View Full Version : The Mexican Wave

disko
15/10/2007, 2:54 PM
This has to be one of the lowest points in Irish sporting history. If you stood up then you should be ashamed of yourselves.

Down with that sort of thing.

15/10/2007, 3:01 PM
I agree I was ****ed off when it started.

15/10/2007, 3:02 PM
everyone i saw stood up . i didnt though. amn't i great. :D

Dr. Ogba
15/10/2007, 3:21 PM
This has to be one of the lowest points in Irish sporting history. If you stood up then you should be ashamed of yourselves.

yes yes and yes.....i f*ckin hate mexican waves...they immediately kill off any kind of urgency in the game and pretty much sends a message to the players "ok we couldn't give a sh*t about the game any more"....

its a bloody joke...

woodie
15/10/2007, 3:28 PM
The vast majority of people did it?
Why? Why? Why?

It just does not make sense to me.

I have no problem with it on a sunny day at a friendly or testamonial or even at half time. It just illustrates how few people give a hoot about the result or the team. It is just about the occassions.

The tickets were so easy to get that the real fans have been diluted with event junkies. A couple beside me arrived 25 minutes late and chatted about everything but football for the rest of the game. The mexican wave was the highlight of their night.

woodie
15/10/2007, 3:29 PM
also-

They were doing a mexican wave when Ronnie Whelan scored against Russia.
I wonder how many people in the stadium missed the second best goal of the tornament!

Rebel11
15/10/2007, 3:38 PM
Agree 100% such a Stupid think to do. Must have some of the guys sitting beside me all the talked about how great Rugby was W***ers

15/10/2007, 4:16 PM
What do you expect when plastic fingers are deemed to be ferocious atmosphere. :rolleyes:

Ireland4ever
15/10/2007, 4:17 PM
Two things which ****ed me off at the match
1 - The Mexican Foockin wave
2 - 'Fans' askin what was the score in the rugger match.

G-Man
15/10/2007, 4:20 PM
the Germans enjoyed it, but sure I would too if we were playing away from home and were 10 mins away from qualifying. But it was our fans doing the celebrating even though we were playing a weakened germany side who were happy to settle on a point to qualify. Why do we settle for medicrity and second best. Staunton coming out after and saying he was proud and the lads stood up and were counted? Our (majority) of fans happy leaving Croke Park. I just dont get it. I understand where Roy Keane is coming from when he talks of such things.

15/10/2007, 4:21 PM
2 - 'Fans' askin what was the score in the rugger match.

In fairness the Vodafone Live connection was slow as hell to get updates...

15/10/2007, 6:27 PM
It just reminds me that foot.ie represents only a small proportion of our fans. Surely no foot.ie members joined in? :eek:

head the ball
15/10/2007, 8:34 PM
It just reminds me that foot.ie represents only a small proportion of our fans. Surely no foot.ie members joined in? :eek:

Looks like I just lost all my street cred then!
Honestly your honour they made me do it!:D

Colie
15/10/2007, 8:38 PM
Agree, the wave was another home embarassment.

Slim Pickings
15/10/2007, 9:59 PM
It just goes to show the quality (or lack of) of our last three home games that the crowd resorted to this. The Welsh game was far worse IMHO but any time I see it starting off I get mad :mad:
It always seems to be the same section aswell, corner of the canal/cusack. Is this the juvenile section or something?

SuperDub
15/10/2007, 10:00 PM
Why do people do it? Fine if your 3-0 but 0-0 ten minutes to go we were having a fair bit of possession and this rubbish starts

citizenerased
15/10/2007, 10:43 PM
that mexican wave angered me........

theworm2345
16/10/2007, 1:23 AM
I love the wave if its a boring game (I've done it in baseball, basketball, hockey, american football, not soccer though). If its a good game there is no reason to though

EDIT: **** the wave, how about doing this and having it say Stan Out

http://lioninoil.blogspot.com/2007/10/south-korea-soccer-fans-create-human.html

Claret Murph
16/10/2007, 6:46 AM
It just goes to show the quality (or lack of) of our last three home games that the crowd resorted to this. The Welsh game was far worse IMHO but any time I see it starting off I get mad :mad:
It always seems to be the same section aswell, corner of the canal/cusack. Is this the juvenile section or something?

