View Full Version : New Provisional Licence Requirements

Pages : 1 2 [3]

27/10/2007, 7:27 PM
I think lessons should be part of leaving cert,

woah woah woah there mister.

right.

should we get points for learning to drive?
should i concentrate on driving in school time if i don't want to?
why should i give up school time(which i can use far better) to learn to drive?
who'd teach us to drive?
where?
schools are for an education in academia, not life-skills

28/10/2007, 3:33 AM
Interesting thread.

I'd agree with those who say that the actual idea is fine, and will contribute to greater road safety, but that the implementation of the change over 1 weekend is a joke. There should have been enough warning given to allow people to take the tests.

In any case, waiting 6 months for a test is a joke, by any standards.

Just to compare, I got my licence (first one ever) in Japan about 6 months ago. Totally different system - it is possible to just go to a government centre, and take your test, but more than 90% of people who do this are failed. The other option is to go to a licensed school, fork out 2000 euros or so, and take theory lectures and lessons. Having completed the driving school's course successfully, and passing the internal driving test, you are now exempt from the govt. driving test. You just pass a government-set theory test, and you get your licence. The whole process took my 3 months, and I only went there twice a week (both days were pretty intensive though).

28/10/2007, 9:07 AM
Solution:
* 6 month delay & be done with it.
* Substantial fine for people who do not turn up for the test as this is too easy to do & leads to longer backlogs. Ensure you have to cancel within say 3 weeks. Fill these gaps with people who applied for cancellation. I believe currently you just need to apply for a test to get provisional renewed?
* There has to be some disadvantage to L plates so enforce ban on Motorway driving.
* Stop announcing ideas for curfews, Restricted plates & such & just announce when actually implemented.Sensible stuff Pete. The 4 day thing allows people who have no real intention or incentive to take a test to get on the moral high ground.

28/10/2007, 9:11 AM
woah woah woah there mister.

right.

should we get points for learning to drive?
should i concentrate on driving in school time if i don't want to?
why should i give up school time(which i can use far better) to learn to drive?
who'd teach us to drive?
where?
schools are for an education in academia, not life-skills
Ideally, they're for both. We stick kids into the school system at 4 and expect them to come out the other end as roughly adults. It's not unreasonable to add some non-academic stuff in there. It's why we have PE.

28/10/2007, 10:39 AM
Ideally, they're for both. We stick kids into the school system at 4 and expect them to come out the other end as roughly adults. It's not unreasonable to add some non-academic stuff in there. It's why we have PE.

our school have introduced PE in senior cycle this year ad
and it has been a disaster.

were missing a maths and an english class for playing football outside.
its hard enough to get a a1 in maths and english without missing 1/6 of our classes to play football in school

Rovers fan
28/10/2007, 11:11 AM
our school have introduced PE in senior cycle this year ad
and it has been a disaster.

were missing a maths and an english class for playing football outside.
its hard enough to get a a1 in maths and english without missing 1/6 of our classes to play football in school

I think its mandatory to have at least 1 hour of PE in school every day. PE is definitely an advantage in school and not just for the doss.

Ringo
28/10/2007, 1:15 PM
Sensible stuff Pete. The 4 day thing allows people who have no real intention or incentive to take a test to get on the moral high ground.

female reorter in the Star yesterday moaning about the six month waiting list for a test, shes driving four years, did it once and failed & obviously didn't bother trying again, why would you, you could just get back on the road. I've just got a provisonal for a bike & don't have any problem with the new restrictions for motorbikes. No doubt there will be real hardship cases, but you can't base the law one or two genuine cases. As for delaying it, its been the law and hasn't been enforced, so theres already been a chance for people to do something about it.

Ringo
28/10/2007, 1:29 PM
The Minister for Transport Noel Dempsey has announced he is modifying the lead-in time for new rules governing holders of provisional licences.
http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhmheykfauid/

28/10/2007, 5:30 PM
Typical Fianna Fail backing down. They really are the populist party and the reason they get in so often. As someone said peopel have no excuses, this has been the law but they are just going to enforce it. I have no sympathy for anybody on this issue, its there to save lives and this country must be the only place where you can go in fail the test and drive home. What a joke, that really does say it all.

28/10/2007, 5:33 PM
As someone said peopel have no excuses, this has been the law but they are just going to enforce it.

Wrong. Second provisional holders did not have to have another driver in the car until this. While I never agreed with that it is ridiculous to change a law that quickly and expect those who were legally driving to work etc on Thursday to find someone with 2 years experience to accompany them by Tuesday.

