View Full Version : Protest Merrion Sq.
bray boy
29/10/2007, 12:13 PM
Im putting this up for a mate firstly.
A delaney out protest is being held at fai hq merrion sq. friday nov 2nd 12 noon
eircom league jersyes flags banners and noise is very very welcome
the more support we get the better
thanks.
29/10/2007, 12:47 PM
What is the protest for? Is it just Delaney Out? I honestly dont think it'll have any impact. If it were a protest for something more specific, to draw attention to something, something realistic it would be far better.
29/10/2007, 12:48 PM
I'm in work, but best of luck with it.
Let's leave the questioning until after for once, and try get on with something tangible.
29/10/2007, 12:51 PM
I don't see what harm a 'Delaney Out' protest would do.
Admittedly - he's hardly going to be typing his resignation letter during it, but if it has a decent enough turn out (say, over 15 people - enough to create a visual presence and a bit of noise) and more importantly as long as it gets media coverage, it would be a huge embarassment for him and would pile on the pressure.
Agree that it would need to be a bit more sophisticated than a mere 'get him out' message. It should link him to the Staunton disappointment and any other other FAI failures of recent time, and then say that that is why he should go.
Would also be sensible for those involved to set-up some sort of 'group' to give themselves more credibility with the media.
Expect the FAI to have read this post by now as well.
29/10/2007, 12:59 PM
I like Delaney especially the way this post is in the EL section, i think hes doing great work for the eircom league, the Staunton thing is his **** up i think
CharlesThompson
29/10/2007, 1:01 PM
An interesting addition to the ammunition would be the 'line' he (Delaney) asked Shane Long to go with so as to absorbe any embarrasment following Long's suspension from the under 19 match where he (Long) was asked to go along with the line that he was injured as to explain why he was omitted from the squad.
Delaney won't resign.
Do you know that he gives himself a wage that is only about €20K a year less than Bertie? And Bertie has given himself a wage that is more than George Bush or Gordon Brown!
29/10/2007, 2:34 PM
While the Staunton appointment was a farce, the National side is only a small part of football in this country and he is doing a reasonable job with a lot of it. Of course there are issues there too, but he has done some good work.
Any protest would need to have more than "He hire Stan, Stan bad, he bad" going for it.
GuisaSaigon
29/10/2007, 3:01 PM
Make sure to bring Maxi :D
cestlavie
29/10/2007, 3:15 PM
Ok so Delaney is head of the FAI, Can anybody tell me what the people employed by the FAI do? Apart from turning up at presentation days to get there picture taken In my area (Donegal) they do sweet FA. I mean we have at least 5 reps driving around in new cars and they are all pretending to be implementing new structures. If It wasnt for the man on the street, the volunteer we would have no grassroots in this country. It about time the FAI started to do the job there paid for and that Is to develope a future for the game in this country. I dont care who Is head of the FAI but its about time we stopped given "jobs to the boys" attitude. FAI Wake up!:mad:
the seagull;803070]Im putting this up for a mate firstly.
yeah right;)
I see no point to firing Delaney & giving him E1.5-2m pay off only for the FAI to appoint someone worse.
I don't particularly like him but no single issue i can think of that should lead to him being fired.
ruben_sosa
29/10/2007, 4:33 PM
Im putting this up for a mate firstly.
A delaney out protest is being held at fai hq merrion sq. friday nov 2nd 12 noon
eircom league jersyes flags banners and noise is very very welcome
the more support we get the better
thanks.
yeah, what have the FAI ever done for us?
http://www.monty-pythons.com/album/Das_Leben_des_Brian/047-08-pfj.jpg
29/10/2007, 4:51 PM
I see no point to firing Delaney & giving him E1.5-2m pay off only for the FAI to appoint someone worse.
In that vein of thought, then why get rid of Staunton at such a large pay-off ? Surely he'll just be replaced with someone worse.....?
If john Delaney is the height of ambition, skill and potential that the FAI can aspire towards in a CEO, then we may as well all go home and give up on the domestic game.
