View Full Version : Strip Sagas

Sniffer
15/09/2007, 3:42 PM
I can't believe that within a couple of weeks of writing this (http://walkthechalk.blogspot.com/2007/08/back-to-basics.html) we have had at least two more embarassing strip episodes; it's so amateur!

15/09/2007, 4:53 PM
It gives amateurs a bad name. It would be embarishing if anyone paid attention to the league.

Sniffer
15/09/2007, 5:02 PM
If it is allowed to continue it will ultimately attract the wrong sort of attention.

Sonic
15/09/2007, 5:46 PM
I can't believe that within a couple of weeks of writing this (http://walkthechalk.blogspot.com/2007/08/back-to-basics.html) we have had at least two more embarassing strip episodes; it's so amateur!

Ah get the feck over it. It has happened on many an occasion in the premiersh1t. Its no big deal! Everything is turned into a negative. It was a mistake big deal it happens and anyway im pretty sure it was Anthony the "I dont have a clue how to referee a football game" Buttimer being fussy as usaul.

15/09/2007, 6:44 PM
Ah get the feck over it. It has happened on many an occasion in the premiersh1t
I'll bet it has never happened in the premiership. Peope at fault are Bohs for not bringing both kits. Not that hard to do. Buttimer may have been a fussy *****, but he's probably technically right

Celdrog
15/09/2007, 6:50 PM
but he's probably technically right
One of the few times this season so

bohs til i die
15/09/2007, 9:07 PM
I'll bet it has never happened in the premiership. Peope at fault are Bohs for not bringing both kits. Not that hard to do. Buttimer may have been a fussy *****, but he's probably technically right

AFAIK, We had an all white kit with blue trim and werent allowed to wear it. we had our home kit with us but the ref said it clashed with his black strip. The ref only had 1 black strip with him.

Waterford then produced a green and white hooped kit which we refused to wear and we ended up wearing Waterford's all white with blue trim away kit.

If the ref had more then 1 kit with him there wouldnt have been an issue.

Thats the situation as I know it from what i heard today

eelmonster
15/09/2007, 9:41 PM
I'll bet it has never happened in the premiership.

Liverpool were forced to wear their 'European' away kit in their recent game against Sunderland, that's the only comparable incident I can think of this season. If that's true about Buttmoan then he should serve a suspension or receive a fine.

kdjaC
15/09/2007, 9:46 PM
Liverpool were forced to wear their 'European' away kit in their recent game against Sunderland, that's the only comparable incident I can think of this season. If that's true about Buttmoan then he should serve a suspension or receive a fine.

Fact they had it with them kinda makes it a moot point.

kdjac

15/09/2007, 9:54 PM
Ah get the feck over it. It has happened on many an occasion in the premiersh1t..

I would be surprised if a Premiership team ever wore the jersey of their opponents. Having to change your jersey to your alternative strip happens all the time but that is a different situation.

I believe Bohs tried to wear a light blue away strip against Waterfords home blue strip. :rolleyes:

bohsmug
15/09/2007, 10:12 PM
I believe Bohs tried to wear a light blue away strip against Waterfords home blue strip. :rolleyes:

Where did you here that from?

eelmonster
15/09/2007, 10:17 PM
Fact they had it with them kinda makes it a moot point.

kdjac

Of course it's moot.

LukeO
16/09/2007, 12:09 AM
I would be surprised if a Premiership team ever wore the jersey of their opponents. Having to change your jersey to your alternative strip happens all the time but that is a different situation.

We don't have a light blue away strip. :rolleyes:

bohs til i die
16/09/2007, 7:57 AM

http://www.irishfootballonline.com/news_images/07/pats-bohs/brennan-crowe_big.jpg

This is our away strip

Sniffer
16/09/2007, 10:23 AM
Ah get the feck over it. It has happened on many an occasion in the premiersh1t. Its no big deal! Everything is turned into a negative. It was a mistake big deal it happens and anyway im pretty sure it was Anthony the "I dont have a clue how to referee a football game" Buttimer being fussy as usaul.

You make my argument for me.

B1977
16/09/2007, 10:23 AM
this happened in the premiership a few years back.Coventry city were involved- it resulted in the kit being covered in masking tape.

a few seasons back longford town forgot to bring their kit to a limerick match

16/09/2007, 11:43 AM
Where did you here that from?

I thought it was on Aertel but maybe I was mistaken.

16/09/2007, 12:12 PM
Are clubs fined for not bringing a wearable kit?

