View Full Version : Steven Reid
Pages :
[
10]
Razors left peg
09/03/2010, 11:39 PM
He hasn't really played a tonne of football Razor. He'll probably start at right full, and once his fitness levels are back up move to a more central role.
yeah u are probably right, but I still think a 50% fit Reid is still better than most in that division.It could also have been that West Brom were short at right back for tonight and needed him to fill in... in which case Im just being a whinging idiot :)
irishfan86
09/03/2010, 11:48 PM
yeah u are probably right, but I still think a 50% fit Reid is still better than most in that division.It could also have been that West Brom were short at right back for tonight and needed him to fill in... in which case Im just being a whinging idiot :)
Yeah, I think we have to give West Brom credit too. They're in a race for promotion, and in that situation they don't want to risk putting in an unfit player into the middle of the park on his debut with them. He's an asset to them, but playing at right back will allow him to get to know his teammates and get his fitness levels up without potentially opening them up in the middle of the park if he can't keep up.
rebelmusic
10/03/2010, 8:03 AM
Good to see him now with 180 mins under his belt. Would actually prefer him to stay with WB as he'd only be taking andrews role with Blackburn. Since W.Brom are very likely to be promoted it's 1 more midfielder playing in the premiership, rather than 2 scrapping for the same spot. Dont think allardyce will sell though if he stays fit
I think at spell at RB is not a bad thing at all for SR, will give him a consistent run of games that he needs for a few months and also probably less chance of injury there too compared to CM, less tackles etc. I still believe that if he remains injury free SR will hit the ground running at the start of next season and will be an automatic first choice for us if he does.
dr_peepee
10/03/2010, 9:18 AM
I think at spell at RB is not a bad thing at all for SR, will give him a consistent run of games that he needs for a few months and also probably less chance of injury there too compared to CM, less tackles etc. I still believe that if he remains injury free SR will hit the ground running at the start of next season and will be an automatic first choice for us if he does.
He's also a slow starter when he comes back from spells out in my opinion. Whether it's by design or not, it might be no harm to have him play a run of games in an arguably less "involved" role than centre mid.
rebelmusic
16/03/2010, 10:36 AM
argh...he's injured again. Groin injury
puts Brom 1-0 up on Coventry
Steven Reid finds the back of the net with a goal from inside the six-yard box to the bottom left corner of the goal. West Brom 1-0 Coventry.
theworm2345
27/03/2010, 5:17 PM
Reid hints at Baggies stay
On loan midfielder could make permanent switch to Hawthorns
The 29-year-old Blackburn player moved to the Hawthorns earlier in the month and has made an instant impact in the Championship since his arrival.
Reid has made four appearances for the Baggies and scored the winner in their last game against Coventry on Wednesday.
He admits he is enjoying his time in the Midlands, and with his Rovers contract set to expire in the summer, could make the loan deal permanent.
"I'm loving being part of it at the minute," he said.
"I'd be very keen to stay until the end of the season.
"I'm out of contract in the summer and staying on is something which may be of interest after that."
If Reid does make his move to West Brom permanent, he could be playing his football in the Premier League next season.
The Baggies are currently pushing Newcastle all the way in the Championship and are in a good position to clinch automatic promotion this term.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12876_6057050,00.html
Wouldn't be too bad a move considering WBA are likely going up
i get the Terry Dixon effect everytime this thread goes back to the top of the forum...
i think a permanent move for Reid to the baggies would be good for both parties. He would surely find it hard to fight his way back into Big Sams first team. Good for him to be a main player in a lesser team id say.
soccerboy
27/03/2010, 7:19 PM
he def needs a good run of games and stay injury free during the summer and pre-season,surely trap would include him for the autumn games then...i would agree that a permanent move to west brom would be better for him rather than being a bit player for that clown allardyce
27/03/2010, 8:27 PM
you never know, if he gets back into form and fitness at the Baggies, Big Sam might see him in the same goal scoring midfield role that Kevin Nolan had under him at Bolton.
was substituted at half time in todays win against Leicester. He was playing right back. Not sure for the reason for the substitution but am assuming injury.
hamstring issues, according to skysports matchtracker.
MuckaTucka
17/04/2010, 4:16 PM
West Brom v Middlesbrough live on BBC Two now.
Steven Reid starts for West Brom at right back against Middlesbrough who have Jay O'Shea on the bench.
tommy_c12000
26/04/2010, 7:22 PM
Just scored for Palace......with a clinical finish. Doesn't look anywhere near the player he once was. Still though nice to see him getting a solid few games under his belt, all be it at right back
rebelmusic
27/04/2010, 1:45 AM
I dont think that's fair. The og looked more like he was looking to clear it and it bounced unfortunately for him. He looked very composed on the ball, more so than most of the other players. Altho i have to say his pace was lacking at times.
