View Full Version : Bring it on
ramsfan
16/11/2007, 5:26 PM
sorry lads flaming terrible post , thought i was on fire with that one but it didnt seem to ignite your interest:)
Best of luck to Harps tonight, you've got the whole Hooperatzi nation supporting you. I wonder has the FAI got the fire service on standby near their HQ?
ramsfan
16/11/2007, 6:17 PM
whats the story with yer ground drove past it a couple of months ago what a shame, would be the job easy to get at from cork as well:ball:
Don't get me started :mad:
Dundalk’s promotion hopes have been dealt a severe blow just 48 hours before this game, with the news on Wednesday evening that John Gill has been forced to draft in four under-21 players for the side’s trip north. This move comes as a result of yet more crippling injury news, with David Crawley (ribs), Robbie Doyle (head) and captain Aidan Lynch (calf) now all expected to miss out through injury. This trio is added to the already long absentee list, which contains suspended duo, Shaun Williams and Trevor Vaughan, and injured quartet, Vinny Perth, Philly Hughes, Ben Whelehan and Kevin McArdle, leaving Gill with just 12 fit outfield players for the club’s biggest game of the year.
Load of rubbish.
Unsurprisingly 5 out of the 7 made miraculous recoveries just before kick off.
This crap is a pet-hate of mine and not the first time Gill has been at it. Not that it did him much good.
Best of luck to Harps tonight, you've got the whole Hooperatzi nation supporting you. I wonder has the FAI got the fire service on standby near their HQ?
Nice one brother!
17/11/2007, 4:31 PM
sorry lads flaming terrible post , thought i was on fire with that one but it didnt seem to ignite your interest:)
Maxi was in with us during the 2nd half, nice bloke, shtone mad but:
ooohhhh super maxi,
he used to be a pyro,
but he's alright now. :p He loved that one while he held his lighter in the air. He also started the Ring of fire singing. Great craic. :cool:
17/11/2007, 4:36 PM
Maxi was in with us during the 2nd half, nice bloke, shtone mad but:
ooohhhh super maxi,
he used to be a pyro,
but he's alright now. :p He loved that one while he held his lighter in the air. He also started the Ring of fire singing. Great craic. :cool:
Great craic altogether! :rolleyes:
17/11/2007, 4:54 PM
Great craic altogether! :rolleyes:
Why the sarcasm?
17/11/2007, 4:56 PM
Why the sarcasm?
The clown should be banned from LoI games. Beyond that, he should be behind bars.
17/11/2007, 5:00 PM
The clown should be banned from LoI games. Beyond that, he should be behind bars.
Still didn't stop us having the craic though did it? Whether or not he should be behind bars is not for us to decide.
onephillyhughes
17/11/2007, 6:05 PM
He's barred from Oriel Park, he can go to whatever games he wants otherwise!
FAO: Waterford fans - Is there any chance that we'll get a limited or small number of tickets for the game in the RSC?
Blue-Army
17/11/2007, 8:26 PM
FAO: Waterford fans - Is there any chance that we'll get a limited or small number of tickets for the game in the RSC?
Doubt it...tickets are on sale here already..Capicity is limited to around 1,500 ...But it won't be a sell-out..You'll probably be able to buy tickets on the night...
17/11/2007, 8:40 PM
Doubt it...tickets are on sale here already..Capicity is limited to around 1,500 ...But it won't be a sell-out..You'll probably be able to buy tickets on the night...
:eek: 1500? And ye won't sell it out? Thats mad, especially for a play-off that means so much to both clubs. We should have a couple of hundred down for it, the friday night is a killer for us. (I know ironic that we would critisise fri nights as we play our home games on fridays too)
If it's limited to 1500 then it is bound to be a sell-out. We'll have anywhere between 300-500 looking to go I'd say.
I dont think the crowd from the play-off between Harps-Derry from both matches will be matched, that was some night and atmosphere
It certainly won't CTID! Those games were something else, if anything the atmosphere got too intense at times during the second game.
trevy
18/11/2007, 12:10 PM
Any news if the playoff on Tuesday in Finn Park will be shown live on tv? I got my ticket for Fridays game yesterday but I'd say there will be tickets on sale on the night anyway.
Tis-smeee
18/11/2007, 12:23 PM
Finn harps will be sent the allocation that cork got in the cup 105 I think, but I would imagine there will be tix sold on the night though tickets are selling well down here already
Cork got more than 105 didn't they?
