View Full Version : NI Boss targets Republics Kane

Pages : 1 [2] 3

EalingGreen
03/09/2007, 12:39 PM
I think any reasonable person would agree it should be the individuals choice.

Cut off should be immediately. I.e. the minute you step on the field for a country at any age then thatss your team.

One things EG though. I think the FAI should be allowed ask players like Baird etc.. if they wanna play for ROI. I dont think thats 'tapping up'. If they say no they feel Northern Irish then grand.

Deep sdown, despite your well constructed arguments EG, i think you realise that you cant stop a fella from the North playing for ROI if that is where he wants to play.

Where a player is eligible under the Rules to represent more than one Association, then of course it must be his choice - to deny him that would indeed be unreasonable. However, I am merely questioning whether Gibson et al really are eligible for two Associations. (Note my use of "are", rather than "should be", which is a different issue)

As for a cut-off, I personally would allow players to switch at least until 16, preferably until 18, since youngsters aren't always in a position to make an informed decision and can be subject to extraneous influences (agents, managers etc).

As for "tapping up" a player who has already appeared to have made his choice, we'll have to agree to disagree on that one, but if you think about it, your "any age" cut-off would prevent probably the majority of players from being "tapped up", since they usually only come to the attention of the FAI after they have first represented the IFA.

As for your last point, not only could I not prevent an NI-born player from opting for the ROI (provided, of course, he is eligible), but I wouldn't want to prevent a player exercising such a choice.

EalingGreen
03/09/2007, 12:44 PM
And he's suddenly become a very good player again strangely enough. A week ago he was footballing lump of wood.:D

Aye, but that's football fans for you. Away from the NI context, how many e.g. Man Utd fans gave dogs abuse to Eric Cantona when he was at Leeds? Then what happened? ;)

P.S. If you actually read the threads on OWC, there are quite a few individuals there who have always rated Kane highly - which is why his (temporary) defection to the ROI bit so hard.

RogerMilla
03/09/2007, 12:49 PM
As for your last point, not only could I not prevent an NI-born player from opting for the ROI (provided, of course, he is eligible), but I wouldn't want to prevent a player exercising such a choice.

EG , you don't want anyone born in NI to be eligible to play for anyone except NI though , do you ?

EalingGreen
03/09/2007, 12:55 PM
This is the vital point and long may it continue that we can give the lads ( and ladies) up there citizenship and and a place on our team for those who want it and merit it.

And basically this is what EG wants to bring a halt to.

In so far as I consider that FIFA's Rules may be being broken by the FAI, I want to see them enforced, the effect of which would be to prevent the likes of Gibson representing the ROI.

But throughout all my long correspondance on this topic, both here and on OWC, I have consistently argued this for footballing reasons and nothing else.

If it should turn out that FIFA backs the IFA on this case, then whether a player has stuck with NI all along (e.g. Chris Baird), has been persuaded to revert to NI (e.g. Tony Kane) or maintains an "ROI or nothing" stance (e.g. Darron Gibson), this does not affect his political, constitutional or human rights one jot: all three will continue to be every bit as "Irish" as they ever where.

Additionally, if they are sufficiently good enough, they can assert their Irishness on the playing field by representing one* of the two Irish football teams on this island, as well.

* - The one that is "Original and Best", as it happens! ;)

EalingGreen
03/09/2007, 1:01 PM
EG , you don't want anyone born in NI to be eligible to play for anyone except NI though , do you ?

See my simultaneous post, RM. Anyhow, I can see both sides of the argument, which is why I am happy to leave it to a neutral party (FIFA) to decide. I hope they decide such that my team has the maximum number of players available to it. But if they decide that the likes of Gibson etc may opt for the ROI, then I say "Good Luck" to him.

Our team has been in existence for 127 years, during which time it has seen off more serious challenges than this, so I'm sure we'll cope with this latest, whichever way it falls.

Onwards and Upwards!

EalingGreen
03/09/2007, 1:04 PM
A case of trying to speak out of both sides of your mouth at once.:D

How so? :confused:

youngirish
03/09/2007, 1:12 PM
As for "tapping up" a player who has already appeared to have made his choice, we'll have to agree to disagree on that one, but if you think about it, your "any age" cut-off would prevent probably the majority of players from being "tapped up", since they usually only come to the attention of the FAI after they have first represented the IFA.

That description of "tapping up" EG looks very much like it should apply to what the IFA has done to Kane and Gibson in recent weeks. One rule for them though and another for everyone else eh?

