View Full Version : Strip Sagas

Pages : 1 [2] 3

btid1
18/09/2007, 1:45 PM
Now can we put an end to this debate and hope that clubs and officials conduct their business professionally from now on.:ball:

Now if only that was the case.....................step forward Alan Kelly!!

18/09/2007, 2:55 PM
.............step forward Alan Kelly!!I think he already did ;) :D

Bunny Kelly
22/09/2007, 5:03 PM
Same thing is after happening in France tonight, Marseille had to play in Auxerre's training jerseys. Well if its good enough for a CL team...........

clubman
22/09/2007, 11:37 PM
I see the buck stops with the FAI. Prior to the kick-off to a new season each club have to inform the FAI of both their home and away strips. Most clubs operate on a voluntary basis, ie people working for the club for free. The FAI are a 'professional run operation' and they should be in a position to prevent strip clashes etc. Let's face it - what else do they spend their time at?

stann
24/09/2007, 1:22 PM
Bohs were at fault - Not have the kit
Waterford were at fault - Schoolboy stupidity in the extreme

Look, I relayed this before, but here goes again.
It is immaterial (see what I did there) how many shirts Mr. Buttimer had with him, Bohs were told, by the League, & rightly or wrongly, not to wear their home kit because of a potential clash, in the floodlights, with Waterford's strip. Was it then their fault for not bringing it? You seem to think so.
(If it was with the referee that the clash was supposed to have been, he could have just donned his yellow jersey and problem solved. Therefore it wasn't. Also it was League officials and not the referee that contacted Bohs initially, don't know where someone got that from.)

The ref then decided that the blue sleeves would cause too much of a clash in goalmouth melees and the like, so nixed Bohs' away strip as well. This, unlike the first decision, has a basis in sense.

Waterford did not offer and then take back the white kit. That is a scurrilous comment. :D As I understand events Bohs rejected the kit initially, probably as it was some kind of training kit, then when faced with the only alternative which was the green and white hoops of Villa FC, they accepted the white kit.

Waterford were not at fault in any way in this, but when did the facts ever get in the way of a good healthy bias, eh face?

Erstwhile Bóz
24/09/2007, 1:27 PM
I propose that stann wrassle Copa Mundial on webcam for the title of "Provider of THE FACTS".

stann
24/09/2007, 4:01 PM

Nah Copa Mondial has almost the same story I have, just a tad misguided about the offer of the replacement shirts. ;)
I also at this point will add a bit of pure speculation that another reason the Bohs management initially baulked at wearing the 3rd kit might be that they were a bit peeved about following the advice they got in good faith, only to find out that things were still not right on the night. I'd be inclined to dig me feet in a bit in those circumstances too.

25/09/2007, 9:56 AM
How about these jerseys (http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44133000/jpg/_44133591_kitgall.jpg) from the Rugby World Cup. Referee must be colour blind to see a difference. Was amazing they did not change jerseys at halftime either.

fbtn
25/09/2007, 10:33 AM
Dublin City ripping shirts they had borrowed???

When we played Derry in the cup this year, our socks clashed as both were white. Derry had to borrow our U21s, which were dark navy.

I was in Finn Park the morning after the game, and whatever socks the Derry players couldn't tie to the pipes running into the showers in the away dressing room they cut into shreds with a pair of scissors that were laying around.

Bad, bad form from a crowd of full-time professionals.

25/09/2007, 3:54 PM
Maybe they didn't want to get fined for wearing the wrong socks so they tried to get rid of them :D

SunderlandBohs
26/09/2007, 9:40 AM
Don't we have a yellow 3rd kit? We wore it against Kildare County during pre-season. Could we have not brought that with us? Surely in this day & age teams should have a 3rd strip! Notice that in France at the weekend in the game Auxerre v Marseille. Brown & pink. Talk about giving the away team a disadvantage.

28/09/2007, 6:15 PM
Another game nearly called off.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/News/070929_Keepers.html

monutdfc
28/09/2007, 7:03 PM
Shelbourne wear red, Dundalk wear white, how did blue, black or yellow clash with either??

sfc red
29/09/2007, 2:44 AM

:eek::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Boo_Boy
29/09/2007, 2:49 AM

:eek::rolleyes:

where other than the Eircom League would this happen?:rolleyes:

sonofstan
29/09/2007, 3:53 AM
Buttimer again - he seems to enjoy this

see's it
29/09/2007, 7:43 AM
his got a thing for clowns...........

29/09/2007, 9:22 AM
That is unreal.