Cox had an henry style goal disallowed...wish we had that ref in the playoffs
Manc Irish Wolf
28/04/2010, 4:51 PM
Bumped into Reidy during my lunchbreak today and had to have a few words. Proper sound bloke. Asked him how his knee was and he appeared confident that it was sorted (although did detect an air of unease, although dare say that is expected after a long lay-off). Told him to sack off the Baggies and reunite with Mick down the Wolves as we are after a centre midfielder. Didn't appear adverse to the idea mentioning something about how he's playing at right back (which he seemed a bit disgruntled about) and is out of contract in the summer. Get the feeling he may be up for auction in the summer. Might be a blesssing that he's playing at right back for the time being as he's out of the more combatitive firing line a bit. With a proper pre-season behind him he'll hopefully be vying for contention for our midfield, which he seemed very eager to be.
backstothewall
28/04/2010, 8:59 PM
He should take your advice. Wolves would be a great move for him. though I've heard talk out of Glasgow that Robbie is going back there, and If Hunt goes as well its going to become a bit of a ROI XI
Colbert Report
28/04/2010, 10:33 PM
Stephen Hunt is not going to Celtic! They can't afford him. Hull will sell him for five million I reckon.
rebelmusic
28/04/2010, 10:42 PM
He was saying hunty is going to wolves, which is extremely likely
Razors left peg
28/04/2010, 10:42 PM
Stephen Hunt is not going to Celtic! They can't afford him. Hull will sell him for five million I reckon.
Are u are certain of that as u were about Robbie Keane? Anyway read the post again,he was talking about Hunt and Robbie going to Wolves
Colbert Report
28/04/2010, 10:52 PM
Sorry lads I mis-read the post.
Razor, you are spot on with your comment about my predicion of Robbie not ending up at Celtic, although in fairness I was talking about him going there permanently, which he obviously won't.
I would love to see Hunt, Keane, and Doyle all at Wolves and I think it might just happen. Keane is not worth anywhere near ten million as Harry Redknapp will want for him, and he's almost on the wrong side of thirty. This summer should be interesting.
rebelmusic
29/04/2010, 12:53 AM
Keane is not worth anywhere near ten million as Harry Redknapp will want for him, and he's almost on the wrong side of thirty. This summer should be interesting.
All the reports ive been reading is that they'll be looking for 8 million for him, which is fair enough. No matter how you look at it, he's pretty much a 20 goals a season striker - which is defo worth 8 mill
Colbert Report
29/04/2010, 1:04 AM
Keanes record in the Premiership over the last two seasons:
2009/10: 6 goals in 20 appearances
2008/09: 10 goals in 33 appearances
Sorry lads, scoring loads of penalties against the likes of St. Mirren and Motherwell doesn't make you worth 8 millions.
EastTerracer
29/04/2010, 2:34 AM
Sorry lads, scoring loads of penalties against the likes of St. Mirren and Motherwell doesn't make you worth 8 millions.
Roque Santa Cruz
2009/2010 3 goals in 14 appearances
2008/2009 4 goals in 20 appearances
GBP 17.5m
Craig Bellamy
2009/2010 9 goals in 28 appearances
2008/2009 3 goals in 8 appearances
GBP 14m
Dimitar Berbatov
2009/2010 12 goals in 31 appearances
2008/2009 9 goals in 31 appearances
GBP 30.75m
None of those records are much different from Robbie's but the fees are ridiculous.
Colbert Report
29/04/2010, 3:01 AM
Robbie is very old for a top level striker, there are very few over the age of thirty playing for mid-table teams like Villa.
I reckon a move to someone like Wolves or Birmingham would suit him well. He's too good to be a sub.
Robbie is very old for a top level striker, there are very few over the age of thirty playing for mid-table teams like Villa.
There are more players than you think at Robbie's age playing and scoring at the top level. At Chealsea, Anelka was top scorer in the Premier League last season over 30, Drogba has 25 goals in the league this season and is over 30. United have Michael Owen who's over 30 (but admittedly, pretty banjaxed), and Berbatov who's only 6 months younger than Robbie. Arsenal have a team of kids so they don't count :P (Eduardo is their oldest striker at 27), and all of Spur's strikers are 28 or older (Crouch is 6 months younger than Keane). Villa are hardly mid-table sitting in 5th place at the moment, and they obviously have Carew who's a year older than Keane.
In fact, looking at Premier League squads, 3 of the top 4 and 7 of the top 10 have players who are the same age or older than Robbie playing regularly and scoring. I didn't count Kevin Phillips despite him being Birmingham's 3rd top goalscorer.
