View Full Version : Idea for Protest against Delaney

Pages : 1 [2] 3

carloz
15/09/2007, 2:43 PM
Personally i think the black tshirts would be a dreadful idea. Having one fan among ever 300 hundred with the tshirts is hardly gonna create a statement. the only protest is not going

15/09/2007, 5:55 PM
Personally i think the black tshirts would be a dreadful idea. Having one fan among ever 300 hundred with the tshirts is hardly gonna create a statement. the only protest is not going
one empty seat among 300 would create as much of a statement

onceahoop
15/09/2007, 6:39 PM
Most of you deserve what you get both in government and in FAI, because when it comes down to it, you won't and don't put your money where your mouths are. DON'T ENTER THE GROUND

Come up with a meaningful protest and you can count me in, but get the ball rolling now.

We can't qualify so any effect on the team is irrelevant, so now is the best time to protest by staying away and burning your tickets or returning them en masse to FAI after the game.[/QUOTE]

Some of us on here remember the KRAM protest when Kilcoyne took Rovers out of Milltown. IMO it achieved nothing.

How many genuine supporters attend international and how many are event junkies and suits on corporate freebies. IMO it would have little or no impact. A protest that is highly visual is what's required. Banners won't work because the goons will confiscate them on the way in. Black shirts might work. Whistles will be drowned out by loud music. The national airways and print media are things that Delayney can't control. We need something that can build up momentum and peak after the qualifiers. Glorious defeats are no longer an option.

15/09/2007, 6:39 PM
why don't we all wear British football jerseys e.g. Celtic, Liverpool and Chelski to show how committed most Irish people are to their own domestic league!!!!!

Just use placards and a few songs about wanting Staunton and Delaney out.

Bomb Landsdowne
15/09/2007, 7:19 PM
Count me in for the Airplane Idea. Start a collection.

Ill donate 50Euro

kingeric
16/09/2007, 11:55 AM
Clown Noses/ Wigs. Imagine 60,000+ fans wearing them. humiliate the FAI.

It's how the fans see their FAI, we might as well spell it out for them.

16/09/2007, 3:41 PM
Clown Noses/ Wigs. Imagine 60,000+ fans wearing them. humiliate the FAI.

It's how the fans see their FAI, we might as well spell it out for them.
Lots of fans wear wigs or paint their faces for games, it won't stand out and will more than likely be spun by the FAI into "more from the best fans in the world" rather than a protest

stojkovic
16/09/2007, 5:55 PM
I think the best idea would be to congregate outside Croker - ON THE ROAD - which will stop the traffic and refuse to enter the stadium. Maybe even block the turnstiles and expalin to people that they WILL see the match that they paid for.

The Guards cannot move us on as it is a peaceful protest. The match will then have a delayed kick off due to safety concerns. This WILL get noticed by the players, management (ha) and the efficient Germans*, sponsors, tv, radio etc.

*the german version of Coronation Strasse will be delayed.

What do ya'll think.

Scram
17/09/2007, 7:33 AM
I think the best idea would be to congregate outside Croker - ON THE ROAD - which will stop the traffic and refuse to enter the stadium. Maybe even block the turnstiles and expalin to people that they WILL see the match that they paid for.

The Guards cannot move us on as it is a peaceful protest. The match will then have a delayed kick off due to safety concerns. This WILL get noticed by the players, management (ha) and the efficient Germans*, sponsors, tv, radio etc.

*the german version of Coronation Strasse will be delayed.

What do ya'll think.

A better idea that wearing black except for stopping traffic, not all people care about Irish football (see FAI) and shouldn't be obstructed. Other than that, a stand has to be made, not by having parties as usual or the odd boo.

IRISH FANS NEED TO PUT THEIR MONEY WHERE THEIR MOUTHS ARE. A lot of talk about Stan must go etc., but how many are willing, having paid for their tickets, to miss the game in protest? Very few, as typical with the Irish, they don't want to miss the party.

Like I said before, the Irish get what they deserve and oganisations like FAI and Fianna Fail! know this and rely on it.

17/09/2007, 8:02 AM
Im sure Croke park will be sold out for the game against brazil in feb, the FAI are expecting to make 4 million from this game...................a half full stadium for this friendly would be a good idea

shanman2
17/09/2007, 8:07 AM
Im sure Croke park will be sold out for the game against brazil in feb, the FAI are expecting to make 4 million from this game...................a half full stadium for this friendly would be a good idea

Niceword on the planned protest on the radio this morning!! they mentioned the black t-shirts plan. Even dunphy is talking bout the protest fair play to ye lads I'd prefer to vote with my feet... only way to hurt them is in the pocket...

dr_peepee
17/09/2007, 10:13 AM
Invade the pitch at the end of the match like "Escape to Victory" and get them fined.... :D

17/09/2007, 12:02 PM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/offthefield/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=29323
Fans make “black shirt” protest plea

September 17, 2007

Irish football fans have been urged to wear black for the next Euro 2008 qualifier against Germany at Croke Park as a means of voicing their dissatisfaction with the management team and the FAI.

