View Full Version : The Mexican Wave
16/10/2007, 5:40 PM
Some day some moron is going to start something and it will the same moron sheep that thing would are that thing would that thing would ****e :confused::confused::eek:
16/10/2007, 5:40 PM
that sentence sounds even better now, so i don't actually know which planet bluechip lives on or worse still you live on stu :D
Bluechip
16/10/2007, 7:02 PM
What on earth does that sentence mean? :confused::confused::confused:
It's fixed now but there was supposed to be an at instead of a that
And by 'that' i mean the uncalled for Booing of the opposition while taking corners
16/10/2007, 8:07 PM
what about the auxiliary verb i.e. present subjunctive "be" after the word "will"?!
viagogo
16/10/2007, 8:08 PM
Maybe we should just give up our home tickets and just go to away games only.
Beavis
16/10/2007, 8:24 PM
At the back of approx block 722/721 there seemed to be a fair few lads standing trying to get the crowd going
We werent in this section but went up when we saw the lads standing, no problems standing in the steps either and will likely be there again tomorrow so join us if you want to stand.
Newryrep
16/10/2007, 8:43 PM
We werent in this section but went up when we saw the lads standing, no problems standing in the steps either and will likely be there again tomorrow so join us if you want to stand.
It is tough enough to make it only half way up those stairs:) but could nt stand for the whole game
16/10/2007, 10:10 PM
Some day some moron is going to start something and it will the same moron sheep that are at that ****e.
Que? That looks like Forest Gump attempting to type after too many pain pills!
Bluechip
17/10/2007, 8:43 AM
Well it looks like everyone here condones open hostility towards the opposition, and i thought people here supported Ireland not just hated the opposition.
Maybe we should just give up our home tickets and just go to away games only.
If your going to boo the opposition please do, Leave the home games to those who enjoy football.
stojkovic
17/10/2007, 2:02 PM
Can we kill it off tonight for once and for all.
When it starts, we all chant "FCUK OFF.....TO THE MEXICAN WAVE" to the tune of 'Stand up for the Bhoys in Green'.
17/10/2007, 2:11 PM
ya you me and the other 150 foot.ie ireland fans against the 20k others, im sure we will stand out in a good way...
at least tonight its not likely to happen due to only people interested in the Irish national team going.
Delbertt
17/10/2007, 2:17 PM
Well it looks like everyone here condones open hostility towards the opposition, and i thought people here supported Ireland not just hated the opposition.
If your going to boo the opposition please do, Leave the home games to those who enjoy football.
Honestly how many people go to a football match and dont boo the opposition at some point in the game
stojkovic
17/10/2007, 4:27 PM
Honestly how many people go to a football match and dont boo the opposition at some point in the game
I started the abuse of that fascist Sinisa Mijhailovic when he came over to take a throw in. He got booked for his protest and was subsequently taken off. He hasnt spoken to me since.:rolleyes:
ya you me and the other 150 foot.ie ireland fans against the 20k others, im sure we will stand out in a good way...
at least tonight its not likely to happen due to only people interested in the Irish national team going.
thats only true to an extent, I know a lot are only going because the tickets are cheap and in some cases free. There are people going who normally wouldnt be able to get tickets so I still think there will be a certain 'bandwagon' daytripper element there.
17/10/2007, 5:26 PM
Some day some moron is going to start something and it will the same moron sheep that are at that ****e.
Some day some body's going to make you want to turn around and say goodbye (say goodbye)
Until then baby are you going to let them hold you down and make you cry
Don't you know?
Don't you know (no) things can change (no)
Things'll go your way
If you hold on for one more day...
Delbertt
17/10/2007, 5:27 PM
I started the abuse of that fascist Sinisa Mijhailovic when he came over to take a throw in. He got booked for his protest and was subsequently taken off. He hasnt spoken to me since.:rolleyes:
Na you should off give him a wee pat on the back and said well come to ireland:rolleyes: i aint on about booing an opposition player every time he touchs the ball, but when a player rolls about the ground faking an injury and time wasting etc, i think it acceptable to boo imo
100% agree. Look at Turkey and places like that. You don't see them clapping the opposition and being nice and hospitable. You don't see the opposition come away from there with many points either.
