View Full Version : Bohs game
clubman
27/09/2007, 6:48 PM
No point talking about spilt milk - Burns, Mansaram, Turner etc. They are now gone for whatever reason. But we still have Hughsie, who is obviously considering his options. He will be watching from the stands. Why dont we make an effort to show him how much he means to the club. He has been excellent for two years, even when playing out of position. All the others are not a loss compared to him ... no point shouting abuse at him next year, lets try & encourage him to stay
I can see where you're coming from Doc but at the end of the day money will dictate where he plays next season. Drogheda are suppose to have offered over double what he's on with Rovers, what would you or any of us do if it were our decision. And basically that's our future in a nutshell, it will always be down to money. After all that is what lured Sean Connor away from the showgrounds. Anyone with ambition won't find their dream in the showgrounds. Unfortunately Paul Cook will depart sooner or later as well of that we can be sure. Are we a big enough club to be able to give these guys grounds for hope for the future - not at the moment :(
DocRovers
27/09/2007, 7:04 PM
I know the difficulties - chicken & egg stuff. We cant get the players without the money, we cant get the money without the players! But I think Hughsie may realise that there is more to it. Drogheda are very dependent on Europe, Setanta Cup fees - we could match them if we qualified. If he signs (as the others have) for a further year & the Club can offer a reasonable deal - wages, signing on fee etc he may be tempted. God knows it has cost us enough to pay off some of the rubbish we have signed in the not too distant past. Some of the 60K raised recently might'nt go astray to keep him. But fans very quiet up till now, no ???
DonalE
27/09/2007, 7:23 PM
Has Hughes been offered an extension on his contract?
red bellied
27/09/2007, 7:24 PM
At the moment Rovers arent big enough to challenge for honours or Euro[e. Crowds arent big enough. There is so much the M.C. can do fundraising etc. They need a decent slice coming through the gates to help fund for players. In the past if Rovers put a decent couple of results the crowds would come, thus increasing revenue. What ever the reason now, summer football or just plain lack of interest. In the past there was no marketing ploys or dancing clowns, it was just a plain buzz about the town. Its up to more people of Sligo Town and County going to the Showgrounds when Paul Cook has a half decent team playing good football. Its happened in the past and why not know?
DocRovers
27/09/2007, 7:39 PM
I agree Red, it is an uphill struggle at times. If Hughsie goes we have lost not another man but a General. His influence grows week by week. I dont know if he might stay but I do know that he cannot be replaced.
red bellied
27/09/2007, 7:49 PM
I agree Red, it is an uphill struggle at times. If Hughsie goes we have lost not another man but a General. His influence grows week by week. I dont know if he might stay but I do know that he cannot be replaced.
Heard Hughes was offered new contract but Rovers couldnt really compete with Droghedas offer. Seen what a decent player he is this season. In the middle is really is his best position, him and O Grady will be badly missed tomorrow.
DonalE
27/09/2007, 8:01 PM
Exactly, I think we should splash out a bit extra to keep him rather than pay wages for 2 lesser players
27/09/2007, 8:43 PM
The thing with Hughes is, he likes Sligo, and himself and his family are well settled here afaik so it mightn't just be money that's going to influence his decision to stay or go. I know Drogheda are supposed to have offered him big money alright but I'm sure family matters to him too and if he thinks his family prefer living in Sligo, he might just stay. We can't compete with the money Drogheda have offered him but we should be able to offer him a good enough contract for him to consider. Agree that fans letting him know, tomorrow night, we want him to stay would be a good idea.
clubman
27/09/2007, 9:13 PM
Question is ; is he worth the 2K per week in wages. I don't believe for one minute that he's not replaceable. Everyone has a price. I'm very sure Paul would bring in two excellent players for the 2K on offer. I think at the end of the day Paul will make the decision. I know he'll want Hughes in his side next season but as I say everyone has a price. This season Rovers running costs will touch on 1million believe it or not. Look at the table and though we are not far off the pace we are in terms of quality on the bench. In order for us to address the issue it will take another 50% of an increase in revenue to take us to the next level. Now the 6 million dollar question is where will this loot come from? I don't have the answer but it's generally down to how the club is run and how to attract investors etc. The big question being asked presently is do we move forward or back. We all want to move forward but realistically talking won't take us there. It's time for action, we have all heard about the business people waiting in the wings etc. well come on out boys the time is now so lets hear it. Actions speak louder than words etc etc .
27/09/2007, 9:38 PM
Question is ; is he worth the 2K per week in wages.That's what Drogs are supposed to be offering him, don't think Rovers would be offering anything near that amount to him.
27/09/2007, 10:46 PM
Can i pose a question? Who is second in the table this year and what kind of budget are they operating on? Oops, that's two questions.
27/09/2007, 11:26 PM
That's what Drogs are supposed to be offering him, don't think Rovers would be offering anything near that amount to him.
singh was on how much when he was here?
and he was a bank breaker.. not worth it though
27/09/2007, 11:28 PM
singh was on how much when he was here?Not 2 grand.
27/09/2007, 11:54 PM
it was 1,1 or 1,3 though..
biscuit
28/09/2007, 9:22 AM
thought he had agreed something with drogs already, nothing signed but how do you say a "gentlemans agreement":confused: from what i heard ( and it could be just hearsay) hes been offered 2k, told rovers that hed stay for 1.5k as hes well settled. Club couldnt offer him that....:(
28/09/2007, 10:10 AM
hed stay for 1.5k as hes well settled. Club couldnt offer him that....:(
if Rovers want to keep him that much, then they could put a sponsorship deal together from companies, to sponsor his wages. hes not irreplaceable though, as last season showed.
Knappagh Red
28/09/2007, 10:15 AM
I was told Singh was the highest paid player at the club last year on 1500 a week and the committee were delighted to get him off the books. I think its vital we keep Hughes, a smaller squad of dedicated players is better than a large squad of non-triers like we had in the past
akearins
28/09/2007, 2:25 PM
Brush
Coleman Peeers Foy
McKenzie
Raf Ventre Boyd Cash
Judge Faz
Two lads in the middle to protect the back 4 and basically break up Bohs.
Prob See turner on the left wing so Raf should be Ok on him and if he gets past him Seamie will be there.
biscuit
28/09/2007, 3:19 PM
fsh:p:D
biscuit
28/09/2007, 3:20 PM
just got off wrk early, anyone yet to leave??
28/09/2007, 8:20 PM
1-0 ...
coleman s/o..
ffs
Boo_Boy
28/09/2007, 8:25 PM
2 - 0 mansaram:mad:
28/09/2007, 8:28 PM
3-0 Rossiter
28/09/2007, 8:29 PM
this is a **** take.
the gnome gets what he wants.. one over us.. literally leapfrogging us in the table.
:mad:
28/09/2007, 8:31 PM
3-0 Rossiter
u sure?
not on live score yet?