Even those on 1st or second provisionals who had been accompanied but not by someone with 2 years experience would had to have found someone new

28/10/2007, 6:29 PM
I'm in an unusual situation in that I was on a first provisional and got banned for Drunk Driving just before my test. The first provisional has since expired and I will be allowed to drive again in August. Will I now get a second Provisional license or will I have to start all over again with a "Learner Permit"? any one know

Ringo
28/10/2007, 6:58 PM
I'm in an unusual situation in that I was on a first provisional and got banned for Drunk Driving just before my test. The first provisional has since expired and I will be allowed to drive again in August. Will I now get a second Provisional license or will I have to start all over again with a "Learner Permit"? any one know

Isn't the irish justice system great:rolleyes: Gay Byrne would love you.You shouldn't get either.

29/10/2007, 2:07 PM
female reorter in the Star yesterday moaning about the six month waiting list for a test, shes driving four years, did it once and failed & obviously didn't bother trying again, why would you, you could just get back on the road. I've just got a provisonal for a bike & don't have any problem with the new restrictions for motorbikes. No doubt there will be real hardship cases, but you can't base the law one or two genuine cases. As for delaying it, its been the law and hasn't been enforced, so theres already been a chance for people to do something about it.Agreed. The 300% increase in test applications on Friday tells its own story.

The fact that 1 in 6 drivers hasn't passed a test is nothing short of a national disgrace (we won't even get into how some of those that actually have a full license acquired them......"amnesty" me hole....).

Ringo
29/10/2007, 3:10 PM
Agreed. The 300% increase in test applications on Friday tells its own story.

The fact that 1 in 6 drivers hasn't passed a test is nothing short of a national disgrace (we won't even get into how some of those that actually have a full license acquired them......"amnesty" me hole....).

its posible to be on you second provisionsl driving licence&never have been in car

Peter Nolan
29/10/2007, 4:47 PM
In response to any long term problem in this country, the only thing the Government can do, as usual, is to make matters worse and they get a pay rise for creating stupid policy in the first place.

This has been a problem for many years now and I agree that L drivers are a bit of a problem, so too are older and I do not mean really old drivers of 70/80 years of age. There are much younger drivers causing problems on our roads and motorways by not driving at the correct speeds on the highways and byways of Ireland.

If anybody expected any serious solving of this problem think again, look at the total mess that was and is still being made of the MASS IMMIGRATION to this country. That is one more serious problem that needs attention and now I guess most people will say I am RACIST. I am not a racist, I only look at the writing on the wall, as they say and from that I think we are in deep trouble in the not too far distant future.

The Government needs to have the Testers doing tests 7 days a week for 12/18 hours per day to clear up the log jam of tests waiting to be done.

30/10/2007, 12:24 PM
After being in government for 10 continuous years & no financial restrictions can any one tell me why we still talking about hiring extra driving instructions?

30/10/2007, 12:42 PM
If anybody expected any serious solving of this problem think again, look at the total mess that was and is still being made of the MASS IMMIGRATION to this country. That is one more serious problem that needs attention and now I guess most people will say I am RACIST. I am not a racist, I only look at the writing on the wall, as they say and from that I think we are in deep trouble in the not too far distant future.
Interesting first post. Bit off topic but anyway...

How has immigration affected you and can you give examples of how mass immigration has negatively effected the majority of people in the country?

30/10/2007, 1:24 PM
Interesting first post. Bit off topic but anyway...

If any one wants to discuss this please start a new topic with the rules of the forum...

30/10/2007, 2:00 PM
I was replying to his off topic ramblings pete...

Feel free to move his and my post...

Ringo
30/10/2007, 4:07 PM
After being in government for 10 continuous years & no financial restrictions can any one tell me why we still talking about hiring extra driving instructions?

instuctors aren't the problem , its testers & their civil servants. The goverments wants to privitise it.

30/10/2007, 4:11 PM
instuctors aren't the problem , its testers & their civil servants. The goverments wants to privitise it.

Testers are not civil servants. There are already private companies doing tests

And as long as the government does not give a single page of instruction to testers, there are always going to be problems.

30/10/2007, 4:12 PM

I meant Driving Testers. I could suggest many obstacles but if Ministers want to be paid high sums of money hows about actually delivering?

30/10/2007, 5:58 PM
Isn't the irish justice system great:rolleyes: Gay Byrne would love you.You shouldn't get either.

Why is that Ringo? I made a mistake I've paid for it (I was banned for 2 years)
my ban will be up in August, so yeah I suppose the Irish justice system in this case is great. I committed an offence was caught and punished, I would call that BGR 0-1 Justice system, or in your opinion should I have been banned for Life

Ringo
31/10/2007, 9:47 AM
Why is that Ringo? I made a mistake I've paid for it (I was banned for 2 years)
my ban will be up in August, so yeah I suppose the Irish justice system in this case is great. I committed an offence was caught and punished, I would call that BGR 0-1 Justice system, or in your opinion should I have been banned for Life

You weren't even qualified to drive & you were done for Drink driving. yes i do think two years off the road was too little. Can't even make you re-sit your test, because you never sat it in the first place. Coming on here and boasting about how great you are, that you got two years off the road. What if you had killed or hurt someone drink driving?