Yeah look at Turkey when they play at home. The fans "welcome" the opposition teams to their country with "Welcome to Hell" banners etc and intimidate the f**k outta the teams only for the home team walk away with the points (well most of the time). Id much rather intimidate teams (not to the same extent mind you) and play in major tournaments rather than be nice and play in a major tournament once every 10 years. If you like going to away games against the likes of San Marino, Cyprus and Lichtenstein rather than play the likes of Italy, Brazil and Argentina etc then lets be nice and welcome every team with a nice cup of tea and some digestive biscuits. Get a grip. We want to make Irelands home (be it Croker or Lansdowne) a fortress where EVERY team hates coming too. Drastic times require drastic measures (again within reason)
scousedub
17/10/2007, 10:17 PM
At least that fookin Mexican wave didnt get started tonight. About the only good thing to come out of tonight.
highlight100
17/10/2007, 10:29 PM
At least that fookin Mexican wave didnt get started tonight. About the only good thing to come out of tonight.
They done there best in the corner to get it going for a while though.
Noelys Guitar
18/10/2007, 9:16 AM
Bring back the terraces. The best way to bring back a proper atmosphere is to make the south "terrrace" at Landsdowne at least partial terracing. I ****ing loathe the Mexican wave.
citizenerased
18/10/2007, 10:33 AM
them kids in the corner between the cusack and davin were wreckin my head, after two foockin mins tried to start that mexican wave again..
18/10/2007, 10:46 AM
I think word got round anyway and whenever they tried to start it, the lower Davin stood up and sang. There was no chance of it starting anyway last night. What is up with the majority of them wearing white at the 4 games?
kev mcq
18/10/2007, 11:01 AM
them kids in the corner between the cusack and davin were wreckin my head, after two foockin mins tried to start that mexican wave again..
It really is pathetic, they're more interested in acting the boll0x than watching the game. The amount of bottles flying around last night, including a BUDWEISER bottle, was unreal. Lad in front of me threw a bottle and hit someone on the head. I pointed him out to the victim who proceeded to go mental at him :D. Also, when the mexican wave fails to take off they start booing or chanting 'who are ya' in their best english accents. Pathetic
Ireland4ever
18/10/2007, 11:43 AM
Also, when the mexican wave fails to take off they start booing or chanting 'who are ya' in their best english accents. Pathetic
Yeah, i remember that. What absolute sad f*ckers. where the hell did their English accent come out of?:mad:
citizenerased
18/10/2007, 12:19 PM
are you english are you english are you english in disguise..are you english in disguise....
Dr. Ogba
18/10/2007, 1:15 PM
100% agree. Look at Turkey and places like that. You don't see them clapping the opposition and being nice and hospitable. You don't see the opposition come away from there with many points either.
The day we start modelling our behaviour on that of the Turks is the day that I start looking to emigrate to sunnier climbs...
Ireland4ever
18/10/2007, 1:17 PM
The day we start modelling our behaviour on that of the Turks is the day that I start looking to emigrate to sunnier climbs...
I hear Turkey's nice this time of year, ya could also catch a match while your there!;)
From the Independent today:
"The curse of the Mexican Wave was with us inside 16 minutes, another ominous signal"
Someone else was looking at Foot.ie
18/10/2007, 4:04 PM
It really is pathetic, they're more interested in acting the boll0x than watching the game. The amount of bottles flying around last night, including a BUDWEISER bottle, was unreal. Lad in front of me threw a bottle and hit someone on the head. I pointed him out to the victim who proceeded to go mental at him :D. Also, when the mexican wave fails to take off they start booing or chanting 'who are ya' in their best english accents. Pathetic
What's the deal with them kids, do they all know each other or something:confused: They went crazy when the Gardai/stewards went into the middle of them as well. There should be a ban on fizzy drinks inside the ground, the ADHD Supporters Club were clearly all hopped up on sugar.
Mayo_Bhoy
18/10/2007, 5:04 PM
Bring back the terraces. The best way to bring back a proper atmosphere is to make the south "terrrace" at Landsdowne at least partial terracing. I ****ing loathe the Mexican wave.
Not this old chectnut again. If you are going to post tehn at least try and post something sensible. UEFA haven't a notion of bringing back terracing in the forseeable future.
18/10/2007, 6:05 PM
Those mongos in the corner also started the "Ole Ole" about ten minutes in too. They should be shot for that.
18/10/2007, 7:17 PM
Those mongos in the corner also started the "Ole Ole" about ten minutes in too. They should be shot for that.
Could make for some fun. All home sections of the ground (including the dugout) be rigged with explosives. All fans given a control box. If a majority wants any particular section blown up... KABOOM! Goodbye Stan, goodbye Mexican wavers.
