View Full Version : Waterfords Capacity for Cup Quarter Final
11/09/2007, 10:52 AM
Theres no way a Cup Quarter final should take place in those conditions.
Especially after they dangerously oversold the away section in the recent away game.
Following discussions and meetings with relevant Health & Safety Officials, Waterford City Council and the FAI, Waterford United's capacity at the RSC has been limited to 1240 for the duration of the building works at the RSC.
Waterford United regrets that this limited capacity will mean severe restrictions for its fans but given the major nature of the works underway at the RSC, the club has no option but to operate in accordance with the Health & Safety legislation and in the best interests of all of its officials, players and supporters.
Tickets for the FAI Ford Senior Cup Quarter Final on Saturday September 23rd are now on sale at John Ryan's Shop on Patrick Street, Waterford City and will also be available for fans at the RSC during the eircom league of Ireland Premier Division game against Bohemians on Friday evening next.
A limited number of tickets will be allocated to Cork City FC and with an anticipated sell out, supporters are urged to purchase tickets in advance as there is no guarantee that tickets will be available on the night of the game.
Sniffer
11/09/2007, 11:55 AM
This is being televised live isn't it; will look and sound desperate with only 1240 peolple there. Can't argue with the H&S people, but either move venues or broadcast a different game.
11/09/2007, 12:00 PM
It looks like there'll be a clear majority of Waterford fans for once.
I thought licensing required 3,000 capacity.
I do agree though that the place is unfit for any large crowd.
Maybe it could be moved to Buckley Park, even St. Colmans or Crossabeg.
Tis-smeee
11/09/2007, 12:16 PM
Its limited capacity while the new stand is under construction so stop wumming, are we to not play home games because a new stand is being built
1,200 capacity for a Cup Semi Final. What a joke. I know this a H&S thing but why does the RSC not have any terracing anyway?
I don't think the RSC should have got a Premier licence in the first place but I suppose won't have to worry about it in the league next season anyway.
11/09/2007, 12:39 PM
Quarter-final
Waterford qualified for the quarter final fair and square and are fully entitled to play the game on their home ground, whatever the capacity.
11/09/2007, 12:46 PM
Its a split gate, so surely financial sense should prevail and move it to Turners Cross?
If a non-league team had a home draw in the FAI Cup would they be allowed play in 300 capacity ground? What would happen if it was a home semi final?
Salthill played in the FAI cup earlier this year at a ground with a capacity of 700 or so- so I don't see why not. I see no reason why any club should be forced to concede home advantage. Perhaps Waterford will do this to make more money, but the choice should be the home club's.
Tis-smeee
11/09/2007, 12:52 PM
Its not 300 capacity, and we dont really care tbh you have your allocation you should just worry about getting a ticket
11/09/2007, 12:52 PM
Waterford qualified for the quarter final fair and square and are fully entitled to play the game on their home ground, whatever the capacity.
Agreed 100%
The only concerns are safety. And I'd imagine the RSC has no problems there
It's not a home semi-final, pete, although you seem adamant that we will be in a semi-final, which is nice.
And despite your expert opinion we did get a licence.
Yes, it's not ideal that there is work going on in the ground, and the attendance is limited, but that's the way it is.
11/09/2007, 12:55 PM
Waterford qualified for the quarter final fair and squareMaybe square but it wasn't fair:( :o.
11/09/2007, 2:25 PM
What's so wrong with a club improving their stadium?
Nothing Frank.
Just the usual couple of suspects on a whinge, one of which I can't ignore because he's a mod. :mad:
The same people who do the most cribbing about the state of the ground are now cribbing when it's being improved.
Luckily for the world it's not down to Cork where the match takes place, and we don't have to roll over for them just because they want us to.
BTW, 'dangerously oversold' is a sensationalist fabrication. What a surprise!
It's not a home semi-final, pete, although you seem adamant that we will be in a semi-final, which is nice.
I was only trying to make the point that if 1,200 is allowed where do we stop. I know 300 is an exaggeration but I was trying to highlight the issue.
Does this mean RSC capacity limited to 1,200 for the remainder of the season?
I suppose it should make overselling the stands tickets a bit more difficult now.
11/09/2007, 2:56 PM
Wasn't Drogs stadium capacity limited and now it seems as if they have the maximum every week? I also recall reading in the attendances thread that the crowd looked bigger than the capacity. A bit odd. Surely that wouldn't stop Waterford.
A genuine question here: Is it the main stand that's having work done on it?
where do we stop
I don't know; I don't have the rule book. But obviously 1200 is allowed, and that is all that concerns us. Your 300 isn't just exaggerated, it's pointless.
No Frank. The main stand holds 1200. They're building a new stand on the far side, so between that and access pretty much the rest of the ground is closed off, and has been for a number of weeks.
