View Full Version : Protest Merrion Sq.

Pages : 1 [2]

btid1
31/10/2007, 11:28 AM
Another one for the pile:

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/euro2008/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=29814

Absolutely disgraceful carry-on from a so called professional organisation!!!!!

31/10/2007, 4:11 PM
The thing that gets me is that, if Delaney and the FAI in general are doing such a good job why are they so paranoid about silencing even the most innocuous criticism (e.g. Pat Scully's comments last season)..

eL people like to moan so if no effort made to curb it you will have negative articles about the league i the media on a daily basis. However the FAI League needs to have means for stakeholders to voice their opinions internally.

bray boy
31/10/2007, 4:48 PM
[QUOTE]Eh who elected Delaney?? As part of the Genesis report after Fran Rooney was given the boot the FAI was told they had to appoint an external CEO, Delaney said they would search around and 6 months later came back and said we found no one and seems as I was doing the job for 6 months I may as well give it to myself. Even Uefa told Delaney he had too much power in the FAI and told him he must step down from one board. Whoever said that attendences in the EL league are up needs their head examined I think, I know Bohs (who have been sh1te lately) are well down and I've been to all Bohs games this season home and away and I think attendences have slowly been sliding at all grounds bar one or two i.e Galway. No attendence figures can be relied upon as the truth. My problem with Delaney is the complete lack of organisation in the league and , the cup final changing date due to forgetting to book the RDS, instead it will be played on Sunday the 2nd just 2 days after Leinster play I believe in the same venue. My main problem with Delaney though is what I see as him trying to turn the EL into a sterile Premiership going experience for the fan (sorry consumer) he just seems to have overlooked the fact that we don't have strong attendences and sh1te stadiums. To have a Delaney out flag is a right not a privilage, why is fans free speech being taken from them? The terrece has always been somewhere that fans can voice their opinions/slag the opposition and create an atmosphere. For the first time ever in Ireland there are the begins of Ultra groups who are adding great atmospheres at all grounds yet Delaney seems to want to destroy them by fining clubs for anything and everything and taking away the fans right to protest. In football there can be no love without hate and without fans football is nothing.[QUOTE]
so will u be doing anything about it and joining in on friday?
the point of putting it up here was to encourage people to come
not to create conversation.
so anyone who feels like they are not happy with delaney please come along and voice your dissaproval

Tis-smeee
31/10/2007, 6:04 PM
Ive never been so embarresed to support this league , not one compelling arguement tbh, what the fup should the fai have done about tallaght, rovers are a private company and what happened is done I believe they are backing them to the hilt on the thomas davis Issue , also when it all happened the league was under the control of the league and clubs at the time, and how would shels have paid there debts if they didnt sell the ground, did you want the fai to bail them out, give me a break

31/10/2007, 6:05 PM
Another one for the pile:

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/euro2008/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=29814

The thing that gets me is that, if Delaney and the FAI in general are doing such a good job why are they so paranoid about silencing even the most innocuous criticism (e.g. Pat Scully's comments last season). Even when some criticism does sneak out into the media (fans in San Marino), he lies and says that it was just a Dundalk protest - linking all dissenters to Maxi and a can of red diesel.

I can only assume Delaney is so sensitive about criticism because deep-down he knows how feckin clueless he is. It's therefore because the truth hurts.

If he had confidence in himself then he would just brush off the criticism - not instigate a 'Red Terror' esque culture of suppressing any and every form of dissent.

31/10/2007, 6:09 PM
Ive never been so embarresed to support this league , not one compelling arguement tbh, what the fup should the fai have done about tallaght, rovers are a private company and what happened is done I believe they are backing them to the hilt on the thomas davis Issue , also when it all happened the league was under the control of the league and clubs at the time, and how would shels have paid there debts if they didnt sell the ground, did you want the fai to bail them out, give me a break

Full stops.....? ;)

31/10/2007, 6:11 PM
how would shels have paid there debts if they didnt sell the ground
Talk about completely missing the point. :rolleyes:

Tis-smeee
31/10/2007, 6:11 PM
i put in a few of these things,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, whatever they are called lol

Tis-smeee
31/10/2007, 6:12 PM
Talk about completely missing the point. :rolleyes:
Well what is the point? did Delaney really conspire with Ollie to run up all the debts ?

31/10/2007, 6:14 PM
No, but the whole point of licencing is that clubs shouln't be allowed to run up those sort of debts. The FAI, effectively, should have protected Shels from schysters like Ollie Byrne.

khoop
31/10/2007, 6:14 PM
what the fup should the fai have done about tallaght, rovers are a private company and what happened is done I believe they are backing them to the hilt on the thomas davis Issue

So you've forgotten (or maybe never knew) that the FAI have Tallaght lined up for countless underage internationals when it's finished???

And No - the FAI are most certainly NOT backing Rovers to the hilt. Yes - a bit of support regarding the legal bills (quite logical - see first paragraph) but absolutely ZERO public support, because Delaney is feckin' terrified that the GAA might pull the plug on soccer in Croke Park.