31/10/2007, 11:50 AM
You weren't even qualified to drive & you were done for Drink driving. yes i do think two years off the road was too little. Can't even make you re-sit your test, because you never sat it in the first place. Coming on here and boasting about how great you are, that you got two years off the road. What if you had killed or hurt someone drink driving?

Where did he do that? And your hypothetical question is hardly a good arguement.

Ringo
01/11/2007, 7:29 AM
Where did he do that? And your hypothetical question is hardly a good arguement.

He never said it was wrong. He justified it by saying he got caught, got a two year ban & basically appears not to care. The fact he’s happy to come on and tell everyone in a matter of fact way about it is surprising. It’s hardly something to boast about. I wonder if he's learned anything, he's 28 now, so he was 26 when it happened, so it can't be put down to immaturity. I douby if it was his first time drink driving. The whole point of punishment, is supposed to be that you learn a lesson & accept you did something wrong. I see no evidence in his posts of any acceptance of doing some wrong or a lesson having been learned.

01/11/2007, 10:02 AM
You're making an awful lot of assumptions there Ringo. As is standard with you...

I wouldn't be too bothered abotu somebody posting anonymously on the internet about what they have or haven't done.

01/11/2007, 10:06 AM
He never said it was wrong......... I see no evidence in his posts of any acceptance of doing some wrong

How about this?

I made a mistake I've paid for it

But on the other hand.....

I doubt if it was his first time drink driving.
that is just silly.

For what its worth, I agree with the new laws (at the enforcement of them) and I don't have much time, or any sympathy, for those guilty of DUI.

I just don't think you're being reasonable in your posts.

01/11/2007, 10:52 AM
We've had this discussion on Foot.ie before, I don't want to see it again. BGR broke the law, was given a punishment by the state, and that punishment is now complete. End of story.

BGR, don't bring it up on Foot.ie again, it's obviously a contentious issue that causes unnecessary trouble, if I see it again I'll consider it trolling. Everyone else just drop it please, and get back on-topic.

Ringo
01/11/2007, 3:03 PM
Is it me or is there a lot more L plates on cars since last weekend?

01/11/2007, 5:33 PM

I think there is more around but maybe I am just noticing them now. I think some people might have stuck them on the outside of their cars & now can'y remove them :D

Ringo
02/11/2007, 6:25 AM
The Minister for Transport, Noel Dempsey, has said that thousands of provisional driving licence holders have applied for the driving test since last Thursday

Yesterday, Taoiseach Bertie Ahern said that some drivers were on their 20th provisional driving licence and had never even applied for a driving test.

Some 40,000 drivers have had five or more such licences
http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1101/roadsafety.html

02/11/2007, 6:55 AM
Yesterday, Taoiseach Bertie Ahern said that some drivers were on their 20th provisional driving licence and had never even applied for a driving test.

Fair play sorting out in a matter of months of coming to power, not like they've had 10 years to do something about it or anything.

02/11/2007, 10:57 AM
I've just been practising a lot. ;)

02/11/2007, 12:00 PM

Any chance of amending the law to ban them from ever sitting in a car or even applying for the test?

It never ceases to amaze me how some people think the system is against them. One perfect example at work - guy feels he learnt nothing from lessons until he got his own car, failed his test once, crashed into the back of another car, has difficulty parking his car & just got a speeding ticket on the M1 doing 140kph. :eek: :rolleyes:

Until we prevent people from getting licence/permit without ever having been in car there is not hope. :(

rebelarmyexile
04/11/2007, 9:34 PM
Everyone in this country had failed to notice that the changes to Driving Licences legistation is only a derversionary tactic by the government over the shannon issue.

Ringo
05/11/2007, 7:23 AM
Everyone in this country had failed to notice that the changes to Driving Licences legistation is only a derversionary tactic by the government over the shannon issue.

:rolleyes: Do you think anyone outside the south west cares about Shannon. i thought it was a derversionary tactic by the government over the wage increases?

05/11/2007, 8:12 AM
i thought it was a derversionary tactic by the government over the wage increases?
Certainly a handy coincidence between the two. Not like they've got form for this or anything. Remember that really crap, tax increasing budget from McCreevy after the last election that got buried under Decentralisation?

