View Full Version : Limerick Oscar Traynor 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

Fairkop
19/11/2007, 5:19 PM
think lad from kilmallock heffernan suspended,no sign of guerin or dunphy in that squad,were they dropped.good result down there.

leather
20/11/2007, 8:36 AM
Anybody know when next round to be played??

CousinSylDolan
20/11/2007, 10:11 AM
Anybody know when next round to be played??

Match Day 3 Weekend 4th /5th January 2008.

see's it
20/11/2007, 10:19 AM
friday night home games would be a good idea it would draw a big crowd

Unreal Madrid
20/11/2007, 7:28 PM
would think that both games left in group will go ahead same day same time as they are final group games.

Hoops 1967
13/03/2008, 1:10 PM
Limerick district are down to play Tipp South this Sunday. How do yee think the lads will get on?

Goals4fun
14/03/2008, 1:26 PM
Limerick district are down to play Tipp South this Sunday. How do yee think the lads will get on?

they will have it tough, as far as i know Pa McGarry and Phil Purcell are out. Not the best time to have 2 new centre halves play but if they can contain tipp , limerick should def score

hoops12
14/03/2008, 11:36 PM
they will have it tough, as far as i know Pa McGarry and Phil Purcell are out. Not the best time to have 2 new centre halves play but if they can contain tipp , limerick should def score

mcgarry is playing,i fancy tippm cos the interest in this tournament from players and officials alike is nil.id say limerick players can,t wait to go out of it really.sad im afraid but also very true

zizu's head
15/03/2008, 6:26 AM

As far as TSDL are concerned, it really depends on what players decide to turn up!! ( As always! ) I have to be honest, I don't see too many of the Clonmel Town and St. Michael's players being too interested; with their respective results in the FAI Cup last weekend. I would imagine their main interest will now be on trying to beat each other to the Premier League title. If the players do turn up however, they will have a strong squad. Should be a good game! ;)

halo16
16/03/2008, 5:55 PM
limerick district league 2-1 south tipp

limerick team

1.aaron gilmartin (aisling)
2.jamie enright (pike)
3.mark sheehan (regional)
4.pat mc garry (pike) capt.
5.john meskall (aisling)
6.keith hartnett.(pike)
7.alan carroll (janesboro)
8.ger bourke (regional)
9.alan barry(janesboro)
10.tommy heffernan (kilmallock)
11.leo wong (hill celtic)

subs.
12. anthony russell (regional)
13.mike behan (regional) for alan barry.70mins.
14.mike carey (carew pk) for enright.60mins
15.john boyle (pike) for bouke 75mins.
16.ronan sherlock(corbally)
17.dave wall (pike)
18.shane o donoghue(regional)

halo16
16/03/2008, 6:17 PM
bad game.limerick lucky in the end considering they controlled the opening 30mins.big improvement needed for next game.sheehan and mc garry and heffernan who got the 2 goals were the only standout players for me.the midfield worked hard but created little.limerick lacked pace on the wings which will limit them in the next game.good result all the same against a handt tipp side but as i say a big improvement needed for next game.

hoops12
16/03/2008, 9:23 PM
limerick district league 2-1 south tipp

limerick team

1.aaron gilmartin (aisling)
2.jamie enright (pike)
3.mark sheehan (regional)
4.pat mc garry (pike) capt.
5.john meskall (aisling)
6.keith hartnett.(pike)
7.alan carroll (janesboro)
8.ger bourke (regional)
9.alan barry(janesboro)
10.tommy heffernan (kilmallock)
11.leo wong (hill celtic)

subs.
12. anthony russell (regional)
13.mike behan (regional) for alan barry.70mins.
14.mike carey (carew pk) for enright.60mins
15.john boyle (pike) for bouke 75mins.
16.ronan sherlock(corbally)
17.dave wall (pike)
18.shane o donoghue(regional)

some one please back me up ,leo wong is worth a place on oscar traynor ,no wonder fellas wo,nt turn up when they see the standard

allab
16/03/2008, 10:16 PM
some one please back me up ,leo wong is worth a place on oscar traynor ,no wonder fellas wo,nt turn up when they see the standard

your on your own!!!

hoops12
17/03/2008, 3:24 AM
your on your own!!!

so your telling me leo wong is good enough for the oscar traynor team ahead of john boyle,shane o donoghue,robbie brock,denis whelan,paul harmon,shane guerin,and i could keep going on.I like leo as a bloke but hes a decent division 1 player at best

allab
17/03/2008, 2:01 PM
so your telling me leo wong is good enough for the oscar traynor team ahead of john boyle,shane o donoghue,robbie brock,denis whelan,paul harmon,shane guerin,and i could keep going on.I like leo as a bloke but hes a decent division 1 player at best

thats what i meant i thought u were sayin he is worth his place on the team!!

starbar
17/03/2008, 2:18 PM
not good enough..simple as

Gerry the ferry
17/03/2008, 3:08 PM
Leo Wong would walk on to any premier team in town......FACT!!!!!!!!!

allab
17/03/2008, 5:51 PM
Leo Wong would walk on to any premier team in town......FACT!!!!!!!!!

:D:D:D

Goals4fun
18/03/2008, 8:49 PM
good result by Limerick.
They seem to have a good setup with the players actually enjoying the trainings,games and whole set up. They could go the whole way with this one.
As for Leo, he is a good players and has held his own so far in the comp. Has good effort and applies himself. Anybody who questions the team/squad selection should put their names forward and give it a go next season, there are a lot of 'championship manager' games being bought at gamestop recently !!!!
Well done Limerick, keep it going !!

papa-j
18/03/2008, 10:36 PM

as EamonnDunphy would say - a good player, not a great player.
But worth his place in the squad, tidy left foot and plenty of honest effort.

littleman
18/03/2008, 10:50 PM
How come there are no Ballynanty players on the Limerick Oscar Traynor squad.They are top of the Limerick league.

abbeyvale
19/03/2008, 8:21 AM
How come there are no Ballynanty players on the Limerick Oscar Traynor squad.They are top of the Limerick league.

You fishing for info again??

We'll answer your questions on Monday;)

glendale
19/03/2008, 9:11 AM

robert brock was involved but think he is injured. dave dunphy was also involved at start but think he may be carrying an injury too (ankle maybe?). shane guerin also involved but pulled out.

littleman
19/03/2008, 9:24 AM
Thanks Glendale,I asked a straight forward question an got a straight forward answer.Nothin shady about it.

hoops12
21/03/2008, 7:57 AM
thats what i meant i thought u were sayin he is worth his place on the team!!

apologies

Gerry the ferry
21/03/2008, 11:21 AM
[quote=littleman;901124]Thanks Glendale,I asked a straight forward question an got a straight forward answer.Nothin shady
Mind your own business and dont be asking questions that dont concern u:D:D:D

Fairkop
24/03/2008, 12:36 PM
some one please back me up ,leo wong is worth a place on oscar traynor ,no wonder fellas wo,nt turn up when they see the standardwho didn,t turn up.......as for wong i saw him v clare and he was one of limericks best on the day.

Fairkop
24/03/2008, 12:58 PM
mcgarry is playing,i fancy tippm cos the interest in this tournament from players and officials alike is nil.id say limerick players can,t wait to go out of it really.sad im afraid but also very true

your some bluffer...interest....saw OT team training beside us in villiers recently...at least 19 players present.,the training looked really good so much so we stopped to look for a while.if the limerick players want out they have a funny way of showing it.

inexile
24/03/2008, 1:07 PM
who are they playing in the next round?
and when is it on?

Goals4fun
24/03/2008, 6:56 PM
your some bluffer...interest....saw OT team training beside us in villiers recently...at least 19 players present.,the training looked really good so much so we stopped to look for a while.if the limerick players want out they have a funny way of showing it.

some players i town have not interest. the aquad that is there at the moment is good and everybody wants to play. The training sessions are really good also..

Goals4fun
30/04/2008, 9:10 AM
are throught to the semi final of the OT cup.
Good win last night , 4-1 against the Garda league.

Away to the inishowen league, which will be a tough one.

abbeyvale
30/04/2008, 9:36 AM
are throught to the semi final of the OT cup.
Good win last night , 4-1 against the Garda league.

Away to the inishowen league, which will be a tough one.

what was the team and who scored?

Noddy
30/04/2008, 9:37 AM
Mescall, Behan, Boyle and Heffernan scored. Don't know the team.

Goals4fun
30/04/2008, 9:52 AM
what was the team and who scored?

aaron gilmartin
john mescal
mark sheehan
phil purcell
pat mcgarry
alan carroll
leo wong
ger bourke
keith hartnett
alan barry
mike behan

not sure of the full bench, rashers (from reginol),m thompson, tommy heffernan, john boyle, not sure the other...

mescal scored, the garda league drew level just before half time with a peno,
behan , boyle and heffernan made it a comfortable win.

abbeyvale
30/04/2008, 9:58 AM
aaron gilmartin
john mescal
mark sheehan
phil purcell
pat mcgarry
alan carroll
leo wong
ger bourke
keith hartnett
alan barry
mike behan

not sure of the full bench, rashers (from reginol),m thompson, tommy heffernan, john boyle, not sure the other...

2 goalscorers from the bench!!!! Not bad.
Do you know who Heffernan & Boyle came on for?

abbeyvale
30/04/2008, 10:01 AM
aaron gilmartin
john mescal
mark sheehan
phil purcell
pat mcgarry
alan carroll
leo wong
ger bourke
keith hartnett
alan barry
mike behan

Can someone please tell me how there are no Balla or Fairview players on the first 13/14?

Goals4fun
30/04/2008, 10:13 AM
2 goalscorers from the bench!!!! Not bad.
Do you know who Heffernan & Boyle came on for?

boyle for purcell
heffernan for behan

Goals4fun
30/04/2008, 10:17 AM
Can someone please tell me how there are no Balla or Fairview players on the first 13/14?

some players have not interest in playing OT.
I know at leats 1 fairview player that was selected in the first squad but withdrew, balla had dunphy, jossi & brock on the panel, all played some part in the first few games and withdrew afterwards.
I think clubs that are doing well do not want this distraction and possible injuries that could lead from it.
I remember a few years back when pike we ****ing the league and di not have one on it.
At the end of the day Aidan ryan has a good bunch of players that want to play and have good ability. This is the makings of a good squad and it is showing. I am sure there are many a manger that would pick different players.
however aidan's team are into the semi, when did the last limerick team do that?

inexile
30/04/2008, 10:35 AM
cant imagine the gards would be up to much now were they?

glendale
30/04/2008, 10:41 AM
cant imagine the gards would be up to much now were they?

weren't great. their goal came from a limerick mistake. played long balls most of the game and barely had a shot on target.

Goals4fun
30/04/2008, 10:48 AM
weren't great. their goal came from a limerick mistake. played long balls most of the game and barely had a shot on target.

agree with that.. Limerick missed about 4 very good chances in the first half and another 1 or 2 in the second half. the scoreline could have been much more. but you can only beat what is in front of you..

the hoops
30/04/2008, 10:52 AM
sub thompson is he from hillceltic?

glendale
30/04/2008, 11:03 AM
sub thompson is he from hillceltic?

yes...

Dirk Diggler
30/04/2008, 11:35 AM
yes...
two from hill celtic on the squad? in all fairness whats that about. Limerick may be in a semi but they've played no one yet. Long trip to inishowen now

Dirk Diggler
30/04/2008, 11:36 AM
good luck to them tho. would be nice for the players involved to win that.

abbeyvale
30/04/2008, 1:25 PM
some players have not interest in playing OT.
I know at leats 1 fairview player that was selected in the first squad but withdrew, balla had dunphy, jossi & brock on the panel, all played some part in the first few games and withdrew afterwards.
I think clubs that are doing well do not want this distraction and possible injuries that could lead from it.
I remember a few years back when pike we ****ing the league and di not have one on it.
At the end of the day Aidan ryan has a good bunch of players that want to play and have good ability. This is the makings of a good squad and it is showing. I am sure there are many a manger that would pick different players.
however aidan's team are into the semi, when did the last limerick team do that?

Pike have at least 4 players on the panel......:rolleyes:

Fairkop
30/04/2008, 4:12 PM
if i remember correct was,n their 3 balla and 1 view player in the very 1st squad announced.what happened after that who knows maybe the players opted out or the manager left them out.also didn,t the L.LEADER ask all the premier managers to select their best 11 back in feb and i dont think that pick was full of balla or view players,2 or 3 maybe.

Fairkop
30/04/2008, 4:28 PM
two from hill celtic on the squad? in all fairness whats that about. Limerick may be in a semi but they've played no one yet. Long trip to inishowen nowthink your being unfair there dick.didn,t see last nights game but saw games v clare and tipp and have to say young wong fom h.celtic was good ,against tipp heffernan was excellent,is he not a 1st div player as well.dont know anything about other lad from h.celtic.as regards who they played,surely tipp count as serious opposition and i thought clare won OT 2 seasons ago...if their not ..no one yet..who is.

abbeyvale
01/05/2008, 7:29 AM
think your being unfair there dick.didn,t see last nights game but saw games v clare and tipp and have to say young wong fom h.celtic was good ,against tipp heffernan was excellent,is he not a 1st div player as well.dont know anything about other lad from h.celtic.as regards who they played,surely tipp count as serious opposition and i thought clare won OT 2 seasons ago...if their not ..no one yet..who is.

Young Wong!!!!!! He must be nearly 30, your making me feel young again with comments like that:p

halo16
01/05/2008, 5:32 PM
it was a only a few seasons back that they got to the final, and the reason that alot players dont want to be involved in the squad is that aidan ryan is a tw*t

somebody always has something to moan about when it comes to the oscar traynor panel.in the end of the day there are over 100 players playing premier in this town.every manager will have different opinions on who they would pick as we have seen over the years.i remember 3 years ago that martin reddan had around 8 carew park players on his team.in fairness to aidan he has a good mixture from alot of teams and they seem to be gelling well.ive been told that they regularly get 16 to 17 up training and that the training is very good so give them a break and support them for god sake.