View Full Version : Alw Cofrestr am Caerdydd / Roll Call for Cardiff
Colie
19/10/2007, 11:05 PM
It's me, Beavis & two others. Eurolines, Connolly to Rosslare, ferry to Fishguard, train to Cardiff Friday night/ Sat morn. That'll be some craic. Certainly more craic than getting the bus to the train at 10am Sunday morning to make our way back!:eek:
harps1954
20/10/2007, 11:18 AM
Hi, I have flights booked for the game in Cardiff, but due to a number of different factors, I'll not be able to make it now. I was due to be flying in and out on the one day from Dublin - Bristol with Ryanair, so if anyone is interested in buying the flights off me, please PM me. I can also provide two tickets in the Irish section, so can sell the 2 flights and tickets as a package.
SuperDave
20/10/2007, 9:11 PM
me + 1. going over on friday afternoon. 14:30 boat, 16:35 train out of holyhead (though of course we could miss that train and not make cardiff til midnight). back on saturday evening/overnight sunday boat.
25/10/2007, 7:53 AM
Are your mates still going to Montenegro? If so what route are they taking I have a suggestion if they haven't already booked it.
Sligo Hornet
25/10/2007, 8:07 AM
Myself,Humpmeister,Green Hornet / Mrs.Shane Long and Mr. & Mrs.Moscow Mule will be in attendance for the "Delaney Out Festival".......at least we will have a few new songs to sing!:D
Meself, Schlooooomp and Battery Rover will be making our way over
Boats, Trains and Automobiles :D
25/10/2007, 8:37 AM
Myself,Humpmeister,Green Hornet / Mrs.Shane Long and Mr. & Mrs.Moscow Mule will be in attendance for the "Delaney Out Festival".......at least we will have a few new songs to sing!:D
That sounds like the highlight of the trip tbh! :D
Sligo Hornet
25/10/2007, 8:48 AM
Meself, Schlooooomp and Battery Rover will be making our way over
Boats, Trains and Automobiles :D
When do you arrive in Cardiff....or should I say when are you "due"?
You journey plan looks very "interesting".....hope the Sea is calm;)
We should be arriving into Cardiff ar 9.30am the morning of the match!
Getting the night sailing across and then the early train from Holyhead.
Plenty of time, and opportunity, in between to get lost, drunk and found
again :D
Battery Rover
25/10/2007, 1:12 PM
Interesting is the word for it plus its my birthday so plenty of beer will be consumed:D
My two days will consist of
16th November.
Train leaving Limerick at 12.35 PM arrive Dublin 3 PM
Ferry from Dublin 8.55 PM Arrive Holyhead 12.10 AM
17th November.
Train leaving Holyhead 4.25 AM arrives in Cardiff 9.18 AM
After the match
Train leaves Cardiff 7.34 PM
Arrives at 11:28 in Llandudno Junction
Bus from there for two hours to Holyhead and will arrive at 1.40 AM
Sunday 18th November
Leave Holyhead at 2.40 AM and will arrive In Dublin at 5.55 AM
Then off to Heuston to get the 8.10 AM train back to Limerick which I have to change in Limerick Junction and arrive in Limerick at 10.40 AM. If I dont get off at Limerick Junction I will end up in Tralee.
Anyone here living in Tralee that would be going to Limerick that Sunday would be handy as I don't think I will be awake to change:D
25/10/2007, 1:27 PM
That's class Batt Rover, it is the closest away trip of them all and yous have the most complicated and long-winded journey :eek::D
SuperDave
25/10/2007, 1:37 PM
That's class Batt Rover, it is the closest away trip of them all and yous have the most complicated and long-winded journey :eek::D
mine is similar
Friday 16th
portadown - dublin (train) 8:41 - 9:55
dublin -holyhead (boat) 14:30 - 16:20
holyhead - cardiff (train) 16:35 - 21:20
then
Saturday 17th
cardiff - lladudno junction (train) 19:34 - 23:28
llandudno junction - holyhead (bus) 23:28 - 01:40
holyhead - dublin (boat) 02:40 - 05:55
dublin - portadown (train) 10:00 - 11:32
Not as bad as san marino, mind (see my sig - fecking snow in stansted forced us to take a 300km train journey from ancona to treviso).