Any news if the playoff on Tuesday in Finn Park will be shown live on tv? I got my ticket for Fridays game yesterday but I'd say there will be tickets on sale on the night anyway.
There has been no mention of it that I know of. There may be a possibility of the second leg being on though.
18/11/2007, 12:37 PM
Cork got more than 105 didn't they?
205 originally i think. That was what we were entitled too. We were sent more when they werent selling though
Tis-smeee
18/11/2007, 12:46 PM
I stand corrected , I heard the second leg might be on the box
Finn harps will be sent the allocation that cork got in the cup 105 I think, but I would imagine there will be tix sold on the night though tickets are selling well down here already
Cheers.
Many of you coming up tomorrow night?
Tis-smeee
19/11/2007, 9:38 PM
ten to fifteen max
corkharps
20/11/2007, 12:03 AM
ten to fifteen max
I knows its a Tuesday night and all but thats just shocking, considering whats at stake!:eek:
bluemovie
20/11/2007, 10:00 AM
It's a Tuesday night at the opposite end of the country. Not everyone can get time off to face what is a horrible journey. There are 4 of us traveling from Dublin and at least another carload going from Waterford that I'm aware of. It's a crazy journey on a Tuesday.
bigmac
20/11/2007, 1:12 PM
205 originally i think. That was what we were entitled too. We were sent more when they werent selling though
Cork were given the whole of Block A initially. Can't remember the exact number, but it was more than they were entitled to and was done for stewarding reasons iirc.
I know its midweek, but a club which only brings 15 fans to a relegation playoff doesn't deserve to stay up! I'm genuinely shocked at that!
Our game in Waterford is also on a weeknight, albeit a Friday and already we have 50 fans booked on the official club trip, with at least one other busload going. With cars and fans from Dublin, Cork etc we should have 250-300 minimum, maybe quite a few more.
If it was a Tuesday maybe half that figure would have made it, but 15!!!! UCD would have brought more. :confused:
TG
Partizan
20/11/2007, 2:33 PM
I know its midweek, but a club which only brings 15 fans to a relegation playoff doesn't deserve to stay up! I'm genuinely shocked at that!
What an utterly stupid comment to make, just because we cant get off work on a Tuesday night and travel the bones of a 600 mile round trip means that we should be automatically relegated. What kind of logic is that. We are in the Premier and we will stay there. Not so long ago when Harps were in dire straits they could barely muster up a couple of hundred....... in Finn Park of all places. Our attendances despite being at the wrong end of the table for the vast majority of the season is not so bad, coming in at around 1100-1200 per home game which represents our hardcore.
Speaking of what you can bring to the Premier, well lets see, your ground is an absolute dump and your main stand resembles a desolate haybarn. Have you any solid plans for moving or renovation or is it all just pie in the sky.
and we thought the C/\wkies talked utter tripe. :rolleyes:
20/11/2007, 2:56 PM
What an utterly stupid comment to make, just because we cant get off work on a Tuesday night and travel the bones of a 600 mile round trip means that we should be automatically relegated. What kind of logic is that. We are in the Premier and we will stay there. Not so long ago when Harps were in dire straits they could barely muster up a couple of hundred....... in Finn Park of all places. Our attendances despite being at the wrong end of the table for the vast majority of the season is not so bad, coming in at around 1100-1200 per home game which represents our hardcore.
Speaking of what you can bring to the Premier, well lets see, your ground is an absolute dump and your main stand resembles a desolate haybarn. Have you any solid plans for moving or renovation or is it all just pie in the sky.
and we thought the C/\wkies talked utter tripe. :rolleyes:
C'mon Partizan - toys back in the pram dude. It's very difficult to disagree with the jist of what he's saying.
This is a vitally important set of games for Waterford, so to have your fans talking about a home capacity of 1,500 not selling out and only a couple of handfuls travelling to the away game is very poor no matter what way you look at it.
As for Harps stadium plans - they've been well-documented on here and you can find them easily yourself if you're keen to know, rather than just looking for something to lash out about.
