View Full Version : John Delaney
Noelys Guitar
14/09/2007, 12:11 PM
How can the FAI be held responsible for Shels and Dublin City? Should the responsibility not have been on the clubs themselves? Shels lived beyond their means and took a big gamble on making the European breakthrough. It backfired. You don't hear many people in England taking a pop at the FA over Leeds United. You don't see the head of the Spanish FA being held accountable because Real Madrid overspent by tens of millions and had to be bailed out by the government. That's because they dug their own hole like Shels. When the FAI had to take action they did and relegated Shels this season. It was something most people here said they were too spineless to do.
Dublin City was unsustainable due to their lack of infrastructure and support. That isn't the FAI's fault. Perhaps they shouldn't have been given a license to play last season but is that exclusively the fault of the FAI? What about the eircom League. Again, I'm only asking coz I'm not all that familiar with the process. In England clubs go into administration all the time (and occasionally fold) but the head of the FA is not held accountable, because it is seen primarily as the club's responsibility to ensure that they are sustainable.
Look at Longford this season. The FAI have potentially saved them with the firm but fair way that they have dealt with them. They deducted them 6 points and warned them that they'd be out if they didn't sort themselves out. Longford seem to have gotten the message.
They licensing process is new and, like anything new, surely there will be teething problems. The situation now is surely better than it was 5-10 years ago?
In net terms are they putting more money in than before? If so, at least it shows a commitment to investing in the game. If what you say is true, and I have no doubt that it is, then I believe, like you, that they could distribute it better. Has anyone asked the FAI for the reasons they have chosen to divide the money up like this and if so what was the reply?
I know little of the Genesis report to be honest. What goal do you think Delaney may have had in mind? Did he implement its recommendations or not (someone else said he didn't on this thread)? What could and should have been done differently?
Not really. He hired the wrong man and gave him too long of a contract. Fair enough. Maybe he saw van Basten and Klinsmann and thought Stan the Plank could do something similar. He said he'd deliver a 'world class' manager and clearly didn't.
But who was the alternative? Dalglish, Venables, Kerr, Aldridge, Stapleton, Burley? All has beens or never weres and they were the names bandied about at the time. They probably all would have done better than than Stan but would hardly have been world class either.
If he sacks Stan now, who comes in? It costs the FAI a million to pay Stan off and then fork out another big(ger) wage to get a new man in (coz the new man couldn't be a 'rinky dink' manager.) Then there is no guarantee that the new man will get us to the World Cup. So the FAI would be forking out millions to be essentially in the same position. Would that be responsible use of the Association's funds?
If that was true and could be proven then yes there is a case to answer.
I'm not trying to say John Delaney is some sort of great fella or anything. Obviously he isn't but people are just looking for a pound of flesh here. How would the game here improve if Delaney resigned? If things are that bad, then is it not the structure of the FAI that needs changing. From what I understand, they have made massive changes in the last twelve months, and these things need time to bed in.
Same line as the FAI then. Transition phases and "bedding in". A Half empty Croker against Cyprus will put an end to the "bedding in" and the fella as you call him will throw Stan under the bus (or train). The "fella" wobbled when interviewed outside of the Mansion house before the Wales game. Asked if Stan would keep his job if Ireland lost that game he demured. Which teams do you support by the way?
fergalr
14/09/2007, 12:59 PM
Barney is an interesting poster and dogged in in support of Delaney.
Fair dues to him as he seems to be very well informed about all aspects of the local game, except for one glaring omission:
I know little of the Genesis report to be honest
How come? Given your interest and knowledge of the game how is it that you never bothered to read the report?
14/09/2007, 1:19 PM
How can the FAI be held responsible for Shels and Dublin City? Should the responsibility not have been on the clubs themselves?
It should, but UEFA Licencing was also brought in to force clubs to get their houses in order. The FAI ignored it and allowed the two clubs to trade recklessly. They flouted their own rules because they couldn't have been bothered to implement them. The FAI were in control of Licencing, so the buck there stops with Delaney.
