View Full Version : David O'Leary
28/06/2009, 3:15 PM
Interesting interview here in todays Mail (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1196031/OLeary-ready-hop-managerial-treadmill-year-hiatus.html) where he chucks his orb about a few things ...club managment, international managment, Stan, Roy, former team-mates and contemporaries ...nothing about Trap or the current set-up mind.
I'm generally a supporter of the guy and usually end up sticking up for him in debates but if what he said is accurately transcribed (It is the Mail like) then he comes across at times as quite ingracious and snide.
anyway he wants a gig.
Comes across as a bit of a knob in that interview, tbh.
28/06/2009, 5:08 PM
Comes across as a bit of a knob in that interview, tbh.
He does doesn't he? It's beyond straight-talk or calling it as he sees it. It's mouthy and petulant.
Having a go at Adams seemed a strange one, too. When talking about Leeds, he came across as unbelievably big-headed.
Think he is a decent manager though. It'll be interesting to see if he does get a job soon...
29/06/2009, 10:29 AM
Cas's acute observations of O'Leary.
"He was the kind of guy who would call you 'top man', put the phone down and probably hammer you afterwards. If there was someone more important than you in the room, he'd almost certainly make a beeline for them."
Can't see him getting a job, no job is good enough. And it would appear that not many share his delusion, despite O'Leary's compulsive need to namedrop some famous folk who he thinks recognise his real genius (when they are just being polite).
With a a bit of humility he could be a decent manager.
Scram
29/06/2009, 12:01 PM
Having a go at Adams seemed a strange one, too. When talking about Leeds, he came across as unbelievably big-headed.
Think he is a decent manager though. It'll be interesting to see if he does get a job soon...
He made so many mistakes at Leeds, it's incredible. Waste upon waste with Ridsdale bankrolling him. £8m for Seth Johnson, £12 for fat Fowler, £11M for Robbie only to leave him on the bench.......endless ridiculous signings and decisions.
He ****ed off more players than Scolari at Chelsea, totally lost the dressing room, writing a book while the club crumbled around him.....I don't know where he gets the idea that he is a good manager from.
29/06/2009, 12:53 PM
See this is where it gets complicated...
He made so many mistakes at Leeds, it's incredible. Waste upon waste with Ridsdale bankrolling him. £8m for Seth Johnson, £12 for fat Fowler, £11M for Robbie only to leave him on the bench.......endless ridiculous signings and decisions. ...He'd nothing to do with either transfer fees paid or wages negotiated with players. The market dictated the former and Ridsdale the latter.
H£11M for Robbie only to leave him on the bench.......endless ridiculous signings and decisions.. Pretty sure it was nowhere near 11M. That might've been what Inter paid Coventry for him. I think Leeds paid about half that to get him from Inter. More importantly -long after both Robbie and DOL were gone from Leeds -Robbies club managers were STILL looking elsewhere in their squad for a regular, consistent finisher.
...writing a book while the club crumbled around him... The latent, instinctive greed of people who are already very wealthy by any reasonable standard never fails to amaze me. The sheer vulgarity of it. it's the single biggest mistake of the mans career -amazingly made at a time when he was steering a team to the latter stages of the champions league despite constant interuptions from the Police and consequent wholly inadequate training.
I don't know where he gets the idea that he is a good manager from. ...probably from having his teams finish in the top 6 of the prem on all attempts but one.
Nonsense. The market ONLY dictates player value if there are other interested parties IN the market. O' Leary wanted these players like Fowler and Johnson and paid over the odds.
A simple bit of research would show you THAT ROBBIE KEANE WENT TO LEEDS FOR £12m. Given that you haven't even bothered to do that before replying and offereing up a lesson in "basics", I will assume that the rest of your post is equally researched and just as valid.
Getting a team to a top 6 finish in the Premiership having spent over £100m may be considered by you as an achievement but it certainly wouldn't be by most and especially not Leeds fans.
29/06/2009, 2:10 PM
Nonsense. The market ONLY dictates player value if there are other interested parties IN the market. O' Leary wanted these players like Fowler and Johnson and paid over the odds.
. ..so you don't think Leeds were competing with anyone else for any of those lads signatures? Johnson? Fowler? Viduka? Dacourt? Matteo? Come off it.