Slim has it spot on It all happened in that corner again with what looked like the same bunch of kids . I didn't stand up seeing as we were not winning at the time and we are not going to Aust / Swiss next summer , if we were I may have stood but hell why bother :mad:

Chippy
16/10/2007, 6:47 AM
Agree wholeheartedly with everyones comments - a complete disrespect to the players to be engaging in that non-sense when they're trying to concentrate on playing football. The general consensus seems to be that it's a pile of sh!te, so why was nearly the whole stadium contributing to it !!!! If it starts again on Wednesday, we need to try to counteract it !!!

16/10/2007, 7:16 AM
If it starts again on Wednesday, we need to try to counteract it !!!
Counteract it with what, though? Sitting down? Many did that.

It's very hard to counteract something with nothing. Like the way it's very hard to counteract the morons who clap their way through Fields of Athenry shouting "Sinn Féin" and "IRA".

G-Man
16/10/2007, 7:37 AM

It's very hard to counteract something with nothing. Like the way it's very hard to counteract the morons who clap their way through Fields of Athenry shouting "Sinn Féin" and "IRA".

at the Slovakia match, the EL supporters behind the goal stopped it by singing 'Stand up for the boys in green'. Always the way with the wave tho, majority of fans looking at where it is, booing it when it arrives at the opposition fans. Really annoys me. Myslf and my mate beside me didnt partake, as the coupl beside him who we didnt know. Everyone else all around as far as i could see were at it tho.

onceahoop
16/10/2007, 7:57 AM
at the Slovakia match, the EL supporters behind the goal stopped it by singing 'Stand up for the boys in green'. Always the way with the wave tho, majority of fans looking at where it is, booing it when it arrives at the opposition fans. Really annoys me. Myslf and my mate beside me didnt partake, as the coupl beside him who we didnt know. Everyone else all around as far as i could see were at it tho.

Maybe we were all too ****ed off to bother trying to counter it. It was started by the same crowd of kids in their Celtic shirts as the Slovak game,in the corner of the Cusack and Canal.

I just sat there and told them to fcuk off. It's a total distraction. Looking at those same schooligans as they left they stand, they were singing and chanting like we'd won the World Cup. Saw a few of them on the way down to the ground as well, drinking cans of Bulmers and some of them didn't look older than 12-13.

16/10/2007, 8:05 AM
Ya its brutal alright, ten mins to go, playing the top seed in our group in a game we need to win and a fcuking mexican wave starts up - really ****ing off. Plus we badly need to get together a few more decent chants, we have feck all at the moment. Not helped by the emergence of the casual Irish supporter which is not attending croker. How many would be still looking for tickets if we were playing in dalymount for example??

citizenerased
16/10/2007, 9:29 AM
some useless *****s at the game alright, lad on front of me told me to tone it down a bit ...cheeky ****..well to say i was angry! The sooner we move back to lansdowne the better..

16/10/2007, 9:34 AM

I tried that on Saturday. Only a handful of people joined in.

Face it, the casual fans are in the majority, even in the eL sections.

16/10/2007, 10:54 AM
From about 15 mins on I was stunned by the ground being completely devoid of atmosphere. The wave itself was a joke. everyone around was doing it. I was pretty disgusted with it. After it had done its second round, I started shouting " Look, look, look, there's a football match on!" to which everyone laughed heartily and then stood up when it came round again.

And another thing. I want the Hill back for us. I don't care how many seats we lose by encorporating away fans into the Canal End, or how much extra it costs to pay for security. If the away associations aren't going to fill the Hill end then we should be given it back, at least in an effort to give some fans the opportunity to have a constant platform for singing , support or both. Croker is a mish mash of all people now, with so many family tickets surrounding the more loud supporters. Its disorganised and is something that I hope will be addressed for the next campaign. If not it is something the fans should be targeting.

16/10/2007, 11:07 AM
Yeah I was sitting in the Lower Cusack on Saturday and I was annoyed as I found it hard to stand up and sing. I wont be moving from my Canal Spot again. Much better place to stand up and sing and its where the atmosphere is generating from.