16/09/2007, 1:03 PM

Read the thread. We had both our kits with us.

neville neville
16/09/2007, 1:44 PM
this happened in the premiership a few years back.Coventry city were involved- it resulted in the kit being covered in masking tape.

a few seasons back longford town forgot to bring their kit to a limerick match

yep, i remember this, chelsea had to wear coventrys away strip.

i also remember in a Man united Vs Arsenal game Mark Bosnich had to get a loan of a jersey off a fan as his shirt clashed with arsenal kit

and probably Irelands finest win was delayed a few minutes when both ireland and Italy lined up in the tunnel in white, or so i read in someones autobiograpy

it happens, i'd blame the ref in this latest mess as there is no way the kits clashed

what was the bray and cork problem, must have missed that when i was away

blue til i die
16/09/2007, 5:04 PM

LIES,PURE LIES!!

16/09/2007, 5:13 PM
LIES,PURE LIES!!

:D:ball:

16/09/2007, 5:34 PM

Yeah? .... And? ...... So? ...... How is that related to my question?

16/09/2007, 5:50 PM
Yeah? .... And? ...... So? ...... How is that related to my question?
Bohs brought two wearable kits. Not their fault Buttimer is an eejit.

blue til i die
16/09/2007, 6:09 PM
but its not Buttimers fault Bohs only brought one kit!!:p

atfconline
16/09/2007, 6:15 PM
how does bohs home kit clash with waterfords then

It doesn't, it clashed with Buttimer's black top.

bohs til i die
16/09/2007, 6:28 PM
It doesn't, it clashed with Buttimer's black top.

If thats the case then the ref should have agreed to wear an optional jersey [Waterford white or one of the green and white hooped jersies]

bohs til i die
16/09/2007, 6:29 PM

We did bring a wearable kit. I have seen numerous games this season with a ref wearing black when we wear red and black.

blue til i die
16/09/2007, 6:32 PM
i was there when all this was going on,and it was the clash between the two teams jerseys that was the trouble,not the ref,but i'm sure Buttimer will come up with a new reason anyway,so he wont get any blame.

bohs til i die
16/09/2007, 6:37 PM
i was there when all this was going on,and it was the clash between the two teams jerseys that was the trouble,not the ref,but i'm sure Buttimer will come up with a new reason anyway,so he wont get any blame.

This video is from Waterford v Bohs earlier in the season. I fail to see how either Bohs kit clashes with Waterford's home kit.

w2ExO5AQeB8

16/09/2007, 6:44 PM
This video is from Waterford v Bohs earlier in the season. I fail to see how either Bohs kit clashes with Waterford's home kit.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w2ExO5AQeB8

Jaysis, who scored :eek: :confused:

blue til i die
16/09/2007, 6:58 PM
i still dont understand what was wrong with our blue home one,with Bohs wearing their white away one,strange decision by Buttimer in the first place. Cronin didnt help the situation though!

LukeO
16/09/2007, 7:03 PM
What did Cronin do?

16/09/2007, 9:27 PM
We did bring a wearable kit. I have seen numerous games this season with a ref wearing black when we wear red and black.

I have no doubt that ye did, and for the record i think the ref is at fault here. I am not saying Bohs should incur a fine .... i am just asking if away teams get fined for not have a second kit (which wouldn't apply in this case for Bohs as they DID have a second kit) ..... its the ruling i am asking about, and its impact if broken.

I totally agree that it is amature that this happens when its something that could be rectified so easily. The logical solution is for the ref to have three shirts, black yellow and red (with the away team having a second as a given)

How can this actually happen though. Do you just contact the FAI and ask them to implement a rule change along the lines of "all refs should have the three kits for every match?."

I doubt that would actually work, given the reception that some of the correspondence to the FAI gets. I sincerely question does anyone there actually care about a situation like this as it does not directly impact on them. If it were something that was some what of a thorn in the side for them then they would act immediately, any other situation a ruling would be completely protracted.

Should fans contact their eL reps and ask them to put it forward, would this even expedite the situation? Would it do anything to even help it?

Copa Mundial
17/09/2007, 8:17 AM
Good morning people.

For the record Mr. Buttimer had 3 kit colours with him (Black, Blue and Yellow). They are the 3 colours Umbro supply the Eircom League of Ireland match officials with. All match officials have these 3 colours at every game!

Also for the record, Bohemians FC did not have their home kit (Black & Red) with them. They only had one kit which was white jerseys with navy/blue sleeves, white shorts and white socks.
Waterford wore their home kit of blue jerseys, shorts and socks. The problem on the night was the afore mentioned navy/blue sleeves on Bohemians jerseys. Under lights this poses a problem. Picture the potential scenario; at a corner kick 20 players are in the penalty area, the ball is swung in and arms are up in the air. In a barrage of players one of them deliberately raises his arm to punch it away (not the goalkeeper). The point i am making is that the jerseys must be completely different in accordance with the laws of the game. Blue sleeves on one set of jerseys and navy/blue sleeves on the other was a compromising position and the referee was correct in his decision.