:ball:
29/10/2007, 6:50 PM
While the Staunton appointment was a farce, the National side is only a small part of football in this country and he is doing a reasonable job with a lot of it. Of course there are issues there too, but he has done some good work.
Any protest would need to have more than "He hire Stan, Stan bad, he bad" going for it.
I'd agree with you largely except for the fact that the men's senior international team is the cash cow that pays for all the rest. So by appointing someone as out of their depth and lacking experience as Staunton it was inevitable that there would be 15,000 empty seats at his final game in charge.
29/10/2007, 8:39 PM
I'm in work, but best of luck with it.
But you're a student Stu, sure ye do nothing all day anyway ;)
29/10/2007, 9:06 PM
But you're a student Stu, sure ye do nothing all day anyway ;)
point of information a face
pineapple stu is a financial operator in the fields of commerce. Having graduated long since.
29/10/2007, 11:29 PM
point of information a face
pineapple stu is a financial operator in the fields of commerce. Having graduated long since.
Ahh CTID, i knew that .... it was the whole 'he still supports UCD' angle that i was coming from :p
Edit: Check out your own name :p
29/10/2007, 11:47 PM
Ok so Delaney is head of the FAI, Can anybody tell me what the people employed by the FAI do? Apart from turning up at presentation days to get there picture taken In my area (Donegal) they do sweet FA. I mean we have at least 5 reps driving around in new cars and they are all pretending to be implementing new structures. If It wasnt for the man on the street, the volunteer we would have no grassroots in this country. It about time the FAI started to do the job there paid for and that Is to develope a future for the game in this country. I dont care who Is head of the FAI but its about time we stopped given "jobs to the boys" attitude. FAI Wake up!:mad:
This is the type of bullsh*t you would expect from someone like Alan Hunter, fantasy world!
Anyone who cannot see what has been done around the country for soccer over the last few years at grass roots level is either blind or a blinkered GAA fan! :mad:
Sure local volunteers play a big role but funding, support and facilitation is what the FAI are there to provide and they do that pretty well. Interestingly enough, Delaney has little day to day involvement in that side of things , it mainly comes under the remiit of Donegal's favourite son, Packie Bonner, in his role as Technical Director. Dont think Packie would consider his role as one of the 'jobs for the boys'.
30/10/2007, 8:00 AM
Apart from a major gaffe on the manager front Delaney appears to be doing a decent job in running the FAI.
Given that he has finally got rid of our world class manager and won't have a say in his replacement surely this is the worst time to get rid of him.
I really don't see a credible obvious replacement either.
The finances of the FAI appear to be in great shape. A lot of sponsors are on board and if we get a decent national team manager and he's allowed to do his job I don't see a major issue.
30/10/2007, 9:03 AM
The only sticks I can find to beat him with are the Club Licensing stuff, the nonsensical fines handed down to the clubs, and the FAI Cup Final debacle
In relation to the FAI League i think it has been better than what we had before, The FAI are a bit heavy handed with fines & silencing criticism. Fines are late team sheets & such are the only way to prevent in future & less public criticism is welcomed but an improved official channel would be good too.
Tis-smeee
30/10/2007, 4:34 PM
This is the silliest thing I have ever heard..at Waterford United, We have a new three million euro stand, a new FAI Development Officer, a new Club Promotions Officer and progress since the merger, which John Delaney was I would say responsible for.
We are currently working on new strategy for the club and receiving alot of assistance from many departments within the FAI.
What is the protest for? because the manager didn't work out?
cestlavie
30/10/2007, 4:42 PM
Sure local volunteers play a big role but funding, support and facilitation is what the FAI are there to provide and they do that pretty well. Interestingly enough, Delaney has little day to day involvement in that side of things , it mainly comes under the remiit of Donegal's favourite son, Packie Bonner, in his role as Technical Director. Dont think Packie would consider his role as one of the 'jobs for the boys'.[/QUOTE]
I am from Donegal and I have no problem saying that Packie should not be in that job. This was a "job for one of the boys":eek:
barney
30/10/2007, 4:46 PM
This is the silliest thing I have ever heard..at Waterford United, We have a new three million euro stand, a new FAI Development Officer, a new Club Promotions Officer and progress since the merger, which John Delaney was I would say responsible for.