A simple bit of research would show you THAT ROBBIE KEANE WENT TO LEEDS FOR £12m.
I'll try and make a point of going scrambling to wikipedia EVERY time the absurd figure some footballer changes clubs for is up for grabs in future. But -given -Robbie went from Inter to Leeds for 12M. It was Coventry who'd paid 6M for him -which in itself shows how bloated transfer values had become when a 2nd flight teenager at Wolves is moving to a weak, cash strapped premier struggler for that kind of cash.
Given that you haven't even bothered to do that before replying and offereing up a lesson in "basics", I will assume that the rest of your post is equally researched and just as valid. wtf? who are you quoting with "basics"? Look ...I've a feckin job to do and spend too much time on here as it is. I'm not gonna go scrambling for stattos every single time I post. I've conceded you were right and I was wrong about the 12M/6M transfer fee. Move on.
Getting a team to a top 6 finish in the Premiership having spent over £100m may be considered by you as an achievement but it certainly wouldn't be by most and especially not Leeds fans. Tell that to Newcastle and Sunderland. Also -he did it consistently during his tenure there. That, I feel anyway, is the important bit.
DeNiro
29/06/2009, 6:33 PM
He is undoubtedly the most self-indulgent, obnoxiously arrogant clown I've ever come across. Full of himself. Had an incredible talent of starting most post-match interviews with 'I'. I doubt Capello is worried about when O'Leary is 'going to get back into that bloody game'. Can you really imagine Capello saying that?
Eh, No!
01/07/2009, 11:29 AM
How many times did he contradict himself in that article?
Shocked but not surprised at Keane's departure. What does that mean?
Kids are in their 20s and still at home, can't get rid of them. Then he says he wouldn't move abroad because of his family.
Ando so on...,
DeLorean
01/07/2009, 12:35 PM
Ah lads...leave him alone!!
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/45595000/jpg/_45595543_oleary_1990_512.jpg
"a nation holds its breath"
cue mayhem
czarner
02/07/2009, 6:15 AM
The interview seems to have vanished from the Mail site! The link doesn't work and a search for "o'leary" (or even just "david leeds") reveals nothing! Highly unusual - d'you think he pressured them to pull it if it was really that bad? And did anyone think to copy it before it went down?
02/07/2009, 10:06 AM
It's on the Independent's site: http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league/olearys-chance-to-rebuild-a-battered-reputation-590889.html
And there's some extracts on the Guardian's site: http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2002/jun/28/newsstory.sport2
czarner
02/07/2009, 11:17 AM
Cheers, but while those articles are interesting, they're 6-7 years old; I was under the impression this was an interview, and one done recently at that.
Maybe they just take non-news items off the site after a day or 2 or something. Don't know, don't often find myself perusing the Mail.
seanfhear
02/07/2009, 11:23 AM
Dreary O'Leary
Please stay away from football
To keep the rest of us cheery!
czarner
02/07/2009, 4:01 PM
Thanks a lot for that!
Surprisingly, I didn't think he came across THAT badly in the interview. Sure, he spends most of it trying to disguise his bitterness at the footballing world by being an arrogant *****, but nothing in the interview made me revise my opinion of him downwards. That's not really saying very much, mind.
youngirish
06/07/2009, 2:56 PM
Davo ”would consider” Arsenal, United role
July 6, 2009
David O’Leary has admitted that he would consider returning to football in an assistant manager’s position at Arsenal or Manchester United.
O’Leary has been out of football since being sacked by Aston Villa three years ago.
The former Leeds United boss is itching to get back into management and admits he would take on the challenge of a number two role at Old Trafford or the Emirates – but he insists he will not stoop to anything to achieve his goal.
He said: “The only people who could take me as a number two would be an Alex Ferguson or an Arsene Wenger and I’d be back tomorrow.
“I don’t want to be making out that my tongue is hanging out ass licking to get into a job. That’s just not me.”
youngirish
06/07/2009, 2:57 PM
Davo ”would consider” Arsenal, United role
July 6, 2009
David O’Leary has admitted that he would consider returning to football in an assistant manager’s position at Arsenal or Manchester United.