Look at Longford this season. The FAI have potentially saved them with the firm but fair way that they have dealt with them. They deducted them 6 points and warned them that they'd be out if they didn't sort themselves out. Longford seem to have gotten the message.
How do you know Longford have gotten the message? What have they done since to convince you of that? Have they sold their costlier players to cut back on wages? No they haven't. From the outside, they look like they've done nothing, and I don't see how you can claim otherwise.
Again, another situation which should have been nipped in the bud by the FAI a long time ago.
They licensing process is new and, like anything new, surely there will be teething problems.
Showing your ignorance here. It's five years old.
The situation now is surely better than it was 5-10 years ago?
You show me a club ten years ago with combined losses of two million. There's at least three today. Improvement?
In net terms are they putting more money in than before?
Spin worthy of Delaney himself. The FAI are actively encouraging an unbalanced league, benefitting six clubs at the expense of the other 16. Not good management.
Did he implement its recommendations or not (someone else said he didn't on this thread)?
He did. Its recommendations were nonsense, is the problem. You'll have to ask Delaney what his motives were.
Not really. He hired the wrong man and gave him too long of a contract. Maybe he saw van Basten and Klinsmann and thought Stan the Plank could do something similar.
Oh come on.
Your alternatives at least have experience.
Would that be responsible use of the Association's funds?
So what you're saying is Delaney didn't allow himself an exit clause? That he committed to either havnig an untried manager for four years, or else run up a huge cost in getting rid of him? Not very good management, don't you think?
If that was true and could be proven then yes there is a case to answer.
It's true. I and many other posters here were involved.
14/09/2007, 1:33 PM
I dont think Barney is supporting Delaney.
AFAIA the decisions about Irish football should be made by a board and fair enough they should hire a backstabbing cúnt like Delaney to execute those decisions, a man who can kick ass and pull off stroke after stroke on behalf of Irish football.
Now the tail is wagging the dog. How does he do it? blackmail? spineless board members?
He knows feck all about managing a football team yet he thinks he can decide on who should be managing. Sooner or later he will dig a big enough hole for himself but will there be anybody left in the FAI with the balls to stick the knife in him.
Regardless of how Kerr did as a manager he gave a good impression that he could do the job, no one goes around hanging the guy who did the interviews (even if he was a norn iron fekker).
14/09/2007, 2:01 PM
Some of my feelings about John Delaney are summed up in this:
http://www.stigonline.com/misc/deathmatch/deathmatch59.htm
That just scratches the surface though.
barney
14/09/2007, 11:10 PM
Jesus man. Go back and read old posts on the Shels debacle and Dublin City. The world and his wife knew it was going to end in tears but the Son Of Joe refused to take action and continued to support these clubs. He should have resigned then for incompetence. :mad:
What should Son of Joe have done. In real terms explain to me how he personally, or the FAI, was at fault.
Dublin City was clearly unsustainable.
It should, but UEFA Licencing was also brought in to force clubs to get their houses in order. The FAI ignored it and allowed the two clubs to trade recklessly. They flouted their own rules because they couldn't have been bothered to implement them. The FAI were in control of Licencing, so the buck there stops with Delaney.
What could and should they have done differently? Also why are we the only nation looking to hold one man responsible for the bad management of other clubs. No one even attenpted to point the finger at Adam Crozier when Leeds went tits up. No-one pointed the finger at the Spansh FA when Madrid reckelssly spent. Is it that this country is full of small time attitudes where we want a head on a plate for everything that goes wrong?
Also aren't they attempting to introduce a rule that says that only 65% of your turnover can be spent on wages to avoid this sort of thing happening again? The fact that this is close to impossible to implement illustrates that surely the clubs have to take greater responsibility.
How do you know Longford have gotten the message? What have they done since to convince you of that? Have they sold their costlier players to cut back on wages? No they haven't. From the outside, they look like they've done nothing, and I don't see how you can claim otherwise.
