View Full Version : Ireland - the friendliest place in the World
I'll take it you know your history in relation to the boundary dispute with Clare and what officially and unofficially is classified as Limerick City then? Or is this just another classic case of Galway people being OBSESSED with Limerick
inexile
18/10/2007, 7:42 PM
Ironically, Galway's population is slightly larger that Limerick's but Limerick has TWICE the amount of Gardai. This has been highlighted in the local media but the situation hasn't improved.
Back on the topic of Ireland being the friendliest place in the world, I'd love to know how the author came to that conclusion. Was it in the bars? Or restaurants? The taxi drivers? Guy serving coffee on the train? Medical professionals? Street cleaners? Buskers? Because if it was, then he probaly didn't encounter any Irish people.
Maybe he was arrested by the aforementioned cops who are friendly Irish people.:D
well to be fair the cops are quite friendly, most of the ones in dublin on the beat seem very approachable and willing to help
19/10/2007, 12:28 AM
I think the not so sarcastic version works a lot better.
See - now you're just being sarcastic......! :p
kingdom hoop
19/10/2007, 2:38 AM
See - now you're just being sarcastic......! :p
:D I can assure you I wasn't Steve. In my most humble opinion, derived from a remarkably intuitive understanding of human interactions, I believe the sarcastic, quite paradoxically, exhibit weakness when belittling their subjects. So there! Nah, only joking really, but if I can be mildly serious for a moment, I personally I try to avoid it as I generally prefer to combine the highest form of intellect with the highest form of wit. I think it's a much better duo. :D
19/10/2007, 9:15 AM
Pathetic, flawed one-upmanship
The Limerick urban area is served by three garda stations Mayorstone (Northside), Roxboro (Southside) and Henry Street (city centre).
This urban area includes the "city" aswell as Castletroy, Monaleen, Raheen, Dooradoyle, Corbally, large swathes of Caherdavin, Moyross and Georgian Village (all county Limerick) aswell as Shannon Banks and Westbury (County Clare)
It has a population of roughly 120,000.
Which, given the very public problems with gang warfare in the citys estates renders your point about twice as many gardai a little bit stupid.
But shur carry on your obsession with being bigger than Limerick :rolleyes: :D
19/10/2007, 9:41 AM
look lads whip them out and get this over with, ye have been at it long enough.
Paddyfield
19/10/2007, 11:34 AM
The Limerick urban area is served by three garda stations Mayorstone (Northside), Roxboro (Southside) and Henry Street (city centre).
This urban area includes the "city" aswell as Castletroy, Monaleen, Raheen, Dooradoyle, Corbally, large swathes of Caherdavin, Moyross and Georgian Village (all county Limerick) aswell as Shannon Banks and Westbury (County Clare)
It has a population of roughly 120,000.
Which, given the very public problems with gang warfare in the citys estates renders your point about twice as many gardai a little bit stupid.
But shur carry on your obsession with being bigger than Limerick :rolleyes: :D
1, When you use a quote from me, don't tamper with and/or add words I didn't use. That's cheating and misleading to the readers.
2, The CSO figures are official population figures.
3, The amount of Garda stations in the city of Limerick city compared to Galway is not a measure of the size of the city.
4, Your point about areas outside Limerick being rural suburbs could be affiliated to any other urban area of Ireland including Galway, Cork, Sligo. Westport, Bray etc. We had a lad playing called Mick Lawlor from Shannon Banks, Co Clare- if you asked him where he was from, he'd say "Limerick city". My mate lives in Maynooth, Co Kildare but he thinks he lives in Dublin. :D .
5,, Look at my Posts History, I don't have an obsession with Limerick. I have even gone as far as to defend L37. Seriosly, check it out.
6. The topic is that Ireland is the friendliest place in the world.
Any craic?
Ceirtlis
19/10/2007, 12:35 PM
Paddyfield, Limerick is definetly bigger. The figure for Galways population even goes as far to include Barna which in my opinion is not in the city. As for their amount of police, well they probably need them in all fairness if their level of violent crime is any indicator. Galway has a very low rate of crime but we are getting a new station in Renmore which i presume means more guards.
As for the friendliest place in the world i certainly have not been in any country the population on the whole are friendlier. People in rural areas especially go out of their way to help you in my experience.
19/10/2007, 3:41 PM
1, When you use a quote from me, don't tamper with and/or add words I didn't use. That's cheating and misleading to the readers.
No problem even if the overly fussy tone made me :)
6. The topic is that Ireland is the friendliest place in the world.
Any craic?
People to tend to be friendly to, ahem, "western" outsiders
Amongst ourselves and with our friends from the east is an entirely different matter, IMO the whole cead mile failte thing is well past its sell by date at this stage.
19/10/2007, 3:44 PM
Paddyfield, Limerick is definetly bigger. The figure for Galways population even goes as far to include Barna which in my opinion is not in the city.
Thank You!!
And that's coming from a Galway man.
As for their amount of police, well they probably need them in all fairness if their level of violent crime is any indicator.
Also to cater for our larger size ;)
But you're right, it's like Dodge City down here. Why, two people are shooting at me as I type
Galway has a very low rate of crime but we are getting a new station in Renmore which i presume means more guards.
A bit fcukin rich today of all days
People in rural areas especially go out of their way to help you in my experience
We frequent very different rural areas :eek:
kingdom hoop
20/10/2007, 3:47 AM
Ok, I was out in Tralee tonight for the first time in weeks, and as ever the rest did me good. So with an objective mindset, I came to realise that at least half (tally poll says 68% though) of the people I encountered had McCain Oven Chip sized chips on thier shoulders, and that's at least that big a chip. The nicest person I met (and I talk to pretty much everyone by the way, no selectivity) was from ****ing Damascus in Syria!! WTF?? What is it that inhibits provincionions from being genuinely friendly? They weren't even approaching friendly, downright disrespectful and combative. Damn it, as Jebus (I don't mean to continually agree with her, it's just she talks a lot of sense) says if we're the friendliest people on Earth it must be because the world is full of ass holes. Brrrrrreeeeeeeeuh.
I'm looking forward to the foot.ie rendezvous to, presumably, renew my faith in mankind. :)
Damn it, as Jebus (I don't mean to continually agree with her, it's just she talks a lot of sense) says if we're the friendliest people on Earth it must be because the world is full of ass holes.
And yet another turns on fair Jebus :p
TheOneWhoKnocks
14/06/2015, 2:18 AM
Irish people friendly? LMAO
Anyone that came to my secondary school from a foreign country was completely shunned.
African, Polish, Lithuanian, German.... the English hung around in cliques.
The Portuguese lad that said he used to play for the Porto youth team could shift any girl he wanted but again, shunned.
Irish people are very insular in my view.
14/06/2015, 8:29 AM
Yet when we travel abroad we talk to everyone?
15/06/2015, 3:07 PM
School is hardly an exemplar of general society.
15/06/2015, 3:19 PM
This must be one of the most bizarre bumps I've ever seen.
NeverFeltBetter
15/06/2015, 5:04 PM
Did my LC in 2006, my school (urban Limerick) was actually grand for that sort of thing, think it was around 10% "Outside of Ireland" by then. Obviously Muslim/African/Eastern European students would gravitate to each other, but there was no shunning and lots of intermingling without problem. The only real racism I encountered regards that was my grandmother warning me not to hang around "those Arabs at your school".
16/06/2015, 9:54 AM
Didn't realise it had been bumped, but I'm not in the least surprised at the source. Here's friendly for you:
TheOneWhoKnocks, if you bump a thread like this again, you'll be suspended for a week.