View Full Version : Idea for Protest against Delaney

13/09/2007, 10:37 AM
Just had an Idea, to show Delaney how the Irish Football supporting public feel about his appointment and likely retention of an international manager with NO EXPERIENCE !! I suggest that as many people as possible send a CV to Merrion square applying for the managers job. that should get the point across to the Muppet

bohsmug
13/09/2007, 10:43 AM
Or his secretary...

Ozymandias
13/09/2007, 10:53 AM
all this talk about protests in the past...to have a good protest it needs to be simple...everyone going to the germany game wear a plain black t shirt or shirt...nothing written on it just black.....get the media to pick up on this protest leading up to the game and it will get its airing and delaney can't get his security to remove them from you as they are inoffensive and only a piece of clothing...the sight of black in the stands of croker would be a huge message and people who normally wouldn't protest would find this easy to be part of.

paddy2
13/09/2007, 10:57 AM
It's about time we did something about the FAI.

We should have some sort of protest before the game.

Everyone get into the ground in good time and have a protest against Delaney and the FAI.

Show them that the fans are no longer going to put up with there mickey mouse ways and look for the appointment of a proper manager.

We are spending our hard earned money travelling all over Europe watching our team and getting behind them and for th FAI to treat us like fools and make nonsense appointments as managers.

We have quality players but we need someone to take them and lead them.

Lets try and get something organised, not jut a couple of people with 1 banner saying Delaney out but something that invloves the whole ground.

monutdfc
13/09/2007, 10:57 AM
He'd tell the media all the people in black shirts are disgruntled Dundalk fans

13/09/2007, 10:59 AM
He'd tell the media all the people in black shirts are disgruntled Dundalk fans

I'd probably actually wear my black away Dundalk jersey... :o

Ozymandias
13/09/2007, 11:01 AM
see the other thread

Dublin12
13/09/2007, 11:05 AM
Everyone get into the ground in good time and have a protest

Ain't going to happen as long as the Pubs are open and alot of the Irish fans will be more concerned about being good hosts and having a sing song with our German friends.

WembleyGreen
13/09/2007, 11:11 AM
The best protest would be for all Irish fans to hold a minutes silence just as the game kicks off against the Germans, a silenece for the death of Ireland's international team and finish by chanting Shame Delaney, Shame Dealney OUT OUT OUT! Imagine the impact that would have if the entire stadium fell silent and then right at the end of the minute the supporters let Delaney hear exactly how the feel about him with one voice. He couldn't spin his way out of that one and the media would be quick to point out that it wasn't just a minority or disgruntled Dundalkers either! The CV idea is good but they'll just get binned by the apparatchiks at merrion sq long before Delaney sees them.
T-Shirts could say "Giz the job John, I could do that, go on giz the job!"

13/09/2007, 11:16 AM
all this talk about protests in the past...to have a good protest it needs to be simple...everyone going to the germany game wear a plain black t shirt or shirt...nothing written on it just black.....get the media to pick up on this protest leading up to the game and it will get its airing and delaney can't get his security to remove them from you as they are inoffensive and only a piece of clothing...the sight of black in the stands of croker would be a huge message and people who normally wouldn't protest would find this easy to be part of.

Now this is a simple and effective idea - one that costs little, makes no difference to the team that we support (when has any of us looked at what the crowd was wearing when playing football?), and, seeig as it would be televised, it would look like a dramatic statement to those watching. Advertisers sit up when they hear that fans are unhappy with management, and eircom and Umbro will go mental that their gear is being shunned in the public sphere. Excellent idea.

Dazzy
13/09/2007, 11:34 AM
The only protest that will work is one that will cost the FAI alot of money because of it.

13/09/2007, 11:44 AM
The only protest that will work is one that will cost the FAI alot of money because of it.

Exactly. Talk of tshirts and minutes silences are missing the point. They wont care cos you'll have already paid in. Granted tickets for the next two games are probably paid for at this stage but the only idea for a protest is to hit them where it hurts. In the pocket. Just dont go. I havent been to a home game since 95 and wont be going back.

BrayUnknowns
13/09/2007, 11:48 AM
Best way to get the point across is just don't go to the game. Having a 1/4 full croker would soon get everyone attention.