I'm just making an educated guess. The FAI deducted them six points and told them to have their house in order by the end of May. They didn't take any further action at that point. The FAI showed with Shels that they weren't afraid to get tough with clubs. They fired a strong warning shot to Longford as well. Alan Matthews hasn't walked away so I've got to assume that they are paying wages. I know a former player and was talking to him in May and he said that he EXPECTED to be paid money that was outstanding to him by the end of the month and was given a guarantee it would be.
Showing your ignorance here. It's five years old.
Fair enough, I've already said I'm not 100% familiar with it. But while the proces seems to have failed the first test, isn't it possible that the FAI will learn their lesson? Isn't it possible they've done so already? In any business, processes take time to start working, you don't just dump them if they fail the first test.
You show me a club ten years ago with combined losses of two million. There's at least three today. Improvement?
Which clubs? And when you say losses are they unsustainable losses? Again, to take the English example, Man U are over 600 million in debt and reportedly paying 100million interest per year. No one there is pointing the finger at the FA.
Spin worthy of Delaney himself. The FAI are actively encouraging an unbalanced league, benefitting six clubs at the expense of the other 16. Not good management.
I've already said that I agree with you that it looks unbalanced. Has anyone asked the FAI what the thinking is behind it? Seldom does something that looks so obviously bereft of sense contain no logic at all. I'd be interested to hear what they say. Has anyone asked them, and if so, what did they say? It is in no ones interest to have just six clubs, least of all the FAI.
He did. Its recommendations were nonsense, is the problem. You'll have to ask Delaney what his motives were.
Who was responsible for actually commissioning the report?
Which recommendations were nonsense? If you have a link, a bit more extensive than the last one, or if you could give me a synopsis, I'd be grateful.
Sorry, I thought you were inferring that there was some obvious hidden agenda.
Oh come on.
Your alternatives at least have experience.
That's not my point. My point was that he promised a world class manager and couldn't deliver one. His list of alternatives, in all likelihood, would not have fared much better than Stan. He couldn't deliver on his promise. Should that mean he gets the bullet?
In real terms, if John Delaney was not head of the FAI in 2005, would we have gotten a world class manager? The answer is plainly no. Therefore I don't think he should perish on the basis of appointing Stan. I do think he got a lot wrong with the appointment (the length of the contract being the most glaring) but you also have to remember that he didn't make the decision on his own. If he did then the Association needs restructuring.
Also on the Waterford thing, your inference was that he was solely responsible for their current status. I don't know if he was a director at the time they got the 250K but even if he was, Waterford fans that I know will tell you that it was another (reasonably well known) man that blew most of it. If Delaney was part of a board, that hardly makes him solely responsible. Also, Waterford have hardly covered themselves in glory with the running of the club since Delaney departed.
To be honest, I am not a John Delaney fan. I just think that there is no purpose to be served by getting rid of him. Will everything get better if he goes?
15/09/2007, 12:07 PM
In real terms, if John Delaney was not head of the FAI in 2005, would we have gotten a world class manager? The answer is plainly no. Therefore I don't think he should perish on the basis of appointing Stan. I do think he got a lot wrong with the appointment (the length of the contract being the most glaring) but you also have to remember that he didn't make the decision on his own. If he did then the Association needs restructuring.
It is pretty clear to one and all that Stan was a JD appointment, but a living walking Robson was then in the picture.
When the quality of the appointment came into serious question later, JD claimed it that the appointment was recommended by a 3 man FAI committee and the the board accepted it. In the same interview, JD pointed to successful achievements in other areas since his own appointment.
So we have a classic case of, if it works then I will take the credit.
If it doesn´t work then it was a committee decision.
head the ball
15/09/2007, 12:29 PM
[QUOTE=holidaysong;770922]Delaney Out?
Sure I'm just a disgruntled Dundalk fan.[/QUOTE
Are'nt you all permanently disgruntled in Dundalk. How are we supposed to know the difference?A genetic disorder I believe in that part of the world!
Thank god for the bypass.
17/09/2007, 6:30 PM
What could and should they have done differently?
Why did they bring in UEFA Licencing then? Why didn't they follow its recommendations instead of letting things get this far? They had it laid out exactly what to do - deny the relevant clubs a licence - but instead they ignored it.