20/11/2007, 2:57 PM
10-15 people is embarassing for such an important match. Do Waterford fans travel outside of Dublin?
cheifo
20/11/2007, 3:08 PM
The problem with these arguments is that the people who make huge effort to support their club through thick and thin feel they have to make excuses for the people who dont
Yeah, look that was probably a bit harsh Partizan, and obviously Waterfords die hard fans, board management and players deserve to stay up if they win these games. But I'm genuinely shocked that so few would travel and attend at home for such a vital game, regardless of night of week or distance.
We've a fair bit of experience of playoff and this will be by far the lowest away crowd in FP for one.
20/11/2007, 3:30 PM
Not necessarily.
The bigger a fan-base then the bigger the number of students, self-employed, unemployed, idle rich, people who work funny days/hours etc etc. In otherwords, the more people who can make a vitally important game even if it is on a Tuesday.
Surely the Waterford fan-base can russle up more than 10-15 people who have the time, means and the desire to support their team in such an important game ?!? :eek:
Blue-Army
20/11/2007, 3:53 PM
10-15 people is embarassing for such an important match. Do Waterford fans travel outside of Dublin?
Be realistic.....Its about 8hours on a bus....and its on a tuesday..Most people have work or school...
The game should be on Friday...with the next leg on the following Friday...
That wouldn't really help people travelling that much- Saturday would be better. Also, it would mean WUFC having to pay wages for an extra 3 weeks after the season, with only one home gate in that time and one very long trip.
Tis-smeee
20/11/2007, 5:20 PM
Our game in Waterford is also on a weeknight, albeit a Friday and already we have 50 fans booked on the official club trip, with at least one other busload going. With cars and fans from Dublin, Cork etc we should have 250-300 minimum, maybe quite a few more.
If it was a Tuesday maybe half that figure would have made it, but 15!!!! UCD would have brought more. :confused:
TG
I wont even start on that load of nonsense
20/11/2007, 7:16 PM
No we wouldn't. At this stage Waterford have put in two relegation worthy seasons, their support is bound to be shrinking as would any club in their situation. Also given the distance, the time of the year and the day of the match it's a believable figure. People really need to stop castigating clubs for the support they do or rather that they don't bring to away games.
onephillyhughes
20/11/2007, 9:04 PM
harps or dundalk havent a hope in the play offs.
waterford are a class above any of them and play the 2nd leg at the rsc.
come on you blues.
You were saying?
20/11/2007, 9:07 PM
People tend to forget that Waterford is 100 miles away from Dublin. They then face another 160 odd mile trek to Ballybofey. So for some fans who don't live in Waterford City it can easily be almost 400 miles round trip. It means a day off work.
A lot of people working in the City and county of Waterford are on shifts.
They have probably already re-arranged a number of shifts already this year, just to get to home games. I think the attacks on their support for only being able to muster 15 or so bods on a Tuesday night in the frozen North West is nothing short of riduculous!
delighted for that cnut in particular! Humble pie my friend!
20/11/2007, 11:06 PM
come on you blues.
You sir have made yourself look a right muppet.
If you saw what i saw up in Buckley Park last night,utter tripe, i have no doubts the Blues will win the playoffs .
To be honest, i do feel sorry for Longford and what happened, with the fightback they made in the last few games they deserve to be in the playoffs or just stay up, hard luck lads , keep the faith.
Different opinion now by any chance?
harpskid
20/11/2007, 11:47 PM
Mental Man - aptly named!
21/11/2007, 2:58 AM
I don't know where that confdence came from.
Is Cronin gone or not and what did he say in the interview?
People tend to forget that Waterford is 100 miles away from Dublin. They then face another 160 odd mile trek to Ballybofey. So for some fans who don't live in Waterford City it can easily be almost 400 miles round trip. It means a day off work.
A lot of people working in the City and county of Waterford are on shifts.
They have probably already re-arranged a number of shifts already this year, just to get to home games. I think the attacks on their support for only being able to muster 15 or so bods on a Tuesday night in the frozen North West is nothing short of riduculous!
Correct. 525 mile round trip to be exact. And a day and a half or two days off work for some. I got back just over an hour ago and was only hitting the road in spots. And for that!
I'll never learn. :o
Mental Man
21/11/2007, 6:13 AM
Mental Man - aptly named!
Yep, nothing wrong with it !! :)
come on you blues.
Well Harps certainly brought it on.... happy now?
21/11/2007, 8:27 AM
The Man Himself is clearly SuperGretna re-incarnated.
LMFAO.