WembleyGreen
13/09/2007, 11:52 AM
NY most people have already paid for the tickets anyway be it block booking etc. It's about finding a way that Delaney and Co. can't ignore or spin their way out of, hurting the FAI in their pocket will mean hurting football in general in Ireland and that's not the point. We need some way of showing the powers that be that we are not happy and we are not prepared to put up with this anymore! Sign the petition that's flying around for a starter might help.

WembleyGreen
13/09/2007, 11:58 AM
How about everyone bring a whistle and symbolically 'blow time on the FAI' and their incompetence, let it be known through the media that a protest is going to be made at half time by the Irish supporters and then everyone blow their whistles for a couple of minutes to make our point. It's simple but effective and Delaney and co. can't ignore it. It won't affect support for the team but if enough peole do it the noise and impact would certainly attract a comment especially from TV and papers.

carloz
13/09/2007, 12:02 PM
Please protest outside the stadium and dont go in. A good protest in my mind is to somehow get an RTE camera on you and have a mass burning of your tickets Trust me the only way the FAI will learn is if there is a **** load of empty seats at Croker

Ozymandias
13/09/2007, 12:06 PM
easier to protest at the game..we have already paid for our tickets...some have kids who want to go ..easier to bring them and put a black t shirt on than stay away and they laugh at the fact we paid for the priviledge....the fact we are going is to support the team but show there is a ground swell that has an opinion on the fai and management team..they can no longer than say it is only a minority of LOI fans

better than sitting down doing nothing at home twiddling your thumbs

13/09/2007, 12:08 PM
Nope - FAI have the money, and the protest affects the players, and if they get word of it, do not be surprised if more corporate seats are allocated where once there were fans.

Hit them in the revenues - particularly the advertising one. that's where Delaney has his testes located anyway.

I can say testes here, can't I?

Ozymandias
13/09/2007, 12:08 PM
empty seats ..but they ae paid for all ready./. I think we need to protest at germany and cyprus games ( already paid for)...then vote with bums on seats for the new campaign.......

carloz
13/09/2007, 12:09 PM
The best protest would be for all Irish fans to hold a minutes silence just as the game kicks off against the Germans, a silenece for the death of Ireland's international team and finish by chanting Shame Delaney, Shame Dealney OUT OUT OUT!

Could be an idea. I dont think the CV thing would work. Guys this man will not admit he made a mistake and will definly not leave a cushy job that daddy got for him. The only protest you could do is avoid the games in Croker. Stand outside the stadium for the match. I know good money has been paid for the tickets but im sure a batch of 30,000 empty seats might pose a few questions

13/09/2007, 12:09 PM
How about everyone bring a whistle and symbolically 'blow time on the FAI' and their incompetence, let it be known through the media that a protest is going to be made at half time by the Irish supporters and then everyone blow their whistles for a couple of minutes to make our point. It's simple but effective and Delaney and co. can't ignore it. It won't affect support for the team but if enough peole do it the noise and impact would certainly attract a comment especially from TV and papers.

Substitute whistles for harmonicas and you can count me in. Harmonicas are about a fiver and make a hell of a racket. Seriously.

13/09/2007, 12:11 PM
What about a good old fashioned vocal protest STAUNTON OUT, DELANEY OUT. I'm sure it wouldn't take long to catch on and it will certainly get the point home. Start it off as the game goes live on TV.

carloz
13/09/2007, 12:12 PM
i only got sent a thing about applying for Cyprus tickets last week. So that would be the match where having an empty stadium might do something. Would there be anyway we could stage a protest outside of the FAI offices and hopefully get a lot of forummers along and maybe contact the media about it????

13/09/2007, 12:13 PM
The best protest would be for all Irish fans to hold a minutes silence just as the game kicks off against the Germans

would anyone notice the difference?

croke park will be like a morgue anyway. have been going to Ireland matches for 20 years and in all that time i have never been at a home competitive match that hasnt meant anything and been to them all

13/09/2007, 12:14 PM
would anyone notice the difference?

FAI would play loud music to cover up the silence anyway.

paddy2
13/09/2007, 12:15 PM
A haltime protest would be no good as the FAI lads would be in under the stands with the corporate lads having there food and drink.