We are currently working on new strategy for the club and receiving alot of assistance from many departments within the FAI.
People don't want to see that. This is Ireland, and in Ireland if something goes wrong then we demand a head to roll for it. No such thing as a chance to learn from your mistake. It's pure immaturity.
Delaney f**ked up with Stan. He belatedly admitted how much he f**ked up. He says he will have nothing to do with the selection of a new manager. That's learning your lesson. Give the bloke a decent chance at running the game.
The only sticks I can find to beat him with are the Club Licensing stuff, the nonsensical fines handed down to the clubs, and the FAI Cup Final debacle
The banning of Delaney out flags from EL games....
30/10/2007, 5:05 PM
Given that he has finally got rid of our world class manager and won't have a say in his replacement surely this is the worst time to get rid of him.
What do we pay the top brass in the FAI to do - if they shirk core responsibilities like selecting a manager, and instead spend further funds (i.e. beyond their salaries) on getting someone else to do it...? :confused: Are they there to run Irish football, or to sub-contract the running of it ?
It is clear that Delaney et all are passing-on responsibility for selecting the manager because they want to avoid any future fall-out. They have not made that decision out of any admission of their own limitations.
Bald Student
30/10/2007, 5:08 PM
The banning of Delaney out flags from EL games....... and the Fanzine ban but they're both small things.
30/10/2007, 5:09 PM
People don't want to see that. This is Ireland, and in Ireland if something goes wrong then we demand a head to roll for it. No such thing as a chance to learn from your mistake. It's pure immaturity.
Delaney f**ked up with Stan. He belatedly admitted how much he f**ked up. He says he will have nothing to do with the selection of a new manager. That's learning your lesson. Give the bloke a decent chance at running the game.
Hi John, nice to have you back.
barney
30/10/2007, 5:15 PM
Missed you too Jerry but this hair doesn't look this good on its own. It takes time you know.
soccerc
30/10/2007, 5:28 PM
The banning of Delaney out flags from EL games....
As has been pointed out to me today.
All flags and banners and anyone in possession of one will be refused entry or ejected from grounds.
Not sure how true it is, but understand it's part of the ground regulations in the participation agreement and clubs have been told to fully implement it.
30/10/2007, 5:42 PM
It's quite true, and recently being reminded to clubs again after recent appearances. I had one of our officials asking me if we had any on Sunday.
soccerc
30/10/2007, 5:47 PM
It's quite true, and recently being reminded to clubs again after recent appearances. I had one of our officials asking me if we had any on Sunday.
I should have made it clearer, that's all flags or banners not just Delaney out one's. Person who told me today is concerned as he may be one of the people who will either refuse entry or eject long standing supporters and it's not something he is in agreement with. Fees it will make grounds even more sterile.
30/10/2007, 5:48 PM
Oh, OK. Hadn't heard that. All other banners were OK with us on Sunday. Wouldn't surprise me though...
Are we counting a "UCD" banner, or is it just things with messages Delaney doesn't want voiced?
bray boy
30/10/2007, 5:52 PM
1: Nobody thinks it will quite litreally "Get Delaney Out"- it's just to show some degree of anger towards the current situation.
2: The problems with Delaney and the FAI in general at present are surely well known to EL fans in particular, and there cant be a need to expand on them. Licencing, cup finals blah blah blah.
3: Theres a huge amount of online moaning these days about the issue, so some people just want to take it beyond that. It might only be a few heads standing around making a point...but it is more constructive than bitchin on the internet
4: Feck it, you really could keep going...we just want to let the FAI know how we feel, in a real way
30/10/2007, 5:53 PM
Are we counting a "UCD" banner, or is it just things with messages Delaney doesn't want voiced?
Just realised that U C(***) D(******) could be interpreted as a very appropriate message that Delaney definitely wouldn't want voiced.