SuperDave
16/10/2007, 12:41 PM
Yeah I was sitting in the Lower Cusack on Saturday and I was annoyed as I found it hard to stand up and sing. I wont be moving from my Canal Spot again. Much better place to stand up and sing and its where the atmosphere is generating from.

back row seats, that's what you need. hogan stand, upper tier, back row. You can stand up all game long there.

16/10/2007, 1:01 PM
...give some fans the opportunity to have a constant platform for singing , support or both. Croker is a mish mash of all people now, with so many family tickets surrounding the more loud supporters. Its disorganised and is something that I hope will be addressed for the next campaign. If not it is something the fans should be targeting.
A singing section was asked for, tentatively agreed to, then dropped by the FAI. Short of invading a particular section, there's not much more to do.

Newryrep
16/10/2007, 1:16 PM
A singing section was asked for, tentatively agreed to, then dropped by the FAI. Short of invading a particular section, there's not much more to do.

I thought the general consensus well certainly on here was that the 'singing section' was going to be the canal end, thats why i chose it (Well that and the fact that i dont want to fork out E70 a ticket). But as i mentiioned earlier, we havent sat next to the same people in any of the 3 games.

At the back of approx block 722/721 there seemed to be a fair few lads standing trying to get the crowd going

16/10/2007, 1:20 PM
I thought the general consensus well certainly on here was that the 'singing section' was going to be the canal end, thats why i chose it (Well that and the fact that i dont want to fork out E70 a ticket). But as i mentiioned earlier, we havent sat next to the same people in any of the 3 games.

At the back of approx block 722/721 there seemed to be a fair few lads standing trying to get the crowd going
As you say, there are some people there trying, but they're very diluted.

Bluechip
16/10/2007, 1:29 PM
Is there going to be someone complaining every game about the Mexican wave, Complain about standing for the boys in green next time, thats as distracting.

What needs urgent attention is this notion of booing the opposition, FFS we are supposed to be football fans not hooligans.

16/10/2007, 1:40 PM
Is there going to be someone complaining every game about the Mexican wave, Complain about standing for the boys in green next time, thats as distracting.
Yes, yes there is. And no, no it's not.

What needs urgent attention is this notion of booing the opposition, FFS we are supposed to be football fans not hooligans.
When the hell did booing become hooliganism?

Bluechip
16/10/2007, 2:03 PM
Yes it is, Just don't watch the Mexican wave travel the stadium.

It's not exactly hooliganism , but a fine line exists and i don't want to see Ireland edging anywhere closer to it.

We have always been known as a very welcoming to both players and fans and i don't like to see that change.

16/10/2007, 2:06 PM
I can't see over people with their hands in the air.

It's not exactly hooliganism , but a fine line exists and i don't want to see Ireland edging anywhere closer to it.
There's a fine line between booing and hooliganism? Please be a wind-up.

Newryrep
16/10/2007, 2:22 PM

Are you serious, SUFTBIG is about supporting the team, a mexican wave is something you you do when you are so ****** bored/distracted you couldnt be arsed to watch what is going on the pitch even if players are busting a gut for their country. -

unbelieveable ..............maybe we get the results WE deserve .

Bluechip
16/10/2007, 3:26 PM
I can't see over people with their hands in the air.

There's a fine line between booing and hooliganism? Please be a wind-up.

Im not saying it's next to the line, But you have some guys booing the opposition, next thing they are throwing something the opposition. Where does it end, Im pointing out it's easier to stop now than in the future or are you one of those idiots that Boos the opposition, Suppose you Boo Rangers players as well for no good reason other than playing for some team, Lets pick on Man Utd players next then.

Are you serious, SUFTBIG is about supporting the team, a mexican wave is something you you do when you are so ****** bored/distracted you couldnt be arsed to watch what is going on the pitch even if players are busting a gut for their country.I'm not really being serious, I'm trying to point out that the idea that "We have to do something to counteract this" is absurd just because you don't like something. I am also trying to get the point across that you don't have to be ignoring whats on the pitch.

