View Full Version : EL Cup Final
09/10/2007, 11:56 PM
its different when your at the game. i think most of the people who said it was a good match were there, anyone who said it was muck watched it on telly.
09/10/2007, 11:58 PM
Disjointed performance, down I think to too many changes, and we missed Turner, who has been important recently.
But can someone who is not on mind-altering substances explain or even speculate why Glen Crowe's goal was disallowed? It's remarkable that no one has yet sought to defend that decision.
10/10/2007, 12:01 AM
Disjointed performance, down I think to too many changes, and we missed Turner, who has been important recently.
But can someone who is not on mind-altering substances explain or even speculate why Glen Crowe's goal was disallowed? It's remarkable that no one has yet sought to defend that decision.
I can only aassume there was pushing etc on the keeper in-advance of, and whilst the ball was, being floated in from the corner.
The Ref could clearly be heard to blow a second or two before Crowe actually headed the ball.
sligored
10/10/2007, 12:41 AM
does anyone feel that crowe fenn etc seem to be just showing up to collect the wages. i dont feel they are giving 100%.
ps - i enjoyed the game on tv- ciaran martyn covers some serious ground
10/10/2007, 7:39 AM
But can someone who is not on mind-altering substances explain or even speculate why Glen Crowe's goal was disallowed? It's remarkable that no one has yet sought to defend that decision.Natural justice.
Burns should have gone 30 seconds earlier for pulling down Farren as the last man and the subsequent Bohs free in was never a foul. As the commentary team pointed out.
10/10/2007, 8:18 AM
surprised no1 mentioned the reaction of joxer and o'donnell when being subbed and then heary's efforts to avoid being hugged by the fat evil w***ker. obviously us bitter red fans would be lookin out for any trouble in paradise.
10/10/2007, 8:30 AM
Always seems better when it's your team. Trust me, that was one of the worst games I've ever seen in my life!
The poorest domestic game i have ever seen on TVI have seen at least 4 worse games on TV this season.
Two ridiculous posts, although to be fair, entirely predictable from one party...
10/10/2007, 8:45 AM
i thought it was reasonably entertaining. decent 1st half, next 75 mins were pretty bad. fair play to derry for rising to the occasion and playing with a bit of tempo and heart, bohs contributed nothing to the spectacle. putting a talentless defensive midfielder like rice on in front of heary's a bit of an insult to heary isn't it?
sonofstan
10/10/2007, 8:49 AM
Obviously the drive home last night was no fun, and our performance left a lot to be desired, but I thought the atmosphere at the game was brilliant for the most part - for once there were enough Bohs fans at a game in the Brandy to make ourselves heard and, thanks to the club running buses, most of them were the 'ordinary decent' fans who don't normally make away games outside Dublin.
Similarly, although the self- regard of 'the best fans in Ireland' stuff can get a bit tiresome, the friendliness and good humour that you generally meet in the place and the undeniably powerful noise a full Brandywell can generate makes it difficult to begrudge them in any serious way.
Except for the result and the way we played after the first half, i wouldn't have missed last night for anything.
And if some of our more cretinous support decided to express themselves by attacking a bar, I hope Derry fans and the people of Derry in general know that this is nothing to do with the great mass of people that make up our club.
*sob*
dcfc_dee
10/10/2007, 9:06 AM
according to radio foyle this morning 7 bohs fans(casuals id guess) are in police custody.
If this is the case I would like to apologise on behalf of all the real Bohs fans for the behaviour last night of a few scumbags who I hope the people of Derry realise do not represent Bohemian FC.
Enough of that anyway.
Congratulations to Derry on their victory last night.I thought I would be feeling a bit better this morning but to be honest I am still totally gutted.We seem not destined to win that stupid trophy!!!
On the game itself I think on reflection Bohs lost the game before it kicked off.We paid Derry and Pat McCourt in particular too much respect.By playing Byrne and Powell we negated any attacking threat that may have come down our left handside but at the same time stunted our attacking threat.In my opinion Connor gave the fact that the game was in the Brandywell too much credence and it cost us the game.
I wouldnt be too critical of him not starting Hunt as recent stories have suggested that his head could not possibly be in the righ place for football currently and who could blame him.
