09/11/2007, 8:33 PM
3-1 Longford.
Mooney hattrick
3-1 Longford
Come on Rovers! Big shame if we do go down with a display like this.
09/11/2007, 8:34 PM
Is there a time delay on RTE on the web?
Billy Lord
09/11/2007, 8:35 PM
Injury time at Tolka. 3 mins.
Heard something faintly disturbing regards the Sligo game tonight, but shan't post it as I have no evidence to back it up
Waffle
Waffle
Waffle
Take your childish ego-trip elsewhere...
Shedzer
09/11/2007, 8:38 PM
Longford Town are officially down....:(
I'd rather go to Longford nxt season then Waterford.....
Agreed, hope Longford make the drop.
0-0 FT. Well done UCD & Bray.
Play-Off. The two most dreaded words in the Waterford football lexicon. We're going to have a shedload of suspended players too apparently.
Could be worse though, hard luck Longford.
Mad Moose
Is there a time delay on RTE on the web?
Yes there is Pauro. An even greater one on RTE Sportsnight coverage. I have the two on together.
09/11/2007, 8:39 PM
Waterford draw. Thank **** for that. :D:D:D
Longford Relegated
We're safe, officially.:D
jmurphyc
09/11/2007, 8:40 PM
cork city almost got a goal. possibly over the line. Full time though. 1-0 bohs. bohs get 3rd.
09/11/2007, 8:41 PM
mourning our relegation. But we went down fighting and in style. So proud but gutted. Apparantly some muppet shouted out Rovers had scored. Amazing stuff. We'll be back. For the Cup Final at least.
Theskinloyal
09/11/2007, 8:42 PM
whats going on at the end in turners cross? can hear booing and shouting
09/11/2007, 8:44 PM
Commiserations to Longford, very unlucky to go down after that fightback.
Apparantly some muppet shouted out Rovers had scored.Someone said in Galway that Waterford had scored around half time too, apparently. :rolleyes:
Thunder-WYFC
09/11/2007, 8:47 PM
For the referee I'd imagine
Mad Moose
Brilliant end of season from Longford Town.Goes wihout saying the 6 poin t deduction sealed their fate and they did go down fighting and that has to be commended.
Still that rules out a repeat of 2001 and the Play Off with Finn Harps at Ballybofey.
Someone said in Galway that Waterford had scored around half time too, apparently. :rolleyes:
Not just someone, the announcer. Serves Pineapple right for his superflous texts.;)
The reality is Longford accumulated enough points on the field to finish tenth on joint points with Galway. How they managed to dig themselves out of such a points deficit psychologically and come as close as you could to making it up is amazing. Well done and good luck in the final.
We want another derby!C'mon Rovers
Don't worry, knowing our record in promotion/relegation play-offs you'll have that derby next year.
09/11/2007, 8:53 PM
Well done Waterford and best of luck in the playoff. Inspiring fightback against the odds. Shame we're down but the Cup Final win will do us nicely.
09/11/2007, 8:56 PM
0-0 FT. Well done UCD & Bray.
Play-Off. The two most dreaded words in the Waterford football lexicon. We're going to have a shedload of suspended players too apparently.
Could be worse though, hard luck Longford.
Good luck to the Blues in the play-off. Scoring 1 goal in 6 games I suppose we deserve to be congratulated for managing to stay up despite winning 2 games fewer than Longford all season and failing to even average 1 point per game this season. It's nothing short of miraculous :eek:
09/11/2007, 9:07 PM
So is that 2 years out of 3 that Waterford have been saved from the automatic drop due to point deductions for teams below them?
alansmithccfc
09/11/2007, 9:28 PM
A mixture of the ref and bohs players rolling around on the floor for the enire 2nd half
niallsparky
09/11/2007, 9:57 PM
A mixture of the ref and bohs players rolling around on the floor for the enire 2nd half
The ref was ridiculous, every 50-50 decision went your way. Home ref if ever there was one :mad:.I'm just glad we had the pure ability to overcome it.
sonofstan
09/11/2007, 9:57 PM
So is that 2 years out of 3 that Waterford have been saved from the automatic drop due to point deductions for teams below them?
and one year they get relegated and then promoted again because the champions get relegated instead - Dawn of the Undead IV
Didn't spot the ref rolling around on the floor - for the entire second half you say?
Student Mullet
09/11/2007, 9:59 PM
Didn't spot the ref rolling around on the floor - for the entire second half you say?That's because it was a mixture of the ref and Bohs' players, imagine Morph having sex.
09/11/2007, 9:59 PM
Was the ref rolling around on the floor when he disallowed a perfectly legit. cracker of a goal by Harpal?
KevBGUFC
09/11/2007, 10:27 PM
mourning our relegation. But we went down fighting and in style. So proud but gutted.
Sad to see ye go down. Ye played some of the best football at Terryland this season. Good luck next season. It'll be tough with only 1 team coming back up. Hope ye can hang on to a good bit of ye're squad. If ye win the cup there's a decent chance of that with European football and all.....
And yes the public announcer at Terryland tonight announced Waterford leading. I think it was just to give our game a bit more of an edge :p
09/11/2007, 10:36 PM
As soon as Bray went two nil up I knew we wouldn't be winning 2-0. I knew they'd fall back and not kill the game off. We really could have won by 3 or 4 if we'd upped it a bit in the second half.
Have to say fair play to the Sligo fans. They put on a great show.