Mayo_Bhoy
16/10/2007, 3:29 PM

We have always been known as a very welcoming to both players and fans and i don't like to see that change.

What a load of ********. Yes we can be very welcoming, mix and drink with the visiting fans, applaud the oppositions anthem etc but once the game starts we should make the stadium as hostile as possible and if that invovlves booing or abusing the oppposition then so be it.

16/10/2007, 3:34 PM
...Suppose you Boo Rangers players as well for no good reason other than playing for some team, Lets pick on Man Utd players next then.
Nice ad hominem there.

Wolfie
16/10/2007, 3:55 PM

Indeed. Down with the wave and the nationally ubiquitous "Ole Ole Ole" caterwaul/ chant / national embarassment.

The wave was mildly amusing for about two minutes during the heady days of the 1990 qualifiers when everyone was high on the fact that we'd a decent team and were competing with and beating the likes of Spain at home. We allowed ourselves the indulgence of the wave in a "kinda taking the ****" sort of way. Its long played out.

Ever since it's become a bloody annoyance, long high-jacked by goons, gombeens and plain idiots.

I'm convinced that if we'd have gone one up in the second half - the dreaded "Ole Ole Ole" would have been struck up with gusto followed by another round of waves for good measure.

Bluechip
16/10/2007, 3:59 PM
Nice ad hominem there.

Well as i don't know you i can only suppose, I didn't state it as fact.

we should make the stadium as hostile as possibleYes we should, By supporting our team. Not by abusing the opposition. IMHO a true fan of football respects all the players on the pitch and their skills. Yes if a player is fouling by all means chastise him call him a w***er, but not booing while taking a corner / Free kick.

If the opposition player takes a ball runs 50 yards skins 3 defenders and scores a cracking goal it should be appreciated by all, by all means curse the defence shout an obscenity but that's it.

Mayo_Bhoy
16/10/2007, 4:11 PM

Yes we should, By supporting our team. Not by abusing the opposition. IMHO a true fan of football respects all the players on the pitch and their skills. Yes if a player is fouling by all means chastise him call him a w***er, but not booing while taking a corner / Free kick.

If the opposition player takes a ball runs 50 yards skins 3 defenders and scores a cracking goal it should be appreciated by all, by all means curse the defence shout an obscenity but that's it.

We seem to be on the same wavelength then.

Ireland4ever
16/10/2007, 4:12 PM

Yes we should, By supporting our team. Not by abusing the opposition. IMHO a true fan of football respects all the players on the pitch and their skills. Yes if a player is fouling by all means chastise him call him a w***er, but not booing while taking a corner / Free kick.

Yes, and we can all hold hands after the game and sing its a wonderful life! Get a grip, i'd boo any great player who's playing against ireland if i thought it'd put him off his game.

16/10/2007, 4:16 PM
I thought the general consensus well certainly on here was that the 'singing section' was going to be the canal end, thats why i chose it
That's where the FAI said they were going to put it until they forgot to do anything about it. Incompetent morons.

It's not exactly hooliganism , but a fine line exists
Up in the top five funniest things posted here, I would say!

Bluechip
16/10/2007, 4:27 PM
Up in the top five funniest things posted here, I would say!

Glad to be of service, Right after Stan for Ireland i hope.

Some day some moron is going to start something and it will the same moron sheep that are at that ****e.

16/10/2007, 4:59 PM
Some day some moron is going to start something and it will the same moron sheep that are that that ****e.
What on earth does that sentence mean? :confused::confused::confused:

16/10/2007, 5:05 PM
I think you have to put "that thing would" in place of each "that"

Torn-Ado
16/10/2007, 5:09 PM
What a load of ********. Yes we can be very welcoming, mix and drink with the visiting fans, applaud the oppositions anthem etc but once the game starts we should make the stadium as hostile as possible and if that invovlves booing or abusing the oppposition then so be it.

100% agree. Look at Turkey and places like that. You don't see them clapping the opposition and being nice and hospitable. You don't see the opposition come away from there with many points either.

16/10/2007, 5:28 PM
I think you have to put "that thing would" in place of each "that"
My head hurts. I'm going to dinner.