O’Leary has been out of football since being sacked by Aston Villa three years ago.
The former Leeds United boss is itching to get back into management and admits he would take on the challenge of a number two role at Old Trafford or the Emirates – but he insists he will not stoop to anything to achieve his goal.
He said: “The only people who could take me as a number two would be an Alex Ferguson or an Arsene Wenger and I’d be back tomorrow.
“I don’t want to be making out that my tongue is hanging out ass licking to get into a job. That’s just not me.”
I can see both Wenger and Ferguson beating down his door any minute now.
06/07/2009, 4:34 PM
I suppose it depends on the ass,
maybe it's my perverse imagination but I'm stuck with a disgusting image here.
Nothing that a good flagellation won't cleanse.
I suppose it depends on the ass,
maybe it's my perverse imagination but I'm stuck with a disgusting image here.
Nothing that a good flagellation won't cleanse.
Who are you going to flagellalte?
Ps. He was looking to get the Leeds job back so the ass end would be Ken Bates.....no truth at all but just to make sure that the image is really worth flagellating over!
Den Perry
07/07/2009, 9:11 AM
Interesting interview here in todays Mail (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1196031/OLeary-ready-hop-managerial-treadmill-year-hiatus.html) where he chucks his orb about a few things ...club managment, international managment, Stan, Roy, former team-mates and contemporaries ...nothing about Trap or the current set-up mind.
I'm generally a supporter of the guy and usually end up sticking up for him in debates but if what he said is accurately transcribed (It is the Mail like) then he comes across at times as quite ingracious and snide.
anyway he wants a gig.
any chance somebody could post the interview? I can't open the link
Thanks
07/07/2009, 9:26 AM
any chance somebody could post the interview? I can't open the link
ThanksThe link appears to be dead
It's on vbbfootball here: http://www.vbbfootball.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=27252&start=0
Den Perry
07/07/2009, 9:47 AM
The link appears to be dead
It's on vbbfootball here: http://www.vbbfootball.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=27252&start=0
Got it - thanks. He is a serious egomaniac, but for all his smugness I cannot dislike him. I think he did a really good job at Leeds. In my opinion its Ridsdale's fault all that money was spent. However, he does himself no favours with all the bragging and namedropping - his book was really embarressing. One thing I'll remember was he kept mentioning that he kept company with David Loder the horse trainer, yet kept spelling it "Loader" - clown
DeLorean
07/07/2009, 11:31 AM
Got it - thanks. He is a serious egomaniac, but for all his smugness I cannot dislike him. I think he did a really good job at Leeds. In my opinion its Ridsdale's fault all that money was spent. However, he does himself no favours with all the bragging and namedropping - his book was really embarressing. One thing I'll remember was he kept mentioning that he kept company with David Loder the horse trainer, yet kept spelling it "Loader" - clown
I'm the same. I like him and want to see him do well. I also agree that he did a good job with Leeds. I haven't read his book and don't think I will as I want to continue liking him!!
It was O'Dreary who made the ridiculous calls on spending £8m on Seth Johnson etc., etc.....ridiculous waste of money and at a time when transfer prices wer coming down. A bad manager of money, a bad manager of men, terrible PR and and egotist.......where's the good :confused::eek:
Razors left peg
08/07/2009, 4:09 PM
It was O'Dreary who made the ridiculous calls on spending £8m on Seth Johnson etc., etc.....ridiculous waste of money and at a time when transfer prices wer coming down. A bad manager of money, a bad manager of men, terrible PR and and egotist.......where's the good :confused::eek:
what are ya talkin about... that was years ago and prices have continued to rise ridiculously since.... 17 million for Glen Johnson for example
DeLorean
08/07/2009, 4:37 PM
where's the good :confused::eek:
Refer to post #113:D
what are ya talkin about... that was years ago and prices have continued to rise ridiculously since.... 17 million for Glen Johnson for example
So because the prices are up again for SOME teams in some markets, they have continued to rise :confused: :rolleyes: Have you ever heard of peaks and troughs? I guess not.
Den Perry
09/07/2009, 10:16 AM
So because the prices are up again for SOME teams in some markets, they have continued to rise :confused: :rolleyes: Have you ever heard of peaks and troughs? I guess not.
