View Full Version : Steven Reid
Pages :
[
13]
it would require something of an apology/admission of error from Trappatoni to acknowledge that Reid does, in fact, have something to offer despite the Irish managers attempts to call an end to his career.
Aint gonna happen in my opinion.
05/03/2011, 5:24 PM
ya another one he fecked up ;) :D
i knew someone would get it... :D
05/03/2011, 10:19 PM
Funny though, given that early in Trap's tenure Reid was one guy he'd have in the team any time.
Yard of Pace
06/03/2011, 3:39 PM
Trap's system was built with Reid as the first name on the teamsheet, imo. The problem we've had is because the same system has been used with vastly inferior players. Reid + Whelan was light years ahead of Whelan + Green or Andrews or Gibson. He should start against Macedonia.It's insane to think otherwise. Just go watch a tape of the Georgia and Montenegro away games.
06/03/2011, 4:01 PM
But the system was there before Reid walked into the team.
How many times has he been seriously injured while playing for Ireland? twice?
Yard of Pace
06/03/2011, 4:09 PM
But the system was there before Reid walked into the team.
How many times has he been seriously injured while playing for Ireland? twice?
He should never have played the Montenegro game. But even at 75 percent fitness he was MOTM. In 50 years time our grandchildren will look back at us and laugh about how we ever stood for Whelan and Green.
06/03/2011, 4:18 PM
Didn't he injure himself during the game, after 30mins or so?
With hindsight it would have been wiser to rest him and not expect him to be up to playing 2 hard games inside a few days.
06/03/2011, 5:10 PM
Needs must and all that Geysir.
Georgia is one of the very few 'away' games we have won of mediocre opposition.
irishultra
06/03/2011, 5:18 PM
in 150 yrs time some guy is gonna be doing like a google search for steven reid(dunno mayb hes his far into the future relative) and hell stumble onto this thread and be under the impression his distant ancestor was on the games greats
06/03/2011, 6:04 PM
Needs must and all that Geysir.
Georgia is one of the very few 'away' games we have won of mediocre opposition.
The Georgia game was finished when Steven took the field against Montenegro.
Yard of Pace
06/03/2011, 6:05 PM
in 150 yrs time some guy is gonna be doing like a google search for steven reid(dunno mayb hes his far into the future relative) and hell stumble onto this thread and be under the impression his distant ancestor was on the games greats
Don't underestimate how good he was/is. Man Yoo wanted him at one point, don't forget. He played in the 2002 World Cup at a young age also. He's not amazing but compared to Green or Andrews he is.
http://www.sundaymercury.net/midlands-sport/west-bromwich-albion-fc/west-brom-news/2011/03/06/west-brom-steven-reid-will-not-ease-up-in-his-old-age-66331-28286010/
06/03/2011, 6:30 PM
He played in the 2002 World Cup at a young age also. He's not amazing but compared to Green or Andrews he is.Yep, about 10 mins in the Saudi game!
06/03/2011, 7:32 PM
Reid is fit again but it still appears that two games a week is beyond his capabilities at the moment. His playing time has been carefully managed by both Di Matteo and Hodgson since he got back in the team and it would be a ludicrous decision for him to take on the extra strain of international football right now. Perhaps in a year if he's managed to steer clear of injury in that time.
06/03/2011, 7:52 PM
Yep, about 10 mins in the Saudi game!
nope, he didn't play against Saudi Arabia, actually that was the only group game he didn't play in
from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2002_FIFA_World_Cup_Group_E
came on against Cameroon in the 77th minute
came on against Germany in the 73rd minute
Didn't play against Saudi Arabia or Spain
06/03/2011, 8:23 PM
Now Stutts
Sullivinho
06/03/2011, 9:04 PM
came on against Cameroon in the 77th minute
I remember him gearing up for a free kick in that game. Looked like he was aiming for the back of a net back in Dublin.