22/10/2007, 4:59 PM
Yeah, i remember that. What absolute sad f*ckers. where the hell did their English accent come out of?:mad:
I remember in one of the last games in Landsdowne they were in far corner of the north terrace signing sone song about how they hate England and then started to sing "vindaloo, vindaloo, vindaloo" which is sung by...the English.:D
From the Independent today:
"The curse of the Mexican Wave was with us inside 16 minutes, another ominous signal"
Someone else was looking at Foot.ie
If it was Daniel McDonnell he regualrly read this site afaik.
22/10/2007, 5:59 PM
Two things which ****ed me off at the match
1 - The Mexican Foockin wave
2 - 'Fans' askin what was the score in the rugger match.
you can add the playing of that poxy pop music after we equalised in the 90th min v the mighty cyprus! i think FIFA should ban the playing of music during games and brass bands
SuperDave
22/10/2007, 11:22 PM
you can add the playing of that poxy pop music after we equalised in the 90th min v the mighty cyprus! i think FIFA should ban the playing of music during games and brass bands
that ****ing brass band do nothing but interrupt and destroy embryonic chants. at crucial times when the stadium is pretty quiet, the brass band start structureless tootling stoping any decent chants. sure, occasionally they started chants and songs, but if that is the fai response to a singing section its pretty ****. an actual number of singers and chant leaders is what is really needed.
of course, an organised singing section of fans can start lots of different types of chant (aka 'delaney out) and we all know the fai's view on 'freedom' of expression.
23/10/2007, 9:55 AM
This has to be one of the lowest points in Irish sporting history. If you stood up then you should be ashamed of yourselves.
Down with that sort of thing.
You have no idea how much i agree. It always starts in the same place.
People should cop on like, they're annoying and ridicoulous aswell. Muppets.
Sligo Hornet
23/10/2007, 10:02 AM
Can't we get signs put on the wall in front of that immature crew...saying "Starting a Mexican Wave is an arrestible offence punishable by being sent to bed early without a story";)
AidoP
23/10/2007, 10:53 AM
of course, an organised singing section of fans can start lots of different types of chant (aka 'delaney out) and we all know the fai's view on 'freedom' of expression.
I know that here in Germany the hardcore fans have a couple of lads with megaphones who stand at the front of the crowd and start all the chants and everybody follows suit. Would or could this work at Ireland matches (maybe more so away matches as the die hard Irish fans are mostly together then but spread out for home games)? Thats just an idea from my side. That would soon put pay to the Mexican wave if a section of the stadium refused to continue the wave cos they were too busy singing.
blobbyblob
23/10/2007, 12:44 PM
0Sca7Zbsh_U
Ohhhhhhhhhh the dreaded wave. The evil of it.
Torn-Ado
23/10/2007, 12:55 PM
Maybe someone was trying to pass their pints of harp around the stadium to their friends.
Reddladd
23/10/2007, 1:46 PM
Anyone see the German fans in the Big Tree with the megaphone. They had a few good chants/songs. Certainly put us Irish fans in our place.........'Come on you boys in green' etc etc
blobbyblob
23/10/2007, 2:45 PM
At the end of the day - We are rubbish at supporting.
How many fupping times can you stand up for the boys in green. Ireland clap clap clap. [Yawn]
And then we have the nerve to criticise a gang of 10 year olds for trying to create some atmosphere with a mexican fupping wave at what is probably most of their first time at a game with their schools/clubs.
We need to wake up and get off our high horses.
Before anyone starts. I'm not a barstoolers, premiership adoring couch potato who has never been to an Eircom League match. I havent missed an international game since I started going, actively run a football club, manage a schoolboy side and regularly attend Eircom league games. For the last two internationals I brought two bus loads of kids to the game and they had the time of their lives despite the result.
Maybe theres one or two people around here that might take a leaf out of their book. ;)
23/10/2007, 3:01 PM
I reckon that's exactly why the singing section was silently dropped off the agenda.
Schlooooomp
23/10/2007, 4:53 PM
Anyone see the German fans in the Big Tree with the megaphone. They had a few good chants/songs. Certainly put us Irish fans in our place.........'Come on you boys in green' etc etc
I have noted that even in German league football they seem to have a a wide variety of chants! Some of them actually seem to be quite intimidating, which is one of the purposes of chanting/singing, i.e. some songs are to support the team, others are to intimidate the opposition.
It seems that as time goes by the repertoire of songs sung by Irish fans is diminishing. It is quite difficult to have any degree of coordination among fans as we are spread to the four corners of Croker. If we were all located in adjacent sections then we could probably introduce new songs by organinsing on fan sites before the game and then get the song sung by a decent number of fans. Alas, without a singing section this seems like a pipe dream, as a poster mentioned this is unlikely now that Delaney knows that he will bear the brunt of any negative chanting or singing.
blobbyblob
24/10/2007, 12:08 PM
It seems that as time goes by the repertoire of songs sung by Irish fans is diminishing. It is quite difficult to have any degree of coordination among fans as we are spread to the four corners of Croker. If we were all located in adjacent sections then we could probably introduce new songs by organinsing on fan sites before the game and then get the song sung by a decent number of fans. Alas, without a singing section this seems like a pipe dream, as a poster mentioned this is unlikely now that Delaney knows that he will bear the brunt of any negative chanting or singing.
Are you telling me that in the run up to Euro 88 and Italia 90 when our repertoire was at its best, we coordinated singing sections. FFS. We need to wake up and accept some responsibility.
The problem is the fans ourselves. Instead of embracing, we priss and moan about the lad sitting beside us cause :
hes wearing a leprechaun hat
hes doing a mexican wave
hes singing a different version of a chant
hes wearing a celtic jersey
he doesnt attend Eircom league games
he has a sky sports subscription
he doesnt know the national anthem
he didnt stand up for stand up for the boys in green
Results aside, thats left us in the place where we are now. 2 chants and 40,000 moaners at every game. From the best to the worst supporters in Europe. Sad. Supporters me grAss.
Beavis
24/10/2007, 1:00 PM
I agree with all you've said Blobbyblob.
I dont get involved in the Mexican Wave but I have no problem with it. I'd prefer a bit of life in the stadium than the eerie silences.
Schlooooomp
24/10/2007, 1:01 PM
Are you telling me that in the run up to Euro 88 and Italia 90 when our repertoire was at its best, we coordinated singing sections. FFS. We need to wake up and accept some responsibility.
That is a fair point, there probably wasn't any coordination going on then, however, at the moment the atmosphere can be quite staid. I am just making a suggestion as to how I think we can address the issue, this to me seems like trying to take some responsibility and come up with ideas for improving the atmosphere. Any suggestions that you have yourself are more than welcome
The problem is the fans ourselves. Instead of embracing, we priss and moan about the lad sitting beside us cause :
hes wearing a leprechaun hat
hes doing a mexican wave
hes singing a different version of a chant
hes wearing a celtic jersey
he doesnt attend Eircom league games
he has a sky sports subscription
he doesnt know the national anthem
he didnt stand up for stand up for the boys in green
I agree there is a certain degree of elitism from some fans when it comes to how people should behave at a match. I am no fan of the mexican wave at matches unless we are cruising. The reasoning is that a mexican wave seems more like an acknowledgement to us the fans than actually supporting the team.
Personally, I wear a leprechaun hat on occaison.
Results aside, thats left us in the place where we are now. 2 chants and 40,000 moaners at every game. From the best to the worst supporters in Europe. Sad. Supporters me grAss.
A gross generalisation there! I think that the current regime and results have a part to play in the morose demeanour of the average fan.
The problem with Croker is that the fans are too far away from the pitch really (especially if you are in the Canal End or Hill 16 ends of the pitch) so theres not much chance of really getting an atmosphere going. You need to be close to the action. I know stadiums with running tracks around them usually dont create much of an atmosphere (the only exception in my life was the Marakana in Belgrade where I was there supporting Red Star (jersey and all) and I was still intimidated by the atmosphere). So what Im saying is that Croker may as well have a track around it due to the distance the fans are from the action and that doesnt help the cause.
Newryrep
24/10/2007, 7:12 PM
I would think SUFTBIG is more a song than a chant but i get the point:)
We could sing
"We've only got one song' got one songggggg
We've only got one song'
blobbyblob
24/10/2007, 8:02 PM
"We've only got one song' got one songggggg
We've only got one song'
And you know what - thats exactly the kind of thing that will put a smile on peoples faces at a game and lifts the atmosphere.
Have to say I smiled when i heard a blast of "were on the one road " from the back of the canal end at the Germany game. Said to myself things are looking up.
Once again. we cant blame Croker.
It wasnt a problem when there was a great atmosphere at the Slovakia game so it shouldnt be at any other.