Also aren't they attempting to introduce a rule that says that only 65% of your turnover can be spent on wages to avoid this sort of thing happening again?
They can attempt a lot. Let's talk when something happens.
I'm just making an educated guess.
My educated guess says previous punishments have done nothing. Rovers' board continued reckless trading after getting points docked in 2005 until the fans themselves took legal action to get rid of them. Shels are still continuing the exact same business plan as last year, but on a smaller scale (taking advances on the ground sale from Kilkenny to cover losses). Why think Longford are any different? All would be sorted if the FAI got strict on licencing instead of docking points every now and again because clubs didn't file accounts (as in Rovers' and Longford's case, and which simply isn't the issue)
Fair enough, I've already said I'm not 100% familiar with it. But while the proces seems to have failed the first test, isn't it possible that the FAI will learn their lesson?
Not going on any lessons from the association's entire history.
Which clubs? And when you say losses are they unsustainable losses?
Drogs, Pat's and Shels. Possibly Longford. As a percentage of turnover, they far exceed Man Utd's debts. As Shels if their losses were sustainable.
Who was responsible for actually commissioning the report?
Which recommendations were nonsense? If you have a link, a bit more extensive than the last one, or if you could give me a synopsis, I'd be grateful.
The FAI. You can read the report for yourself or dig up one of the many threads on it here. The recommendations all came from the report wihch contained white lies, mistruths and non sequiturs. They recommendations have failed before (ten team league) or were completely nonsense (Celtic league).
That's not my point. My point was that he promised a world class manager and couldn't deliver one. His list of alternatives, in all likelihood, would not have fared much better than Stan.
Anyone with managerial experience would have done better than Stan. The names you mentioned aren't managerial retards; they're not massive names, but they've done OK. Delaney is on record saying he never interviewed John Aldridge (who took a First Division team to the League Cup Final and FA Cup quarters on a very smaller budget) for the job because he had paperwork to do.
Only person who's talking about a world class manager is Delaney. Rest of us would be happy with a manager.
Also on the Waterford thing, your inference was that he was solely responsible for their current status.
No it's not. I said he was responsible. Which I stand by.
Everything won't be better if he goes - some other gobsheen will come along for us to hate. But I still want him to go ASAP.
Seriously, no problems debating this, but if you want to support him, please do some research first!
18/09/2007, 12:23 AM
..... You can read the report for yourself or dig up one of the many threads on it here. The recommendations all came from the report wihch contained white lies, mistruths and non sequiturs. They recommendations have failed before (ten team league) or were completely nonsense (Celtic league).....!
Can you summarise what these were?
Can these 'white lies, mistruths and non sequiturs' be factually refuted or is it just your opinion?
18/09/2007, 5:06 PM
I've already posted a link in this thread backing up one such instance. For more, do a search for threads on the report forums. As noted, I'm not going to get into past debates with posters who are as opinionated as you are while also having done as little research as you evidently have.
Bald Student
18/09/2007, 6:23 PM
The problem with calling for 'Delaney Out' is that, even if he were to get a knife in the back, he'd only be replaced by someone else as bad. Anyone capable of becoming head of the FAI is automatically unsuited to the position.
I think that Delaney is about as good as it gets. He seems to be interested in improving the game and has some competence. His problems and mistakes all seem to stem from the fact that he has spent his entire adult life involved in FAI politics and is entirely a product of that system. He sees anyone who disagrees with him as an enemy to be rooted out and to protect his own position he will only allow yes men into positions of authority.
His style brings some good with it, he has removed a lot of the petty infighting that was holding back the league and he seems to be removing the fighting between senior, junior and schoolboy clubs as well. The problem is that he doesn't see that people involved in the game can disagree with him without taking is as an attack on his authority. He's ended up alienating a lot of people by picking silly fights like fining Pat Skully and Kevin McDaid for holding reasonable opinions.
