View Full Version : Media Behaviour around Staunton Departure
IMO some of the media behaviour this week has been pathetic. Getting the hump just because they not told where the FAI secret Meeting was held. Obviously the FAI easy target but writing attack pieces just because they slighted is sad.
The FAI were for once 100% correct to have secret Meeting so Staunton not have to be humiliated in front of the media after leaving.
Tony O'Donoghue at least had the sense on RTE to tell Peter Collins that the media not the story.
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 2:17 PM
The media deliver the message to the fans, that is their role, whether Delaney and co think so or not, this was a snub to the fans as well as the media.
The FAI were for once 100% correct to have secret Meeting so Staunton not have to be humiliated in front of the media after leaving
Have the meeting in the FAI offices at 2pm. Can't see the need for the hotel room
Drumcondra 69er
25/10/2007, 2:27 PM
The media deliver the message to the fans, that is their role, whether Delaney and co think so or not, this was a snub to the fans as well as the media.
No it wasn't. There was a press conference afterwards to deal with the media who could then report to the fans , it was their own choice to go off on a wild goose chase around North Dublin to get the money shot of Stan. Delaney, **** that he is, played it like a politician. The media lost all respect with their riddiculous antics (sending Kermit down to the traning session, taxis to the FAI offices last week, we're not english ffs) and if they're going to be at that sort of ****e thay can't expect anything else then what they got. No doubt Delaney delayed the press conference until after RTE's CL covergae had finished so they couldn't bring it live and so the impact would be deaden somewhat as papers with early deadlines couldn't run it properly. That was a pain in the arse but anyone expecting anything different is very naive. It's like burying bad news by releasing it on teh day of a natural disaster or something like Blair did on 9/11. He's obviously had a few tips from Bertie.
25/10/2007, 2:36 PM
YEah I think the FAI did ok this week, and the media, were the ones who were bang out of order.
Noelys Guitar
25/10/2007, 2:45 PM
No it wasn't. There was a press conference afterwards to deal with the media who could then report to the fans , it was their own choice to go off on a wild goose chase around North Dublin to get the money shot of Stan. Delaney, **** that he is, played it like a politician. The media lost all respect with their riddiculous antics (sending Kermit down to the traning session, taxis to the FAI offices last week, we're not english ffs) and if they're going to be at that sort of ****e thay can't expect anything else then what they got. No doubt Delaney delayed the press conference until after RTE's CL covergae had finished so they couldn't bring it live and so the impact would be deaden somewhat as papers with early deadlines couldn't run it properly. That was a pain in the arse but anyone expecting anything different is very naive. It's like burying bad news by releasing it on teh day of a natural disaster or something like Blair did on 9/11. He's obviously had a few tips from Bertie.
Well then it did'nt work. The FAI and especially Delaney has been backtracking for over a week and he is looking like a bigger fool everyday. Holding a press conference at 1am in the morning just plays into the belief of football fans that the FAI and Delaney have'nt a clue what they are doing. Very few fans ever get to meet Delaney or anyone else in the FAI so it is through the media that we form our opinions of these people. And anyone who thinks the FAI achieved something by this should get out a bit more.
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 2:54 PM
Ok, if playing childish games is to be applauded then well done to the FAI. They are now as juvenile as the tabloid journalists that they rail against. I am not a fan of the antics of some of the press but ffs if a Kermit the frog is gonna have an impact on a hardened professional like Staunton then maybe he should have joined Stephen Ireland and pulled out of the Irish setup.
Steve Staunton has been reimbursed rather handsomely for his time in charge of Ireland, one of the reasons that he has been paid that sum is to deal with the media. If he wanted to sneak away with his nice payoff then fine but personally I think that he was fair game to be photographed or interviewed as he made good his escape.
