save four months wages and we can get good players from the same source we got Faz, Hughes etc. The millions being spent by three of the clubs above us can't go on forever. Cook has set his wage target that he believes he can challange with next season and its up to us to help him get it. It can be done.

red_away
22/11/2007, 11:57 AM
Hughes is a much bigger loss but we shoudl also remember we had to wait a good while for faz to really produce the goods, its a loss to the squad but by no means a hammer blow IMHO!

22/11/2007, 12:28 PM
i think it is a big blow, yet again 2 of our best players gone already. we cant keep a hold of anyone once another team makes a bid. and its not as if nobody is going to come after coleman, peers, judge and others

22/11/2007, 1:48 PM
Not that big of a loss imo, certainly over-rated. Never felt as if he was fully commited to the club tbh and I'm sure he was a top earner so his wages can go towards someone better.

22/11/2007, 1:50 PM
He is a huge loss if he leaves , I doubt we would be able to get in someone as talented and as effective as he was

22/11/2007, 2:02 PM
Not that big of a loss imo, certainly over-rated. Never felt as if he was fully commited to the club tbh and I'm sure he was a top earner so his wages can go towards someone better.

i dont know if he was over-rated but as good as he is/was, hes not irreplaceable! And maybe your right, maybe Cook can get 2 players just as good as Faz for his transfer fee, wages. Drogs only offered €15,000, hes worth twice that tbh!

akearins
22/11/2007, 2:04 PM
Good luck to him.But as with Hughes I'd say he will struggle to hold down a regular place in a Drogs side, definitely not as a strker with Zayed and Bates being the regulars.Also have Tony Grant, Barrett,Mcmahon etc..

However Drogheda have released some decent players so maybe a swap for a few players may be a better option.Wouldnt mind seeing Keady and Sami Ristalia with us next season

Biggestfear I would have is if many more players are allowed leave Cooke may do the same.MC need to show a determination to hold onto players as best as we can.......

life long red
22/11/2007, 3:36 PM
From sligorovers.com:

Fahrudin Kudozovic has submitted a transfer request to the club this week. The Bosnian who was many people’s player of the year last season was already the subject of a bid from Drogheda United, however the bid was rejected by the club.

i had a feeling he wouldnt be here next season,dissapointed but thats football.

if the request is accepted i hope he goes to drogs, bohs would be a bad move for him.
.is it true that faz is owed money[unpaid wages] if true he can go for free

clubman
22/11/2007, 6:55 PM
Absolutely gutted with this news. Not so much for the player but more so for the signal it sends out. As someone has already said we are only a feeder club for the more well off than ourselves. I sometimes wonder is the struggle worth it. What future has the club got. What have we to pin our hopes on when average players come and go as soon as another club sneeze in their direction. Loyalty. There's no such thing in the modern game. It's all about the pocket and the jingle of the euro.
It's a sad night for the Bit O Red but it's just another in the long line of such nights which our little club has come to expect.
Now where did I leave the whiskey.

Shedzer
22/11/2007, 7:14 PM
I'd like to wish faz the best of luck for the future. he signed a new cotract mid season and not a whole pile has change since then but at least we get some sort of a fee for him i hope. instead of just letting your contract run out and the club gets nothing for you when you leave.Cook and gerry carr need to work very hard close season if we are to maintain a top six finish next season.

DocRovers
22/11/2007, 7:32 PM
As skillful a player as I have seen in 30 years at the Showgrounds. Brilliant all year & I really wish the lad well. Signed a new contract mid-season & played very well right up to the end. That is far more than Hughsie or Judge did. To say Cook will replace him shows little knowledge. We gave €60,000 at the transfer window & what was brought in but rubbish. You can dream that guys like Hughes & Faz are lying around they are not. What message does this send to Coleman our last remaining player of genuine quality?

Totally deflated at the way the season ended & the goings on since then. Three to go down next year, I think?? Buckley Park here we come...

Redzer
22/11/2007, 7:36 PM
As skillful a player as I have seen in 30 years at the Showgrounds. Brilliant all year & I really wish the lad well. Signed a new contract mid-season & played very well right up to the end. That is far more than Hughsie or Judge did. To say Cook will replace him shows little knowledge. We gave €60,000 at the transfer window & what was brought in but rubbish. You can dream that guys like Hughes & Faz are lying around they are not. What message does this send to Coleman our last remaining player of genuine quality?

Totally deflated at the way the season ended & the goings on since then. Three to go down next year, I think?? Buckley Park here we come...Fully agree with above. Cooke has not brought in anyone near good enough.
Worrying times indeed.