Chelsea (Drogba)
United (Berbatov)
Spurs (Crouch)
Villa (Carew)
Man City (Bellamy)
Liverpool (Kuyt)
Everton (Saha)
My point being, Robbie has 2 or 3 years left at the very top.
dr_peepee
29/04/2010, 12:37 PM
Is that starts or appearences?? Seems a bit of a harsh representation of the facts to me at first glance. His form in Scotland has done him no harm. It was a move in my mind that could have done more harm than good because he was never going to enhance his reputation by doing well up there. I think he'll have a few options come the summer which is the important thing.
29/04/2010, 2:16 PM
I was going to reply but this is the Steven Reid thread gone way off track
SuperDave
12/05/2010, 3:34 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2010/0512/1224270246913.html
Looks like his time at Blackburn is up. Hopefully the Baggies sign him up and he returns to regular top flight action.
A fully fit Steven Reid at the centre of Midfield is going to be crucial if we want to challenge in the Euros.
12/05/2010, 3:38 PM
It'd be interesting to see how he plays with Whelan now, given the leaps and bounds Whelan has come on over the course of the last qualifying series. When Trapattoni took over, it looked like Reid was going to be the box to box midfielder, with Whelan as the holding player. Without Reid, Whelan played further forward, and was encouraged to shoot from distance. Would Reid's return reverse the original roles, or would they each play a different role?
12/05/2010, 3:44 PM
He was playing right full back for WBA and could score a neat OG when required! Wasn't impressed whenever I saw him. Centre-midfield is definitely his position.
irishfan86
12/05/2010, 3:52 PM
He was playing right full back for WBA and could score a neat OG when required! Wasn't impressed whenever I saw him. Centre-midfield is definitely his position.
Not trying to contradict you, but the WBA fans were apparently singing "sign him up" in the last game of the season, after only seeing him play at right-full.
SuperDave
12/05/2010, 4:17 PM
Not trying to contradict you, but the WBA fans were apparently singing "sign him up" in the last game of the season, after only seeing him play at right-full.
He's available for nothing, too. Just wages and a signing on fee. I'd be surprised if he didn't stay there.
12/05/2010, 5:13 PM
To be fair, Allardyce has probably just looked at his spell at West Brom and noticed he hasn't spent any time in midfield. Blackburn already have a good few right backs and Andrews has been the first choice to fill in when there's injuries.
14/05/2010, 9:11 AM
They have obviously seen a lot more of him than I have. I only saw him a couple of times so I would bow to their opinion.
Allardyce knows he'll break down at any minute so is happy enough to let him go :(
Colbert Report
16/05/2010, 12:03 AM
Fair play to Steven Reid. The easy thing to do would be to retire, at least from international duty. Good on him for battling through injury after injury and making himself available when fit for Ireland.
irishfan86
16/05/2010, 3:09 AM
Can't argue with that Colbert, you have to love his perseverance and I really hope that is the end of his injury trouble now for the rest of his career. After all he's been through it would be nice for him to have a couple of healthy season here and help lead us into the Euros.
18/05/2010, 8:44 AM
Linked with Celtic in the morning papers: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2010/05/18/neil-lennon-in-swoop-to-take-freed-blackburn-midfielder-steven-reid-to-celtic-86908-22266587/
Duggie
18/05/2010, 8:54 AM
that would be a perfect move for him, he would dominate central midfield in scotland. would be a great signing for celtic.
Razors left peg
18/05/2010, 8:57 AM
Linked with Celtic in the morning papers: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2010/05/18/neil-lennon-in-swoop-to-take-freed-blackburn-midfielder-steven-reid-to-celtic-86908-22266587/
As a Celtic fan Id be over the moon with Reid signing. From an Ireland point of view it would be great too because he would be getting regular football
18/05/2010, 9:11 AM
I'd be more concerned that, in the physical SPL, he'd pick up another injury in his first few games
Razors left peg
18/05/2010, 9:16 AM
Is the SPL that much more physical than the Championship?
Duggie
18/05/2010, 9:23 AM
Is the SPL that much more physical than the Championship?
hed be fine in the spl.
i wouldnt read to much into this story though. says he met with lennon already? now unless hes got the job this seems a pointless exercise no??
Razors left peg
18/05/2010, 9:31 AM
I have a feeling Lennon will get the job at this stage
18/05/2010, 10:10 AM
The English Telegraph is reporting that Reid is in talks with Di Matteo about a contract with West Brom.
18/05/2010, 10:30 AM
As a Celtic fan Id be over the moon with Reid signing.I thought you were a Galway fan? I'm confused :)
Razors left peg
18/05/2010, 12:29 PM
I thought you were a Galway fan? I'm confused :)
haha, lets not start that again
Predator
19/05/2010, 2:51 PM
hed be fine in the spl.
i wouldnt read to much into this story though. says he met with lennon already? now unless hes got the job this seems a pointless exercise no??
Seems it's almost a done deal.
gwhite
19/05/2010, 4:53 PM
Does anyone know if he´s coming into the squad for the 2 friendlies next week?