Drumcondra 69er
25/10/2007, 2:55 PM
Well then it did'nt work. The FAI and especially Delaney has been backtracking for over a week and he is looking like a bigger fool everyday. Holding a press conference at 1am in the morning just plays into the belief of football fans that the FAI and Delaney have'nt a clue what they are doing. Very few fans ever get to meet Delaney or anyone else in the FAI so it is through the media that we form our opinions of these people. And anyone who thinks the FAI achieved something by this should get out a bit more.
Personally I think it was farcicial but there's no doubt that the headlines and news coverage wasn't as harsh as it would have been had it gone ahead at a reasonable hour in my opinion. Delaney doesn't give a toss about the fans and he's more concerned about the news media then the sports media. And no way did he want that press conference going out live, all the general public got from it are snippets.
Edit to say one of the reasons he didn't want it going out live was because of his back tracking etc, the guy's a snake of the highest order.
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 2:58 PM
All that was required from the FAI was notice that the meeting was taking place, the venue, the time of the press conference, maybe a few words from Staunton (granted this would be hard but he didn't just find out on the day that he was sacked, not matter what was said about it being decided there and then). Itis reported the that night/next day and then it is just a nother story, everybody moves on, we certainly wouldn't be still talking about it if the FAI had acted in any sort of professional manner.
25/10/2007, 3:03 PM
Very few fans ever get to meet Delaney or anyone else in the FAI so it is through the media that we form our opinions of these people. And anyone who thinks the FAI achieved something by this should get out a bit more.
well, i met delaney in tokyo the night before the saudi game and he was real sound. we had "lost" some of our match tickets (long story!) and he sorted us with free cat one ticekts the next day at the team hotel
think they dealt with the media fine this week and were dead right to keep the meeting out of the eye of the press. press conferences are there to inform the fans through the media and thats exactly what happened... problem is what?
25/10/2007, 3:05 PM
I have to laugh at the Irish hacks throwing their toys out of the pram everytime RepublicOfIreland fail to qualify for something simply because they've been denied another p1ss-up junket. None of them know anything about football (and how could they be expected to, given that they derive all their knowledge of the game from a rectangular box and the opinions of only slightly better-informed British hacks.) Screw 'em. They're not just part of the problem, to a large extent they are the problem.
Marked Man
25/10/2007, 3:06 PM
Steve Staunton has been reimbursed rather handsomely for his time in charge of Ireland, one of the reasons that he has been paid that sum is to deal with the media. .
This was one of the contractual obligations of his job. Considering that he had been fired, he was no longer under any such obligation.
I'm sure he'll be talking soon enough about the whole thing; it's understandable if he's not up for it just yet.
Agree with Pete about the behaviour of the media. My favorite was Tom Humphries whinging pathetically, without a hint of irony, about what a whinger Keane is.
25/10/2007, 3:06 PM
Surely that is a bit of a general comments. A few of the hacks as you call them attend LOI games quite regularly as far as I know.
25/10/2007, 3:10 PM
"Attend" is right. Check out the press box next time you're at an LOI game; you can't miss it, it's full of bored-looking people who look like woodwork teachers and have palpably little interest in football.
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 3:10 PM
think they dealt with the media fine this week and were dead right to keep the meeting out of the eye of the press. press conferences are there to inform the fans through the media and thats exactly what happened... problem is what?
The press were doing their job of covering a story that is in the interest of their readers/viewers. Certainly it was a circus but more so because of the antics of the FAI. Now the press have two stories, Staunton's sacking and an opportunity to have a go at the FAI for acting in an immature manner.
25/10/2007, 3:12 PM
"Attend" is right. Check out the press box next time you're at an LOI game; you can't miss it, it's full of bored-looking people who look like woodwork teachers and have palpably little interest in football.
Yeah i have seen a few of them at Dalymount quite a bit Aidan Fitzmaurice and a few other guys that I know their faces and not their names. To be honest they are meant to look quite sombreand not be cheerleaders with laptops.