You seem like a reasonably clever bloke. Surely you must realise the amount of insane, illogical, tripe on this matter that has been posted by yourself and the majority of your mates on ourweecountry.com over the past few months. You are contradicting your earlier posts ffs at this stage. At least be consistent if your going to be illogical??!!!

EalingGreen
03/09/2007, 1:44 PM
That description of "tapping up" EG looks very much like it should apply to what the IFA has done to Kane and Gibson in recent weeks. One rule for them though and another for everyone else eh?

You seem like a reasonably clever bloke. Surely you must realise that the amount of insane, illogical, tripe on this matter that has been posted by yourself and the majority of your mates on ourweecountry.com over the past few months. You are contradicting your earlier posts ffs at this stage. At least be consistent if your going to be illogical??!!!

Good Grief! The whole point about "tapping up" is that the offender is tapping up the player/manager etc of another team! Gibson, Kane, Baird, McKenna were all NI players (for various under-age teams) before they either approached, or were approached by, the FAI.

And could you supply me with even one example of where I have been either illogical or contradictory, on this Board or any other?

It's only a few posts since you accused me of having claimed that Gibson, Kane, O'Connor and Wilson were all approached first by the FAI, yet you are still unable to produce any evidence of same.

P.S. Thank you for your "reasonably clever" compliment. You probably have no idea how much it pleased and amused me to hear that from you! ;)

youngirish
03/09/2007, 1:51 PM
Good Grief! The whole point about "tapping up" is that the offender is tapping up the player/manager etc of another team! Gibson, Kane, Baird, McKenna were all NI players (for various under-age teams) before they either approached, or were approached by, the FAI.

P.S. Thank you for your "reasonably clever" compliment. You probably have no idea how much it pleased and amused me to hear that from you! ;)
Yes and Kane and Gibson were ROI players (that's another team) before the IFA tried to get them back on board so to speak. No? You can't see this? Too complicated for you? Ok let's move on. You're not quite grasping this are you?

And could you supply me with even one example of where I have been either illogical or contradictory, on this Board or any other?

See above argument on "tapping up" and earlier conspiracy theories by yourself on ourweecountry.com regarding FAI "tapping up".

It's only a few posts since you accused me of having claimed that Gibson, Kane, O'Connor and Wilson were all approached first by the FAI, yet you are still unable to produce any evidence of same.

I already have, twice. Read some of my previous posts again and stop skimming over them and skipping the big words. There are many other examples on ourweecountry.com were you assert that the FAI "tapped up" some players (Baird, McKenna) and speculate that they have done the same for O'Connor, Gibson and Kane. I already listed some of these how many more such nonsense do I have to drag up before you'll admit you are talking your usual crap albeit dressed up in long posts with large words to confuse the less gifted amongst us?

P.S. Thank you for your "reasonably clever" compliment. You probably have no idea how much it pleased and amused me to hear that from you!

You're welcome but perhaps it was a bit premature considering you still can't grasp any of the points above and see how ridiculous they make some of your previous bile on this matter look. You also can't quite seem to grasp the merits of a logical argument. In fact basic logic of all kinds doesn't seem to register with you so I take back what I said earlier. Accept my sincerest apologies.

Not Brazil
03/09/2007, 1:51 PM
Delighted the Worthy has picked young Tony Kane for the forthcoming double header.

Delighted also that Tony has accepted the invitation.

Depending on how the matches pan out, I'm sure Worthy will take the opportunity to reward him with his first senior International cap.

Also good to see Celtic's Mickey McGovern elevated to the senior squad for Latvia & Iceland, following the (pathetic) withdrawal of Roy Carroll.

Torn-Ado
03/09/2007, 2:41 PM
from http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/im-so-lucky-to-be-here-admits-clarke-1070276.html

Ok. This was discussed in the Lapira thread.

If a player plays for a country in a full international at senior level (incl. friendlies), he is then tied to that country for life. Is this true because I thought it was confirmed but Nigel Worthington has different ideas it seems.

EalingGreen
03/09/2007, 3:11 PM
Yes and Kane and Gibson were ROI players (that's another team) before the IFA tried to get them back on board so to speak. No? You can't see this? Too complicated for you? Ok let's move on. You're not quite grasping this are you?
See above argument on "tapping up" and earlier conspiracy theories by yourself on ourweecountry.com regarding FAI "tapping up".