Yard of Pace
06/03/2011, 10:02 PM
Reid is fit again but it still appears that two games a week is beyond his capabilities at the moment. His playing time has been carefully managed by both Di Matteo and Hodgson since he got back in the team and it would be a ludicrous decision for him to take on the extra strain of international football right now. Perhaps in a year if he's managed to steer clear of injury in that time.
It's hardly that much strain. I don't buy this giving up international football to prolong club career stuff. John Giles says the same. He's a fit young man not even 30. Of course he can play an extra few games a year.
SwanVsDalton
06/03/2011, 10:15 PM
It's hardly that much strain. I don't buy this giving up international football to prolong club career stuff. John Giles says the same. He's a fit young man not even 30. Of course he can play an extra few games a year.
You're talking like he's pulled his hamstring a couple of times...
He's a 'fit young man' who suffers from chronic back strains and has incurred two almost career ending knee injuries in the last four seasons. So, no, he can't just play an extra few games a year. Reid (much like McGrath or King) needs to treated with kid gloves. He didn't give up international football just to prolong a club career, he likely did it simply to secure one.
06/03/2011, 10:37 PM
Well it's not about age but injuries. The club has access to all of his medical information and they have been resting him every few games and that's with the club only playing one game a week. We don't even know how much he can train.
06/03/2011, 10:46 PM
Giles tends to compare midfielders to his standards. Unfortunately none of our CMs are built as strong as a brick shíthouse, have ambipedlar ability, tackle like a bulldozer, can excel at both attacking and defending, or could stroke the ball 50m to land purposefully on the 10th blade of grass in from the touchline. Despite the fact that players cover twice as much ground as players did in his day, Giles thinks every player should be able to play weekly, along with a game midweek. Susceptibility to injury or needing recovery time is not a consideration.
Yard of Pace
07/03/2011, 10:18 AM
Alright lads, fair enough
Noelys Guitar
07/03/2011, 12:26 PM
There is some real nonsense on this thread. Trapatonni was the person who brought Reid's Ireland career into question not the player himself. Steven Reid on his injury post Trapatonni's comments. Reid said: 'I couldn't really believe what I was hearing. The cartilage isn't gone. It's fine. In fact, the surgery's been a total success. The rehabilitation was always going to take nine or 10 months and I've done everything by the book.
'I've actually played six or seven games in the last two months, four or five with the reserves as well as our Carling Cup matches against Gillingham and Nottingham Forest. And I haven't had a problem with the knee. Unfortunately, I've just had a couple of niggly issues, first with a hamstring, and now this Achilles.
'The comments amazed me. I'm more positive now about my fitness than I've been in a long time. I'd just like the supporters to know I'm feeling great and looking forward to getting back playing in another week or so.' People were writing off Duff on here a couple of weeks back (again based on the Trapatonni's ill-informed comments). Reid just played a full 90 mins with no problems. We have a spate of real injuries and Reid should be recalled.
Yard of Pace
07/03/2011, 12:55 PM
There is some real nonsense on this thread. Trapatonni was the person who brought Reid's Ireland career into question not the player himself. Steven Reid on his injury post Trapatonni's comments. Reid said: 'I couldn't really believe what I was hearing. The cartilage isn't gone. It's fine. In fact, the surgery's been a total success. The rehabilitation was always going to take nine or 10 months and I've done everything by the book.
'I've actually played six or seven games in the last two months, four or five with the reserves as well as our Carling Cup matches against Gillingham and Nottingham Forest. And I haven't had a problem with the knee. Unfortunately, I've just had a couple of niggly issues, first with a hamstring, and now this Achilles.
'The comments amazed me. I'm more positive now about my fitness than I've been in a long time. I'd just like the supporters to know I'm feeling great and looking forward to getting back playing in another week or so.' People were writing off Duff on here a couple of weeks back (again based on the Trapatonni's ill-informed comments). Reid just played a full 90 mins with no problems. We have a spate of real injuries and Reid should be recalled.