25/10/2007, 3:43 PM
The press were doing their job of covering a story that is in the interest of their readers/viewers. Certainly it was a circus but more so because of the antics of the FAI. Now the press have two stories, Staunton's sacking and an opportunity to have a go at the FAI for acting in an immature manner.
its all down to opinion really and i think most people can make their own minds up on how the FAI acted on tuesday. Emmet Malone of the Irish times was on the radio last night and he fully understood what the FAI did and saw merit in keeping stan out of the press hounds that day. he didnt have a problem with it at all and just said it was inconvenient with regards to deadlines. the FAI cant win on this it appears as the same people who are having a go at stan being kept behind the scenes would be calling it an FAI farce if he had arrived and been humiliated in front of the press. some people just like any old excuse for a good moan
Do you know anything about dealing with the media?They are a shower of vultures and as someone else said were only interested in the money shot of Staunton leaving the meeting.
No one apart from the FAI board members and Staunton had the "right" to be informed of this meeting as it was not a public event.It was a meeting between employers and an employee.The media were informed of the subsequent press conference and thats all they had the right to be present for.
Dont get me wrong I am no fan of the FAI but I have to say I have been impressed with how they handled this part of their business and let an Irish playing legend leave his managerial post with some dignity left.
The media boys just got the hump because the FAI got one over on them and they had to do a full days work for once.
jmurphyc
25/10/2007, 4:02 PM
Do you know anything about dealing with the media?They are a shower of vultures and as someone else said were only interested in the money shot of Staunton leaving the meeting.
No one apart from the FAI board members and Staunton had the "right" to be informed of this meeting as it was not a public event.It was a meeting between employers and an employee.The media were informed of the subsequent press conference and thats all they had the right to be present for.
Dont get me wrong I am no fan of the FAI but I have to say I have been impressed with how they handled this part of their business and let an Irish playing legend leave his managerial post with some dignity left.
The media boys just got the hump because the FAI got one over on them and they had to do a full days work for once.
The FAI had the right idea by how they went about things, however they should not have kept the media waiting until 1 in the morning. They should have just told the media that there would be a press conference in the morning instead of keeping them waiting. It hardly improves relations between the two. And in doing so, the FAI failed the fans. I was waiting all night to hear the press conference and had to be up early the next morning and I'm sure it was the same with other people. Could they not have just left the press conference till the morning or at least just given people an idea of when there would be one? They weren't just keeping the media waiting, they were keeping the fans waiting too.
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 4:06 PM
Then why did Delaney inform the press that a board meeting was going to be brought forward to specifically deal with Staunton, why not keep quiet, have the meeting and then publicise the subsequent press conference. He did this because it suited him at the time (took some of the heat off him coz he was acting decisively), not beacuse it suited Staunton, or the press and certainly not the fans.
Using the press is a two way street.
Ireland4ever
25/10/2007, 4:11 PM
I have to say fair play to the FAI they made sure Stan wasnt sacked and then left to face the media.... They allowed him to go with a bit of dignity...something he deserves after alll he did for Irish football (As a player that is!!)
Then why did Delaney inform the press that a board meeting was going to be brought forward to specifically deal with Staunton, why not keep quiet, have the meeting and then publicise the subsequent press conference. He did this because it suited him at the time (took some of the heat off him coz he was acting decisively), not beacuse it suited Staunton, or the press and certainly not the fans.
Using the press is a two way street.
Because he was questioned as to how the FAI would deal with the issue and he said he had called a meeting of the board to do so.Does'nt mean that the media have the divine right to be present or know the details of when it will take place.
This is nothing to do with the fans.The ensuing press conference was to do with the fans but this as I said earlier this was a meeting between the employers and their employee.
Some people really just look to complain about everything.
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 4:15 PM
Lest we forget, Staunton could have left of his own accord with his head held high and maintain some semblance of dignity. Did he do that, no, instead, despite overseeing two of the worst years in Irish football he had to be practically run outta town.
jmurphyc
25/10/2007, 4:18 PM
Lest we forget, Staunton could have left of his own accord with his head held high and maintain some semblance of dignity. Did he do that, no, instead, despite overseeing two of the worst years in Irish football he had to be practically run outta town.