There are many other examples on ourweecountry.com were you assert that the FAI "tapped up" some players (Baird, McKenna) and speculate that they have done the same for O'Connor, Gibson and Kane. I already listed some of these how many more such nonsense do I have to drag up before you'll admit you are talking your usual crap albeit dressed up in long posts with large words to confuse the less gifted amongst us?

You're welcome but perhaps it was a bit premature considering you still can't grasp any of the points above and see how ridiculous they make some of your previous bile on this matter look. You also can't quite seem to grasp the merits of a logical argument. In fact basic logic of all kinds doesn't seem to register with you so I take back what I said earlier. Accept my sincerest apologies.

When it comes to understanding the concept of "tapping up", it is clear that one of us has got this wrong and I'm confident it's not me.

As for which players might have been tapped up, I said that I understand Baird and McKenna were and I would not be too surprised if it turned out one or more of the other four (Gibson, Kane, O'Connor and Wilson) were. That is NOT the same as claiming any of them was, no matter how much you would like it to be, in order to support your baseless claim.

And I'm still awaiting even one example of where I have been illogical or contradictory. Not to mention "insane" - which you also accused me of being! :eek:

Re the retraction of your compliment, there is no need to apologise, since I was never going to include "Cited by Young Irish as 'reasonably clever'" in my Obituary Notice, ahead of:

"Not the worst poet I've ever read" - William McGonigall

"Might make a half-decent football manager" - Steve Staunton

"Good at sums" - Jade Goody

"Not the most retiring of individuals" - Victoria Beckham

youngirish
03/09/2007, 3:32 PM
As for which players might have been tapped up, I said that I understand Baird and McKenna were and I would not be too surprised if it turned out one or more of the other four (Gibson, Kane, O'Connor and Wilson) were. That is NOT the same as claiming any of them was, no matter how much you would like it to be, in order to support your baseless claim.

Ok let's assume for the moment that you never made any suggestion that any of the above players were "tapped up" by the FAI (which you did, I've provided an example for Gibson that seems to imply this and I seem to remember a number of other posts). Anyway in the spirit of compromise let's just let this go. You've admitted that you at the very least have stated Baird and McKenna were "tapped up" so to speak? Yes? So who cares about the particular names you spoon, my original argument is still just as valid.

What exactly do you consider "tapping up" btw? Any association other than the IFA courting the attentions of a player tied to another organisation? So in that case the IFA approaching Gibson and Kane both Republic of Ireland players at the time isn't considered by you to be "tapping up" because as you state nobody put a gun to their heads but the FAI approaching Baird and McKenna is in what seems to me to be a very similar situation? Did John Delaney hold a gun then to one or both of the above heads and this is what differentiates the two approaches? If this was not the case and no firearms were involved then my argument stands that you are a hypocrite yes? We can at last agree on something. Thank God for that.

03/09/2007, 3:59 PM
If tapping means a quiet word in the ear of a player then the persistent public targeting of Darron by the IFA would be the equivalent of belligerent foghorn diplomacy.

EalingGreen
03/09/2007, 7:06 PM
If tapping means a quiet word in the ear of a player then the persistent public targeting of Darron by the IFA would be the equivalent of belligerent foghorn diplomacy.

My understanding of the term "tapping up" means surreptitiously approaching someone who is already under a contract or some other sort of commitment, in order to induce them to break that contract or commitment.

Which may be understandable in the "dog eat dog" world of professional club football, but should have no place in international football - especially when youngsters are involved (imo).

And in any case, if you actually read what Worthy and Wells have been saying, it is that they genuinely don't believe players like Kane and Gibson etc are eligible for ROI, but the IFA won't hold their switch to the ROI against them, should they decide they wish/need to come back.

That is hardly "belligerent" (or a "witchhunt", as another poster characterised it).

03/09/2007, 8:19 PM
if you actually read what Worthy and Wells have been saying, it is that they genuinely don't believe players like Kane and Gibson etc are eligible for ROI, but the IFA won't hold their switch to the ROI against them, should they decide they wish/need to come back

balls.
Who cares what belief system the IFA currently have.

They are IRISH players until FIFA sanctions a transfer back to the IFA.
Belief systems are not an exemption from acting ethically.

Not Brazil
05/09/2007, 7:09 PM
"Nigel Worthington called me a couple of times in the last few weeks to see what my thoughts were and I told him that I always wanted to play for Northern Ireland."

"As far as what has happened in the past I hope that is forgotten about now and I can concentrate on playing for Northern Ireland. I am committed to the country now."

Tony Kane in tonight's Belfast Telegraph.

