View Full Version : Waterfords Capacity for Cup Quarter Final

Pages : 1 [2] 3

12/09/2007, 3:10 PM
Obviously they have their own security (etc) for home games, and staging a game in Cork would cost more. Either in bringing their own staff there, or by hiring the Cork staff. Not to mention ground rental

The main reason I'd guess they're not moving it is not to **** off their own fans. I know if I was a waterford fan and the game was switched to Cork I'd be pretty ****ing mad. And even the one off increase in gate for this game could well be weakened by a backlash against the baord for surrending home advantage.

The RSC in its current state offers little of the traditional home advantages. The only real one I can see is familiarity with the surroundings - which granted is a big consideration - but the usual crowd advantage will be insignificant in a nigh-on deserted arena where the fans are away from the pitch anyway.

Why not move it somewhere other than Cork ? Kilkenny for example ? Just a thought...

Saint MacDara
12/09/2007, 3:20 PM
This is just minnowism of the highest order. I can't think of any costs that would be so big as to erase the benefit of enabling a gate roughly 3 times bigger than at the RSC, and I challenge anyone to present ones that would.

Bottom line is that Waterford would take-in a lot more money and provide a better spectacle using a different venue - and given the layout and capacity they will gain little of the usual 'home' benefits from staging this game at the RSC.

If you don't think the game should be moved for non-financial reasons - fine. But the financial ones all point firmly in-favour of shifting it.

By that logic Waterford should move all their home games against Cork to Turners Cross on the chance that their might be a bigger gate.

This is about WUFC's pride,what's the point of having a home if you're gonna move the important games to a different city?
The choice is there for a bit of extra money or to be loyal to the club's fans,they made the right choice.

12/09/2007, 3:40 PM
So Waterford uses the RSC for free at the moment...? :confused:

I think so.

bigmac
12/09/2007, 3:45 PM
So Waterford uses the RSC for free at the moment...? :confused:

As far as I know there's a yearly rent on the RSC, rather than a per match basis. I don't see what the fuss is really, the only people in my book who are entitled to complain are those who bust their ass trying to get a ticket and don't.

Minnowism? Damned if you do... We'd have the same accusation levelled at us if we gave up a home tie for a slightly bigger profit and at the same time would have people on here complaining that the club doesn't care about the fans. I didn't see any accusations of minnowism leveled at Derry when the capacity was cut to under 3000 for UEFA matches?

12/09/2007, 3:46 PM
If waterford moved the game to say turners cross, it would still be regarded as our home tie and we would still be responsible for security costs policing costs and everything else it entails. Easier to keep it at the rsc

Yeah easier to keep at the RSC where no security or policing :D

I suspect City got the number of tickets so that crowd could be segregated to one section.

12/09/2007, 3:57 PM
The RSC in its current state offers little of the traditional home advantages. The only real one I can see is familiarity with the surroundings - which granted is a big consideration - but the usual crowd advantage will be insignificant in a nigh-on deserted arena where the fans are away from the pitch anyway.
Home advantage counts for a fair bit in junior football, as players have a feel for the pitch. Add in the surroundings and the crowd and its obviously a fair bit, despite your attempts to belittle it

This is just minnowism of the highest order. I can't think of any costs that would be so big as to erase the benefit of enabling a gate roughly 3 times bigger than at the RSC, and I challenge anyone to present ones that would.
IMO minnnowism is taking the one off payday, instead of trying to use every advantage possible to beat Cork and make the semi final. Playing it in Cork would almsot guarentee a Cork victory.

Steve, look at the reaction of your fellow Derry fans in this thread about Derry hosting PSG (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=39569) for extra relevance. nice post by pete on the topic too
It is up to DCFC to do whatever they see fit & not really any place for other eL fans to criticise.

Sub WUFC for DCFC and he's bang on

rebelarmyexile
12/09/2007, 8:50 PM
WUFC are fully in the right. Under no circumstances should a club be effectively forced to ursurp home advantage. however, owing to gate reciepts would a move not be financially be worth it?

half_full
12/09/2007, 8:57 PM
Maybe if the match wasnt of TV then it would be feasable to move it to Kilkenny, but with people having the option of watching the game at home I'd say our board are just playing it safe. Unfortunate, and I wouldn't wish this situation on any supporter.

12/09/2007, 9:31 PM
The whinging and whining from the Fat Pack

That is ssooooooooo three years ago, or are Waterford just three years behind the rest of the country ..... oh wait ....... forget it, i answered it myself ;)

12/09/2007, 11:45 PM
By that logic Waterford should move all their home games against Cork to Turners Cross on the chance that their might be a bigger gate.

This is about WUFC's pride,what's the point of having a home if you're gonna move the important games to a different city?
The choice is there for a bit of extra money or to be loyal to the club's fans,they made the right choice.

As I said - fine. Don't use financial objections to such a move if it's really about other perfectly valid reasons, as the financial ones all support moving the game.

12/09/2007, 11:52 PM
Home advantage counts for a fair bit in junior football, as players have a feel for the pitch. Add in the surroundings and the crowd and its obviously a fair bit, despite your attempts to belittle it

But Waterford aren't in junior football :confused: And I've addressed how the crowd impact from being at home will be negligible

IMO minnnowism is taking the one off payday, instead of trying to use every advantage possible to beat Cork and make the semi final.