In fairness, he wouldn't have got his compensation package then.
25/10/2007, 4:24 PM
The FAI had the right idea by how they went about things, however they should not have kept the media waiting until 1 in the morning. They should have just told the media that there would be a press conference in the morning instead of keeping them waiting
so they were kept up a bit late waiting for the FAI to make a statement that every dog on the street knew by about tea time tuesday in anycase...... big deal! most of them havnt a problem with being up so late when their expenses card is behind the bar of whatever hotel they set themselves up in while following the team
jmurphyc
25/10/2007, 4:28 PM
so they were kept up a bit late waiting for the FAI to make a statement that every dog on the street knew by about tea time tuesday in anycase...... big deal! most of them havnt a problem with being up so late when their expenses card is behind the bar of whatever hotel they set themselves up in while following the team
Yes but what I was also saying was that some fans were waiting up for the press conference. It's only a small thing, but once again it shows a complete lack of respect for us.
Delaney has used the media for the last seven years to shaft anyone and everyone.Some of them have acted disgracefully and have lost any respect they have had.
tHE MEDIA HAVE FED THE FANS BULL...T since saipan and have teated the last 3 managers very unfairly.
The fact that people actually support the FAI over the media in this matter shows how out of touch the media are.
If the Meeting was held in the FAI HQ the media would have waited outside. Possibly the timing of the Press Conference could have been better but they might also have been damned if they did waited until the morning...
Tom Humphries moaning about no free food on flight to Ireland game shows where priorities lie. Does he want to be the new Charlie Bird?
Peter Collins on RTE asked "...sure won't this annoy the media..." :rolleyes:
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 4:35 PM
Delaney has used the media for the last seven years to shaft anyone and everyone.Some of them have acted disgracefully and have lost any respect they have had.
tHE MEDIA HAVE FED THE FANS BULL...T since saipan and have teated the last 3 managers very unfairly.
Firstly, if you read one particular paper then you will end up with an opinion that shares the same bias as that paper and will at some stage or another be misinformed. However, if you tune into a wider variety of sources, whether TV, Newspaper or Web then it is unlikely that you will swallow what one source quotes without checking it in other sources. Also in general the press reflects the mood of the fans instead of setting it.
I don't want to sit here and defend the press but the second part of your statement is pretty sweeping and I'm not sure how to refute it but to make an equally sweeping statement by saying that in a lot of cases the manager brought it on themselves.
25/10/2007, 4:37 PM
Peter Collins on RTE asked "...sure won't this annoy the media..." :rolleyes:
nail on the head..... they consider themselves the main event. pathetic
they are not willing to let news just take its course and want to set their own timetable and agenda to suit themselves. i wonder if they would like their own job prospects played out in front of the whole nation with the same lack of respect etc that they show others??!
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 4:37 PM
The fact that people actually support the FAI over the media in this matter shows how out of touch the media are.
I'm not sure how you have come to this conclusion. Maybe it is time for a poll
Bald Student
25/10/2007, 4:43 PM
I'm not sure how you have come to this conclusion. Maybe it is time for a poll
Can I support neither?
25/10/2007, 4:49 PM
I´d agree with Pete's initial post. Stan was entitled to get the boot in relative privacy.
Did most people miss one of the reasons Delaney gave for Stan's sacking "non qualification for the Euros" :)
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 5:31 PM
Some people really just look to complain about everything.
:) Unlike your good self. I presume that it has escaped your notice that you have lodged complaints about the media in your previous posts. An the fact that this thread was kicked off as a quasi-complaint.
Though unfounded patronising remarks are always welcome in a debate.
zenokelly
25/10/2007, 5:37 PM
How can you now start having a go at the media.
It is their job to report the news and if the FAI want an easy ride maybe they should try to better handle the press.