In fairness, Leeds were pretty mediocre when Graham was first there. as far as I rem though, he got them into Europe. O' Leary then took them to the semi finals of UEFA Cup and Champions League. as stated earlier, finished in top five in Premier League each season and had a squad that was capable of challenging for Premier League title. They also played some great football. O'Leary bought the ,likes of Batty, Viduka, Matteo, Ferdinand, Dacourt and Bridges who were all very successful there. Granted, Bridges did get badly injured but O'Leary could hardly be blamed for that.Apart from Seth Johnson, I can't really think of any disastrous buys that he made. Now there arn't too many managers that havn't bought a dud in their time and for big money.
EalingGreen
09/07/2009, 11:29 AM
In fairness, Leeds were pretty mediocre when Graham was first there. as far as I rem though, he got them into Europe. O' Leary then took them to the semi finals of UEFA Cup and Champions League. as stated earlier, finished in top five in Premier League each season and had a squad that was capable of challenging for Premier League title. They also played some great football. O'Leary bought the ,likes of Batty, Viduka, Matteo, Ferdinand, Dacourt and Bridges who were all very successful there. Granted, Bridges did get badly injured but O'Leary could hardly be blamed for that.Apart from Seth Johnson, I can't really think of any disastrous buys that he made. Now there arn't too many managers that havn't bought a dud in their time and for big money.
The responsibility for Leeds Utd's rise and fall should lie fairly and squarely with Ridsdale and the Board. For it was they who decided on the strategy of signing players for huge transfer fees and wages on long contracts etc,to get them into the Champions League, which would then pay for it all.
So that when they failed to qualify, suddenly they were stuck with a massive squad, on long-term contracts, who were so expensive they couldn't even give them away*.
As for O'Leary, sure he made some poor signings (every manager does), but I really don't think you can blame him for taking advantage of the Board's folly, by signing the very best players he could - every other manager would have done exactly the same. And as it happens, he did actually build a very competitive side, which also played attractive football, popular with the ER crowd.
Consequently, I think he has the makings of a very good manager - knows the game, knows a player, is well organised etc - except he is (fatally) hampered by one major flaw: his personality.
For too many ex-players/colleagues/managers etc (most notably Cascarino) have pointed to this for it just to be rumour. And imo it would explain why, even with his contacts, he's taking so long to get back into the game at a decent level i.e. his name is mud throughout the game.
In fact, I suspect it explains why the success he did have was often based on young players (his "babies", as he used to call them). That is, he could charm/fool/finesse etc them into believing him, but once they got a bit older, wiser and more experienced, they soon saw through him.
* - Literally; apparently when Spurs signed Paul Robinson, Leeds were still paying a portion of his wages long after his move to WHL. Otherwise Robinson might not have accepted a wage cut to move and/or Spurs would not have matched the wages he was on at Leeds. Same with Robbie Fowler and a load of others.
Razors left peg
09/07/2009, 11:33 AM
I honestly have no clue what the hell u are on about. it wasnt long after the Seth Johnson transfer that Man United paid Leeds 30 odd million for Rio Ferdinand so the market was extremely inflated at that time
09/07/2009, 12:51 PM
More a Ridsdale story that O'Leary, cant remember where i heard this but it is a true story:
When leeds were in the process of signing Johnson, player and agent agreed in advance that they would pitch for 17k a week. At their meeting with Ridsdale, without the player/agent even making a comment, Ridsdale offered circa 35k a week. Couple of mins later he had moved up to 40k. Some negotiator he was!!
Den Perry
09/07/2009, 2:54 PM
The responsibility for Leeds Utd's rise and fall should lie fairly and squarely with Ridsdale and the Board. For it was they who decided on the strategy of signing players for huge transfer fees and wages on long contracts etc,to get them into the Champions League, which would then pay for it all.
So that when they failed to qualify, suddenly they were stuck with a massive squad, on long-term contracts, who were so expensive they couldn't even give them away*.
As for O'Leary, sure he made some poor signings (every manager does), but I really don't think you can blame him for taking advantage of the Board's folly, by signing the very best players he could - every other manager would have done exactly the same. And as it happens, he did actually build a very competitive side, which also played attractive football, popular with the ER crowd.