The Republic of Ireland’s hopes of reaching next summer’s finals in Austria and Switzerland are effectively over with three games to go following last week’s defeat in the Czech Republic.

The FAI has stated its commitment to manager Steve Staunton but many fans remain unconvinced by the Louth man’s capacity to deliver the improvement necessary to make the boys in green competitive in the next World Cup qualification campaign.

Eighty per cent of voters on the latest eleven-a-side.com poll believe Stan (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/polldir/result.asp) should be sacked for his side’s Euro failure – and supporters posting messages on some internet forums have suggested wearing black to the game against Germany next month.

17/09/2007, 2:31 PM
Niceword on the planned protest on the radio this morning!! they mentioned the black t-shirts plan. Even dunphy is talking bout the protest fair play to ye lads I'd prefer to vote with my feet... only way to hurt them is in the pocket...
Good. If people are serious about this, that kind of publicity will have to be repeated in the days before the game. Otherwise this will be a tiny minority who achieve nothing. Unfortunately, I suspect that's what it'll be - it's not easy to get past supporter apathy.

17/09/2007, 4:12 PM
Some of us on here remember the KRAM protest when Kilcoyne took Rovers out of Milltown. IMO it achieved nothing.
[/QUOTE]

Are you for real? Did you expect us to sit down and say yes lucifer sell our ground no problem. What the KRAM protest did achieve was Rovers out of the sh1tpit that is tolka and new owners that ultimately saved the club.

Far more important than wearing black shirts.

17/09/2007, 5:31 PM
Problem is, having one fan in 300 not going is going to be just as ineffective.

el punter
17/09/2007, 8:47 PM
Problem is, having one fan in 300 not going is going to be just as ineffective.

If all fans who plan on wearing a blackshirt congragated at Parnell Sq 2 hours before the match and marched to Croke Park together with banners etc you can be sure it would get some proper attention from the media the following day.

onenilgameover
17/09/2007, 9:50 PM
I doubt a protest at Croker on match day would work. Depending on what is done however. It takes a huge amount of organisation and half baked ideas are pointless. It has to be media backed and driven. The knife was hot after San Marino and Cyprus. I get the impression of resignation after Wed last. I think a protest outside Merrion Square leading up to the match and something then organised on match day would work. I have contacts etc media wise if someone gets this up and running.

onenilgameover
17/09/2007, 9:52 PM
If all fans who plan on wearing a blackshirt congragated at Parnell Sq 2 hours before the match and marched to Croke Park together with banners etc you can be sure it would get some proper attention from the media the following day.

Not a bad idea but let them know before and the days leading up to match day. Have a proper spokesperson/figurehead who is well able to get opinion/anger across..

sylvo
17/09/2007, 10:28 PM
I'd go along with the protest the day of the Germany game outside of muppet mansions in Merrion square, a loud very vocal one but not one that ends up like the Dundalk one last december, when Maxi went ballistic.

After the protest is over maybe a march from Merrion square to Croke Park, I think that will capture attention far more because it will be in everybodies face not just Delaneys. O'Connell Street has plenty of marches down it, if there was one with a good turn out of fans then these clowns wouldn't be able to keep turning a blind eye.

I don't agree with boycotting games, besides its Delaney and co that are the problem and they've already got our money, so I think its important that people don't take it out on the team but take it out on Delaney and co.

17/09/2007, 11:16 PM
Good post Sylvo, I would agree with that.

bholg
18/09/2007, 11:24 AM
best plan.. matchday protest at merrion sq. Even if there is only a few hundred of us, if the media are informed it will attract more attention, make LOTS of noise (foghorns, megaphones etc) and some visual impact like the black tshirt thing, banners and all the rest. Only potential problem is heavy handed and jittery cops could once again turn a peaceful protest into a disaster.

Reddladd
18/09/2007, 11:26 AM
As I see it the best way to hurt the FAI would be to Boycott the Brazil friendly.
The FAI will have to pay alot to host the game and it's in their pocket they must be hit.
If they in turn are going to be so petty that they would knock block bookers off the list just because they wouldn't attend a friendly then in my view they do not deserve our support and by that I mean the FAI not the team.
I have taken 5 tickets for every home match since 2000 including friendlies and as we all know during Kerr's reign that was alot of friendlies including such beauts as Bulgaria, China and Canada.
These tickets were purchased because if not our competitive allocation would have been affected. In my opinion that's a huge commitment in supporting our country. The FAI were not shy in getting our hard earned cash in the past!