Hear, hear
SwanVsDalton
07/03/2011, 1:32 PM
Is it too obvious to say 'Reid is retired' at this point?
Look I'd love to see him back, but the idea he retired because Trap hurt his feelings is ridiculous. He made that decision himself, probably to concentrate on regaining and maintaining club fitness.
If he's feels fully fit (and it appears so) great, but it's still his responsibility to inform management that he wants to be considered for selection. A 'maybe I would in an emergency' style answer isn't going to cut it for me.
We don't have a lack of options at central midfield or right back. We have a shortage of quality at centre mid, but we do have several emerging options. All those options have made it unequivocally clear they are available to play for Ireland. Reid can do the same, if he wishes.
If there was an injury crisis, then maybe management should make the call. But until then, I think it has to come from the player. Managers should focus on picking those who definitely want to be picked.
Should he become available, then welcome back. But would he warrant a place at centre mid? Has he played there much (or at all) for West Brom? Reid, on his day at CM, would be a shoe-in but are we sure he can do the job? Seems like it'd be a bit of punt, though I'm not intrinsically against going for it. Wouldn't have him as a right back, would rather have Foley, Coleman or even Kelly given a run there.
07/03/2011, 2:09 PM
I kind of agree SvD, but at the same time a pro-active call from Trap or Tardelli along the lines of "the group is entering a critical stage, would you like to be involved?" would be a pretty easy and wise thing to do, and in Reid's case I think dialogue should be ongoing. I honestly think a special case for Reid could be made for calling him up for the finals or the play-offs (if we manage it - big if) given how defendable his decision to retire was. Totally different to Stephen Fruitcake.
However, if young McCarthy shows up then it's much of a muchness. Reid AND McCarthy could be tasty though.
SwanVsDalton
07/03/2011, 3:05 PM
I kind of agree SvD, but at the same time a pro-active call from Trap or Tardelli along the lines of "the group is entering a critical stage, would you like to be involved?" would be a pretty easy and wise thing to do, and in Reid's case I think dialogue should be ongoing. I honestly think a special case for Reid could be made for calling him up for the finals or the play-offs (if we manage it - big if) given how defendable his decision to retire was. Totally different to Stephen Fruitcake.
However, if young McCarthy shows up then it's much of a muchness. Reid AND McCarthy could be tasty though.
His retirement is certainly defendable and Reid was a great servant considering the toll international football has taken on his career. I certainly wouldn't blame him whatever decision he made. Perhaps a subtle feeling out of things wouldn't be amiss, especially coming to the end of the campaign. Still others, like Lee Carsley, were happy to reaffirm a commitment and I don't see why Reid can't do the same if he really wanted to return.
Suppose my overall feeling is Trap should be looking at the options already there, like McCarthy. The fact he chooses neither is what's frustrating.
just scored a thumping header from a corner against Arsenal. 3 minutes in. Great header. West Brom v Arsenal, the game of choice in Canada this morning.
EastTerracer
19/03/2011, 2:06 PM
Reid just scored his first Premier League goal in almost 5 years - a header against Arsenal in the first 5 minutes.
Yard of Pace
19/03/2011, 2:13 PM
Reid and McCarthy in midfield......*daydreams*
Noelys Guitar
19/03/2011, 2:59 PM
Is he playing in midfield or at right back today? And how is he playing?
19/03/2011, 3:02 PM
Right full according to Sky Sports
Yard of Pace
06/04/2011, 9:43 AM
There's a short piece on Reid in The Weekly News (the grandmother gets it!). He says ("jokes" it actually says) that he thinks that at 30 his days marauding in midfield are behind him and he's settled into playing right-back. Doesn't mention Ireland but he says he's just happy to be playing every week now.