Waterford offered Bohemians their away strip of all white jerseys which Bohemians to their credit agreed to wear. Then the gamesmanship began when waterford apparently withdrew their offer of loaning Bohs their white away jersey and instead offered a green & white hooped shirt which Bohs refused to wear. After kick off time had come and gone Waterford then agreed to loan Bohs their white shirts. If this is correct and i have no reason to believe its not, then i think everyone will agree that this was very childish behaviour from professional adults and all being correct, the incident could have completely been avoided.

Some people may think the referee was fussy on the night but he was technically correct. This is a problem which is creeping into the domestic game where kit manufacturers, clubs and administrators are turning a blind eye to the fact that many kits are clashing and it is in contravention to the laws of the game.
Now that it has been highlighted twice in as many weeks should signify that it is a problem that needs to be addressed asap.

The real question here should be why one club only had one kit with them when they are required to have 2. It this day and age of professional football it portrays a very unprofessional image. I am not looking for fines or anything like that, all i am saying is that Clubs need to think as professionals. It does not do anything to enhance the image of the league when incidents as amateurish as this raise their heads.

If match officials can be professional enough to turn up with 3 different kit colours then surely clubs can arrive with the required 2.

This is not meant to open a debate on refereeing or anything like that, it is just to make people aware of the facts as people seem to be speculating and others are ill informed. Now that people are aware of the facts they can give a more educated opinion to events if they wish.:ball:

17/09/2007, 8:27 AM
A couple of seasons ago Dublin City had to borrow our away kit when they
played in Mels. Unfortunately they ripped the necks on all the jerseys!

17/09/2007, 12:17 PM
God, lads, it's only a small issue that had little bearing on the game. Keep your shirts on!

I believe that my coat is over there:o

Erstwhile Bóz
17/09/2007, 12:19 PM
Good morning people.

For the record Mr. Buttimer had 3 kit colours with him (Black, Blue and Yellow). They are the 3 colours Umbro supply the Eircom League of Ireland match officials with. All match officials have these 3 colours at every game!

Also for the record, Bohemians FC did not have their home kit (Black & Red) with them. They only had one kit which was white jerseys with navy/blue sleeves, white shorts and white socks.
Waterford wore their home kit of blue jerseys, shorts and socks. The problem on the night was the afore mentioned navy/blue sleeves on Bohemians jerseys. Under lights this poses a problem. Picture the potential scenario; at a corner kick 20 players are in the penalty area, the ball is swung in and arms are up in the air. In a barrage of players one of them deliberately raises his arm to punch it away (not the goalkeeper). The point i am making is that the jerseys must be completely different in accordance with the laws of the game. Blue sleeves on one set of jerseys and navy/blue sleeves on the other was a compromising position and the referee was correct in his decision.

Waterford offered Bohemians their away strip of all white jerseys which Bohemians to their credit agreed to wear. Then the gamesmanship began when waterford apparently withdrew their offer of loaning Bohs their white away jersey and instead offered a green & white hooped shirt which Bohs refused to wear. After kick off time had come and gone Waterford then agreed to loan Bohs their white shirts. If this is correct and i have no reason to believe its not, then i think everyone will agree that this was very childish behaviour from professional adults and all being correct, the incident could have completely been avoided.

Some people may think the referee was fussy on the night but he was technically correct. This is a problem which is creeping into the domestic game where kit manufacturers, clubs and administrators are turning a blind eye to the fact that many kits are clashing and it is in contravention to the laws of the game.
Now that it has been highlighted twice in as many weeks should signify that it is a problem that needs to be addressed asap.

The real question here should be why one club only had one kit with them when they are required to have 2. It this day and age of professional football it portrays a very unprofessional image. I am not looking for fines or anything like that, all i am saying is that Clubs need to think as professionals. It does not do anything to enhance the image of the league when incidents as amateurish as this raise their heads.

If match officials can be professional enough to turn up with 3 different kit colours then surely clubs can arrive with the required 2.

This is not meant to open a debate on refereeing or anything like that, it is just to make people aware of the facts as people seem to be speculating and others are ill informed. Now that people are aware of the facts they can give a more educated opinion to events if they wish.:ball:
Very interesting indeed. Any information/facts on why a club who played in their home kit in the corresponding (away) tie earlier this season 'decided' to bring their away strip this time?

17/09/2007, 12:25 PM

Bohs were at fault - Not have the kit
Waterford were at fault - Schoolboy stupidity in the extreme

Dublin City ripping shirts they had borrowed??? :eek:

17/09/2007, 5:06 PM
Bohs were at fault - Not have the kit
Apparantly they were told by Buttimer in advance not to bring their home kit, and to bring their away kit, as it clashed with Waterford's home kit under the floodlights.