What the FAI did the other day was not just an insult to the media but also to the fans. Without the media how would we have a clue what's going on.
And all of you feeling sorry for Stan. Are you ****ing idiots.
He got the same amount of money for working less than 2 years as he would have got, if he was a decent manager and lasted the 4.
What's wrong with catching a few photos of him. Dignity my bollucks. €1million remember that!:rolleyes:
He's been admirable as a player for us but do people not realise that he is now in his late 30's and doesn't need to have people feeling sorry for him:rolleyes:
Drumcondra 69er
25/10/2007, 5:54 PM
How can you now start having a go at the media.
It is their job to report the news and if the FAI want an easy ride maybe they should try to better handle the press.
What the FAI did the other day was not just an insult to the media but also to the fans. Without the media how would we have a clue what's going on.
And all of you feeling sorry for Stan. Are you ****ing idiots.
He got the same amount of money for working less than 2 years as he would have got, if he was a decent manager and lasted the 4.
What's wrong with catching a few photos of him. Dignity my bollucks. €1million remember that!:rolleyes:
He's been admirable as a player for us but do people not realise that he is now in his late 30's and doesn't need to have people feeling sorry for him:rolleyes:
You're missing the point totally. No one told the media that there was going to be a meeting in the crown plaza. They took it on themselves to hit on some of their 'trusted sources' and then followed and FAI official out to Santry. They then assumed as there were a couple of meeting rooms booked in the name of someone from the FAI and clapped themselves on the back for being so clever without once thinking that had all been too easy. Once they realised they weren't that clever and had been outsmarted by a gang of morons like the FAI they got the hump.
By all means criticise Delaney for stalling the press conference till the TV coverage on RTE was over but fook the media that bitched about being fooled. The likes of Tony O'Donoghue and Emmet Malone reckoned it was fair enough keeping the meeting out of view and they were right.
What fookin difference does it make anyway.
zenokelly
25/10/2007, 5:59 PM
You're missing the point totally. No one told the media that there was going to be a meeting in the crown plaza. They took it on themselves to hit on some of their 'trusted sources' and then followed and FAI official out to Santry. They then assumed as there were a couple of meeting rooms booked in the name of someone from the FAI and clapped themselves on the back for being so clever without once thinking that had all been too easy. Once they realised they weren't that clever and had been outsmarted by a gang of morons like the FAI they got the hump.
By all means criticise Delaney for stalling the press conference till the TV coverage on RTE was over but fook the media that bitched about being fooled. The likes of Tony O'Donoghue and Emmet Malone reckoned it was fair enough keeping the meeting out of view and they were right.
What fookin difference does it make anyway.
I don't know how i missed the point. The FAI didn't need to try and fool the media. end of story
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 5:59 PM
Read the thread title, if it doesn't make a difference to you then don't view the thread or bother posting on it.
Its called a debate.
mattie
25/10/2007, 6:04 PM
It is their job to report the news
The corollary to this is that it's their job to find the news not the news' job to find them.
If the media act the maggot towards the fai (which whether justified or not they have been doing), then the fai might as well reciprocate.
Drumcondra 69er
25/10/2007, 6:05 PM
I don't know how i missed the point. The FAI didn't need to try and fool the media. end of story
The media didn't need to secretly follow someone from the FAI across Dublin. they were only after a money shot and didn't get it. They fooled themselves. Good enough for them, most of them are fooking idiots in any case, no sympathy for them.
You could count the amount of decent football journalists in this country on one hand and have a few fingers left.
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 6:08 PM
If we are talking about acting the maggot then look at any press conference that Staunton has given since taking charge, in every one that I have seen I always got the feeling that as well as being openly hostile he was making an effort to get one over in some sort of childish smart way.
Remarks like "you tell me", to an entirely relevant question. If Steve Staunton wants to know why he is being treated in this manner then he should take a look in the mirror. Unfortunately I think that he is too stupid to realise what an idiot he has been for the last two years.