All I know is we need to do something, if we continue to let the FAI run things as it is it will be a long time before we qualify for any tournament.

We are in a mess at the minute and Staunton is not the man to take us out of it, he plays players out of position and leave the better players sitting on the sideline.

He was Delaneys choice when we were promised a world class manager and we must act now before it's too late.

If we wait until the start of the next campaign we will be stuck Staunton for another couple of years.

WembleyGreen
13/09/2007, 12:54 PM
How about everyone bring whistles and publicise the fact that there is going to be 'blow time on the FAI/Staunton' protest at the game and then make the point by blowing them long and hard with a chorus of Delaney out, Staunton out whistle, whistle, whistle? Any kind of cheap whistle would do and if nothing else it would at least get noticed by the TV and media.

kev107
13/09/2007, 1:25 PM
How about everyone bring whistles and publicise the fact that there is going to be 'blow time on the FAI/Staunton' protest at the game and then make the point by blowing them long and hard with a chorus of Delaney out, Staunton out whistle, whistle, whistle? Any kind of cheap whistle would do and if nothing else it would at least get noticed by the TV and media.

Someone who is able to could phone up joe duffy this afternoon and get things rolling. Voice our displeasure at the current setup, aka the FAI

kingdomkerry
13/09/2007, 1:25 PM
What if everyone wore black t-shirts to the remaining home games. Think about it the cameras would deffinetly pick up on it. It will look like new zealand are playing. Everyone in the media will be asking why everyone is wearing black.

Even get the t-shirts printed "Delaney out, Staunton out or whatever ye want"

It wont cost the FAI money and will be well publicised if enough people wear them!

13/09/2007, 1:45 PM
Delaney probably has 5 years left on his contract & Staunton 2.5 years. Would probably cost E2-3m to sack them. :eek:

shelbourne1904
13/09/2007, 2:14 PM
This protest sounds like it was organised by the FAI.
Dont go to a game against Germany having paid for the tickets already ??Thats Delayneyesque!!!!
Black t shirts ?The Germans will think we are supporting them!!

Ozymandias
13/09/2007, 2:47 PM

Why? don't understand as they play in white...and even green sometimes (will they think we are wearing their away gear if we turn up in green)

markmc
13/09/2007, 2:52 PM
if we send by registered post, mark them to be opened by addressee only, that will p1ss them off big time cos they will have to sign for them, only costs 3 quid for registered post also.............

Just had an Idea, to show Delaney how the Irish Football supporting public feel about his appointment and likely retention of an international manager with NO EXPERIENCE !! I suggest that as many people as possible send a CV to Merrion square applying for the managers job. that should get the point across to the Muppet

13/09/2007, 2:52 PM
Exactly. Talk of tshirts and minutes silences are missing the point. They wont care cos you'll have already paid in. Granted tickets for the next two games are probably paid for at this stage but the only idea for a protest is to hit them where it hurts. In the pocket. Just dont go. I havent been to a home game since 95 and wont be going back.

Won't make a difference- there's a long waiting list for block bookers.

Dawn_Run
13/09/2007, 3:32 PM
I understand tickets are paid for etc etc etc. However the fai are also relying on revenue generated on match day. A protest is needed, however, the impact of protests from us in the past has been poor. My suggestion is to form a type of collective bargaining group - call it what you will (Supporters Against Delaney' or something), make yourself known to TV, Radio websites, eL clubs etc, get t-shirts or wrist bands or something. Then draw up a manifesto with demands listed. I'm sure dunphy would join were he approached too :)

1. Delaney OUT
2. Staunton OUT
3. etc
4. etc

A protest that would have more impact would be if everyone got up and left the stadium at half time.

soccerc
13/09/2007, 3:44 PM
Firstly,the FAI is a private members club.

It's council is made up of reps from leagues and affiliates, e.g Leinster FA, FAI junior Council, 22 el clubs etc etc.

These reps are democratically elected by their respective members i.e. clubs and leagues.