17/09/2007, 5:41 PM
Apparently they were told by Buttimer in advance not to bring their home kit, and to bring their away kit, as it clashed with Waterford's home kit under the floodlights.

I dunno if that is common practice, to sort things out like that prior to a game. I would have thought that it would be a very shoddy way to do things, eliminating the options before you even get inside the county where the game is to take place.

If the ref gave the go ahead for that then he is completely culpable for this, and if this actually was the case then there is no grey area, its black and white .... the guy that is meant to adjudicate and control all aspects of the game got it completely wrong on the day.

Which brings it back to the question, how can you bring about change for this? Is the ref even answerable in this case? When is the next time this will happen and will anything have been learnt for the last time?

Sniffer
17/09/2007, 6:12 PM
It is so simple as to beggar belief. Ref does and should have the final say. All the men in black - yellow - red should have a list detailing club kits for the season with avatar type images. He advises both clubs as to what kits to wear (home team to take precedence of course); he selects a suitable outfit for himself and everybody turns up for the costume ball in their appointed garb. Any changes to kits in mid-season must be forwarded to the aforementioned men in black - yellow - red. I think they used to call it communication.

atfconline
17/09/2007, 6:24 PM

Yes. Our away gear at the time which had a tight round neck - slit each one of them.

17/09/2007, 6:45 PM
Yes. Our away gear at the time which had a tight round neck - slit each one of them.

Did they even ask before doing so? :eek:

I have heard of pushing the boat out but they sailed this one away imo, they replaced the kit i take it, i mean they have to have replaced the kit, please say this is the case?

18/09/2007, 7:55 AM
Did they even ask before doing so? :eek:

I have heard of pushing the boat out but they sailed this one away imo, they replaced the kit i take it, i mean they have to have replaced the kit, please say this is the case?

Dont think they asked but they didnt replace it either.
We played on with it for the rest of the season.

18/09/2007, 8:15 AM
Dont think they asked but they didnt replace it either.
We played on with it for the rest of the season.

You couldn't make this stuff up :eek::mad:

18/09/2007, 8:30 AM

I demand that Dublin City are re-instated to the league, and then thrown out again as punishment for this classless act of criminal damage.

They should also be severely warned as to their future behaviour.

Copa Mundial
18/09/2007, 11:28 AM
Apparantly they were told by Buttimer in advance not to bring their home kit, and to bring their away kit, as it clashed with Waterford's home kit under the floodlights.

Absolute utter nonsense! You would seriously consider where you get your information. I can categorically tell you now that the above statement is untrue. Are you telling me that you believe that Mr. Buttimer contavcted Bohemians FC and told them that they were not to bring a specific or any kit to a game?

Copa Mundial
18/09/2007, 11:48 AM
I dunno if that is common practice, to sort things out like that prior to a game. I would have thought that it would be a very shoddy way to do things, eliminating the options before you even get inside the county where the game is to take place.

If the ref gave the go ahead for that then he is completely culpable for this, and if this actually was the case then there is no grey area, its black and white .... the guy that is meant to adjudicate and control all aspects of the game got it completely wrong on the day.

Which brings it back to the question, how can you bring about change for this? Is the ref even answerable in this case? When is the next time this will happen and will anything have been learnt for the last time?

A face, i can tell you that it did not happen. You are totally correct, it is not common practice. No referee in the league would contact a club to tell them what to and what not to wear. In fact no referee would contact a club directly for anything.

If the need arose for some strange reason that a match official needed to contact a club they would do so through the league office.

Officials turn up at a ground for a game. More often than not both sets of kits are placed in the refs room prior to him/her arriving. Obviously both sets of jersys cannot clash and that includes the sleeves if they are fuuly the same colour. The 2 sets of shorts can be the same colour if needs be but the socks must be different for both clubs.
The goalkeepers shirt must not clash with the opposition's shirts and that includes the sleeves if they are fully the same colour. The goalkeeper and outfield players shirts must also not clash with the ref. In a worst case scenario both goalkeepers can wear the same colour but that is only as a last resort.
That is how the kits are compared and agreed on. The referee will then decide to wear whatever colour does not clash with the outfield players and goalkeepers.

As i have stated in my first post, one club brought 1 strip when they should have brought a second. The second club engaged in a little bit of gamesmanship with the 'hooped' strip and a little bit of unprofessionalism ensued which should have been avoided. The referee did his job in accordance with the laws of the game. Those are the facts.

Everything else is idle speculation.

Now can we put an end to this debate and hope that clubs and officials conduct their business professionally from now on.:ball:

18/09/2007, 12:23 PM
Now can we put an end to this debate and hope that clubs and officials conduct their business professionally from now on.:ball:

You don't visit this site, or watch eL much, do you?:p