So a campaign should be put together now to boycott the Brazil game.

18/09/2007, 11:29 AM
Not a bad idea but let them know before and the days leading up to match day. Have a proper spokesperson/figurehead who is well able to get opinion/anger across..

Ring Alan Hunter at 1800 LUNATIC.

Boycotting the Brazil game is admirable but it will sell out anyway. If you dont go every day tripper in the world will. If I got a freebie I'd go.

18/09/2007, 11:35 AM
None of this is going to work because the majority of the fans who will be at these games will inevitably just get drunk down the pitch, turn out in their Ireland jerseys and then mutter about the beating the Germans handed out the next day. If you did manage to get the majority on ye're side lads I think a matchday protest outside of Merrion Square, coupled with the majority of Croke Park supporting Germany throughout the match would hit home with the media, and possibly the team/manager as well.

I feel that even bombing Dublin in the name of making changes to the FAI wouldn't be enough to shift Delaney from his power seat however, the guy just comes across as a bit of a dictator and will hang on for dear life

onceahoop
18/09/2007, 11:40 AM

Are you for real? Did you expect us to sit down and say yes lucifer sell our ground no problem. What the KRAM protest did achieve was Rovers out of the sh1tpit that is tolka and new owners that ultimately saved the club.

Far more important than wearing black shirts.

KOH[/QUOTE]
No I didn't expect anyone to sit down and say yes Lucifer etc.
New owners who couldn't save the club until the 400 club came along, and we're still in Tolka thanks in no small measure to Maguire, but that's for another day.

If supporters want to boyctt the game (particularly the Brazil one)they'd be better off, buying tickets first. Because there are a lot of people out there who will turn up to see Brazil and not give a fcuk about the FAI. Remember Shels and Depo. It was embarrasing watching people who didn't know a thing about the League scrambling for tickets.

mackannovic
19/09/2007, 4:16 PM
How about a minute of booing on the 10th, 16th, 50th, 60th and 75th minutes(The times of the opposition goals in our lowest ever point as an international team - the 5-2 defeat to Cyprus) People won't know whats going on so it will generate interest, it has the potential to be on a big scale to.

Ozymandias
20/09/2007, 2:07 PM
I and as far as I can see the majority on here accept that people are going to attend the games anyway so a boycott will be futile....Why I thought about the black shirt or jumper etc is that People will be attending anyway so make it something very simple or easy for the majority to do....The reason to do it in croke park is that the media print and visual are there and Delaney can't brush it off...also if it is a t shirt (Plain with no writing they can't take them from people or refuse entry.........People can support the team and make the statement clearly

I do think the booing at the time of cyprus's goals is a good idea......but it can be construed to be against the team

the protest if there is one needs to be simple and easy for the majority in the ground to follow and must require the least amount of effort ..otherwise we will have the usual die hard number of a couple of hundred who ultimately care about Irish Football but who the FAI will discount as a minority and the media will ignore.

20/09/2007, 2:09 PM
we'll probably go and beat Germany now and keep Stan in the job for another 10 years. For a laugh the FAI should make contact with Mourinho and shock the footballing world by appointing him.

RogerMilla
20/09/2007, 2:29 PM
coupled with the majority of Croke Park supporting Germany throughout the match

F**k that! No chance.

co. down green
20/09/2007, 2:35 PM

Why not hand out/sell black poncho's and ask fans to wear them at the start of the game.

A fairly cheap way of making the black shirt idea work.

Something like the efforts below.

http://www.staydry.co.uk/shop/home.php?cat=000staydry&ref=4

back of the net
20/09/2007, 2:40 PM
tbh i think a protest outside fai headquarters would be better - i think the irish fans should be only wearing green against germany.

wearing black would be unsettling for the players as well im sure

dont get me wrong like every1 else i think the management is a joke - but it wasnt stans fault he got the job - its delaneys fault along with his band of clowns at the fai
i think it would be better to keep the protest away from the game and take it to headquarters - we would gather en mass there

the clowns in the fai would have to take notice

anyone???

onephillyhughes
20/09/2007, 3:05 PM
Definately.

Go to the game to support your country.

PaulB
20/09/2007, 3:19 PM
tbh i think a protest outside fai headquarters would be better - i think the irish fans should be only wearing green against germany.

wearing black would be unsettling for the players as well im sure

dont get me wrong like every1 else i think the management is a joke - but it wasnt stans fault he got the job - its delaneys fault along with his band of clowns at the fai
i think it would be better to keep the protest away from the game and take it to headquarters - we would gather en mass there

the clowns in the fai would have to take notice

anyone???

i agree , has to be at merrion square, afternoon of the game perhaps.