22/11/2007, 7:57 PM
Cook said the 60k went on securing the contracts of the players he wanted to keep rather than being wasted on players who weren't up to it.

He's easily worth 100k+ 15k? pppft.

Bohs would be a better move as he would be played upfront now and would get playing. Hopefully, England is calling though

Knappagh Red
22/11/2007, 8:07 PM
If it was this time last year that it was said we would be getting cash for Faz everyone would have been delighted. He was largely ineffective for 2 years much like Manson this year. One excellant season out of three and then he doesn't want to play for us, off with him, the Drogs/Bohs fans won't be as tolerant as we were if he doesn't perform immediately. (Assuming he gets his place which I doubt)

22/11/2007, 8:08 PM
He's not going to play well if he goes to either Bohs/Drogs.

Would he possibly go to Pat's?

DocRovers
22/11/2007, 8:45 PM
Faz played very well IMO the year they got promoted. Last season he was playing wide & did well. He was far & away the player of the season this year - after he adjusted to the increased pace & was played in position. Give credit where it is due. Sometimes I dismay of the attitude we have towards our players. If Cook spent €60K securoing the players he wants to keep & we have lost Hughes, Turner & now Faz. Who got the money? We are left to totally rebuild for next year. The prospect is that we will end up paying off a large number of the rubbish we are going to sign. That is what happened this year after McDonald & with the mid-season transfers. But it is important to rubbish Faz' contribution....NOT!

22/11/2007, 9:06 PM
peers to bohs...watch this space

Rovers fan
22/11/2007, 9:10 PM
He's easily worth 100k+ 15k? pppft.

With a few years on his contract,yes. at the moment no.

22/11/2007, 9:43 PM
Disappointed to see him want to leave, but if he wants to go, we don't need him.

bets of Luck to him wherever he ends up...

Next season is looking grim...

22/11/2007, 9:54 PM
Next season is looking grim...Every season supporting the bit o'red usually starts like that;).

22/11/2007, 9:55 PM
Disappointed to see him want to leave, but if he wants to go, we don't need him.

bets of Luck to him wherever he ends up...

Next season is looking grim...

tis rw but on the bright side

---------------------Brushy

Coleman ---Peers-------------McKenz-----A Fully Fit foyzer

????-------????--------------O'Grady-------??????

-------------Judge.---------????------------------

There's the spine of a good team there if they stay.

Pity Faz is leaving though.

BobtheDrog
22/11/2007, 10:02 PM
However Drogheda have released some decent players so maybe a swap for a few players may be a better option.Wouldnt mind seeing Keady and Sami Ristalia with us next season

Sami's involved more as backroom staff these days he managed the u21's this year, wouldnt be suprised if he takes control of the reserves next year

red metal
22/11/2007, 10:09 PM
On a positive note he's not going anywhere for free, we'll save four months wages and we can get good players from the same source we got Faz, Hughes etc. The millions being spent by three of the clubs above us can't go on forever. Cook has set his wage target that he believes he can challange with next season and its up to us to help him get it. It can be done.

Spot on iv seen better players leave. And Sligo Rovers will be tere long after tere career is over.At least he,s not going for nothing get the right money and let him go!He,s no good to us if he doesnt want to be with the club

REDdecky
22/11/2007, 10:26 PM
Faz has been excellent this season,its taken him a few seasons to adjust to
the l.o.i.,he's been a true pro this season always fit cant remember him been injured,remember him playing in Turners Cross,Roy Keane bought the wrong player in O'Donavan....He's worth 10 times more than 15,000 euro's at least,

Good luck son...

DocRovers
22/11/2007, 11:05 PM

If you honestly think that team has a chance of staying up you are dreaming. We will be tailed off very early - crowds drop, interest drops etc. Even less money for wages etc. Judge wont shake a leg in that team. I spoke with Faz at the end of year dinner & he mentioned the state of the pitch as being poor. With his ability a decent surface would be a great attraction. Sad to see him go - he was worth the admission money every time. Shams in the Cup - pure class!

redrov2005
23/11/2007, 9:07 AM
Very disappointing to hear Faz is leaving. A class act and one of the few players to really give his all despite some of the snipers in the Showgrounds.

Football careers here are short and hardly lucrative so you can hardly blame him if he wants to do better for himself. He owes Rovers nothing after some of the performances he put in.

Its also disappointing that the club having got Faz,Peers and Judge on contracts appear unable/unwilling to hold on to them. Time for the local business community to step and a chief executive appointed to run the club.

