View Full Version : Potential New Players

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

12/11/2007, 9:21 AM
Shamrock Rovers released 11 players this weekend. I wonder is there a possibility any of them will sign for Ramblers:
David Cassidy, Robbie Clarke, Jamie Duffy, Dave McGill, John McGuinness, Andy Myler, Dave O'Connor, Derek Pender, Alan Reynolds, Ian Ryan and Paul Shiels.
I know Alan Reynolds has been linked with the club before so I probably wouldn't be surprised if he signed and what about Andy Myler a player whose not interested in turning professional and he can score goals aswell.

12/11/2007, 9:42 AM
Hands off, Myler & Shiels are in my dream Mons team (of past Mons players) so will be encouraging our manager to lure them back where they belong!

Battery Rover
12/11/2007, 10:24 AM
Rumour has it that ye are looking for Brian McCarthy from us along with most of the other premier division clubs.

12/11/2007, 10:39 AM
We've had enough of Brian McCarthy's for one season

Comic Book Guy
12/11/2007, 10:40 AM
I must say he caught the eye in both games (against Harps and ourselves), but is he from Athlone? If he is I would be surprised if we went for him given the amount of travel involved.

12/11/2007, 10:46 AM
I must say he caught the eye in both games (against Harps and ourselves), but is he from Athlone? If he is I would be surprised if we went for him given the amount of travel involved.

Origionally from Cork but moved up here years ago. Still has a Cork accent
though.

depor
12/11/2007, 11:52 AM
Rumour has it that ye are looking for Brian McCarthy from us along with most of the other premier division clubs.

ya hes a very handy player.

12/11/2007, 8:34 PM
Are you still set on Dave Mooney depor? Hows the negotiating going?

don ramo
12/11/2007, 9:01 PM
Are you still set on Dave Mooney depor? Hows the negotiating going?

shhhh thats a secret now city will get him

12/11/2007, 9:07 PM
shhhh thats a secret now city will get him

Sorry when i said Dave Mooney I meant to say resign Jamie Nolan:D:D:D

don ramo
12/11/2007, 9:13 PM
Sorry when i said Dave Mooney I meant to say resign Jamie Nolan:D

hes a class act alright, whatever happened to him, i never even saw him leave the island, strange:cool:

12/11/2007, 9:17 PM
hes a class act alright, whatever happened to him, i never even saw him leave the island, strange:cool:
He burst up the wing one day and never came back:D

looping
12/11/2007, 9:44 PM
Shamrock Rovers released 11 players this weekend. I wonder is there a possibility any of them will sign for Ramblers:
David Cassidy, Robbie Clarke, Jamie Duffy, Dave McGill, John McGuinness, Andy Myler, Dave O'Connor, Derek Pender, Alan Reynolds, Ian Ryan and Paul Shiels.
I know Alan Reynolds has been linked with the club before so I probably wouldn't be surprised if he signed and what about Andy Myler a player whose not interested in turning professional and he can score goals aswell.

i know you d like to sign a few of them but i think for hendo the most important thing is at first keep all his young players the sort of davin cummins etc...and murray and carey as well coz there are the key players i think!

12/11/2007, 9:47 PM
Yeah i was suggesting those lads as back up because personally i think that all we need is back up.
What about u looping? Any plans to return to the bar?

looping
12/11/2007, 9:56 PM
Yeah i was suggesting those lads as back up because personally i think that all we need is back up.
What about u looping? Any plans to return to the bar?

well it s been a big disapointment last time i wanted to be back to the eircom league of ireland and ramblers but yeh i d love to come back for good this time
but u know i played all but forward in fact this year but centre midfield and even centre half as u can see time has changed i m getting old ;)

The Rebel Ram
12/11/2007, 10:12 PM
well it s been a big disapointment last time i wanted to be back to the eircom league of ireland and ramblers but yeh i d love to come back for good this time
but u know i played all but forward in fact this year but centre midfield and even centre half as u can see time has changed i m getting old ;)

We might get a season out of still though............
Get a few bob out of you on poker night too!!!!!:p

depor
12/11/2007, 10:31 PM
i know you d like to sign a few of them but i think for hendo the most important thing is at first keep all his young players the sort of davin cummins etc...and murray and carey as well coz there are the key players i think!

true, its very important we keep the talented young players we have with us now. and only then look for a few more for strengths-in-depth purposes, as i believe the players we have can more than hold their own in the premier but a few players to cover injuries will be needed.

ramblersnb1
13/11/2007, 10:29 AM
Lads Holdin Onto Davin Is The Hard Thing Now With Leeds Sniffin Around Him

13/11/2007, 10:41 AM
Good Luck to him. If he wants i'll drive him to the airport because there isn't a better footballer in Cobh. Obviously i'd prefer if he stayed but he deserves it, good luck to him and u know what i'd pay to go watch him play for Leeds because hes a class act.