18/09/2007, 6:33 PM
he has removed a lot of the petty infighting that was holding back the league
Is this the same way Stalin removed a lot of the petty infighting in USSR? Or Hitler removed a lot of the petty infighting in Germany?
barney
18/09/2007, 6:35 PM
Everything won't be better if he goes - some other gobsheen will come along for us to hate. But I still want him to go ASAP.
To be honest mate, I'm not going to sift through pages of a report just to debate this on a message board. I might do it on my own time. But the above quote just proves what I thought all along.
barney
18/09/2007, 6:36 PM
Is this the same way Stalin removed a lot of the petty infighting in USSR? Or Hitler removed a lot of the petty infighting in Germany?
Seriously, cop on.
Bald Student
18/09/2007, 6:39 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Godwin's_law
18/09/2007, 6:45 PM
Dammit! Forgot about that!!!!
[It's true here though. :)]
barney - good man. Happy to come on here and challenge people's opinions with a remarkable opinionatedness, but unwilling to do any research into the facts.
18/09/2007, 8:37 PM
The trains still ran on time. It's not like he's going to exterminate the Jews, is it?
The trains still ran on time.
couldnt have been Stan driving then! :D
18/09/2007, 11:59 PM
The problem is that he doesn't see that people involved in the game can disagree with him without taking is as an attack on his authority. He's ended up alienating a lot of people by picking silly fights like fining Pat Skully and Kevin McDaid for holding reasonable opinions.
I'm at it again......:D
http://foot.ie/blog/king-of-spin-could-be-caught-out/
Cash or cheque for the fine John?
19/09/2007, 12:53 AM
Cash or cheque for the fine John?
Back down again, I'd say.
barney
19/09/2007, 9:04 AM
barney - good man. Happy to come on here and challenge people's opinions with a remarkable opinionatedness, but unwilling to do any research into the facts.
I'm not going to get into a point scoring contest with you. I just wondered why people wanted Delaney out. I've yet to hear a compelling reason why he should go - just a lot of rhetoric and small town attitudes.
If you honestly think that I'm going to read through pages and pages of stuff just to debate something on an internet message board then you are seriously deluded.
19/09/2007, 12:45 PM
Rhetoric?
Small town attitudes?
Do you intend those phrases to actually mean anything, or did you just throw them in because they sounded good? Do you awnt to highlight an example of either (or both, preferably)?
Earlier you said that, if he took 70% of tickets of a large block booker, that was definite grounds for something. You seem to have forgotten that already. That's only one point which has been raised.
19/09/2007, 2:13 PM
If you honestly think that I'm going to read through pages and pages of stuff just to debate something on an internet message board then you are seriously deluded.
You are the person who started this thread, asking for reasons. You've been given some. You now say you couldn't be bothered debating this.
You fully admit you don't know much about the Genesis report, you fully admit you couldn't be bothered doing any research, yet you say
I've yet to hear a compelling reason why he should go - just a lot of rhetoric and small town attitudes.
you've been given reasons, and told where to find more details - the fact that you won't take the time to do that is your fault, and yours alone.
On the first page of this thread, you said this-
6. The Genesis Report has not been fully implemented
I don't know a lot about this to be honest and I'd be interested to hear more detail.
This is clearly not the case.
On the second page you say this-
I'll have a proper look at the facts of what you've posted.
You haven't done this, and have said you couldn't be bothered doing so.
19/09/2007, 4:48 PM
Couldn't have put it better myself.
barney
19/09/2007, 9:39 PM
Rhetoric?
Small town attitudes?
Do you intend those phrases to actually mean anything, or did you just throw them in because they sounded good? Do you awnt to highlight an example of either (or both, preferably)?
Earlier you said that, if he took 70% of tickets of a large block booker, that was definite grounds for something. You seem to have forgotten that already. That's only one point which has been raised.
Small town, small time attitude:
Rhetoric:
the report wihch contained white lies, mistruths and non sequiturs.
or
nearly destroying Waterford United as simply as you have done
Seeriously deluded and offensive insult:
Some fair points osarusan. Can't argue with you there. Will read the report in my own time. Certainly not just so I can post on a message board though.