My minnowism reference was in response to someone justifying not moving the game on the basis that it would involve having to pay rent for a ground. That is clearly a ridiculously minnowistic arguement - particularly for a club who pay to rent their home ground anyway.

Steve, look at the reaction of your fellow Derry fans in this thread about Derry hosting PSG (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=39569) for extra relevance. nice post by pete on the topic too

Sub WUFC for DCFC and he's bang on

In the PSG game, the compact nature of the Brandywell, the partizan crowd, and the huge gulf in standards between our facilities and those PSG were used to were all expected to be, and proved to be, key in the game. None of those 3 arguements stacks up for the RSC in this game.

Regardless - I can totally see why Waterford would want to play it at the RSC. I'd just be a bit disappointed if they didn't at least consider alternatives.

12/09/2007, 11:54 PM
Minnowism? Damned if you do... We'd have the same accusation levelled at us if we gave up a home tie for a slightly bigger profit and at the same time would have people on here complaining that the club doesn't care about the fans. I didn't see any accusations of minnowism leveled at Derry when the capacity was cut to under 3000 for UEFA matches?

Read my response to Dodge above. My minnowism reference was to a post here - not to Waterford.

13/09/2007, 6:06 AM
Regardless - I can totally see why Waterford would want to play it at the RSC. I'd just be a bit disappointed if they didn't at least consider alternatives.

There's nothing to suggest they haven't considered all options. Personally I'd be disappointed if I was a Waterford fan and they moved it

Mental Man
13/09/2007, 6:56 AM
I honestly cant believe that this thread has gone on this far, do CCFC supporters expect WUFC and other clubs to bow to their whims every time something dont work to their favour? GROW UP !!
What team would fire away home adavantage to suit an opposing team, CCFC supporters have always been giving out about the ground conditions at the RSC, and now that the club is building a new stand and improving the whole ground THEY ARE STILL BLOODY COMPLAINING !!
I wonder how many of these idiots are still wearing nappies ?

13/09/2007, 9:22 AM
I honestly cant believe that this thread has gone on this far, . . . . . . . . . . .

I honestly can't believe you're still whinging about others whinging . . . . . .
Going around in circles.
The small capacity is a balls.
WUFC might have considered moving it, and it might even have been profitable for them to do so.
They decided to keep the game in Waterford.
End of.*

*just for Dodge.

Mental Man
13/09/2007, 12:29 PM
Look, WUFC is not going to change their mind to suit the whingers down on Leeside, the draw has been made, live with it and stop your whining, if you have that much of a gripe then dont bother your a**e coming to the game, if your passionate about your team you will go anywhere to support them, i do.

13/09/2007, 1:14 PM
Look, WUFC is not going to change their mind to suit the whingers down on Leeside, the draw has been made, live with it and stop your whining, if you have that much of a gripe then dont bother your a**e coming to the game, if your passionate about your team you will go anywhere to support them, i do.

But you still have to agree that switch the game to the Cross and having four (4) times the crowd makes the most sense. I'm not saying the Waterford are nonsensical but just a bit blurred in their perspective.

The Cross or Buckley Park ..... you know it makes sense !! ;)

13/09/2007, 1:24 PM
if your passionate about your team you will go anywhere to support them, i do.They want to go to the game but haven't got enough tickets...that's their point;) :p.

13/09/2007, 1:25 PM

Appropriate handle.
Read posts you intend replying to.

derm
13/09/2007, 1:25 PM

:confused: Stop griping about not being able to support your team and just go and support them anywhere?

That's just too weird...

WUFC are under no obligations to move the game and to be fair they have valid reasons for the reduced capacity and they have offered more than 10%.

However I think you'll find that having too little capacity is an issue that annoys supporters everywhere, not just "whingers down on Leeside".

13/09/2007, 3:01 PM
Given the attendence at Waterford's last cup game and last 'Munster Derby' Cork have a right to feel hard done by the amount of tickets they have been given.

bigmac
13/09/2007, 3:11 PM
Given the attendence at Waterford's last cup game and last 'Munster Derby' Cork have a right to feel hard done by the amount of tickets they have been given.

They got more than they were entitled to, how should they feel hard done by?:confused:

13/09/2007, 3:15 PM
They got more than they were entitled to, how should they feel hard done by?:confused:
The attendence at the last cup game was about half of the capacity for this game.

At the last derby the crowd was around 1,500 iirc, with a lot of them from Cork.

Ceirtlis
13/09/2007, 3:30 PM

Why not move it somewhere other than Cork ? Kilkenny for example ? Just a thought...

A bit over the top there dont ya think, "nigh on deserted", there average attendance is only 1300 and yes they have a much better home record than away.

13/09/2007, 4:03 PM
Am I the only one who thinks of 1965, Paris, Wembley, and a few quid in the bank for the FAI?

Just a question, not a comment.

bigmac
14/09/2007, 9:21 AM
The attendence at the last cup game was about half of the capacity for this game.