Sorry, they'll all have to be destroyed - those banners are the biggest threat to society since the game where fans threw paper on the pitch (No-one likes a litterbug:mad:)
30/10/2007, 6:02 PM
1: Nobody thinks it will quite litreally "Get Delaney Out"- it's just to show some degree of anger towards the current situation.
This is an important point and is also why the booing at Croker was important. Delaney has lied in public that the FAI (and Staunton in particular) have the full backing of Irish supporters. After the Cyprus game it was clear that his lies (staying behind in Prague to sing Staunton's name) regarding the Ireland manager were unsustainable and Staunton got the chop.
Similarly, even the slightest criticism of the FAI from within the league is punishable with heavy fines (huge in relation to the average turnover of clubs) - the Derry website comments, Scully interview, confiscation of banners/flags, banning of fanzines, even going back to the Red Card protest when fans were searched entering Lansdowne and had bits of paper taken from them.
So to the outsider, it looks like everyone is happy. Indeed, most of the recent media criticism of Delaney has been along the lines of "messed up the international team but doing a great job otherwise".
Well said, and speaking for myself, what point will the protest make, even on some of the Sunday papers the journos made the point that enough was enough on the ragging of John Delaney and the FAI, nobodies perfect but look at the effort they have put in at St.Colmans Park with a new stand, dressing rooms, offices etc. Attendances are up and work within the community has never been better, the work done by FAI on anti racism & intergration is setting the standards for other organisations and groups.
Nobody said it would be plain sailing or everything would be sorted in the first year. The promoting of Eircom League and it's clubs has never been better, and their is more to come.
I think that the Eircom League is far better league with them than not having them, and if things are so hush hush within the organisation why is Noel Mooney willing to answer the questions that you the fans have put to him. I have said it many a time, there is no pleasing some people.
Person who told me today is concerned as he may be one of the people who will either refuse entry or eject long standing supporters and it's not something he is in agreement with. Fees it will make grounds even more sterile.
In fairness soccerc, the clubs have only themeselevs to blame!! They all got caught up into the hype, too worried they'd be shafted with new licensing,etc that they all agreed to the FAI league and the silly ruels that went along with it and let the FAI decide wtf they want to do as they go along :rolleyes:!!
same with the stupid fines,etc
I think clubs are only starting to realise now wtf they did - when they should have had the cop on before voting for it :mad: (and im including my own club in that :mad:)
30/10/2007, 7:45 PM
I haven't read the whole thread so sorry for my laziness but other than appointing Stan, why do people want Delaney out?
30/10/2007, 8:31 PM
I haven't read the whole thread so sorry for my laziness but other than appointing Stan, why do people want Delaney out?
Because he's a sly little bugger who would probably sack the entire FAI if it meant he kept his job. I really couldn't care how good he is at his job. Roy Keane was the best man at his job, nobody would deny that. Still plenty of people didn't want to see him recalled for Ireland.
There's a character in Prison Break that portrays Delaney very well. President Caroline Reynolds.
There's plenty of people on here that know a lot more than me about him. What I'm pretty certain of though is that he was behind the Irish Independents campaign to get the public against Kerr.
Student Mullet
30/10/2007, 9:34 PM
I don't want to drag up an old argument but in my mind his biggest crime is sitting by while Tolka was sold and Tallaght was repossessed. These two issues will have very long term consequences for Irish soccer and other decisions like picking the wrong manager are insignificant by comparison.
You can blame others for these as well but Delaney was elected to lead and I think he dropped the ball big time here.
Delaney f**ked up with Stan. He belatedly admitted how much he f**ked up. He says he will have nothing to do with the selection of a new manager. That's learning your lesson. Give the bloke a decent chance at running the game
Ah, great - there he is again. His last post six weeks ago was defending Delaney. Now here he is back defending Delaney again. Listen Barney - just crawl back to your Merrion Square desk and stop annoying everyone with your pathetic propaganda. It's beyond embarrassing at this stage. And to think that you are paid for this sh*te.