Seriously, I've watched games under floodlights and have never noticed a problem telling blue from red and black, or white from grey. I can only assume the ref has a similar view. Is he colour blind or something?!

Slightly off topic (still FAI bashing though), the FAI put out our game as an 8pm kick off last night. Think it was in all the papers before we realised what they'd done (obviously). Club had to frantically ring Aertel and other places that could change it.

Brand new league, eh?

Guitd
29/09/2007, 9:38 AM
where other than the Eircom League would this happen?:rolleyes:

the very same thing happened in galway 2 weeks ago with the same ref galway had 4 different colour keeper jerseys grey yellow 2 blue and garry rodgers enden up wearing a dark blue t-shirt over one of them with a number 1 made of tape stuck on its back last night both teams had to wear away gear as kelly said galways maroon clashed with pats dark blue

Flexy
29/09/2007, 9:41 AM
Shelbourne wear red, Dundalk wear white, how did blue, black or yellow clash with either??
Lets getting these idiots out of our game before they destroy it. I was at the derry pats match recently in Derry, the referee was making the decisions for the assistants by telling him which way to flag. If he wasn't he must have a severe turn in his neck because every time the ball went out he was the one that made the decision. I just think they want the attention all the time. As the previous message states Dundalk play in white shels in red how does the keeper jerseys class.

fbtn
29/09/2007, 9:57 AM
Fcuking idiots.

29/09/2007, 10:02 AM
Easy Solution, Body Paint. No more Jerseys. Just have loads of different colurs of Body paint at the ready.

Theskinloyal
29/09/2007, 10:36 AM
Is this kind of thing that nearly makes you want to cry.....

29/09/2007, 10:44 AM
Is this kind of thing that nearly makes you want to cry.....

Wouldn't go watching Bambi anytime soon if I were you so, who could say how badly you'd react

Seriously this Dundalk thing is yet another shambles that will have people laughing at this league

see's it
29/09/2007, 10:50 AM
whats with the sticky tape its not an outfield player is ever going to wear number 1

29/09/2007, 10:56 AM
Ossie Ardiles, anyone?

Pedantry though; you're probably right. Unless it's a requirement to have a number.

see's it
29/09/2007, 10:58 AM
ossie?

29/09/2007, 11:01 AM
Wore number 1 in the 1978 World Cup. Squad numbers were done on alphabetical order.

see's it
29/09/2007, 11:14 AM
i was only a young fella then action man was my number 1....

CharlesThompson
29/09/2007, 11:16 AM
Easy Solution, Body Paint. No more Jerseys. Just have loads of different colurs of Body paint at the ready.

Easier solution. Tell Buttimer he's not refereeing any more matches until he gets himself a big can of "Fücking Cop On". This is obviously some sort of weird fetish he has developed over the last season or so and to be honest - not that the eL or FAI need it - he is single handedly making our league a laughing stock. Between the Gary Rogers situation, four goalkeepers jerseys in Dundalk and Bohs white jerseys clashing with Waterfords Blue jerseys it is an absolute joke at this stage.

I wonder what this idiot os trying to prove at this stage? :confused:

WoodquayBoy
29/09/2007, 11:21 AM
Pats wore their dark blue strip last night. The subs for both teams wore navy tops. The subs went warming up, as usual, down the touchline. Buttimer was fourth official. And he didn't have a problem with that. The man is a clown, complaining about a clash of colours when there isn't one, but then failing to spot a blatant clash at other times. I have seen officials before demand subs wear bibs or something when warming up as the tracksuit tops clashed with the jerseys, and last night was such a case, but he didn't bat an eyelid. Prat

Tis-smeee
29/09/2007, 12:33 PM
FFS Only in our league

trevy
29/09/2007, 12:48 PM
Anthony Buttimer is a fool and I agree he should be banned from referreing or being 4th official for a while.Referees should concentrate on getting their decisions right on the pitch.On the day after the Waterford v Bohs shirts debacle Tottenham in all white played Arsenal with red shirts and white sleeves and white shorts and no-one batted an eyelid.

29/09/2007, 12:51 PM
An article critical of the FAI on an official club website?

The fine is in the post lads!

29/09/2007, 3:14 PM
What a whingy little..... What is up with this chap?

Tir Oilean
29/09/2007, 4:13 PM
He is clearly colour blind FFS this is getting fcukin ridiculous. Dundallk v Shels, Galway v Pats and Bray v Cork a few weeks ago he's a fcukin Langer

there obviously arent enough colours in the rainbow for the refs and the fai, Tossers.