Oh and the pitch. What work will be done on it between now and March :rolleyes:

23/11/2007, 9:29 AM
He hasnt gone yet so its not a sure thing that he will go.

red arrow
23/11/2007, 9:41 AM
have to agree with previous comments on pitch. the condition is poor as i told all and sundry before that is one of the reasons why hughes left. now to get a few things straight some people on this board are of the opinion that the 60k raised in july was done to bring players in. the money was originally collected to pay players wages during the off season but because of the way the season turned out with gates dropping (and playing away from home 3 weeks in a row plus a break in the league k14 weekly wage bill x 4 weeks with very little income = 60 k gone) so contrary to what some people think that cook spent it on players in july this is totally wrong thinking. also you must remember that the club had to buy back the contracts of the likes of vasas
julien etc. and the loss here could have being anything up to 15k. so lads dont be giving out keep supporting the club. we must keep faith in the manager. we may have to take some steps backward to move forward over the next few years. if we can get a proper youth/ 21 team structure in place this can be the catalyst to a brighter future. have patiens rome was:;nt build in a day

23/11/2007, 10:57 AM
From eleven-a-side.com

Bohemians manager Sean Connor could raid former club Sligo Rovers once more following news that the Bit O’Red’s star forward Fahrudin Kudozovic wants to leave the Showgrounds.

Kudozovic, who scored 11 Premier Division goals for Sligo in 2007, has handed in a formal transfer request at the north-west club.

The Bosnian has graduated from bit-part midfielder to key player for Rovers since joining from Notts County three years ago.

The news of Kudozovic’s transfer request is a further close-season blow to Sligo, who have already lost skipper Adam Hughes to league champions Drogheda United.

And Bohs boss Connor, who brought Darren Mansaram, Liam Burns and Harpal Singh with him when he left Sligo for Bohs 12 months ago, could now be interested in adding Kudozovic to the former Sligo contingent at Dalymount Park..............

if he goes, then best of luck to him, but cant see him fitting in at Bohs, as long as we get more than €30,000 for him, im happy.

23/11/2007, 10:59 AM
we should be looking at 50k plus anyway at the very least

23/11/2007, 12:18 PM
Faz would be daft to go to Bohs - that knacker would probably play him at centre back.

Trying to get odds on us being relegated next season - will report back.

BrayUnknowns
23/11/2007, 12:44 PM
we're just a feeder club at this stage

Welcome to our world :( Dublin clubs have rapped us of players for years. Part and parcil of footie really...

showgies
23/11/2007, 12:55 PM
Losing Faz to would be a big blow. Although he was inadvertently pushed in to a centre forward position he has since become a revelation. He has in the last season become a real crowd favourite, which is quite a turn around when you consider the abuse the man initially got. The only consolation will can get is a good price for him. I hope the club really bargain hard on this occasion.

I have heard rumours that he was treated poorly regarding wages by the club, and that this may have been the catalyst for his transfer request. I really hope that this isn’t true. If we start taking players like Faz for granted, simply because he is contracted, we could end up losing a few more players.

I would love to see Faz stay with the club but not is he really wishes to be elsewhere.

red bellied
23/11/2007, 1:13 PM
50,000 according to the Star is the starting bid for Faz. Six different business interests are supposed to be coming on board to provide finance for players when the new seasons starts. Maybe they can renegotiate his contract.

DocRovers
23/11/2007, 1:17 PM
He is not gone yet & hopefully the club, fans etc can show him that he is wanted here. But everytime someone looks like going there seems to be an acceptance that they are gone. We got poor money for Chrissie & will not replace him. I dont think we will get anything like Faz for the likely fee - not unless there is a big English club. I think he showed with the contract extension & performances that he wanted to stay with us, so what has changed?
This is a big test for Paul Cook - if he has the right relationship with him there may be a change of heart. Paul can talk it out with player & MC to get a resolution. But the more who leave the more likely others are to leave, would you stay now if someone else came in for you? - Sean Connor's legacy may be that he turned Sligo Rovers into the best feeder club in Ireland????

Knappagh Red
23/11/2007, 1:49 PM
Heard the DSC have a lovely Bosnian flag for sale, just a few creases and a couple of Guinness stains, otherwise mint, first offer secures!

lowroadrover
23/11/2007, 6:05 PM
Sad to see him go , until we stop this thing of having to start from scratch every season we'll never get anywhere and only go backwards.Three going down next season means we can't afford a slow start.

23/11/2007, 6:37 PM

Exactly, grim.;)

Rovers fan
23/11/2007, 8:07 PM

Thats actually funny. Foyzer- clearly not going to get fit, if he wanted to he would have done it by now
Judge- Doesn't put in the effort, simple as
Mckenzie_dodgy and not a very good player. This is clear when peers is not playing. If you watch closely peers does all the donkey work on his own.
O'grady- Not near as good as the central midfielders who play for the top five teams.