Port Saint
11/09/2007, 3:01 PM
Unfortunate that the gound can't hold moe pain in the arse if some people will miss it but we have to progress in terms of fascilities for the longer term gain.
At least it's on TV for those who can't get in
11/09/2007, 3:01 PM
As opposed to which stand?
They've started digging up the opposite side of the pitch to construct another stand.
I'd have thought bucket seats behind each goal would have been feasible.
They're also doing ground work behind the goals, or certainly the city end.
Anyway, if they had bucket seats behind the goal (and track etc.) you'd be as far back as the Yellow House.
Surely our lads will get tickets down there, Waterford will hardly sell 1100 tickets.
11/09/2007, 4:21 PM
Only 205 Tickets for FAI Ford Cup Quarter Final
Cork City FC wish to advise supporters that the club has received a very limited allocation of tickets from Waterford United FC for the upcoming FAI Ford Cup Quarter Final in the RSC, Waterford on Saturday 22nd of September.
Due to ongoing construction work, the capacity at the venue is restricted to 1,240. Waterford United FC have agreed to allocate Cork City 205 seated tickets, an allocation above the 10% of capacity to which the away club is entitled under competition rules.
Demand will obviously outweigh supply for this match, and it is with regret that all Cork City supporters who wish to travel to this fixture will not be accommodated.
Our allocation of tickets for this game will be made available to supporters in the form of a free draw.
The draw will take place at the upcoming FAI eircom League of Ireland match against Longford Town, this Friday 14th of September. Tickets for the draw will be available to supporters upon entry through the Curragh Road end, with the draw conducted at half time.
The winning draw ticket numbers will be displayed on CorkCityFC.ie, within the Evening Echo and at the club shop at 93 Grand Parade from 9am Saturday.
Winners will have until close of business on Monday 17th of September to claim, purchase and receive their ticket from the club shop at 93 Grand Parade. No exceptions.
Fair enough.
11/09/2007, 4:28 PM
You could argue City should have had a draw for season ticket holders first and another draw if tickets were still left.
I suppose they want to get people to come to the Longford game.
You could argue City should have had a draw for season ticket holders first and another draw if tickets were still left.
I think it would be fair to allocate to season ticket holders first.
madblaa
11/09/2007, 6:27 PM
http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u134/pbr_2007/IMG_2115.jpg
This is what it looks like right now, not a lot can be done. As for not televising the match because of poor atmosphere, obviously you didn't see the last match against Sligo on TG4!
Philly
11/09/2007, 7:12 PM
The moaning from the Cork fans (and a mod) here is unreal. Waterford are building a fine new stand and in order to do so they're shutting off the standing sections of the ground; to keep spectators safe. It's not really their choice or an ideal situation for them but they have to do this to improve facilities. I advice you lot get over it and move on.
11/09/2007, 7:53 PM
I didn't realise there was work going on behind the goals.
What's that?
Just proper railings?
Not sure exactly, but there's a lot of work being done on the whole site, not just for the running track/football ground side of it. I think there's to be a swimming pool etc. to go in eventually.
alansmithccfc
11/09/2007, 8:31 PM
Its a kip anyway, Cobh will be a much better place to go to next season.
Cant agree with Citys distribution plans either though
Port Saint
11/09/2007, 8:39 PM
The moaning from the Cork fans (and a mod) here is unreal. Waterford are building a fine new stand and in order to do so they're shutting off the standing sections of the ground; to keep spectators safe. It's not really their choice or an ideal situation for them but they have to do this to improve facilities. I advice you lot get over it and move on.
If that was Pats in the RSC and they offered 205 tickets and then didn't give season ticket holders first chance to purchase tickets I think I'd have a good moan about it (and then buy one of Waterfords allocation).
This game should probably have been moved problems is to where?
I wouldn't give up home advantage.
half_full
11/09/2007, 8:50 PM
I didn't realise there was work going on behind the goals.
What's that?
Just proper railings?
City end is being used for access to the building site on far side, other end is inaccessable, again because of construciton and is also being used as parking space for machinery.
As for the WUMing about us not selling 1100 tickets etc:rolleyes:
11/09/2007, 8:51 PM
I think it's fair enough and I'm a season ticket holder.
I expect most season ticket holders miss one, two or three games a season and there's probably another thousand who go to that amount of games.
11/09/2007, 11:51 PM
It does kinda sum up the FAIs attitude towards their own competition though doesn't it. I mean, they hardly are going to make it a spectacle with that kind of crowd in all fairness. Even if it went up the road to Buckley Park it would be a better option.
I hate saying it but ...... its typical !!
Tis-smeee
12/09/2007, 2:14 AM
It does kinda sum up the FAIs attitude towards their own competition though doesn't it. I mean, they hardly are going to make it a spectacle with that kind of crowd in all fairness. Even if it went up the road to Buckley Park it would be a better option.