30/10/2007, 10:57 PM
Poster (http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f102/sligoman/4.jpg).
30/10/2007, 11:40 PM
Havent read any of the thread lads as im not bothered all i say is a lot of clubs traditionally struggle at this time of year financially (athlone v Limerick 250 max tonight) It seems if your out of the title chase your attendances just dissapear. only a few games left do something positive and support your local club.
31/10/2007, 6:23 AM
I don't want to drag up an old argument but in my mind his biggest crime is sitting by while Tolka was sold and Tallaght was repossessed. These two issues will have very long term consequences for Irish soccer and other decisions like picking the wrong manager are insignificant by comparison.
You can blame others for these as well but Delaney was elected to lead and I think he dropped the ball big time here.
I don't know about Tallaght but if Delaney tried to get involved when Tolka was being sold, i know what Ollie would have told him. I was a big critic of Delaney a while back when i sat down and looked at the facts, other than the Stan appointment, he hasn't actually been that bad. He certainly shouldn't be beyond criticism though, so feel free to protest and make banners all you like.
BohsFC
31/10/2007, 10:20 AM
Eh who elected Delaney?? As part of the Genesis report after Fran Rooney was given the boot the FAI was told they had to appoint an external CEO, Delaney said they would search around and 6 months later came back and said we found no one and seems as I was doing the job for 6 months I may as well give it to myself. Even Uefa told Delaney he had too much power in the FAI and told him he must step down from one board. Whoever said that attendences in the EL league are up needs their head examined I think, I know Bohs (who have been sh1te lately) are well down and I've been to all Bohs games this season home and away and I think attendences have slowly been sliding at all grounds bar one or two i.e Galway. No attendence figures can be relied upon as the truth. My problem with Delaney is the complete lack of organisation in the league and , the cup final changing date due to forgetting to book the RDS, instead it will be played on Sunday the 2nd just 2 days after Leinster play I believe in the same venue. My main problem with Delaney though is what I see as him trying to turn the EL into a sterile Premiership going experience for the fan (sorry consumer) he just seems to have overlooked the fact that we don't have strong attendences and sh1te stadiums. To have a Delaney out flag is a right not a privilage, why is fans free speech being taken from them? The terrece has always been somewhere that fans can voice their opinions/slag the opposition and create an atmosphere. For the first time ever in Ireland there are the begins of Ultra groups who are adding great atmospheres at all grounds yet Delaney seems to want to destroy them by fining clubs for anything and everything and taking away the fans right to protest. In football there can be no love without hate and without fans football is nothing.
31/10/2007, 10:21 AM
Another one for the pile:
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/euro2008/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=29814
The thing that gets me is that, if Delaney and the FAI in general are doing such a good job why are they so paranoid about silencing even the most innocuous criticism (e.g. Pat Scully's comments last season). Even when some criticism does sneak out into the media (fans in San Marino), he lies and says that it was just a Dundalk protest - linking all dissenters to Maxi and a can of red diesel.
bohs til i die
31/10/2007, 10:29 AM
Whatever about Tallaght, Delaney cant be blamed for Tolka. Shels spent that cash on winning 3 titles and its the local council who own the land. Its not like Delaney could bail Shels out of a mess and save Tolka [although he tried to by putting pressure on Bohs to sell half of Dalymount to Shels for a pittance]
Student Mullet
31/10/2007, 10:43 AM
Whatever about Tallaght, Delaney cant be blamed for Tolka.I don't agree. It wouldn't have taken much foresight to see what the inevitable conclusion of Shels losing a million or two a year would be, plenty of people on here could see it and we don't have access to Shels' annual accounts.
It was well within Delaney's power to stop these losses before they happened and when we pay someone more than Bertie I don't think it's unreasonable to expect him to make hard decisions.
As part of the Genesis report after Fran Rooney was given the boot the FAI was told they had to appoint an external CEO, Delaney said they would search around and 6 months later came back and said we found no one and seems as I was doing the job for 6 months I may as well give it to myself.This is a genuine question, have you read that Genesis Report? I've been looking for a copy.