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 2:02 PM
Damn it, I was supposed to be travelling with Ash and Battery Rover but now I have to work from the 12th to 16th in London, so will have to travel from there. Somebody somewhere doesn't want me to get on a boat/ferry/any other floating device...
Sligo Hornet
25/10/2007, 2:06 PM
Damn it, I was supposed to be travelling with Ash and Battery Rover but now I have to work from the 12th to 16th in London, so will have to travel from there. Somebody somewhere doesn't want me to get on a boat/ferry/any other floating device...
It's for your own safety that we arranged it with your boss:p
If you are travelling on the Saturday morning, our crew are booked on the 08.45am from Paddington you can join us and we promise to look after you:D:D
Battery Rover
25/10/2007, 2:06 PM
But all of that is the fun part of it :D
Sligo Hornet
25/10/2007, 2:07 PM
But all of that is the fun part of it :D
Fun on the way there......not so sure about the return journey!:eek:
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 2:15 PM
It's for your own safety that we arranged it with your boss:p
If you are travelling on the Saturday morning, our crew are booked on the 08.45am from Paddington you can join us and we promise to look after you:D:D
I might just see you there, how many hours does it take to get to Cardiff from London by train?
25/10/2007, 2:28 PM
mine is similar
Friday 16th
portadown - dublin (train) 8:41 - 9:55
dublin -holyhead (boat) 14:30 - 16:20
holyhead - cardiff (train) 16:35 - 21:20
then
Saturday 17th
cardiff - lladudno junction (train) 19:34 - 23:28
llandudno junction - holyhead (bus) 23:28 - 01:40
holyhead - dublin (boat) 02:40 - 05:55
dublin - portadown (train) 10:00 - 11:32
Not as bad as san marino, mind (see my sig - fecking snow in stansted forced us to take a 300km train journey from ancona to treviso).
we ended up travelling up to milan bergamo after our bologna forli to stanste d was canx too :rolleyes:
Sligo Hornet
25/10/2007, 3:31 PM
I might just see you there, how many hours does it take to get to Cardiff from London by train?
2 HOURS........OR 12 CANS!!:D
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 3:58 PM
2 HOURS........OR 12 CANS!!:D
12 cans for you Hornet but I'd probably be just about to crack open my second one when we'd arrive in Cardiff ;)
Sligo Hornet
25/10/2007, 7:29 PM
12 cans for you Hornet but I'd probably be just about to crack open my second one when we'd arrive in Cardiff ;)
mmmmmm...me thinks this man speaks an untruth!
"Schlooooomp"...it does exactly what it says on the tin!;)
Moscow Mule
25/10/2007, 8:14 PM
Interesting is the word for it plus its my birthday so plenty of beer will be consumed:D
My two days will consist of
16th November.
Train leaving Limerick at 12.35 PM arrive Dublin 3 PM
Ferry from Dublin 8.55 PM Arrive Holyhead 12.10 AM
17th November.
Train leaving Holyhead 4.25 AM arrives in Cardiff 9.18 AM
After the match
Train leaves Cardiff 7.34 PM
Arrives at 11:28 in Llandudno Junction
Bus from there for two hours to Holyhead and will arrive at 1.40 AM
Sunday 18th November
Leave Holyhead at 2.40 AM and will arrive In Dublin at 5.55 AM
Then off to Heuston to get the 8.10 AM train back to Limerick which I have to change in Limerick Junction and arrive in Limerick at 10.40 AM. If I dont get off at Limerick Junction I will end up in Tralee.