At the last derby the crowd was around 1,500 iirc, with a lot of them from Cork.

So come back to me if there are empty seats and Cork fans who couldn't get in. Home game - home fans get preference. Away fans getting more than they're entitled to.

Sonic
14/09/2007, 10:12 AM
t I suppose won't have to worry about it in the league next season anyway.

Dont count your chickens just yet!!

14/09/2007, 11:24 AM
A bit over the top there dont ya think, "nigh on deserted", there average attendance is only 1300 and yes they have a much better home record than away.

Not at all. They had 620 people at their televised cup game in the last round.

A stadium the size of the RSC, with the fans so far from the pitch, usually looks/feels deserted even at normal times. The reduced capacity will really accentuate that feeling now.

Blue-Army
14/09/2007, 10:56 PM
They want to go to the game but haven't got enough tickets...that's their point.

I have my ticket anyway!! :D:D:p

COME ON BLUES

14/09/2007, 11:03 PM
The Echo have a small clarifying statement from a Mr Gavin Lonergan of the Health & Safety Authority. They want to make clear that they had no involvement in setting a limit of 1,200 on the RSC game.

Strange one

I didnt win a ticket :(

15/09/2007, 12:08 AM

What was runners-up prize......?

15/09/2007, 12:09 AM
I've ate in to the Waterford allocation . . . . . . . the perfect protest.

15/09/2007, 11:17 AM

Ticket for Derry City v UCD. ;)

15/09/2007, 1:29 PM
Ticket for Derry City v UCD. ;)

Fantastic - a draw with a prize worth winning !

Sounds like the proverbial '1st prize ; a week in Tenerife. Second prize : 2 weeks in Tenerife' scenario.

At least you'll get to see 2 decent teams playing... :D

pp-me
15/09/2007, 7:49 PM

2 tickets hehhehe:D:D

15/09/2007, 7:49 PM
The main problem here is that Cork City Football Club has shafted its season ticket holders here. The letter I got with my season ticket said i'd have first preference for certain games but not in this case.
Surely a draw amongst the 750 season ticket holders would have been fairer than being in a draw with some punter who turns up the odd time.

15/09/2007, 10:25 PM
Heard today that the reason for the limited capacity is that a new running track has been laid and they don't want people standing on it.

This is fair enough but why didnt they just say this in the first place instead of the health and safety line.....

Got a ticket now anyway so I'm happy

15/09/2007, 10:45 PM
Heard today that the reason for the limited capacity is that a new running track has been laid and they don't want people standing on it.
Thats already been posted in this thread.

noby
15/09/2007, 10:47 PM
micls, that is the situation all season; there's nothing new there. What's changed now is that outside the running track is basically a building site with the exception of the stand.

16/09/2007, 9:37 PM
Fair enough, didnt see that.

Quick question. How is ye're allocation selling? Will ye definitely sell it out?

16/09/2007, 10:44 PM
I heard they haven't exactly been flying out.
For the ticketless, it might be worth heading down to Waterford very early on the day.

17/09/2007, 8:01 AM
For the ticketless, it might be worth heading down to Waterford very early on the day.

Tbh I dont think people will bother taking that chance when it's on tele.

If there not selling great by Friday would Waterford send up some more? People will head down if they were guaranteed tickets but I dunno how many will head otherwise

noby
17/09/2007, 8:09 AM
I appreciate where you're coming from, but that makes no sense. If there are unsold tickets they will be sold at the gate.

noby
17/09/2007, 1:00 PM
The Echo have a small clarifying statement from a Mr Gavin Lonergan of the Health & Safety Authority. They want to make clear that they had no involvement in setting a limit of 1,200 on the RSC game.

Strange one

Ir seems WUFC's statement mentioned health and safety reasons for the limited capacity (in consultation with the local authority and the Gardaí). Someone, possibly an echo journo, took this to mean the HSA, who when contacted knew nothing about it.

Anyway, seems the FAI are doing their own inspection today, so there may be an increase of a couple of hundred tickets. (Disclaimer: Or so I read)

17/09/2007, 5:30 PM
I appreciate where you're coming from, but that makes no sense. If there are unsold tickets they will be sold at the gate.

I was thinking more along the lines of if there were a lot left and they didnt expect Waterford fans to sell them out on the night, not City getting tickets that would be sold.

Would be silly to leave empty seats when there are plenty of people looking for tickets

noby
18/09/2007, 7:39 AM
Well yes but, shockingly, there is interest in this match in Waterford too, and tickets are selling fast according to the club site.

18/09/2007, 7:46 AM
Well yes but, shockingly, there is interest in this match in Waterford too, and tickets are selling fast according to the club site.In fairness noby what else are they going to say.

18/09/2007, 8:05 AM
Well yes but, shockingly, there is interest in this match in Waterford too, and tickets are selling fast according to the club site.

Other sources have told me they're selling at lot slower that ye expected....

blue til i die
18/09/2007, 5:29 PM
well if other sources say it,then it must be true.......

18/09/2007, 9:26 PM
well if other sources say it,then it must be true.......

What? Where did I say that? Did you miss the IF in my earlier post :rolleyes: