Phil Purcell - CH (pike)
Pat McGarry - CH (pike)
Shane O'Donoghue - RW (regional)
Robert Brock - LW (Balla)
Ger Bourke - CM (Regional)
Keith Hartnett - CM (Pike)
Alan Barry - CF (Boro)
Dave Wall - CF (Pike)

Thats 5 pike and 3 regional players in the team and only 1 balla player, that can't be right.

Anyway did they play well?, should they have won it?

Goals4fun
26/10/2007, 9:05 AM
Thats 5 pike and 3 regional players in the team and only 1 balla player, that can't be right.

played really well first half. second half never came out. Ref was poor and gave limerick nothing. the free in he gave was a free out and it was on the edge of the box. The wall jumped and the shot went under it. beat keeper on the side he was at. very very soft goal to give away.

good team

Dirk Diggler
26/10/2007, 10:21 AM
That AA keeper is nothing speacial. He's not better than Pike's keeper not by a long way.

Dirk Diggler
26/10/2007, 10:23 AM

why not? team looks fair enough to me. Dunphy isn't better than Jamie Enright, he's not better than Paddy Mitchell either whose not even on the squad.

themerryman
26/10/2007, 10:49 AM
why not? team looks fair enough to me. Dunphy isn't better than Jamie Enright, he's not better than Paddy Mitchell either whose not even on the squad.

only difference between Jamie and dunphy is dunphy has more experience
but no difference other wise , But paddy Mitchell isnt in the squad because he just isnt good enough and isnt a patch on either of them ,next you be saying how WALLA isnt in the squad,poor old pikeys can be happy with only
5 in the team

new leaf
26/10/2007, 10:56 AM

dunphy is twice the player they are...........combined

26/10/2007, 11:03 AM
MOD EDIT:Leave it out joe ,you should know better..

Monster
26/10/2007, 12:01 PM
In my opinion Trevor Cosgrave is 1 of the best right fulls in town - has been outstanding this year and Trevor Higgins also at left back.

Goals4fun
26/10/2007, 12:35 PM
The limerick team was very strong. For years it was made up of people that did not want to play and didn't care.
Last nite the team was good, had a good balance and mixture. If they can get their performance up they could go a long way.
I think aidan has picked a strong squad.

Dunphy came on in the middle of the park for Hartnett...

Green_Hoop
27/10/2007, 8:53 PM
I'd love to see the Limerick Oscar Traynor team play Limerick37,It'd show more than likely theres little to absolutely no difference between them..I'd even punt on a Limerick Oscar traynor team win

bigguy
27/10/2007, 8:59 PM
Tell me why don’t all these good player’s join limerick 37 then??

Green_Hoop
28/10/2007, 11:38 AM

Theres nothing in it for them,they would still have there 9-5 jobs,get little, if much money at all off limerick and spend every 2nd weekend travelling to some dive to finish 4th place in a poxy league..

28/10/2007, 12:43 PM
Went up and watched the game the other night. Only stayed for an hour or so but the LDL looked handy in spells. The right full kinda stood out, Keith Hartnett is still a very good player, thought Davey Wall was the best of lot and Purcell and McGarry looked decent too.

no17 fan
28/10/2007, 1:14 PM
no shout for james o donnell of summerville at left full.i may be a little bias
and mark sheehan is fine player but james has been, imo, the best left full
in town for a few years...

halo16
28/10/2007, 5:15 PM
alot of posts going about over the lack of a left winger in the o.t squad. alan finucane,Ronan sherlock,and paul harmon are 3 wingers who imo are certainly good enough to start on the left wing.id have any of them 3 in the team before robert brock anyway.finucane has played solidly for pike the last few years,hed do a good job and bring alot of experience to the team.sherlock had a fine season with boro last year and was on the leader team of the year if im not mistaken for that position.boro have certainly missed him this year and as for harmon,fai winners medals,and league of ireland experience and still only about 26.would be 3 very good options for that team imo

foxtrot
28/10/2007, 7:06 PM
Surely fergal o'connell is the best left winger in town at the moment and wud be willing to play. i cant see how brock is starting. ronan sherlock isnt a left winger and besides he is out with a long term injury.

allab
29/10/2007, 1:31 AM
Surely fergal o'connell is the best left winger in town at the moment and wud be willing to play. i cant see how brock is starting. ronan sherlock isnt a left winger and besides he is out with a long term injury.

brock deserves his start on form prob the best in town at present on the left side

halo16
04/11/2007, 4:19 PM

where does he play so?he played left wing for the boro and for corbally before the boro.didnt know he was injured.was told myself by a corbally club member that o connell is good agains mediocre teams.your man told me that against teams like balla,pike,carew,and fairview that he just goes missing.imo he isnt half as good a winger as the 3 lads i mentioned earlier.thats just my opinion.your man said that hes a good centre forward playing off a target man cause hes quick but that he hasnt the workrate or fight for the wing.in response to allabs post i havent seen brock this season,only going on anytime i saw him last year.maybe you have a valid point in that brock is the form left sided player at the moment

abbeyvale
13/11/2007, 1:20 PM
Sunday 18th Nov 2007, 2pm Cappaquin
WW/EC v Limerick DL.

new leaf
13/11/2007, 2:05 PM

fergal is afraid of his life on the pitch. one tough tackle and he wont be seen again for the rest of the game. IMO Ronan Sherlock is easily the best left winger in town

abbeyvale
13/11/2007, 2:10 PM
fergal is afraid of his life on the pitch. one tough tackle and he wont be seen again for the rest of the game. IMO Ronan Sherlock is easily the best left winger in town

My vote for best left winger in the Prem would go to either Ronan Sherlock (Corbally) or Pa Barry (Star)

alwaysblue
13/11/2007, 2:11 PM
no shout for james o donnell of summerville at left full.i may be a little bias
and mark sheehan is fine player but james has been, imo, the best left full
in town for a few years...

are you serious? Most teams in town have better left fulls than o donnell.......pike, balla, regional, boro,corbally,fairview... the list goes on

see's it
13/11/2007, 8:04 PM
My vote for best left winger in the Prem would go to either Ronan Sherlock (Corbally) or Pa Barry (Star)

these two havent kicked a ball all season

dell hell
13/11/2007, 10:06 PM
are you serious? Most teams in town have better left fulls than o donnell.......pike, balla, regional, boro,corbally,fairview... the list goes on
your having a laugh anyway!! what you should do now is join a circus
cause that is absolutely hilarious..fair play.. hilarious

Goals4fun
14/11/2007, 12:38 AM
Sunday 18th Nov 2007, 2pm Cappaquin
WW/EC v Limerick DL.

is the squad the same? heard one or two players dropped off the squad.
where is cappaquin?

alwaysblue
14/11/2007, 8:48 AM
your having a laugh anyway!! what you should do now is join a circus
cause that is absolutely hilarious..fair play.. hilarious

whats the joke?????

abbeyvale
14/11/2007, 9:44 AM
these two havent kicked a ball all season

Both started the season very well for their clubs and got injured roughly around the same time (Ronan with his shoulder and Pa got an operation on his groin).

themerryman
14/11/2007, 11:29 AM

Cos their good :D

themerryman
14/11/2007, 11:30 AM
Both started the season very well for their clubs and got injured roughly around the same time (Ronan with his shoulder and Pa got an operation on his groin).

You seem to think Pa barry should be playing for man u , on all your previous
post regarding him Abbeyvale, i agree he is a handy player at times .

But thats about as far as it goes , i

bridgeceltic
14/11/2007, 11:33 AM
I'd love to see the Limerick Oscar Traynor team play Limerick37,It'd show more than likely theres little to absolutely no difference between them..I'd even punt on a Limerick Oscar traynor team win

Green Hoop Why dont you just come clean a tell everyone that you are Pa Winno of Carew Park and stop your **** talk...
Poxy is the only word you know talking about Poxy Yer lucky not to be not thrown out of Football...

Ye should leave the Decent player's ye have to move to other club's before they loose interest in Football full time...

abbeyvale
14/11/2007, 11:41 AM
You seem to think Pa barry should be playing for man u , on all your previous
post regarding him Abbeyvale, i agree he is a handy player at times .

But thats about as far as it goes , i

Listen, Ive played and trained on the same team now for the last 3-4 seasons with Pa Barry and the things that chap can do with a ball, Ive seen no other doing.

Ive also seen a lot of wingers playing junior football over the last few seasons and in my opinion Pa Barry is the best winger in town bar none.

He has been asked by more than two prem clubs this season to sign with them, so he must be doing something good.

By the way how many times have you watched him play in the past 12 months (while carrying an injury may I add).

themerryman
14/11/2007, 11:45 AM
only seen him a couple of times and he was not great by any means, but
as u said maybe it was hes injury

abbeyvale
14/11/2007, 11:49 AM
only seen him a couple of times and he was not great by any means, but
as u said maybe it was hes injury

My opinion is that he's a class act, so we'll leave it at that until you see him fully fit.

themerryman
14/11/2007, 11:50 AM
ill take your word for it ,best of luck in the fai

mulla
14/11/2007, 4:07 PM
Listen, Ive played and trained on the same team now for the last 3-4 seasons with Pa Barry and the things that chap can do with a ball, Ive seen no other doing.

Ive also seen a lot of wingers playing junior football over the last few seasons and in my opinion Pa Barry is the best winger in town bar none.

He has been asked by more than two prem clubs this season to sign with them, so he must be doing something good.

By the way how many times have you watched him play in the past 12 months (while carrying an injury may I add).

he's a very skillfull player alright but he's not the most consistent player i've seen,there are wingers in town maybe not as skillful as him but they are definetly more effective than him

Green_Hoop
14/11/2007, 11:09 PM
he's a very skillfull player alright but he's not the most consistent player i've seen,there are wingers in town maybe not as skillful as him but they are definetly more effective than him

I'd have Alan Finucane in there,not the greatest by any means,but does the small things right,is consistent and pops up for the odd goal in the important games.

Fairkop
14/11/2007, 11:10 PM
lads,both ronan and pa are fine players,but if their injured the OT manager would hardly consider them....any new players in the squad.

booster 03
15/11/2007, 8:18 PM
I'd have Alan Finucane in there,not the greatest by any means,but does the small things right,is consistent and pops up for the odd goal in the important games.

would you stop!!!

Monster
16/11/2007, 8:45 AM

Cop yourself on

Monster
16/11/2007, 8:49 AM

Paul harmon streets ahead of the rest in my opinion,agree with you Pa barry is very good on his day but can be inconsistent.

widow
16/11/2007, 2:14 PM
Played against Pa Barry a few times. Never did much to affect a game. If he wants to or has the interest in improving as a player he needs to get away from Star first of all. He has the potential to be a good player has the touches but there's a lot more to being a good player than good touches.

Super Rovers
16/11/2007, 3:11 PM
If he wants to or has the interest in improving as a player he needs to get away from Star first of all.

why? not all the best players around have to play with the so called better clubs. alot of good players in town are playing with the team they have always played with. its called loyalty widow.

having said that i have never seeing him play so cant really comment on his ability.

abbeyvale
16/11/2007, 3:14 PM
Played against Pa Barry a few times. Never did much to affect a game. If he wants to or has the interest in improving as a player he needs to get away from Star first of all. He has the potential to be a good player has the touches but there's a lot more to being a good player than good touches.

Widow, beleive it or not, not all players in town want to play with the so called best clubs!!!!

gaidin
16/11/2007, 3:58 PM
Paul harmon streets ahead of the rest in my opinion,agree with you Pa barry is very good on his day but can be inconsistent.

He was definitly one of the best in limerick before he left. Is he still as good as he was back then? If so I would have him ahead of most for the wing.

Unreal Madrid
18/11/2007, 11:49 PM
e.c.w.w 0 limerick d.l. 3.scorers A.barry and A.carroll.also missed a pen and had 2 goals disallowed.anyone know the team.

Mercurial Vapor
19/11/2007, 8:10 AM
e.c.w.w 0 limerick d.l. 3.scorers A.barry and A.carroll.also missed a pen and had 2 goals disallowed.anyone know the team.

Starting 11 was: Gilmartin, Enright, Sheehan, McGarry, Purcell, Burke, Hartnett, Carroll, Wong, Barry, Behan. Don't know the subs or who came on.

brutus
19/11/2007, 8:53 AM
Starting 11 was: Gilmartin, Enright, Sheehan, McGarry, Purcell, Burke, Hartnett, Carroll, Wong, Barry, Behan. Don't know the subs or who came on.

Is Davey wall not playing with the ot team.

summervilleman
19/11/2007, 9:55 AM
result anyone???

Mercurial Vapor
19/11/2007, 10:00 AM
Is Davey wall not playing with the ot team.

Apparently he was sick yesterday. He played up front with Alan Barry in the first game. I heard Leo Wong played very well yesterday, good to see players from outside the premier league been given a chance.

glendale
19/11/2007, 10:01 AM

subs - russell, boyle, mescall, o'donoghue, brock

boyle for burke
mescall for mcgarry
o'donoghue for hartnett