19/09/2007, 9:57 PM
So you think the lies and non sequiturs in the Genesis Report are just rhetoric? You say this without actually having read the report, or even addressed the link which actually proves one of the white lies?
You think me querying your off-hand dismissal of Delaney's involvement in Drogheda's demise is rhetoric? You're very quick to dismiss things you don't agree with.
You think the attitude that he should go, but that we'll still probably get someone in just as bad, is small time attitude? History shows it's likely to be the case.
If you're offended about my other comment, I don't know how you get on in the real world. In fact, it stemmed from when myself and Bald Student (to whom I was replying) were at a communism museum in Prague at the weekend, and it was noted how many similarities there were between what was seen and the FAI.
Can you start giving more than one line arguments rather than just dismissing things without any explanation?
Student Mullet
19/09/2007, 10:51 PM
If you're offended about my other comment, I don't know how you get on in the real world. In fact, it stemmed from when myself and Bald Student (to whom I was replying) were at a communism museum in Prague at the weekend, and it was noted how many similarities there were between what was seen and the FAI.I only got the reference now, thanks.
19/09/2007, 11:06 PM
That's not my point. My point was that he promised a world class manager and couldn't deliver one. His list of alternatives, in all likelihood, would not have fared much better than Stan. He couldn't deliver on his promise. Should that mean he gets the bullet?
I'm almost certain this is true- Hiddink was approached for the job and said that he would take it, but only after the World Cup. Delaney didn't want to wait until then so appointed Stan.
Student Mullet
19/09/2007, 11:16 PM
you also have to remember that he didn't make the decision on his own. If he did then the Association needs restructuring.Bingo!
20/09/2007, 10:15 AM
I'm almost certain this is true- Hiddink was approached for the job and said that he would take it, but only after the World Cup. Delaney didn't want to wait until then so appointed Stan.
Where did you get this from?
20/09/2007, 4:05 PM
I read these boards more often than not everyday but only post once in a while. I enjoy reading posts by some of the well informed regulars, such as the Students (there's too many of you) Stuttgart, Tets, Dodge, Neil McD, Eirebhoy and more of the eL crowd.
I also enjoy trying to suss out the angle of some of the 'new' posters such as Barney. And as far as Barney goes, all I can see is that he is full of shyte.
He started a thread about Delaney, looking for a debate. Which is the correct way to go about things if you're of a staunch opinion. Which Barney appears to be.
He was then challenged as to being a member of the FAI or buddy of JD, to which he denied, his attitude changed somewhat, lightened and asked for evidence of delaney's mishaps. It turned out he wasn't looking for debate at all, or if he was, regardless of what was produced he wasn't going to retract his support for JD.
Stu produced enough reasons for Delaney to resign, that any of the journo's who reads this forum could quite easily print coherently tomorrow.
Whereas Barney couldn't be ars*d reading, believing or accepting any of this, and still backs Delaney. Which leads me to think he's either Mr Buckettop himself or he's related, or a colleague. I thought reading your initial post you might be 'Barney' Blood, looking to get fans views on Delaney in a way of trying to present stuff to him at the next council meeting but I'm sure that isn't the case.
Pineapple Stu your posts are a joy to read, keep on keeping on!
Noelys Guitar
20/09/2007, 4:15 PM
I read these boards more often than not everyday but only post once in a while. I enjoy reading posts by some of the well informed regulars, such as the Students (there's too many of you) Stuttgart, Tets, Dodge, Neil McD, Eirebhoy and more of the eL crowd.
I also enjoy trying to suss out the angle of some of the 'new' posters such as Barney. And as far as Barney goes, all I can see is that he is full of shyte.
He started a thread about Delaney, looking for a debate. Which is the correct way to go about things if you're of a staunch opinion. Which Barney appears to be.
He was then challenged as to being a member of the FAI or buddy of JD, to which he denied, his attitude changed somewhat, lightened and asked for evidence of delaney's mishaps. It turned out he wasn't looking for debate at all, or if he was, regardless of what was produced he wasn't going to retract his support for JD.