Are you saying the fai fixed the draw this way to make themselves look bad?
As for the WUMing about us not selling 1100 tickets etc:rolleyes:Make that 1000 now seeing as we've got over 200.
Its just circumstances, fair play to them for trying to improve the place cos by God it needs it. Its on TV so its not the end of the world.
blue til i die
12/09/2007, 9:40 AM
ye got your 200 and watever tickets,more than ye should have got, all people are in the stand, build a bridge and get over it!!
12/09/2007, 12:09 PM
Seems wierd that Waterford wouldn't at least look at moving this game to a bigger venue.
With such a small crowd - and a running track between them and the pitch - there's not going to be much of an advantage to playing at 'home'.
What crowd would this game have got with no restrictions - 3,000 ? In which case, playing it somewhere with a bigger capacity would see Waterford get almost 3-times as much gate income. And I'm sure, like all our clubs, they could do with that money.
I suspect this gamke will look dreadful on TV.
The game won't look that much different on tv. At best there would be a full stand, and a scattering of people behind a railing, behind a running track in the dark (from the tv's perspective anyway). So just a full stand will look pretty much the same on tv.
At the start of the season they had a 'pen' in front of the main stand, where people could stand on the track. I presume the club tried for this again, but the shiny new track is a no-go area.
Tis-smeee
12/09/2007, 12:37 PM
If waterford moved the game to say turners cross, it would still be regarded as our home tie and we would still be responsible for security costs policing costs and everything else it entails. Easier to keep it at the rsc
Ceirtlis
12/09/2007, 1:07 PM
What? The spectacle is on the pitch, not in the stands. In any case the camera will be facing into a full stand. How many people do you honestly think they would have got up in Buckley Park, i would say 1500 max. The only other option is Turners Cross and Waterford were hardly going to agree to that.
Partizan
12/09/2007, 1:20 PM
Unfortunatley, WUFC are really left with no other option that play the game at the RSC. To concede home advantage and play the game at Turner's Cross would be a bad PR move for the Club as it would be extreemly amateurish and smack of smalltime-ism plus the additional 'costs'. Switching the game to Buckley Park is a non runner as it might preclude a sizeable amount of Waterford fans from travelling seeing as its on TV and of course we would have to give Kilkenny City a hefty slice of the gate receipts on top of other costs incurred for security etc.
The whinging and whining from the Fat Pack is laughable seeing as they were giving out about the state of facilities at the RSC before the refurbishment got under way and now that a new 1800 seater stand is being put in place, they are still complaining. They want nothing short than us to roll over and gift them a place in the semi-final. :rolleyes:
12/09/2007, 2:05 PM
If waterford moved the game to say turners cross, it would still be regarded as our home tie and we would still be responsible for security costs policing costs and everything else it entails. Easier to keep it at the rsc
IIRC, the rent of the Cross includes security and policing.
I'm not too sure though and would never expect WUFC to move it to the Cross of all places.
The whinging and whining from the Fat Pack is . . . . . . . . . . . . .
:D:confused:
He was with ye last and afaik is still hanging around the South-East.:p
12/09/2007, 2:36 PM
That doesn't make any sense. You'd face those costs no matter where you hosted the game - incl the RSC - so how does that support not moving the fixture ? :confused:
bigmac
12/09/2007, 2:43 PM
That doesn't make any sense. You'd face those costs no matter where you hosted the game - incl the RSC - so how does that support not moving the fixture ? :confused:
Plus ground rental
Obviously they have their own security (etc) for home games, and staging a game in Cork would cost more. Either in bringing their own staff there, or by hiring the Cork staff. Not to mention ground rental
The main reason I'd guess they're not moving it is not to **** off their own fans. I know if I was a waterford fan and the game was switched to Cork I'd be pretty ****ing mad. And even the one off increase in gate for this game could well be weakened by a backlash against the baord for surrending home advantage.
12/09/2007, 3:04 PM
Plus ground rental
So Waterford uses the RSC for free at the moment...? :confused:
This is just minnowism of the highest order. I can't think of any costs that would be so big as to erase the benefit of enabling a gate roughly 3 times bigger than at the RSC, and I challenge anyone to present ones that would.
Bottom line is that Waterford would take-in a lot more money and provide a better spectacle using a different venue - and given the layout and capacity they will gain little of the usual 'home' benefits from staging this game at the RSC.
If you don't think the game should be moved for non-financial reasons - fine. But the financial ones all point firmly in-favour of shifting it.
Given our recent crowds I wouldnt be certain of us getting 4500 for a game against Waterford. I know its a cup semi but thats about 3 times our recent crowds....
If I were a Waterford fan Id be disgusted if they moved the game, as a city fan Im annoyed that theres a good chance I cant go now.