Pretty clear that the problems aren't the unions or driver testers, it's the system. IMPACT actually on the radio over the weekend saying they'd have no objection to increased private testers in the context of their agreements. Thing that struck me, which I believe pete raised earlier, is the levels of people not turning up for tests. It's claimed to be 20% of people simply don't show - puts in to perspective the "privatise everything that moves" brigades guff about absentee testers.

noby
05/11/2007, 8:39 AM
Highlights another flaw in the system. Apply for test. No show for test means you fail, which means you now can get another provisional. You can see why some people are on a 4th or 5th licence.
Besides the hassle of having a qualified driver with you, has this changed?

05/11/2007, 12:11 PM
IMO Transport strategy is possibly the biggest failings of the FF lead governments in the last 10 years. Everyone knows the problems, most people can suggest good solutions & no shortage of money to solve. In fact most solutions would pay for themselves which means lack of political will (bizarre) or administrative failing. While the recent Ministers for Transport have not been the brightest stars they not exactly the idiots either.

It kinda sums up the recent governments where they quick to claim credit for things they have little input into but even quicker to pass the buck on things they directly responsible for.

(mini rant over)

Ringo
27/08/2009, 9:26 AM
A jury yesterday called for the provisional driving license regime to be enforced after an inquest heard that the teenage driver of a car in which two young men died had only received her first licence four weeks before the tragic crash.

The call came as Theresa Dingivan (21) yesterday confirmed to a coroner's inquest that she had no formal driving instruction before the tragic accident two years ago and only got her first provisional license four weeks beforehand.

Pressure

She had bought her 13-year-old car two months earlier, did not know how to check the tyre pressure on her new car and had not hired a mechanic to inspect the vehicle.

The only driving instruction she received was from her boyfriend.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/jury-urge-permit-crackdown-death--crash-had-no-formal-training-1870803.html

We need to start enforcing the law & maybe have a restricted licence for a year when someone first pass's their test.

27/08/2009, 9:51 AM
We need to start enforcing the law & maybe have a restricted licence for a year when someone first pass's their test.
I'd agree with you about enforcement, but I'd wait until we're enforcing the current laws before introducing anything else. From what I can see, they're not enforcing the laws about accompanied drivers at all. Lots of cars with L plates on the motorways, where they shouldn't be (accompanied or not).

Talk of curfews, lower alcohol limits etc are pure window dressing - enforce the current laws and when there's general compliance, then look at further restrictions (if necessary). If there isn't the cops to enforce the current laws, adding new ones will make zero difference.

Newryrep
27/08/2009, 12:13 PM
I'd agree with you about enforcement, but I'd wait until we're enforcing the current laws before introducing anything else. From what I can see, they're not enforcing the laws about accompanied drivers at all. Lots of cars with L plates on the motorways, where they shouldn't be (accompanied or not).

Talk of curfews, lower alcohol limits etc are pure window dressing - enforce the current laws and when there's general compliance, then look at further restrictions (if necessary). If there isn't the cops to enforce the current laws, adding new ones will make zero difference.

Nail on the head, you still have the same old 'we need new laws lower limits guff from politicians and Gay Byrne.

Any time you see a drink driving conviction they tend to be 2-5 times over the limit - lowering the limit will make no difference to these guys

KevB76
27/08/2009, 12:20 PM
I believe one of the lads killed in that incident was a Cobh Ramblers U21 player at the time, by the way.

reder
31/08/2009, 8:59 AM
maybe have a restricted licence for a year when someone first pass's their test.

What good would restricting a persons licence for a year do? The point of the test is to prove that you are good enough to drive on the road unaccompanied. If the tester passes you, then you are good enough and should be allowed to drive alone.

From my experience with the private pilots licence syllabus, I think that the following requirements from that should be imported in some form:

- A minimum of X (10 perhaps) hours certified instruction should be undertaken (logged and stamped by the driving school) and the instructor/driving school should have to sign off to say that they believe that you are suitable to sit your final test.

- As part of the 10 hours, a minimum of 3 hours dual control motorway tuition should take place.

- A significant written exam should have to be passed before you can sit the actual driving test. The questions in the exam should be of a far higher standard than that current mockery of an exam.

- Commerical drivers should be forced to resit their test every 2 years after they have passed and all other drivers should resit every 5 years. This should weed out some of the awful drivers out there and those who were given their licence for free in decades gone by.

I also think that the current laws should actually be implemented. (i.e. when the police check for tax and insurance, they should also check your licence.)

In short, driving on the road should be a privilege not a right.

31/08/2009, 10:02 AM
- As part of the 10 hours, a minimum of 3 hours dual control motorway tuition should take place.
Whether post or pre test, there should be motorway/ dual carriageway as part of the lessons. Everything from the way people join the motorway to lane discipline on it is brutal in this country imo.

But, at this point provisional licence holders, unaccompanied are still using the motorways unchecked.