Drumcondra 69er
25/10/2007, 6:09 PM
Read the thread title, if it doesn't make a difference to you then don't view the thread or bother posting on it.
Its called a debate.
Easy with the handbag mate, if you've read the thread you'll see I was debating, that was one line at the end of a point I'd made, not stand alone.
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 6:11 PM
Easy with the handbag mate, if you've read the thread you'll see I was debating, that was one line at the end of a point I'd made, not stand alone.
Heh, maybe I'm a reporter, nothing like taking a quote out of context :D
Though you probably shouldn't add the remark if you don't want it quoted :D
Drumcondra 69er
25/10/2007, 6:20 PM
Heh, maybe I'm a reporter, nothing like taking a quote out of context :D
Though you probably shouldn't add the remark if you don't want it quoted :D
I was wondering if you were?! :D
Fair enough, to be honest I hold both the media and the FAI in such disdain that I just had to laugh at the whole thing. You're right about Staunton but the tabloid media and the 'Irish' Sun have plumbed to such depths in recent years I can understand his animosity. I despise that rag.
What really p1sses me off is the line being peddled by the players that the media was what made the fans turn, I've been at most games in this campaign home and away and I don't need a paper to tell me that Steve Finnan is not a left back, Joey O'Brien is not a central midfielder, Lee Carsley and Jonathan Douglas can't play in the same team, Andy Keogh's not a right winger etc etc. Fans made their own mind up and it's insulting for the likes of Robbie Keane and latterly Stephen Hunt to suggest otherwise.
mattie
25/10/2007, 6:21 PM
If we are talking about acting the maggot then look at any press conference that Staunton has given since taking charge, in every one that I have seen I always got the feeling that as well as being openly hostile he was making an effort to get one over in some sort of childish smart way.
Remarks like "you tell me", to an entirely relevant question. If Steve Staunton wants to know why he is being treated in this manner then he should take a look in the mirror. Unfortunately I think that he is too stupid to realise what an idiot he has been for the last two years.
Steve's hardly gonna take a look in the "mirror". He doesn't read the papers remember:D
25/10/2007, 7:10 PM
Tom Humphries works for a newspaper that has ignored one of the Divisions of the Eircom League of Ireland for at least a decade. So neither he nor his Sports Editor Malachy Logan have any credibility as far as I am concerned when it comes to Irish football. To be fair to Emmet Malone when I chastise him for this , ( i.e. ignroing the ELOI First Division) he tells me that he is in my position often arguing the same point with his Sports Editor but he may as well be talking to the wall.
25/10/2007, 7:30 PM
Steve's hardly gonna take a look in the "mirror". He doesn't read the papers remember:D
He was a pro footballer. The words "the papers" are practically redundant there.
That said, it is the Mirror. I'm not sure 'read' is the right verb.
26/10/2007, 1:16 AM
One of the papers had Zinedine KIlbane's reaction. Amongst other gems, was that playing for Ireland isn't fun anymore, as you can't have beers after games, what a shame. :rolleyes:
That's because it's not fun, and as a professional player he has a job to do. Playing senior international football for Ireland is not like going on holiday. Your job: Get us to tournaments, then go on your bender.
26/10/2007, 7:36 AM
One of the papers had Zinedine KIlbane's reaction. Amongst other gems, was that playing for Ireland isn't fun anymore, as you can't have beers after games, what a shame. :rolleyes:
That's because it's not fun, and as a professional player he has a job to do. Playing senior international football for Ireland is not like going on holiday. Your job: Get us to tournaments, then go on your bender.
Well said the days of international football being a midweek jolly/p***-up for players based in England ought to be long gone. If that's at the root of some of our p*** poor performances over the past two years. Get rid of most of the squad and start from scratch... new coach :D
Drumcondra 69er
26/10/2007, 9:21 AM
Source? Can't believe Kilbane would have come out with something like that, he's not one of the boozers in the squad.