Stu produced enough reasons for Delaney to resign, that any of the journo's who reads this forum could quite easily print coherently tomorrow.
Whereas Barney couldn't be ars*d reading, believing or accepting any of this, and still backs Delaney. Which leads me to think he's either Mr Buckettop himself or he's related, or a colleague. I thought reading your initial post you might be 'Barney' Blood, looking to get fans views on Delaney in a way of trying to present stuff to him at the next council meeting but I'm sure that isn't the case.
Pineapple Stu your posts are a joy to read, keep on keeping on!
Barney has nothing whatsover to do with the FAI. But more importanty he is not associated in anyway with the agency hired by the FAI to improve the image of the EL. I hope that sets you straight Kindgom!
20/09/2007, 4:25 PM
Barney has nothing whatsover to do with the FAI. But more importanty he is not associated in anyway with the agency hired by the FAI to improve the image of the EL. I hope that sets you straight Kindgom!
It certainly does Noely!
Which leads me to think he's either Mr Buckettop himself or he's related, or a colleague
The latter is correct. Perhaps his denials are because he reckons that there is a huge difference between being employed by the FAI and being employed by the League.
RogerMilla
21/09/2007, 10:44 AM
I'll give you an idea of why delaney should resign, the man is a liar. He came on RTE and said that the fans stayed back in the stadium in prague to cheer stan and the team. stauntons name was booed by irish fans when the team sheet was read out at the begining of the game. then the fans were held back by the cops and decided to have a sing song and to cheer andy reid who was warming down. delaney would know this for sure but chose to lie on RTE in the hope that his interviewer would not. I know little of EL politics but i know that he has presided over a disasterous period for our flagship the national team. we have gone from first seeds to fourth seed in four years. if we get a tough group in the world cup theres a possiblilty that we will be fifth seeds by the time the next euro qualifications come round. The rot needed to be stopped but delaney chose expediency and a cheapo option, any of his comments about a committee selecting staunton i would treat in the same way i treat the comments above, pure lies. the buck stops with him. It is time to find us a manager who can arrest this decline. We have the players to be challenging for qualification and to do us proud in tournaments, we should not be out of the group with three games left to play. It's outrageous and the fans will soon vote with their feet and desert the team.
21/09/2007, 12:18 PM
Good post milla and the worst thing is Staunton is not a cheapo option. He is paid far more than most of the managers around Europe at international level. Very few managers earn more then him in the interenational game.
Billsthoughts
21/09/2007, 12:36 PM
Good post milla and the worst thing is Staunton is not a cheapo option. He is paid far more than most of the managers around Europe at international level. Very few managers earn more then him in the interenational game.
Do you have figures to back this up?
21/09/2007, 12:40 PM
Good post milla and the worst thing is Staunton is not a cheapo option. He is paid far more than most of the managers around Europe at international level. Very few managers earn more then him in the interenational game.Relative to average earnings in those countries though? Karel Buckner (spelling) I hear earns EUR 200k or thereabouts. How much doesa 3 bed house cost near Prague? How much does a good Czech barrister earn?
21/09/2007, 1:38 PM
Yeah but if we are in a global market and competing for the likes of Beenhaker when people say if you pay peanuts you get monkeys, well we are not paying peanuts and we have a monkey. No offence meant to monkeys there. Beenhakker is at Poland and there is no way he is receiving more than Staunton and Robson combined. I read somewhere that Domenech was on less money than Staunton was.
Billsthoughts
21/09/2007, 1:43 PM
Am not so sure a foriegn(as in continental) coach is the right way to go. The first thing he is gonna notice straightaway is that this team lacks basic technical ability they take for granted on the continent. what would beenhaker make of Kevin Kilbane - 5 million caps and cant control the ball? I suppose we have our own version of "Total Football" in a way......Total ****e Football"
Noelys Guitar
21/09/2007, 2:08 PM
Someone like Beenhaker has watched a million Premiership/Old First Division games and understands the types of players we have available. The Dutch like a lot of us have always had the BBC and for them Tyne Tees instead of UTV. He should at least have been approached (as quite a few of us on this board requested at the time) to see if he was he interested in the then available post. When Hiddink was being payed 800,000(euros) a year by the Aussies that was seen as a huge figure to pay an international manager. So 450,000 a year is pretty good money in anyones language. My calculation is that Delaney could get rid of Stan by paying him half of what is left on his contract around 500000. That money can be recouped by one half decent sponorship deal. We desperately need someone to turn the tide of pessimism around. A proven manager. Whether it is Dutch, French, Jewell or Burley or whoever. I believe Delaney himself knows he has made a major error of judgement. And I can't see Stan lasting past this campaign.