30/09/2007, 8:11 AM
When I was a kid I wanted to be a keeper , so keeper's shirts etc have been of interest to me .
This problem is what has happened when goalkeepers stopped wearing traditional colour shirts. Goalkeepers because they were allowed handle the ball and others were not were permitted to wear a different colour shirts at the turn of the 20th Century.
Back in the day ( 1950's and 60's) almost all goalkeepers wore either green or yellow.
In the League of Ireland in the 1970's Shelbourne keepers wore black shirts with a red stripe down the sleeves to avoid clashing with referees. Peter Shilton , when he was with Leicester started the trend in these islands when in the same season he wore, green, white, blue and red goalkeeper jerseys in the one season, depending on what team Leicester were playing against.
He had his own range of GK shirts, which he was trying to sell , you see. In continental Europe club keepers wore black mainly. International keepers wore a variety, yellow, grey( Italy) and sky blue( Sepp Maier for Germany who wore black for a while at both international and club level). On Friday at Belfield the keeper's wore the traditional yellow ( Waterford) and Green ( UCD) complete with black trimmings. No bother no fuss.
Referees now have other options no longer confined to black, refs can wear red and yellow depending on what colours the teams may be wearing and most keepers bring a variety of referee shirts when officiating at a game to avoid clashing.

30/09/2007, 2:02 PM
marseille had wear auxerre's away jersey when they played em last week. not exclusively an eircom league problem so.

30/09/2007, 2:29 PM
At my match today in the Wicklow league, the ref changed his top at half time from a black one to a yellow one. My team were wearing a navy and blue jersey while the other team were wearing a white and red one. :confused:

30/09/2007, 3:59 PM
Bad, bad form from a crowd of full-time professionals.

Totally agree, not on.

I heard that the refs are being very strict on it as teams are lining out not in the colours that they submitted to the League.

For example Harps, in their submitted information, claimed that their socks were blue. However they claimed prior to the Cup game that they were white.

Erstwhile Bóz
30/09/2007, 4:44 PM

Mister Buttimer again? What an odd fact.

Paddyfield
30/09/2007, 7:04 PM
St Pat's wore their navy away kit in Terryland last Friday. Unfortunately, it also clashes with Galway United's maroon so the home team changed to their away kit which is white. :confused:

Kildare Lad
30/09/2007, 7:11 PM
Were the keepers jerseys black superfrank?

eelmonster
30/09/2007, 7:17 PM
Mister Buttimer again? What an odd fact.

Gill's wrong, only one man on the field looked like a clown. Buttimer is an árse.

01/10/2007, 8:57 AM
Were the keepers jerseys black superfrank?
Ah........

Our keeper was wearing one of those Barthez France jerseys. It's a mix of black and grey.

Copa Mundial
01/10/2007, 11:53 AM
St Pat's wore their navy away kit in Terryland last Friday. Unfortunately, it also clashes with Galway United's maroon so the home team changed to their away kit which is white. :confused:

From what i can remember isnt Pat's away strip 'Barcelona' stripped down the front hence the 'Patscelona' slogan?

Maybe the 'Patscelona' stripes clashed and not the navy?

01/10/2007, 12:45 PM
Yeah we wore the Patselona kit. Funny thing was that we wore our red kit in the first game in Terryland. Pats brought both kits with us and the ref told us to wear the away this time

01/10/2007, 1:07 PM
Lets getting these idiots out of our game before they destroy it. I was at the derry pats match recently in Derry, the referee was making the decisions for the assistants by telling him which way to flag. If he wasn't he must have a severe turn in his neck because every time the ball went out he was the one that made the decision.

That's standard match instructions in all leagues across the world.

So yeah, we can discount that rant

Louth4sam
01/10/2007, 1:16 PM
That's standard match instructions in all leagues across the world.

So yeah, we can discount that rant

Why discount, it is that not what linesmen are for? If the ball goes out for a throw is the linesman not supposed to indicate who's throw it is, rather then look at the referee and see which way he is awarding it?

01/10/2007, 1:18 PM
Why discount, it is that not what linesmen are for? If the ball goes out for a throw is the linesman not supposed to indicate who's throw it is, rather then look at the referee and see which way he is awarding it?

Only when it's in his quarter of the field of play.

If it's around half way or in the other half of the field of play then the referee leads.

I wish to God some people here would sit down and read a copy of the Laws of the Game before going off on one...

(and anyone who posts a reply saying why don't the League officials read the Laws is a bigger retard than I first thought)