Anyone here living in Tralee that would be going to Limerick that Sunday would be handy as I don't think I will be awake to change:D
But what could go wrong?:confused:
Junior
25/10/2007, 8:31 PM
thats a bitch of a journey!!!!
were getting train from Mcr 07:30 out to Cardiff andg back in to Mcr at Midnight. £25 return, a good few sherberts, probably a dire performance, but a great day out!!
thats a bitch of a journey!!!!
were getting train from Mcr 07:30 out to Cardiff andg back in to Mcr at Midnight. £25 return, a good few sherberts, probably a dire performance, but a great day out!!
Just read that quickly without looking at your location and thought you were
leaving from the MCR pub in Sligo!!!
Schlooooomp
26/10/2007, 9:55 AM
mmmmmm...me thinks this man speaks an untruth!
"Schlooooomp"...it does exactly what it says on the tin!;)
Ok, ok, I'll probably manage more than 2 cans between London and Cardiff. :D
My handle comes from the after effects of indulging (i.e. collapsing in a camping site in the Faeroes) in alcohol as opposed to the actual act of indulging. :cool:
And the name comes from the reaction of a very concerned elderly
German woman who withnessed the event :D
Good Morning ... Then Schlooomp
30/10/2007, 12:55 PM
Just sorted our trip there. 3 of us going. 1 newbie and 2 not-so-newbie.
Flying to Bristol on friday morning, training it to Cardiff. Be there for pub opening. Staying in the Future Inn? in Cardiff for two nights then coaching it back to Bristol early on Sunday for flight back. All for 200 blips. Happy with that.
SuperDave
30/10/2007, 4:39 PM
Seems to be a fair few heading over - as it's probably the nearest "away" fixture other than Belfast.
So - to prevent the meat getting lost in the match thread - who's going?
Current Total = 47
Definites
Réiteoir (+1 hopefully)
AidoM +6
Bear11 +6
citizenerased +9
Beavis +5
soccerc +6
scousedub +4
harps1954 +1
have you not got me and jmurphyc on the list? we're definites.
Just sorted our trip there. 3 of us going. 1 newbie and 2 not-so-newbie.
Flying to Bristol on friday morning, training it to Cardiff. Be there for pub opening. Staying in the Future Inn? in Cardiff for two nights then coaching it back to Bristol early on Sunday for flight back. All for 200 blips. Happy with that.
What flight Kingdom - we're on Ryanscare from Dublin @ 9.30 to Bristol and train to Cardiff. Staying in Marriott (posh or what :p). Back Sunday from Bristol @ around 12 noon
supasparx
30/10/2007, 7:10 PM
What flight Kingdom - we're on Ryanscare from Dublin @ 9.30 to Bristol and train to Cardiff. Staying in Marriott (posh or what :p). Back Sunday from Bristol @ around 12 noon
I'm in Marriott too, not so posh after all!;)
30/10/2007, 7:36 PM
I'm sure that list in the OP was a lot more up to date.
Sligo Hornet
31/10/2007, 7:06 AM
I'm in Marriott too, not so posh after all!;)
With yourself and Aido in that Hotel they might have to re-think the number of Stars it can claim:D
31/10/2007, 7:22 AM
Same flight as you Aido. However our flight home is 10.40 so we've to get a coach @ 6.30 ish to get to Bristol on time, the train leaves it too close to squeaky-bum-time for me.
SuperDave
31/10/2007, 11:37 AM
Same flight as you Aido. However our flight home is 10.40 so we've to get a coach @ 6.30 ish to get to Bristol on time, the train leaves it too close to squeaky-bum-time for me.
could be worse. we're getting the train out on saturday after the match.
but hey, the atmos is always better before a game than after. at least from my limited experience (san marino) that's true.
quick q: what's the deal with train drinkin in the uk? do they sell booze on board?
Sligo Hornet
31/10/2007, 3:58 PM
could be worse. we're getting the train out on saturday after the match.
but hey, the atmos is always better before a game than after. at least from my limited experience (san marino) that's true.
quick q: what's the deal with train drinkin in the uk? do they sell booze on board?
Yes they do....but is very expensive!....you're better off bringing your own on board ( not a problem )
The police can prohibit the sale and comsumption of alcohol on board for matchdays. It is quite that drink will not be allowed on board if you are getting a train on the day of the game.
Bear Eleven
01/11/2007, 10:59 AM
What flight Kingdom - we're on Ryanscare from Dublin @ 9.30 to Bristol and train to Cardiff. Staying in Marriott (posh or what :p). Back Sunday from Bristol @ around 12 noon.
Are you sure you have a room there.Hate to think i have to share yet again.
Sick of having to fold that bloody flag,especially after you sleeping with it wrapped around you.
SuperDave
01/11/2007, 2:24 PM
The police can prohibit the sale and comsumption of alcohol on board for matchdays. It is quite that drink will not be allowed on board if you are getting a train on the day of the game.
thankfully we're getting friday boat and train, so booze shouldn't be an issue. plus, we'll be pretty tanked anyways, cos we'll be drinking on the boat
i do have one issue though and that's getting "seasick" on the way back, especially as it's overnight after the game. i can't see myself being sober for that particular leg of the journey.
01/11/2007, 2:26 PM
What flight Kingdom - we're on Ryanscare from Dublin @ 9.30 to Bristol and train to Cardiff. Staying in Marriott (posh or what :p). Back Sunday from Bristol @ around 12 noon.
Are you sure you have a room there.Hate to think i have to share yet again.
Sick of having to fold that bloody flag,especially after you sleeping with it wrapped around you.
Bear 11 learn how to quote properly! :D
Aido M told me that he hasn't really booked in the Marriott and that he's hoping to squeeze in with you again! :eek:
Del H
02/11/2007, 12:51 AM
Heading over with 18 others. Just glanced through the posts there; is anyone getting the 9 o'clock boat from rosslare to fishgaurd on the friday morning??
citizenerased
02/11/2007, 1:09 PM
where are the meetup points in cardiff? i assume there will be no cans on streets!!
Babysis
02/11/2007, 4:38 PM
A spoons pub was mentioned in the Delaney out thread - across the road from the stadium, 3 floors.
where are the meetup points in cardiff? i assume there will be no cans on streets!!
For any of the English cup finals and rugby games cans on the street has been the order of the day, was only at one international football match in Cardiff before and cant recall if there were people drinking cans for it?
Foot.ie calling Mento for a reccie :eek: ;)
still have cancelled accommodation beside stadium..seems too close to stadium and nightlife though, would be better avoided for good nights sleep:D:D PM for bad night sleep, fri and sat
13/11/2007, 1:28 PM
Babysis and I will be on Coach A, 7:45am :eek: train, Saturday from London Paddington to Cardiff Central arriving 09:46. We'll be the ones with the cans, bacon sandwiches and sausage rolls :D
It's almost like Brat-Prague train again
Babysis and I will be on Coach A, 7:45am :eek: train, Saturday from London Paddington to Cardiff Central arriving 09:46. We'll be the ones with the cans, bacon sandwiches and sausage rolls :D
Battery Rover and meself should be rolling into Cardiff around
that time too so keep a few rasher sambos for us :D
13/11/2007, 2:06 PM
Battery Rover and meself should be rolling into Cardiff around
that time too so keep a few rasher sambos for us :D
We'll try! I'd say we'll be loitering about the station stocking up on paracetamol which we lacked in Bratislava :p
I presume a few here are on board the 8:45am boat on Friday from Dublin City to Holyhead?
I'm planning on starting the first sing song of the weekend!!
Sligo Hornet
13/11/2007, 3:05 PM
Babysis and I will be on Coach A, 7:45am :eek: train, Saturday from London Paddington to Cardiff Central arriving 09:46. We'll be the ones with the cans, bacon sandwiches and sausage rolls
It's almost like Brat-Prague train again
That was close.......we are are on the 8.45am from Paddington:eek:...still if we get lost on the way we'll just follow your trail of cans!:D