Rambler1
13/11/2007, 3:58 PM
Good Luck to him. If he wants i'll drive him to the airport because there isn't a better footballer in Cobh. Obviously i'd prefer if he stayed but he deserves it, good luck to him and u know what i'd pay to go watch him play for Leeds because hes a class act.Hear hear, good luck Davin whatever way it works out...

don ramo
13/11/2007, 7:28 PM
well mooney is suppose to be off to dundee, thats our master plan ruined,

if dav does get a chance he should take it, but, if it doesnt work out he must come back here, or ill break his legs:D, id say there will be few of our young squad in some clubs sights, it is a massive achievement given the young age of the squad

ramblers
13/11/2007, 7:35 PM
the 25 million we get for Dav will help next season!!!

13/11/2007, 7:50 PM
well mooney is suppose to be off to dundee, thats our master plan ruined,
Feck Dundee are always one step ahead!

14/11/2007, 9:05 AM
Hardly a surprise to see teams interested in Davin after the season he's had. Even if he doesn't go across the water I think Ramblers might have their work cut out keeping him anyway unfortunately.

15/11/2007, 6:24 PM
I wouldn't be surprised to see baby Lordan down there.

MojoPin
15/11/2007, 7:06 PM
lordan maybe at a desperate push but please dont even hint at....... lally

depor
15/11/2007, 10:53 PM
we dont want any of citys deadwood, ive been saying it for ages to city supporters that not many of that city side would improve our existing side. but of course they come back and say ''joe gtamble this and joe gamble that'' he is the most over-rated player in LOI history. and for the rest of um, i dont know.:D

chimpster
16/11/2007, 4:39 AM
We've an amazing group of players now, but if we're to survive in the Prem we'll be needing a more strength in depth and a wee bit more experience. I reckon we need to sign 2 quality players with good Prem experience and also a couple of decent younger lads. Guts is one obvious target (remember he ain't ours yet!) and if a potential 10 or 15-goal-a-season striker is available...

Those sort of fellas don't grow on trees in this part of the country. Ye can guarantee Rico will put out at least half his reserves next week in the hope of off-loading a couple to us. And don't be surprised if Hendo takes the bait, we may be needing them next summer.

Either way, there'll probably be no signings announced for weeks yet. We don't want to be paying wages to a full squad all winter.

Rambler1
16/11/2007, 7:50 AM
He burst up the wing one day and never came back:DNow,now..lets not slag off x players who did give their all for the cause.:mad:

16/11/2007, 9:17 AM
Now,now..lets not slag off x players who did give their all for the cause.:mad:

If he gave his all why was he released half way through the season?
He was lazy. Did nothing and somehow managed to get a couple of goals. Bryan McCarthy used to chase down everything but he didn't get the goalscoring opportunities Nolan had, now saying that they were both poor standard players. Thats why McCarthy is gonna sign for Wexford and Nolan's at Avondale.

Pablo Escobar
16/11/2007, 10:29 AM
I'm afraid that Ramblers fans are over-estimating what they've got. I hope I'm wrong, and I want them to stay up, but there is a gulf that you will see next year that you probably did not expect. I think you've got to strengthen!

rammie
16/11/2007, 11:54 AM
I agree Pablo... there is a big difference ... in the first division you get away with lapses of concentration or under performances ..not so in the premier. However if Hendo keeps this squad together then the Premier Division will be treated to fine footballing displays, demonstrations of tremendous team spirit and a never say die attitude.
Promotion has only offered Ramblers the means of realising their true potential. C'mon you Rams:D

Rams-07
16/11/2007, 11:57 AM
Have to agree with you there Pablo,been to a lot of City games last season and have to say there is a big gulf between divisions.Think Ramblers will need at least 6 new players who are hungry for success and have experience at this level.I also think 2 or 3 of the squad players will probably be released.

16/11/2007, 12:42 PM
I also think 2 or 3 of the squad players will probably be released.

I can't imagine any Ramblers players leavin. I think when Hendo says he's gonna keep the squad together for 3 years he means it.