The only way to influence is take the 10-15 year path needed to get to the top, provided of course you haven't been ground down by the septuagenarians already wielding power at the top and who view dissent from younger aspirants in tolerable,

Disorganised protests will prove to be futile and have no effect:(

13/09/2007, 4:14 PM

You're thinking of Italy circa 1922 to 1943

13/09/2007, 6:20 PM
See my sig.

danonion
14/09/2007, 3:17 AM
The black shirt idea is brilliant but they will foil it by introducing a black away strip for next campaign

14/09/2007, 8:12 AM
Just had an Idea, to show Delaney how the Irish Football supporting public feel about his appointment and likely retention of an international manager with NO EXPERIENCE !!

Get RTE to ask the FAI to have the managers job in the next season of
that "No Experience Required" programme

Ozymandias
14/09/2007, 1:41 PM
mods..can we you oprganise something on here if people what to arrange something for the Germany game and maybe do a poll as waht to do....Plain black tshirt.......FAIlure banners ....red cards etc..agree one thing if people want to protest and then run with it

I think it should be something that doesn't effect the team but is focused on the management or administration

kingdomkerry
14/09/2007, 2:31 PM
mods..can we you oprganise something on here if people what to arrange something for the Germany game and maybe do a poll as waht to do....Plain black tshirt.......FAIlure banners ....red cards etc..agree one thing if people want to protest and then run with it

I think it should be something that doesn't effect the team but is focused on the management or administration

So we are all in agreement Black t-shirt protest at remaining home games??

14/09/2007, 3:48 PM
Sure, why not? I'll just wear my UCD away jersey.

Scram
14/09/2007, 4:42 PM

It's November you fcu!<!n Muppets :D Black raincoats maybe.!

Why don't supporters put their money where their mouths are??. An empty stadium says more than guys in the stadium with black t-shirts at night, in the dark, under their coats!

I've tickets for both games, I'd have no trouble burning them outside and watching in a pub.

Most of you deserve what you get both in government and in FAI, because when it comes down to it, you won't and don't put your money where your mouths are. DON'T ENTER THE GROUND

Come up with a meaningful protest and you can count me in, but get the ball rolling now.

We can't qualify so any effect on the team is irrelevant, so now is the best time to protest by staying away and burning your tickets or returning them en masse to FAI after the game.

nui-harp
14/09/2007, 5:03 PM
Can someone organise things to happen on the tv, radio etc.....if somebody with a fair bit of money was found to back the idea, adverts could be put out to help organise protests against FAI, like where to meet or wat is happening.

Dazzy
14/09/2007, 6:10 PM
I see no one took on the Bosnian example yet:eek:

carloz
14/09/2007, 6:34 PM
Most of you deserve what you get both in government and in FAI, because when it comes down to it, you won't and don't put your money where your mouths are. DON'T ENTER THE GROUND

Come up with a meaningful protest and you can count me in, but get the ball rolling now.

My point exactly. Yes most people have paid for their tickets. By all means go to the the stadium but dont enter it. Stage a protest outside. Get together with a group, somehow get the tv cameras on you and rip up your tickets before the game.

14/09/2007, 9:36 PM
just throwing this out there but remember when the lansdowne rugby crowd wore those Keith Wood masks - could the same be done with JD's mongo head? Different purposes of course but i believe that the point would be made especially if everyone starts booing while doing it... it would be pretty cheap to do too...

or you could get a bit of cash together and have an airplane fly over dragging a big "WE WANT DELANEY OUT" banner behind it like they used to have on me holliers in the algarve... :D

15/09/2007, 6:51 AM
Best way to get the point across is just don't go to the game. Having a 1/4 full croker would soon get everyone attention.

i totally agree
just dont go to the games

by the way............did anyone see the shot of a few irish supporters just before the game was ending............they were all sitting down having a good old laugh, enjoying their day out, big happy faces.........they actually looked like they were from the FAI since some had yellish bibs on and they looked stupid enough.........the Irish always good craic!:rolleyes:

Scram
15/09/2007, 2:13 PM
My point exactly. Yes most people have paid for their tickets. By all means go to the the stadium but dont enter it. Stage a protest outside. Get together with a group, somehow get the tv cameras on you and rip up your tickets before the game.

Protest outside with the tickets pinned to your shirts. Return your tickets to the FAI next day looking for a refund on the basis that you have not received the quality of goods/service you paid for.

You won't of course get a refund but they wil have to pay attention. A half empty Croker WILL get attention.