Tis-smeee
31/10/2007, 6:21 PM
Alot of the debts were run up previous to licensing and it was precisely because of licensing that they were caught, also Fran Gavin is the head of the Eircom League not John Delaney so why is he gettin away scott free? This protest is a joke I just dont see any compelling reason for it, wear your colours and shame your club by all means but dont try and tell me John Delaney is responsible for Shels or Rovers business

Tis-smeee
31/10/2007, 6:23 PM
So you've forgotten (or maybe never knew) that the FAI have Tallaght lined up for countless underage internationals when it's finished???

And No - the FAI are most certainly NOT backing Rovers to the hilt. Yes - a bit of support regarding the legal bills (quite logical - see first paragraph) but absolutely ZERO public support, because Delaney is feckin' terrified that the GAA might pull the plug on soccer in Croke Park.

Well we all live in the real world where you have to look at a bigger picture, what about all the other stands being built around the country , is this all Because of Delaney and the FAI or in spite of them?

31/10/2007, 6:25 PM
Alot of the debts were run up previous to licensing and it was precisely because of licensing that they were caught,
Do you have any proof of your first point? At all?

Your second point is hilariously naive! It is in fact because of Revenue that Shels got caught. The FAI knew full well what was going on and did nothing about it.

Tis-smeee
31/10/2007, 6:31 PM
Fair enough then all the debts were racked up from the day after licensing was introduced, lets shut down the league so , gimme a break ive said my piece Im not gonna waste my time with people who are just anti everything for the sake of it, enjoy the protest im sure there will be thousands there .

31/10/2007, 6:43 PM
So the moment someone challenges your point and shows you don't know what you're talking about, you go away in a huff?

I never said all Shels' debts were introduced from the day licencing was introduced. But licencing is around since (I think) 2002, and Shels Revenue troubles (which really kicked everything off) date from 2003, so the majority of debts date from licencing.

01/11/2007, 6:22 AM
While the Staunton appointment was a farce, the National side is only a small part of football in this country and he is doing a reasonable job with a lot of it. Of course there are issues there too, but he has done some good work.

care to explain how, rather than rehashing media sound bites from the FAI:rolleyes:

Lennon had a good article in the Herald saying that a lot of the "good things" he is doing is in fact not really that great, and somehting you would expect the FAi to be doing anyway..........like promoting the game
anyway where i am from i can see a local team with about a million from the FAI ****ing it all away...........
Football isnt all about money, sure the FAi have been loaded for years, and that hasnt meant progress

01/11/2007, 9:15 AM
not one compelling arguement tbh
I couldn't care less how good he is at his job.

btid1
01/11/2007, 9:21 AM
I couldn't care less how good he is at his job.

Excuse my ignorance but what is the basis for your protest then??
His hair???

01/11/2007, 9:22 AM
Excuse my ignorance but what is the basis for your protest then??
His hair???
Read my last post.

khoop
01/11/2007, 10:57 AM
Well we all live in the real world where you have to look at a bigger picture, what about all the other stands being built around the country, is this all Because of Delaney and the FAI or in spite of them?

How you managed to jump from your previous post to the above one is beyond me. Just what exactly are you talking about??? Do you even know???

02/11/2007, 11:48 AM
well did anything happen? I remembered it was on around 12.20 took a wander over and nothing there.

Philly
02/11/2007, 5:19 PM
So is Delaney gone then? ;)

28/11/2007, 10:44 PM
Whether Terry Venables gets the job or not, things like this is the reason Delaney has to go. He has his buddies in the media trying to get the public behind Venables. Everyone linked with this 3 man selection panel has links with Venables. Who in the name of jaysus thinks Andy Townsend is knowledgeable enough to decide our next manager?

29/11/2007, 10:10 AM
It's a lot harder to get out to Abbotstown :(

Poor Maxi will be lost. Unless... there wouldn't happen to be a direct bus from Dundalk to the Sports Campus, would there:confused:

01/12/2007, 9:18 AM
According to Newstalk 106-108 FM's Off The Ball programme, the FAI had neglected to cancel the milk order for 80 Merrion Square this week . At least they are feeding the homeless :D

11/01/2008, 9:39 PM
And there we are. The inevitable. The panel have chosen Venables. Delaney - you're a bloody sly liar!

ramsfan
11/01/2008, 10:51 PM
delaney will live or die by next manager appointment has got away with staunton fiasco but if it happens again it willbe untenable

11/01/2008, 11:39 PM
delaney will live or die by next manager appointment has got away with staunton fiasco but if it happens again it willbe untenableNot true. He's covering himself this time by appointing a 3 man panel so when the **** hits the fan[and it will with Tel in charge] then he can say it wasn't his idea to appoint him.

12/01/2008, 12:03 AM
He appointed the panel and presumably he will have to ratify their recommendations

12/01/2008, 8:22 PM
He appointed the panel and presumably he will have to ratify their recommendationsYou're presuming something when John Delaney is involved? I thought you were smarter than that gus;).