Personally I'd love to see him back but it sounds like he's content right now. That said, with Paul Green out for a lengthy spell, does that qualify as the emergency needed to bring Reid back?
tommy_c12000
19/04/2011, 9:40 AM
http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/reid-targets-win-for-survival-2623110.html
off after 45mins with injury. Not sure what ii was but he walked off himself no bother.
20/08/2011, 5:46 PM
Great block from Reidy.
he's having a good game. Id love to see him back in the Irish squad.
20/08/2011, 5:49 PM
Me too. But let's not start that war.
I havent the time or resources for another war anyway. This defense of Robbie Keane is taking its toll. Some say its unwinnable, some say why even bother but I say I cant stand by and watch these atrocities occur...
20/08/2011, 6:27 PM
Well, we're all behind you
21/08/2011, 4:33 PM
What war? He retired. He says himself that he doesn't think he has the engine required for midfield anymore.
Superb player who never fulfilled his potential due to injuries. Would love to see him make himself available for us again as Im sure he could do a job for us. However, it is likely his days in CM are gone - which is where we would need him most.
ArdeeBhoy
12/09/2011, 1:34 AM
Had a stinker for W.Brom earlier from what I saw of the highlights.
And injuries mean he's retired from internationals.
seanfhear
12/09/2011, 11:40 AM
Superb player who never fulfilled his potential due to injuries. Would love to see him make himself available for us again as Im sure he could do a job for us. However, it is likely his days in CM are gone - which is where we would need him most.
Except for recurring injuries he would have been a mainstay of the Irish midfield post Roy Keane. We should say thanks for the effort Steven Reid did put in for us and it would be nice if the fans could understand that it would have been so much more only for those injuries.
Fondest memories of him in the green are coming on against Cameroon in the WC and hitting an absolute belter of a free kick that nearly won us the match.
Also his performances in the first few games under Trap, Georgia, Norway and Montenegro, he was very assured until the injuries curse struck again. From what Id heard, a very likeable character as well. What Trap said about him (and publicly) re his injuries was very out of line.
Yard of Pace
23/10/2011, 11:40 AM
. What Trap said about him (and publicly) re his injuries was very out of line.
Sure was and Reid had a pop at him yesterday on Setanta. Interesting comments in that he said he'd find it hard to return under Trap, which obviously means he'd like to play for Ireland again. I wonder was it a ploy to induce Trap to apologise and get himself to the Euros should we qualify...
Chicago AOH
08/12/2011, 12:02 PM
West Brom: Steven Reid admits quitting international football helped his Albion career
“Next summer, if there were a few injuries and they were in desperate need, then you never know.”
Full article here >> (http://www.birminghammail.net/birmingham-sport/west-bromwich-albion-fc/west-bromwich-albion-fc-news/2011/12/06/west-brom-steven-reid-admits-quitting-international-football-helped-his-albion-career-97319-29904169/#ixzz1fwouAEuX)
Sullivinho
08/12/2011, 3:14 PM
“Next summer, if there were a few injuries and they were in desperate need, then you never know.”
Good man Steven. Who wouldn't want to see him actually benefit from an injury for a change eh? Not a chance of seeing him in the green again though imo.
Speaking of midfield injuries, and there's a possibility I may have dreamt this...but I think Paul Green mentioned during the week that Trap and co. are in regular contact and have or are planning on having him watched soon.
08/12/2011, 4:19 PM
West Brom: Steven Reid admits quitting international football helped his Albion career
Full article here >> (http://www.birminghammail.net/birmingham-sport/west-bromwich-albion-fc/west-bromwich-albion-fc-news/2011/12/06/west-brom-steven-reid-admits-quitting-international-football-helped-his-albion-career-97319-29904169/#ixzz1fwouAEuX)
Jaysus. Glen Whelen and co. might want to watch out for Ireland fans wielding blunt instruments next May as they seek to take Reid up on that offer.
Yard of Pace
08/12/2011, 5:48 PM
Steven "Tonya Harding" Reid, perhaps....