Commiserations to Longford. I have to interview Shay Kelly on Monday and imagine he'll be pretty down. Good luck to them. I know how bad the First is.
09/11/2007, 11:21 PM
The players do not deserve this, the management do not deserve this the fans do not deserve this. To go down by a point. Id sooner go down by 20. To alan and all the players I doubht ye will ever read this but thankyou. Thankyou for showing passion and loyalty and the will to fight to the end. To the board members who cost us the six points.
09/11/2007, 11:36 PM
To be honest, I'd have prefered if we made the playoffs. Shower of lazy *****s deserve it.
Mad Moose
09/11/2007, 11:43 PM
Anyone see the offside given against Denis Behan as he was put through. A really poor decision and I can't understand how the referee's assistant made the decision if he was in line with play.
09/11/2007, 11:55 PM
I don't mean to affend or sound rude but I hope to God that Waterford go down. Second year in a row they've gotten away with it, third time in three years if you count the IAG.
09/11/2007, 11:59 PM
The players do not deserve this, the management do not deserve this the fans do not deserve this. To go down by a point. Id sooner go down by 20. To alan and all the players I doubht ye will ever read this but thankyou. Thankyou for showing passion and loyalty and the will to fight to the end. To the board members who cost us the six points covering yere own holes **** YOU. I hope you get what is coming to ye. Shower of ***** the lot of ye.
Well, if we had scored the free header from 6 yards, that we had in injury time..... :o
Still, look on the bright side, you'll have 4 big games against Athlone next season. :D
Mental Man
10/11/2007, 1:00 AM
I don't mean to affend or sound rude but I hope to God that Waterford go down. Second year in a row they've gotten away with it, third time in three years if you count the IAG.
I expected a comment like that from an ****hole student, we were all hoping for a goal at Tolka that would have put UCD into the playoffs, Sullivan had an open net from 4 yards but the ball went through his feet :o.
Anyway cant complain, were in the playoffs and if the lads play like the way they have over the last few weeks then i see no problem with who ever they play, they have shown great determination to grind out results, and we have a stronger team now than last years.
GreenStar
10/11/2007, 1:45 AM
Anyway cant complain, were in the playoffs and if the lads play like the way they have over the last few weeks then i see no problem with who ever they play, they have shown great determination to grind out results, and we have a stronger team now than last years.
Play like you did tonight against Finn Harps or Cobh Ramblers then you're gone. They have something to play for, whereas Rovers didn't.
Honestly, I must say to Longford, what goes around comes around. You were more than happy to see Rovers relegated 2 years ago (and you made it well known too). Also, every time I have travelled to your ground and been there over an hour before kick-off, brought my 2 sons, paid in for the 3 of us, bought a programme, bought food, the works, have then been treated like something you found on the end of your shoe. Tried to pen us in, left us out in the spilling rain, you name it. Sorry but Longford I for one will not miss you. I'm not WUMing but I am more than happy to see the back of you.
Learn to treat people with respect and you will receive that same respect in return.
Cue the abuse now.....
I understand your grievances with the treatment of rovers. It's a real regret during our 8 seasons in the premier that Rovers fans were treated to that.
But according to RTE's radio feed Pat scully's Rovers were **** tonight, at least Derry came to give us a game. So concentrate on your performance tonight and forget Longford.
I understand your grievances with the treatment of rovers. It's a real regret during our 8 seasons in the premier that Rovers fans were treated to that.
Pats fans got treated like **** many times too
Do I have to apologise for that...?
anyway I couldn't give a duck.... I was just thinking of pat's and Inchicore... and you know what, i'll miss you. I hope it's not to soon before we meet again.
In fairness, it's only a game.
We lost a good mate this year. I'm only just after looking back over that thread.
Mental Man
10/11/2007, 7:19 AM
At the last game against Longford up in their home ground we even had our flags taken from us by those w**kers of stewards ye had, it was even reported in the mirror yesterday?
Get rid of those tossers ye have as stewards, whats the point in going to away grounds if stewards are gonna take your flags and confiscate megaphones, looks like they dont want to see opposition supporters cheering on their team, totally biased stewards.
No wonder the vast majority of people i have spoken too even from other clubs hate going to Flancare park with idiots like that there and their behaviour ?
10/11/2007, 8:59 AM
I'd much prefer to be going to Longford than Waterford next year.
Always a game that gets a good UTD following and we have a fair bit of crack ripping the p!ss out of the local yokels.Hard Luck Longford,
Having said that the stewards in Longford aren't the friendliest and Waterfords last week were spot on.
FarmHoop
10/11/2007, 9:05 AM
At the last game against Longford up in their home ground we even had our flags taken from us by those w**kers of stewards ye had, it was even reported in the mirror yesterday?
Get rid of those tossers ye have as stewards, whats the point in going to away grounds if stewards are gonna take your flags and confiscate megaphones, looks like they dont want to see opposition supporters cheering on their team, totally biased stewards.
No wonder the vast majority of people i have spoken too even from other clubs hate going to Flancare park with idiots like that there and their behaviour ?
You should be beaten to death with them bloody megaphones, ya's sound bad enough without them
10/11/2007, 9:15 AM
You should be beaten to death with them bloody megaphones, ya's sound bad enough without them
What he said :)
Also to the fans of opposition clubs who give out about ourstewards. Most of us know all to well about them. OTT merchants.