21/09/2007, 2:33 PM
Am not so sure a foriegn(as in continental) coach is the right way to go. The first thing he is gonna notice straightaway is that this team lacks basic technical ability they take for granted on the continent. what would beenhaker make of Kevin Kilbane - 5 million caps and cant control the ball? I suppose we have our own version of "Total Football" in a way......Total ****e Football"
Well hopefully the first thing he would do is make sure he and O Shea never play midfield roles for us ever again along with Douglas. If Kilbane has a postion for us it is left back. HImself and O Shea should be made fight for that one and only place on the team where there is no clear person to play there. I hope the first thing any manager notices is that some of our players do not have the technical ability. THey should also then come up with a gameplan that suits the players that we have. Organise us and make sure we have enough guys in midfield that can pass the ball. Ireland and A Reid Potter Stephen Reid Joey O Brien, Damien Duff can all pass the ball and keep it.
21/09/2007, 2:35 PM
Do you have figures to back this up?
I dont have access to them on the net but I will do a search. I did read an article in a few Sunday papers not long after the Cyprus game where they listed the earnings of each international manager and Staunton was in the top ten in the world. The point I am trying to get at is that we did not take the cheap option in fact we overpaid for a yellow pack manager.
carloz
22/09/2007, 12:56 PM
Can someone explain to me why he was offered a contrat of supposedly oner 400,000 euro a year when he was a reserve team coach at a League 1 team and had absolutly nobody else looking for him. Did the FAI have a set wage for the new manager before the interviews even began. this is another issue that Delaney has to explain but no doubt he would attempt to ull**** his way out of it like he dos everything else
Noelys Guitar
22/09/2007, 2:31 PM
Can someone explain to me why he was offered a contrat of supposedly oner 400,000 euro a year when he was a reserve team coach at a League 1 team and had absolutly nobody else looking for him. Did the FAI have a set wage for the new manager before the interviews even began. this is another issue that Delaney has to explain but no doubt he would attempt to ull**** his way out of it like he dos everything else
It all sounds like Ridsdale at Leeds. Insane amounts of money offfered to dirge.
22/09/2007, 2:42 PM
Without even searching through the net, Stan's salary is not in the top 10, nowhere near.
Beenhakker´s salary when at T&T was bankrolled, about a €1m p/a.
Our manager´s salary realistically should have some relation to what the SFA pay.
You could draw a line with whatever Scotland pay and then work down the scale to the starting level of experience that Stan had.
Wasn't Robson's contract for 2 years?
25/09/2007, 10:36 AM
Spotted John Delaney in Paris last weekend in a fetching pink shirt (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=26824&highlight=pink+shirt) and Ireland scarf. Reason enough to sack him surely.
(BTW, I apologise if this is too much like Tom Watch. I know some people think it's not fair to talk about people who might not be "all there". Feel free to delete the entire thread if I've offended anybody).
Billsthoughts
25/09/2007, 11:19 AM
Spotted John Delaney in Paris last weekend in a fetching pink shirt (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=26824&highlight=pink+shirt) and Ireland scarf. Reason enough to sack him surely.
(BTW, I apologise if this is too much like Tom Watch. I know some people think it's not fair to talk about people who might not be "all there". Feel free to delete the entire thread if I've offended anybody).
:D genius!!!
Ordinary Fan
25/09/2007, 11:59 AM
Saw Delaney in the Airport in Paris wearing a pink jumper. Must be a collection.