Rambler1
16/11/2007, 1:33 PM
If he gave his all why was he released half way through the season?
He was lazy. Did nothing and somehow managed to get a couple of goals. Bryan McCarthy used to chase down everything but he didn't get the goalscoring opportunities Nolan had, now saying that they were both poor standard players. Thats why McCarthy is gonna sign for Wexford and Nolan's at Avondale.Ya I agree with you that he mighn't have been what we wanted or didnt do what we hoped / expected him to do (score loads of goals) but I disagree with the fact that he played games and didnt try his best. He wouldnt have played for more then one game under Hendo if he was lazy and didnt care. My point here is , good players or not so good players shouldnt be slagged off on a personal basis here.

ramsfan
16/11/2007, 2:04 PM
dont want rams to go down the road of sacrificing players who have given loyalty and hard work for club in order to bring mercenary players from league who couldnt tell one thing about club or who dont give a damn if we go down

i think rams should get onto sunderland and get roy to loan us some players who need gametime and experience:)

16/11/2007, 2:12 PM
Thats why McCarthy is gonna sign for Wexford

Is this based on the fact that he runs around a lot and tries hard like the Wexford lads or is he actually moving down to Wexford and joining the Wallace revolution?

ramsfan
16/11/2007, 2:15 PM
honest lad think if he had got a goal early on in the season he may have had an ok season but when he didnt score for first couple of games confidence dissappeared and he lost it:ball:

16/11/2007, 3:27 PM
dont want rams to go down the road of sacrificing players who have given loyalty and hard work for club in order to bring mercenary players from league who couldnt tell one thing about club or who dont give a damn if we go down

i think rams should get onto sunderland and get roy to loan us some players who need gametime and experience:)

No guarantee that Sunderlands kids will be any better than what we have. In days gone by we always had loan players from across the water and very few of them made their mark.

Hendo is a sensible fella anyway and will be very wary of stuff like that.

16/11/2007, 3:54 PM
Is this based on the fact that he runs around a lot and tries hard like the Wexford lads or is he actually moving down to Wexford and joining the Wallace revolution?

Wallace revolution

21/11/2007, 12:07 PM
JOF????
I'm sure he's happy with his money now but if Ramblers cement a premier place(good luck) he could easily end up there.

21/11/2007, 12:14 PM
Good point. If he doesn't produce the goods for City next season then I doubt they'll offer him another contract on the money he is on. He badly needs a long run of games to dispell anyone's fears that they would be wasting money on an injury prone striker.

depor
21/11/2007, 5:07 PM
I'm afraid that Ramblers fans are over-estimating what they've got. I hope I'm wrong, and I want them to stay up, but there is a gulf that you will see next year that you probably did not expect. I think you've got to strengthen!

i agree we're not very strong in premier terms and that we need to strenghten the team/squad. but i also dont think that taking city's scraps will do us either as citys first team arnt the strongest this year so where does that leave the players that are left go, with arkagas cost cutting and the rest.

don ramo
21/11/2007, 7:52 PM
well we cant be heapin deadwodd on, we got rid of it last year and look what happened, hendo wil have to play it cute one or two big signins (not top of league big) but quality ones, one or two full timers id say is a must, our aim should be a full time club in say 5-7 years, if possible, that should be any part time clubs plan, i do honestly think we wont be as bad as some people think, we should be gettin draws at home to big teams and beat the smaller teams at home, then draw agianst smaller teams away, home form is vital, cant wait to see transfer activity though see who we get,

next year will be a big year, it will tell a lot, definately

21/11/2007, 7:53 PM
well we cant be heapin deadwodd on, we got rid of it last year and look what happened, hendo wil have to play it cute one or two big signins (not top of league big) but quality ones, one or two full timers id say is a must, our aim should be a full time club in say 5-7 years, if possible, that should be any part time clubs plan, i do honestly think we wont be as bad as some people think, we should be gettin draws at home to big teams and beat the smaller teams at home, then draw agianst smaller teams away, home form is vital, cant wait to see transfer activity though see who we get,

next year will be a big year, it will tell a lot, definately

Couldn't agree more.

21/11/2007, 10:06 PM
Heard John O'Flynn doesnt want to sign for city, heard it from good source too. Dont think he'll sign for us either though. On his day hes untouchable IMo, unfortunatly very few days are his, he needs to get proper specialist treatment even if he misses a hole season it will benefit him in the long run, cant carrry on like this. One of the best players i ever playing in the EL.

don ramo
21/11/2007, 11:15 PM
i do not want to se JOF at ramblers, he always thought he was better than ramblers (remember when city knocked us out of the cup two years ago, he was on a 3 months injury, and made a miraculus recovery to captain the side and when he scored the winner he came off injured and was out for 3 months), dont see how that changes, plus he wouldnt take a step down to semi-pro, as he wouldnt be in any full time list id draw up,

23/11/2007, 7:19 PM
Waterford look like their heading down. Anybody fancy any of their players comin to Cobh? Maybe John Hayes might make a comeback to St. Colemans he wasn't a bad player when he was here on loan.

MojoPin
24/11/2007, 4:14 AM
3 words/.... the inivisble man.. terrible absoute ****e

thegafferman
24/11/2007, 5:13 PM
Waterford look like their heading down. Anybody fancy any of their players comin to Cobh? Maybe John Hayes might make a comeback to St. Colemans he wasn't a bad player when he was here on loan.

id take vinnie sullivan in a heartbeat:ball: