17/10/2007, 8:53 AM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1017/tourism.html
17/10/2007, 9:01 AM
was just reading that this morning
17/10/2007, 9:07 AM
well you are great arent ye!
i love reading stuff like this about the old country :D, except when i go home like last saturday night and on the nitebus back to the airport i see a fight and loads of hermans around the place to witness it. Always ****es me off, and stupidly I always get involved to try to stop it.
It said we're friendly, it didn't say we were perfect.
like the bit about having a dark sense of humour.
17/10/2007, 9:37 AM
It said we're friendly, it didn't say we were perfect.
True, but the more tourists that see this, will change their perception of our friendliness....
17/10/2007, 9:46 AM
smart arse!
was just posting on your thread to make you feel better paul, cos i know sometimes people don't respond to your threads :p
To be honest i was surprised to read we were still high up on that type of poll. People have changed a lot. True Dodge, i like what they say about our humour :D
17/10/2007, 10:03 AM
To be honest i was surprised to read we were still high up on that type of poll. People have changed a lot.
But what makes you think people in other countries haven't changed? And I think people are a lot friendlier to tourists than they are to locals, so they probably don't get to see the surly side of shop assistants.
17/10/2007, 10:07 AM
so they probably don't get to see the surly side of shop assistants.
You mean polish shop assistants on a "stepping stone" :p
17/10/2007, 10:09 AM
But what makes you think people in other countries haven't changed? And I think people are a lot friendlier to tourists than they are to locals, so they probably don't get to see the surly side of shop assistants.
I just meant that certain parts of Ireland were more dependent on tourism in previous years than they are now. I definitely think people in Ireland still make an effort to be friendlier and helpful to tourists. I know that if a tourist stops me for help, I usually go out of my way to help them, I wouldn't think twice about it.
17/10/2007, 10:10 AM
was just posting on your thread to make you feel better paul, cos i know sometimes people don't respond to your threads
Have you noticed that too?! :(
17/10/2007, 10:11 AM
I know that if a tourist stops me for help, I usually go out of my way to help them, I wouldn't think twice about it.
I know people who used to do the exact opposite for a laugh. Having said that when I have been away I think locals do it everywhere :D
Eire06
17/10/2007, 10:23 AM
With the rate of senseless Murders and attacks being committed in this country that list will soon change.
17/10/2007, 10:27 AM
With the rate of senseless Murders and attacks being committed in this country that list will soon change.
I am afraid I think you are right. Like work 1 bad thing accounts for at least 10 good things, and like that poor girl in galway, something like that does reflect very negatively especially on such a touristy place like Galway. If it was a non-national that committed the crime it could also create some "anti-foreiginer" mentality to some of those already on the fringes.....
17/10/2007, 10:30 AM
Again you're looking solely at us. The rate of murders in Ireland is absolutely tiny compared to most countries in the world.
Eire06
17/10/2007, 10:33 AM
Again you're looking solely at us. The rate of murders in Ireland is absolutely tiny compared to most countries in the world.
Oh sorry that makes it all alright then as long as our Murder rate stays tiny next to other countries :rolleyes: :mad:
MyTown
17/10/2007, 10:38 AM
I am afraid I think you are right. Like work 1 bad thing accounts for at least 10 good things, and like that poor girl in galway, something like that does reflect very negatively especially on such a touristy place like Galway. If it was a non-national that committed the crime it could also create some "anti-foreiginer" mentality to some of those already on the fringes.....
Firstly my heartfelt sympathy to the family of Manuela Riedo who died in apalling circumstances in my town. I am deeply ashamed that this is the reality of life and death in Ireland and Galway now.
Secondly, Mr. O'Shea, it wouldn't be like you to miss the chance to give Galway a kicking would it?:rolleyes:
Thirdly, For me it comes down to a visible police presence. Most posters praised the PSNI for their proactive stance in the Brandywell last week, but here, where I live, most public order offences and most road traffic offences are quite simply ignored. At least in the UK, most people have confidence that the laws will be enforced, by those charged with enforcing them. Often that means a too heavy handed approach as in the death of the Brazilian national assassinated by crown forces while boarding the tube. But in Ireland rather than zero tolerance we have zero policing IMO.
17/10/2007, 10:43 AM
Secondly, Mr. O'Shea, it wouldn't be like you to miss the chance to give Galway a kicking would it?
MyTown, I seriouslly didnt mean it like that, on a serious note I wouldn't be at that stuff. honestly.
You have to remember nowadays things are reported worldwide and you hear about it far quicker, years ago this wasnt the case. And exactly as Eire06, its not a competition, its a fact and it doesnt matter on a scale or ratio, the population has stayed pretty much the same ( bar immigration ) so ye cant make out its alright.
But in Ireland rather than zero tolerance we have zero policing IMO.
And im not having a go, just an example, outside supermacs every saturday and friday night, those little knacks that hang round the doors looking for fights ( the abuse those poor security guards get is terrible and unfortunately most of it is racist or discriminatory - im sure lots of tourists see it too), while the cops just sit outside across the road and way till something happens and finishes and then do something about it. Sad to say some of these same cops are from the same town as me too.....
17/10/2007, 10:44 AM
Oh sorry that makes it all alright then as long as our Murder rate stays tiny next to other countries :rolleyes: :mad:
get a ****ing grip will you. here's the context in which I posted that
Of course all murders are horrendous but the fact remains that we have way, way, way less than pretty much every country in the world so to say that as a result of our slight increase the world will no longer think of us as being more friendly than the countries with higher murder rates is ridiculous
17/10/2007, 10:51 AM
Of course all murders are horrendous but the fact remains that we have way, way, way less than pretty much every country in the world so to say that as a result of our slight increase the world will no longer think of us as being more friendly than the countries with higher murder rates is ridiculous
Do you not think then, given the idea of "relative security" things like Eire06 talks about makes a difference, such as what happened in galway, given the fact that the persons in charge picked Galway over London because of the belief it was safer. 1 murder, 10 murders, its not relative.
17/10/2007, 10:59 AM
Firstly my heartfelt sympathy to the family of Manuela Riedo who died in apalling circumstances in my town. I am deeply ashamed that this is the reality of life and death in Ireland and Galway now.
Secondly, Mr. O'Shea, it wouldn't be like you to miss the chance to give Galway a kicking would it?:rolleyes:
Thirdly, For me it comes down to a visible police presence. Most posters praised the PSNI for their proactive stance in the Brandywell last week, but here, where I live, most public order offences and most road traffic offences are quite simply ignored. At least in the UK, most people have confidence that the laws will be enforced, by those charged with enforcing them. Often that means a too heavy handed approach as in the death of the Brazilian national assassinated by crown forces while boarding the tube. But in Ireland rather than zero tolerance we have zero policing IMO.
Have to agree, I can't speak for other towns/cities but Galway has poor policing. Even looking at traffic offences, the amount of people I see constantly on their mobile phone whilst driving in the city is shocking! Little Garda presence.
anto1208
17/10/2007, 11:07 AM
Little Garda presence.
But will a midget Gaurda force help ??
17/10/2007, 11:12 AM
smart arse!
Oh sorry that makes it all alright then as long as our Murder rate stays tiny next to other countries
Secondly, Mr. O'Shea, it wouldn't be like you to miss the chance to give Galway a kicking would it?
get a ****ing grip will you.
:D :D I love how quickly a row broke out in a thread about how we're the nicest, friendliest people in the world :)
17/10/2007, 11:13 AM
But will a midget Gaurda force help ??
I think it would make people think twice if they were to get points/fined for such an offence and for it to be enforced. They need to stop people caught doing this. It is against the LAW and very dangerous! :mad:
17/10/2007, 11:14 AM
:D I love how quickly a row broke out in a thread about how we're the nicest, friendliest people in the world :)
:D very good, and 2 moderators were involved too LOL
Eire06
17/10/2007, 11:30 AM
get a ****ing grip will you. here's the context in which I posted that
Its you who needs to get a grip and you don't need to curse either :rolleyes:
Have you got figures to back up your above claim.
Crime rates are up in this country and if they keep rising as they are we will no longer be top of the 'most friendliest list' is what I was saying and I believe it to be true
17/10/2007, 11:32 AM
Its you who needs to get a grip and you don't need to curse either :rolleyes:
Have you got figures to back up your above claim.
Crime rates are up in this country and if they keep rising as they are we will no longer be top of the 'most friendliest list' is what I was saying and I believe it to be true
Shocking a mod cursing :D
Crime rates are up indeed but the policing aren't "catching up"
17/10/2007, 11:34 AM
At least in the UK, most people have confidence that the laws will be enforced, by those charged with enforcing them.
I have to say, I have zero respect for the Gardai (even though i know a couple personally !)
As individuals they don't exude the type of quiet, powerful confidence and authority that a police force should.
I wouldn't think twice about telling a Gard where to go if he asked me to do something I didn't want to on a Friday night (e.g. 'walk on the pavement, not the road'). I'm bigger and older than most of them, and you always seem to get away with saying whatever you want to them (within reason).
Conversely - with the Police in England, and particularly London, you know there's no messin' with them. They're big, they exude confident authority, they look like they won't take any lip, and more importantly they don't. You therefore do what they tell you when they tell you, as you know they'll be on your case if you don't.
I honestly can't take the Gardai seriously as a law enforcement authority... :eek:
17/10/2007, 11:34 AM
Dont worry GT, I sent him a PM adivising him of an infraction, as he has been so kind to do to me in the past :D
JTS, you never cease to make me laugh. You even put those quotes in order as though that was how the conversation flowed in exact order.
I wouldn't think twice about telling a Gard where to go if he asked me to do something I didn't want to on a Friday night (e.g. 'walk on the pavement, not the road'). I'm bigger and older than most of them, and you always seem to get away with saying whatever you want to them (within reason).
No you dont, in the nicest possible manner myself and a friend asked them about an old law, that states if you need to defecate and no public loo is within sight, a Garda has to offer you his hat, is this true, and we asked a few times, but we were told in no uncertain terms that if we didnt move away we would be arrested under the "...Public Order Act".
Conversely - with the Police in England, and particularly London, you know there's no messin' with them
Horses for courses, ive asked them why they are called "the old bill", "bobbies" and do they know that people call them "pigs" and I didnt get arrested. They actually laughed, I think its down to the individuals. God I sound like the Uber-Pc brigade of foot.ie now. I also know lots of PPs over here that are bobbies ( i lost respect for them then :D ) and they certainly "exude" the same characteristics that you described above, about the Irish GARDAI shichaloniiii. You must also remember that they are quite a few Irish( born ) ppl in the Met police too.
But here is one to back up your claim, a friend was loaded in galway one night and he kept trying chat up this girl outside supermacs, and he wouldn't leave her alone, anyhow she eventually went over to the garda car parked across the way and said can you please tell this fella to leave me alone, so over pops me mate, and the gardas start ****ing themselves, its only the brother of a lad they went to school with :D Now thats real policing for ye!!! And one is a seargant.
17/10/2007, 11:37 AM
I have to say, I have zero respect for the Gardai (even though i know a couple personally !)
As individuals they don't exude the type of quiet, powerful confidence and authority that a police force should.
Conversely - with the Police in England, and particularly London, you know there's no messin' with them. They're big, they exude confident authority, they look like they won't take any lip, and more importantly they don't. You therefore do what they tell you when they tell you, as you know they'll be on your case if you don't.
I honestly can't take the Gardai seriously as a law enforcement authority... :eek:
I agree, recently I complained to them about a group of young under-agers drinking in the street, littering, beng a pain in the arse basically and they replied "Ah sure they're only 14, that's what 14 year olds do!" :eek:
17/10/2007, 11:38 AM
Dont worry GT, I sent him a PM adivising him of an infraction, as he has been so kind to do to me in the past :D
JTS, you never cease to make me laugh. You even put those quotes in order as though that was how the conversation flowed in exact order.
:D :D
17/10/2007, 11:43 AM
No you dont, in the nicest possible manner myself and a friend asked them about an old law, that states if you need to defecate and no public loo is within sight, a Garda has to offer you his hat, is this true, and we asked a few times, but we were told in no uncertain terms that if we didnt move away we would be arrested under the "...Public Order Act".
That was why I added the 'within reason' caveat.
Reagrdless of any law that may exist, or how politely the request, asking a Gard can you sh!t in his hat is always going to provoke a negative response..! :)
With more normal examples, I've lost count of the number of times I've seen people just simply ignoring what they're told by Gards, and nothing happens in return. I've also seen Gards 'trading lip' with people - as if they were just random punters on the street, not appointed representatives with the force of the law behind them.
Horses for courses, ive asked them why they are called "the old bill", "bobbies" and do they know that people call them "pigs" and I didnt get arrested. They actually laughed, I think its down to the individuals.
But that's the whole 'confident authority' thing. They know who's the boss, so they can brush your comments off as just a laugh. I'm sure that if you pushed the point and became a nuisance/abusive you'd have found their attitude towards you cahnaged rather quickly.
Conversely - I sense a consciousness amongst Gards generally about the fact that people don't respect their authority. Hence they're much more eager to wave their powers around if they feel their authoritah is not being respected ! Confident police officers/a confident force could see the funny side in something like that. One that is aware of it's fundamental lack of authority will be much more eager to try to show its authority when it feels it isn't being respected.
The Gards are just Keystone Cops in my mind.... :o
17/10/2007, 11:46 AM
The Gards are just Keystone Cops in my mind.... :o
friendly bunch though
17/10/2007, 11:50 AM
With more normal examples, I've lost count of the number of times I've seen people just simply ignoring what they're told by Gards, and nothing happens in return. I've also seen Gards 'trading lip' with people - as if they were just random punters on the street, not appointed representatives with the force of the law behind them.
This brings me back to an example on o'connell street. Where the "serious" part of the gards is a bit of a joke. My mate went for a **** down lower abbey street, grand then my brother ran down the street next to it, anyhow the guards came down in teh unmarked car and started flashing the light and stuff, 3 of them got out acting all serious, and the usual qusetions came out, but then one of them goes, "look he ****ed on the bottom of his trousers " and he got into an arguement with 2 of them about not having ****ed on the bottom of his trousers ( which I might add he didnt ) and then the more senior guard cops on and goes look that doesnt matter here, we could fine ye blah de blah and eventually let him away. But for sure, I dont think that lapse in official duty would occur in the UK, there is a more professional approach to the job. I think thats down to the guards being full of nice, innocent culchies --> see that Dodge :D
Sligo Hornet
17/10/2007, 12:12 PM
Having just read all the posts with people arguing, insulting and criticising each other.......I'm just surprised we weren't beaten into second place by Slovakia!;)
kingdom hoop
17/10/2007, 12:13 PM
Condensing this thread, it seems like we're in a bit of a pickle, to maintain our lead in the friendly stakes crime must be halted, but that won't happen unless our Gardaí lose their friendly ways, but if that happens we might lose our friendly country tag. :o
Anyway, I don't like this focus on the inadequacy of our police force tarnishing what could have been a wonderfully uplifting thread celebrating the most important thing in the world, especially at a time when we need ego-massaging as distraction from our sporting woes. So come on now, lets all take a moment to realise we beat Germany and England at something, appreciate our blessed birthright, ride the collective wave of cordiality and be proud of ourselves. :)
anto1208
17/10/2007, 12:41 PM
Most people visititng are here for a weekend / week or 2 so its not that hard to think that they went a week in ireland with people being friendly to them it happens me all the time ive gone a couple of months with out witnessing anything nasty, Even the dirty alco's ive to walk past everyday to work are friendly they say hello & have a little chat. the people in shops are allways friendly to me i love it here.
17/10/2007, 12:51 PM
I wonder where Slovakia came on the list....suppose it's a bit unfair, it just seems Bratislava was unfriendly, I am sure the rest of the country is normal enough
17/10/2007, 12:53 PM
If we're the friendliest it's because every other nation on this planet is horribly unfriendly
17/10/2007, 2:03 PM
lets all take a moment to realise we beat Germany and England at something,
Beating England is nothing new for the Irish - at eaither football or rugby.
And the Germans are the ones who can't beat us...... :D
So nothing worthy of celebrating there then...!
kingdom hoop
17/10/2007, 3:08 PM
If we're the friendliest it's because every other nation on this planet is horribly unfriendly
Fair enough point, but one line over-simplifies the issue, I'll happily build on your foundation.
As you know Jebus, there are several stages you can get to in social encounters, this is the kernel of the matter. Stage one (very depressing) would be a simple '**** off' and a kick in the hole, ranging up to ten (epiphany) where you are, depending on sex, either going to go for a pint with the person you just met on the street or have sex with them. In between those extremes will fall the vast majority of our social meetings, the extent to which they come closer to one or the other obviously defines the congeniality of the encounter and thus your impression of the person/country and the positive or negative effect on your day.
The key indicia for me is whether a meeting was purely matter of fact 'I can't wait to be rid of you', or whether you are surprised and uplifted because of the warmth radiating from the other person. By and large, the latter is exemplified with a flashing smile or a simple joke that, without you really realising, has brightened your day. That is where I think Irish people are seen to set themselves apart. We love a bit of plámás, a hop-ball, an irreverent jest, like say if a tourist asks you where a certain pub is you'll either start or finish with some smart comment about drinking. Personally, I find myself doing such nearly all the time, and this forum would illustrate that most people do the same, we just can't help ourselves from breaking down the, in my opinion non-existent, social barriers that prevent others from opening up and exuding a bit of personality. Obviously it's not a uniquely Irish phenomenon, we just do it better.
Finally, just to revert back to Jebus' sentiment that we're not really that friendly, I would have to agree with him. While we may be pretty friendly generally, loads of people still leave an awful lot to be desired. They just walk around moping all day, you'd try to be nice, enthusiastic, playful even, and there is just no reciprocation. Such types get my goat up big time. What, you don't enjoy human interaction? The natural delight of sharing a joke with a stranger should never be neglected. I could go on, but I'll leave Jebus and others to take up the mantle. Now smile ffs, and don't be pointlessly sarcastic like dcfcsteve! :)
Paddyfield
17/10/2007, 10:28 PM
Have to agree, I can't speak for other towns/cities but Galway has poor policing. Even looking at traffic offences, the amount of people I see constantly on their mobile phone whilst driving in the city is shocking! Little Garda presence.
Ironically, Galway's population is slightly larger that Limerick's but Limerick has TWICE the amount of Gardai. This has been highlighted in the local media but the situation hasn't improved.
Back on the topic of Ireland being the friendliest place in the world, I'd love to know how the author came to that conclusion. Was it in the bars? Or restaurants? The taxi drivers? Guy serving coffee on the train? Medical professionals? Street cleaners? Buskers? Because if it was, then he probaly didn't encounter any Irish people.
Maybe he was arrested by the aforementioned cops who are friendly Irish people.:D
18/10/2007, 12:46 AM
and don't be pointlessly sarcastic like dcfcsteve! :)
Sarcasm always has its own inherent point KH... :D
kingdom hoop
18/10/2007, 1:23 AM
I'd love to know how the author came to that conclusion. Was it in the bars? Or restaurants? The taxi drivers? Guy serving coffee on the train? Medical professionals? Street cleaners? Buskers? Because if it was, then he probaly didn't encounter any Irish people.
Definitely fair point. But also fair is to say the award is for places, not the natives. Clearly our friendliness is endemic amongst the immigrant swarms, as we're vaccinated with our happy juice, dropped in the cauldron as a baby, no way they could infect the nation with their austere virus. We will warm and pacify all. :)
Now thers a surprise!!!
Not really! Why should someone supporting someone be a surprise? It's good to build, fortify and cherish commonalities you know. Officially at least, this country does, but you'd wonder sometimes if that is very shallow-seated with all the begrudging and bickering around the place. What is it - you're superficially nice if it matters, but when it suits you to be negative, no matter how pointless, then you will be? Not good enough I say! Isn't there such a thing as being constructive and friendly?
Sarcasm always has its own inherent point KH... :D
Exactly, a point, a draw. Neither side wins, the sarcasee is made to seem stupid and the giver looks like a prat. You're not a loser, but not a winner either. :p
18/10/2007, 8:12 AM
Definitely fair point. But also fair is to say the award is for places, not the natives. Clearly our friendliness is endemic amongst the immigrant swarms, as we're vaccinated with our happy juice, dropped in the cauldron as a baby, no way they could infect the nation with their austere virus. We will warm and pacify all.
you obviously havent seen des bishops "fitting in" which I alluded to earlier so....
18/10/2007, 8:49 AM
Ironically, Galway's population is slightly larger that Limerick's
No it isn't
but Limerick has TWICE the amount of Gardai
It's because we're all murderers
18/10/2007, 11:56 AM
Exactly, a point, a draw. Neither side wins, the sarcasee is made to seem stupid and the giver looks like a prat. You're not a loser, but not a winner either. :p
Only someone unschooled in the dark art of sarcasm would think that way.
Everyone else gets it...... :D
kingdom hoop
18/10/2007, 2:30 PM
you obviously havent seen des bishops "fitting in" which I alluded to earlier so....
I don't think you did mention it Paul. :confused: Whichever, I can assume the point made, and make my own point I suppose. Going only on my own experiences with no empirical or comedian support I think that foreigners here do get into the friendly spirit. I often raise it with foreign taxi drivers and mostly they affirm the view that they like our personalities and we are very friendly, and while I haven't asked if they feel obliged to mirror our warm-hearted nature I think it's fair to say they bounce off us. We perhaps give them the free reign to joke that would not be the case in their native land. A recent example I had was with a shop assistant where we joked for about a minute when he asked me if the colour lighter he gave me was acceptable. :)
Only someone unschooled in the dark art of sarcasm would think that way.
Everyone else gets it......)
Having insinuating tones hurled my way for being a sarky ***** for much of my formative years I can safely say I'm well schooled in the dark art! I had all the answers, like 'peh, yeah, I know it's the lowest form of wit, but it's the highest form of intelligence.' Working off that intelligence, I came to realise that sarcasm is just one step away from a good joke. I now live my life two seconds behind where I used to be but for the most part instead of being brandished a sarcastic w***** I'm now just a w*****. I prefer it that way. So while I 'get' it and sometimes do it, I don't like it. And you could even say I'm in a great position to judge its merits given I've seen both sides of the coin! Each to their own though of course. :)
18/10/2007, 3:19 PM
You mean polish shop assistants on a "stepping stone" :p
read above Hoop.
I now live my life two seconds behind where I used to be
I wonder why that is?= ;)
kingdom hoop
18/10/2007, 3:59 PM
read above Hoop.
I read it. But what was I to read into it? Lazy post Paul, you should always give a brief explanation for me. :p
As for the two second delay issue, I see what you are boldly imputing, but, being serious, I don't think it is a factor in the now subconscious delay in me avoiding sarcasm in preference for a more amenable character. To stay on topic, I don't think Irish people are all that sarcastic (except for dcfcsteve of course:D), quite sarcastic yes, but nothing compared to the Aussies for example. I think there is a big, even if subtle for most people, difference between the two. I think the not so sarcastic version works a lot better.
Paddyfield
18/10/2007, 7:25 PM
No it isn't
You are right. I said that the population of Galway City is slightly bigger than that of Limerick City and I just checked the Central Statistics Office website and I was wrong. The difference is just under 20,000 people.
Galway city pop 72,414
Limerick city pop 52,539
http://www.cso.ie/statistics/popofeachprovcountycity2006.htm
Thanks for bringing it to my attention. This is the third cencus in a row that has shown that Galway is bigger than Limerick.