I was a bit disappointed however with the reaction of Joxer when he was subbed.He has to believe that the gaffer is doing it for the good of the team and has to become more of a team player.Word was O'Donnell did something similar and if this is the case then I would be twice as ****ed off with him as he is only in the door.
Agree Crowe was shocking but thought Mansaram showed some good touches without being electric.Have to say I thought Oman was awesome.Hes a fantastic talent and would be interested in getting him back to Dalyer next year.
I think both sets of fans should be complimented too.Really made it a fantastic occasion with some great noise and colour.
I hope the Bohs players remember the feeling they had last night and this drives them on to make the FAI Cup final.
Finally I would just like to say that I thought the goal was worthy of winning any final.It really was special and if had been in the Premierhsip we would be seeing it every day for the next year and listening to Dunphy wetting his pants over it.A real moment of magic!
10/10/2007, 9:42 AM
Ehhhhh ? We were winning trophies years before Longford had more in the stands than on the pitch.
Our first senior national trophy even came at the expense of Longford in 1986.
Derry are the new no-one - we're unique ! :D Only team to win a treble of League Cups. More Senior national trophies per-years in the league than any other EL team. Like I said, unique...... :D
The new Longford.....:o
Not quite true. Cork United were in the league from 1940 to 1948 and won at least 9 trophies - 5 leagues, 2 cups and 2 shields. I'm not counting Munster cups and don't have Dublin City Cup winners to hand.
10/10/2007, 9:42 AM
Have to say I thought Oman was awesome. Hes a fantastic talent and would be interested in getting him back to Dalyer next year.
Unfortunately for us I think that sounds like a done deal.
Agreed, he's been our best player this season by a country mile.
Very, very, nice fella as well.
sonofstan
10/10/2007, 9:43 AM
A pity in some ways you don't still have internment up there*
*this statement may not entirely reflect my more considered position
Unfortunately for us I think that sounds like a done deal.
Agreed, he's been our best player this season by a country mile.
Very, very, nice fella as well.
There may be a silver lining then!
JC_GUFC
10/10/2007, 9:58 AM
Agree Crowe was shocking but thought Mansaram showed some good touches without being electric.
I would suggest that this is the first and most likely only time that the words "Mansaram" and "electric" have ever been used in the same sentence.
People like you can be dangerous...
Vitruvian Man
10/10/2007, 10:09 AM
Congrats to Derry. Worthy winners in the end.
I think we bottled it, after 4 league defeats Derry were there to be attacked but we decided to defend our way to the trophy. That shows our lack of experience but the goal was good enough to win any cup final. We did have a perfectly good goal disallowed but most Bohs fans know that our performance on the night wasn't good enough.
The game was no way as bad as some people were making out. It was no classic by any means, just a normal EL standard game.
10/10/2007, 10:43 AM
Have seen worse games than that. Dont forget finals are never classics. Derry have an incredible record in the League Cup while we have the worst.
Seemed that Derry wanted it more. Des Byrne has got to be the biggest chancer in the league. He got tackled late, jumped to the ground howling and then when the ball went to his team mate jumped up to rejoin play! Crowe and Hunt seem to be playing from memory.
A goal to win any final though. Looks like Derry and Drogheda have 2 of the Setanta places. Almighty scramble in the next month for the other spots.
Was obvious that some of the away support would be intent on trouble as the flag behind the goal last night glorifies them.
Brandywell always looks good for live games. Derry fans any chance that highlights of games from now on could be done from same side as last night?
As an aside coming home through Temple Bar last night when a certain establishment had a huge screen showing some teams called Dar and Lu?
dcfc_1928
10/10/2007, 10:45 AM
Report on that "trouble" before the game:
http://www.derryjournal.com/journal/Football-fans-blamed-for-Derry.3363307.jp
FOOTBALL FANS are being blamed for a violent attack on a pub on the edge of Derry's Fountain Estate shortly before last night's glamour eircom League Cup Final between Derry City and Bohemians at Brandywell.
Police were called to The Tavern - better known locally as the Talk of the Town - at London Street shortly after 7 p.m. following reports that a number of windows at the pub had been broken.
Bar owner Kingsley Curry said a gang of around 30 males - who he said all had "southern accents" - shattered four windows, broke a number of stools and smashed bottles during the no-warning attack.
He said a number of bar regulars confronted the gang and forced them out onto London Street before jamming the front door shut. Some of the gang then tried to re-enter the bar through the broken windows.
Mr. Curry said: "I have no doubt that these hooligans were from the Republic of Ireland. They all had southern accents. I've been told they were up for the big game at Brandywell."
The pub owner revealed that, at the time of the attack, there were only five people - including two tourists - in the bar. He said one customer sustained a cut to his ear as a result of flying glass while a member of staff received a cut to his hand.
He also claimed that his London Street premises must have been "singled out" to the gang as a "Protestant bar".
One bar regular added: "We've been getting attacked right, left and centre in recent times and solely because we're recognised as a Protestant bar. In a sense, we stick out like a sore thumb. However, I can assure people that it's business as usual here. The pub will be open for business tomorrow. These people won't force us out."
Mr. Curry added that security at the bar would have to be reviewed in light of last night's attack.
"We'll have to have a look at security. Had they all got in, I dread to think what could have happened. Someone could have been seriously hurt."
Police confirmed last night that a 17-year-old youth had been arrested in connection with the incident at the pub.
10/10/2007, 11:20 AM
Was obvious that some of the away support would be intent on trouble as the flag behind the goal last night glorifies them.
At least the ordinary Bohs fans don't sing songs glorifying them.
10/10/2007, 11:34 AM
Maybe we are a bit spoilt in Sligo with the brand of football our fans demand and expect and would be used to from our club but thought it was poor. :oForget Rio or Buenos Aires, welcome to Sligo, the home of the beautiful game......
Your club has a distinguished history of mediocrity, played on a pitch that resembles a cabbage patch and is conducive to anything other than attractive football.
But seriously is your life so unfullfulling that you have to come on here and attempt to ruin every thread with ridiculous statements, wind ups and ****-takes?
Derry are the new no-one - we're unique ! :D Only team to win a treble of League Cups. More Senior national trophies per-years in the league than any other EL team. Like I said, unique...... :D
To be fair, Derry up until the LC was awarded a Setanta cup place were one of few teams to take the thing seriously, most of the lads i know (at a number of clubs) barely recognised games in the thing as first team fixtures until the Setanta Cup and its financial rewards came along!
ie we only count the proper ones (League & FAI Cup) :D
Koh
10/10/2007, 11:39 AM
Apparently, you're just jealous :rolleyes:
JC_GUFC
10/10/2007, 11:39 AM
Why the **** were there Cork fans at the game? Or did they just go to cause trouble and not bother with the game?
Were the tourists from Donegal in the South too?!
Olander
10/10/2007, 11:40 AM
Forget Rio or Buenos Aires, welcome to Sligo, the home of the beautiful game......
Your club has a distinguished history of mediocrity, played on a pitch that resembles a cabbage patch and is conducive to anything other than attractive football.
But seriously is your life so unfullfulling that you have to come on here and attempt to ruin every thread with ridiculous statements, wind ups and ****-takes?:D:D:D
btid1
10/10/2007, 11:41 AM
Koh
Isnt it about time that you won one of them then;)
btid1
10/10/2007, 11:43 AM
Do you just eat lemons up there ? :D:D
Oh the irony of that statement coming from a Sligo fan is just incredible!!
10/10/2007, 12:01 PM
At least the ordinary Bohs fans don't sing songs glorifying them.
Shock. Songs sung at football match. You have a BSC flag at your games every week. If your ordinary fans wanted the vermin out of your club a hooligan flag wouldnt be tolerated.
BTW enjoy sitting on your own on the jounrey up and back last night?
10/10/2007, 12:12 PM
Another thing I forgot to mention, with D!ckhead Delaney in the stands in the brandywell last night, I wonder will there be fines issued to the Bohs fans? They had smoke bombs in the stand and till-rolls were thrown on the pitch when the players were coming out.
It would be a disgrace if a fine were to happen as it was all part of the show which again was a credit to both set of fans, BUT we were fined along with Derry for throwing bog roll onto the pitch €500 each plus isnt the fines for smoke bombs €100 each so Bohs had 2 lit, it will be interesting to see what the FAI do.
This is one thing that should be sorted out with this all new wonderful FAI run LOI, pointless fines that eventually detract from a great atmosphere and spectacle.
Rant over :cool:
Isnt it about time that you won one of them then;)
Touche!:)
michaelguineys
10/10/2007, 12:40 PM
Why the **** were there Cork fans at the game? Or did they just go to cause trouble and not bother with the game?
Are fans of other teams not allowed to attend Cup Finals now or something?????
10/10/2007, 12:45 PM
Are fans of other teams not allowed to attend Cup Finals now or something?????
Exactly, plus each LOI club were given 2 comp tickets for the game. The brandywell is only half hour from me and I attend matches there a good bit when Harps aint playing. Is there something wrong with that? Of coarse I wear my Harps colours in case of confusion :cool:
10/10/2007, 12:51 PM
Another thing I forgot to mention, with D!ckhead Delaney in the stands in the brandywell last night, I wonder will there be fines issued to the Bohs fans? They had smoke bombs in the stand and till-rolls were thrown on the pitch when the players were coming out.
It would be a disgrace if a fine were to happen as it was all part of the show which again was a credit to both set of fans, BUT we were fined along with Derry for throwing bog roll onto the pitch €500 each plus isnt the fines for smoke bombs €100 each so Bohs had 2 lit, it will be interesting to see what the FAI do.
This is one thing that should be sorted out with this all new wonderful FAI run LOI, pointless fines that eventually detract from a great atmosphere and spectacle.
Rant over :cool:
And not forgetting the Derry City pitch invasion after the final whistle of extra time
10/10/2007, 1:02 PM
And not forgetting the Derry City pitch invasion after the final whistle of extra time
Yeah so all in all Delaney should get himself a nice holiday out of that game, maybe a med cruise :rolleyes:
CharlesThompson
10/10/2007, 3:00 PM
And don't forget the rendition of 'John delaney you're a w@nker, you're a w@nker"!
10/10/2007, 6:47 PM
BTW enjoy sitting on your own on the jounrey up and back last night?
What a stupid thing to say. Only someone extremely stupid would say something like that. Are you? Or are you trying to stir sht? So you are either stupid or a WUM. Personally I think its a little from column A and a little from Column B. There was a 53 seater bus that was packed to capacity. I was hardly sitting on my own.
As for your other comment, I don't bring the flag. I have no control over the stewards to make them take it down but I'd wager a fair wad of cash a muppet like yourself has sung the run away a fair few times.
Flexy
11/10/2007, 10:24 AM
Anybody know were the play off takes place. Is it at a neutral venue or is it another toss of the coin
11/10/2007, 12:05 PM
Anybody know were the play off takes place. Is it at a neutral venue or is it another toss of the coin
No idea.
If it's City v Harps I would hope it'd be home and away like the promotion-relegation play-off, as that would guarantee 2 passionate bumper crowds and a great climax to the season.
City v Cobh wouldn't be anywehere near as appealing a fixture, and would involve a lot of travel if it was two-legged.
11/10/2007, 12:59 PM
All the more reason for Harps to win the First Div now.
11/10/2007, 2:47 PM
All the more reason for Harps to win the First Div now.
Exactly, we want revenge for the cup exit :cool: If its a 2 legged affair then there will be at least 5000 attending each of the games. I thought it was a one off game and home advantage decided at the toss of a coin, but then again IF its Derry - Harps then the FAI will want to milk it and make it 2 legged, id say they will decide nearer the end of the season.
Nothing is 100% btw in the 1st Div, so I dont think Dundalk or Cobh should be dismissed.
11/10/2007, 2:54 PM
Exactly, we want revenge for the cup exit :cool:
So you've gotten over the 2003 play-off result and the 43 other defeats by now then......? :D
If its a 2 legged affair then there will be at least 5000 attending each of the games. I thought it was a one off game and home advantage decided at the toss of a coin, but then again IF its Derry - Harps then the FAI will want to milk it and make it 2 legged, id say they will decide nearer the end of the season.
I hope any City-harps play-off would be two-legged, with the final leg at the Brandywell. It'd be a huge financial boost for both clubs, would be two great footballing occassions, and would be excellent to see televised by Setanta.
Nothing is 100% btw in the 1st Div, so I dont think Dundalk or Cobh should be dismissed.
Very true. I hope yee's win it anyways, as Harps are my second team...! :)