That doesn't leave much of a spine. However if we can bring in a decent centre back, centre midfielder,a left back and two strikers we will be ok for next season, thats asking a lot with a tight budget. As sligoman said its no different to any other season things always look bleak for us at the start of the season. I just really hope we can hold on to cooke and give him a bit of money to buy some decent players.

23/11/2007, 9:11 PM
reality is that we're not going to have the 20,000 a week that cooks says suffice for us to be able to compete, so we'll just have to hope we can do okay on whatever we do have available.

23/11/2007, 11:09 PM
the funny thing is.

connor could have had for free last season if he was such a good judge of a player. not be spending cash now.

Kivlehan
24/11/2007, 4:42 AM
It's better to lose players and get a fee than to lose them on a free transfer. How long is Coleman signed for? Sligo should not let him leave without getting a serious transfer fee for him. More appearances with the U-21 will get him interest from England or Scotland, where the transfer fee would far surpass what Bohs, Drogs or St. Pats would pay. Plus better for his career.

Shiba
24/11/2007, 9:20 AM
Very disappointing to hear Faz is leaving. A class act and one of the few players to really give his all despite some of the snipers in the Showgrounds.

Football careers here are short and hardly lucrative so you can hardly blame him if he wants to do better for himself. He owes Rovers nothing after some of the performances he put in.

Its also disappointing that the club having got Faz,Peers and Judge on contracts appear unable/unwilling to hold on to them. Time for the local business community to step and a chief executive appointed to run the club.

Oh and the pitch. What work will be done on it between now and March :rolleyes:

Agree with all the above.I for one am very dissappointed to see Faz go.I would have been one of his biggest critics last season while playing under Connors but this season he has been the clubs best player by far sorry with exception of Peers and Coleman.

We will never be anymore than a club floating round the relegation place's unless we get the local business community involved and a cheif executive in to run the club.Gone are the Days that a community based club can survive in the league of Ireland.We all know the potential we have as club to draw in support when doing well on the pitch and this can only be achieve with major investment, something that cannot be achieved by funds raised with lotto draws etc that is for junior clubs not a professional clubs.I don't want to start to run down the commitee as to be fair they do alot of hard work week in ,week out but if they cant see that even with all their hard work we as a club are no better of than we were 10/15 yrs ago.The club will not be in the premier Division for much longer if the club continues in its present form we simply have to look to the future not season to season.

Its time the direction of the club changes!

DocRovers
24/11/2007, 12:23 PM
I agree but the question is how do we all start the process towards that change from where we are now. Surely the only way is thro' the current MC, at the AGM, thro' the forum etc. So we need a plan & to make those people who have voluntarily kept the club going that we are not criticising or being ungrateful to them for their hard work down the years. It is just that times change. Also need to accept that the best person/people to help us may not be from Sligo - we need people who view things differently to move us forward.

But in the meantime can we put our hands in our pockets now to give Paul funds - no use doing that a week before or week into the league campaign. We need 400 club members, lotto sales, season tickets etc in the bank before a ball is kicked - if we did get in funds & pitch was worked on guys like Faz may believe things are going to change!

red arrow
26/11/2007, 8:44 PM
regarding the question of raising funds. i mentioned this on several occasions in previous posts especially referring to the lotto. but i noticed with all the talk on this board there was a very poor response to my plea. i have currently taken in approx 5k in the last 4 weeks. my plan is simple i have informed friends family acquaintances that sligo rovers lotto can be done online. a simple strategy is to offer people with credit cards the oppurtunity to enter for 1 year at a cost of E92.00 (this gives them 46 entries plus 6 free)they either do a quick pick or select 4 numbers . thats it simple. also you can get the lotto plus card from frank beirne. a years suscription here is e100 but you are allowed two lots of numbers of 4 into the draw every week. great value. also if one cannot afford to pay upfront e100.00 theycan do direct debit at e10.00 x 10 months. now any helpers out there willing to promote lotto this way. it can be promoted by e mail , by word of mouth. my target is 8k by x mas. and i will do it. any ody else willing to make the committment. action speaks louder than words. the club needs help now.contact frank beirne or e mail me privately. i will meet anybody.

27/11/2007, 12:16 PM
nice bit of fightin talk from cook in the weekender about faz and he's spot on, should tell drogheda to not be wasting their time until they make a serious offer of at least 50,000

27/11/2007, 4:02 PM
nice bit of fightin talk from cook in the weekender about faz and he's spot on, should tell drogheda to not be wasting their time until they make a serious offer of at least 50,000

Link to Story (http://www.sligoweekender.ie/news/story/?trs=mheymhojey&cat=sport)