Consequently, I think he has the makings of a very good manager - knows the game, knows a player, is well organised etc - except he is (fatally) hampered by one major flaw: his personality.
For too many ex-players/colleagues/managers etc (most notably Cascarino) have pointed to this for it just to be rumour. And imo it would explain why, even with his contacts, he's taking so long to get back into the game at a decent level i.e. his name is mud throughout the game.
In fact, I suspect it explains why the success he did have was often based on young players (his "babies", as he used to call them). That is, he could charm/fool/finesse etc them into believing him, but once they got a bit older, wiser and more experienced, they soon saw through him.
* - Literally; apparently when Spurs signed Paul Robinson, Leeds were still paying a portion of his wages long after his move to WHL. Otherwise Robinson might not have accepted a wage cut to move and/or Spurs would not have matched the wages he was on at Leeds. Same with Robbie Fowler and a load of others.
I agree, if a manager is given the money to spend, he can't be blamed for doing so. Ridsdale is a loathsome, publicity mad cretin. I remember him running aroung singing Marching on Together after Leeds beat Lazio away, as if he was a lifelong fan (which I thought he was at the time). Then, when Cardiff City qualified for FA Cup final he was pictured crying on the TV...
EG I agree - I think O'Leary's ego does hamper him - have you read his book? I've read what Cascarino has said about him, but do you have any more examples of ex teamates etc badmouthing him? cheers
looking likely that Ashley will appoint O'Leary to the Newcastle hotseat if he stays with the club. Could be just the sort of task for O'Leary to reestablish himslef as a capable manager...
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/8192035.stm
MeathDrog
10/08/2009, 12:24 AM
I can't believe it, Dave O' f*cking Leary.
I hope it's bull****.
10/08/2009, 7:41 AM
I hope its not!:p
Hope for his sake its not, nothing to gain by going there.
Scram
10/08/2009, 11:06 AM
I can't believe it, Dave O' f*cking Leary.
I hope it's bull****.
OMG....Ashley's parting shot?!! :(
10/08/2009, 11:42 AM
I didn't see this one coming!!! O'Leary knows he won't be able to spent 100 million right?
Drumcondra 69er
10/08/2009, 12:23 PM
I didn't see this one coming!!! O'Leary knows he won't be able to spent 100 million right?
Took Leeds to 3rd on a limited budget before being handed the cheque book.
Took Villa to 6th without any cash to spend.
He may be a bit of a cnut but he was a capable manager, the cheque book tag has been blown out of all proportion.
David O'Leary confirmed as the manaer of Al-Ahly FC in Dubai. Probably the most interesting thing about this move is that Fabio Cannavaro has been announced as the new club captain at the same time.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/jul/04/david-oleary-manager-al-ahli
Money money money?!?! Presume that is the prime motivator. Nothing to be gained career wise, ie even if he wins all around him there its not going to put him in the spot light for a top job.
When I heard he had gone back into management, first thought was Fulham.
irishfan86
04/07/2010, 7:34 PM
That club have a tonne to spend. Wonder if he'll try and bring any aging Ireland stars there for the twilight of their careers...Duffer?
Razors left peg
04/07/2010, 8:26 PM
Money money money?!?! Presume that is the prime motivator. Nothing to be gained career wise, ie even if he wins all around him there its not going to put him in the spot light for a top job.
When I heard he had gone back into management, first thought was Fulham.
People might have said the same of Wenger when he went to work in Japan. Hes been out of work so long now Id imagine he would look at it as a stepping stone to show that he can still cut it as a manager
Junior
04/07/2010, 8:59 PM
Heard an interview with him a few months ago and he stated that he had received a number of offers over the last few years but his has been taking his time waiting for the right job - Have to say Im surprised if this is it.
Anyway good luck to him!
05/07/2010, 12:52 AM
I bet Cannavaro is ****ing himself at the prospect of working with a living legend like Dave.
endabob1
05/07/2010, 6:56 AM
Did I hear, 8 managers in 5 years (although it may have been the other way round) either way I think he's clearly going there for the cash. Not that I blame him