Ozymandias
21/09/2007, 10:54 AM
i agree , has to be at merrion square, afternoon of the game perhaps.

there will be max 300 at merrion square..there will be 70K plus at croke park...

protest in croke park will be more effective...probaly then followed by a protest in Merrion square on the afternoon of the cyprus game as the media will deffo give it airtinme/print ifthe sat urday is good

Student Mullet
21/09/2007, 12:48 PM
We should all part our hair in stupid looking quiffs for the game.

Ozymandias
21/09/2007, 1:01 PM
We should all part our hair in stupid looking quiffs for the game.

won't work..it will be seen as support to john delaney..unless that is what you planned

Newryrep
21/09/2007, 1:06 PM
To the tune of Tom Jones 'Deliah'

My, my, my, Delaney
Why, why, why, Delaney
So before we come to break down the door
Forgive us Delaney we just couldnt take any more

Having said that it wont make a blind bit of difference, turkeys dont vote fro Xmas

Student Mullet
21/09/2007, 1:16 PM
won't work..it will be seen as support to john delaney..unless that is what you planned
Delaney would be on the six o'clock news saying that the fans had parted their hair in support of the FAI.

rowz
25/09/2007, 12:32 PM
A protest would be much more effective at Merrion square before the match... otherwise if we do any way well against Germany (a definite possibility), nobody will be in the form for protests.
It would only take a 100 people to make an impact at the FAI HQ, with news coverage guaranteed.

What it needs at this stage is for somebody to take it on and do some organising - any LOI supporters clubs or anybody else able to do it?

this is really important stuff.... otherwise we'll all be having the same discussion in two years time when none of us are going to the world cup!

stojkovic
25/09/2007, 6:28 PM
1996, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010.

Fcuking hell, one tournament out of eight.

Is there any other country in the Top 20 in Europe with a record as bad as that.

25/09/2007, 6:57 PM

Is there any other country in the Top 20 in Europe with a record as bad as that.

and yet some people think we have a divine right to qualify for tournaments. Ha! We are minnows.

25/09/2007, 7:14 PM
black tshirts will look stupid as they'll blend in.

what should be done is get a load of xl white t shirts and hand them out before people get in to croker.

then inform the press that everyone wearing white or someother bright colour.. (yellow?) is against delaney and stans regime

yellow would be good as no one wears yellow in the autumn

Irish_Praha
25/09/2007, 7:48 PM

Greece have also only qualified for one tournament since 1994 but they did win it :)
They are top of their group at the moment but it's a 3-way race for two places between them, Norway and Turkey.

Oh and according to the link below (yes I know wikipedia) we are 23rd so not in the top 20 in Europe, not sure how it will look after these qualifiers though.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_coefficients

25/09/2007, 8:13 PM
It would only take a 100 people to make an impact at the FAI HQ, with news coverage guaranteed.

surely it only takes 1 person and a petrol can to get on the news.. imagine what press 100 people would get!

bawn79
26/09/2007, 1:13 PM
How about the opposite to the Jose tax, how about someone sets up a website where people can "pledge" money to allow the FAI to pay off Stans remaining years in his contract.
Something like www.getstanout.ie and all you have is a big counter with the pledge money going up and a list of pledges below.

I can start off by pledging €100. All we need is another 27,000 of me!

I think it would get some nice publicity!

jmurphyc
26/09/2007, 1:20 PM
yeah i think doing something outside Merrion Square is more feasible than at Croke Park. Not enough people will catch on to a protest in Croke Park; too many daytrippers, event junkies etc. I mean, I remember a few years ago when the red card thing was happening at Lansdowne, and I'd only just started going to games, and I didn't have a clue as to what was going on. There's way too many people who don't give a **** who will be at the games in Croke Park so i don't think it would get any attention whatsoever unless it was coordinated really really well.

Scram
09/10/2007, 12:26 PM
So this has gone out the window then ?

No surprise.

Sligo Hornet
09/10/2007, 12:35 PM
black tshirts will look stupid as they'll blend in.

what should be done is get a load of xl white t shirts and hand them out before people get in to croker.

then inform the press that everyone wearing white or someother bright colour.. (yellow?) is against delaney and stans regime

yellow would be good as no one wears yellow in the autumn

A Certain good football team north of London might argue that point....!!;)

Closed Account 2
10/10/2007, 1:12 AM
Why doesnt everyone just chant "We want Delaney out" (to the tune of Jose Morinhio) for 5 - 10 mins from kick off at the start of the game.

Liverpool fans did that in the FA Cup match (sung a song about Hillsborough for the first 15 mins of a match) and it certainly got publicity.