EalingGreen
05/09/2007, 7:51 PM
"Nigel Worthington called me a couple of times in the last few weeks to see what my thoughts were and I told him that I always wanted to play for Northern Ireland."

"As far as what has happened in the past I hope that is forgotten about now and I can concentrate on playing for Northern Ireland. I am committed to the country now."

I don't believe a word of it, it's just more lies put about by the IFA, through their in-house rag, the Belfast Telegraph. In fact I wouldn't be at all surprised if Howard Wells was holding a gun to Kane's head, whilst somebody else from the IFA phoned a murder threat to his family...:eek:

Paddy Garcia
05/09/2007, 7:58 PM

Tapping up so.

lopez
05/09/2007, 8:09 PM
I don't believe a word of it, it's just more lies put about by the IFA, through their in-house rag, the Belfast Telegraph. In fact I wouldn't be at all surprised if Howard Wells was holding a gun to Kane's head, whilst somebody else from the IFA phoned a murder threat to his family...:eek:Again! Do you believe everything you read in the papers...or just what you want to believe?

EalingGreen
05/09/2007, 8:48 PM
We'll have Gibson and let's see who fares the better.

Jonny Evans. And you'll never get him! ;)

EalingGreen
05/09/2007, 8:51 PM
Tapping up so.

And if the McCanns were to chance upon Maddy somewhere and take her back, that would be kidnapping, would it?

Kane was ours. He played for us. He was persuaded to play for someone else, but decided to come back, when asked. You can't "tap up" your own player...:rolleyes:

EalingGreen
05/09/2007, 8:55 PM
Again! Do you believe everything you read in the papers...or just what you want to believe?

No, I do not believe everything I read in the papers. But I believe this:

(Tony Kane in tonight's Belfast Telegraph)

co. down green
05/09/2007, 9:16 PM
And if the McCanns were to chance upon Maddy somewhere and take her back, that would be kidnapping, would it?

Kane was ours. He played for us. He was persuaded to play for someone else, but decided to come back, when asked. You can't "tap up" your own player...:rolleyes:

Any chance of removing the comments about young Madeline McCann, ffs eg, catch yourself on.

Paddy Garcia
05/09/2007, 9:23 PM

You tapped up our player, disgraceful if you ask me. No place in the game where young footballers are concerned.

Paddy Garcia
05/09/2007, 9:37 PM
Jonny Evans. And you'll never get him! ;)

Well we really really need a central midfielder, so Gibson will do fine. And maybe O'Connor.

EalingGreen
05/09/2007, 10:22 PM
You tapped up our player, disgraceful if you ask me. No place in the game where young footballers are concerned.

Then tell it to Chris Baird or Kieran McKenna (or Brian Kerr, more to the point) ;)

EalingGreen
05/09/2007, 10:39 PM
The full story on Tony Kane (for those who sometimes believe what they read in the papers, at least). Oh, and a curious choice of phrase - "when I was offered the chance to play for the Republic" [sic] - which could be read more than one way, if one was of a mind to...

I'm here to stay with Northern Ireland: Kane

Wednesday, September 05, 2007

By Stuart McKinley

Tony Kane has revealed that an administrative blunder on the part of the Irish Football Association led him to seek his international future south of the border.

Now, however, just two calls from Northern Ireland manager have brought the Belfast-born defender back north and to the verge of a full debut for the country of his birth.

Manchester United midfielder Darron Gibson has found himself at the centre of an international tug-of-war between north and south as the IFA press FIFA for a decision on whether Irish Passport holders born in Northern Ireland are eligible for the Republic's teams.

Kane is also on the list of players whose eligibility the IFA wanted checked out after winning two under-21 caps for the Republic earlier this year, but now there will be no need for his qualifications to come under scrutiny as he is fully committed to Northern Ireland.

Nigel Worthington has called the Blackburn Rovers man into the squad for Saturday's Euro 2008 qualifier away to Latvia and the game in Iceland four days later. An appearance at any stage in those two games will stamp Kane as Northern Ireland property, as far as international football is concerned.

"I am delighted to be in the squad and that all the complications of the last year or so can be put behind me," Kane told the Belfast Telegraph.

"I enjoyed playing for the Northern Ireland under-19 team under Mal Donaghy and Seamus Heath and had a good relationship with them.

"Last year I was called into the under-21 squad for the Milk Cup, which clashed with my first pre-season trip with the Blackburn first-team.

"I was going to have to cut the trip short by a couple of days to join up with the Northern Ireland squad, which wasn't ideal because I was trying to make an impression with the manager Mark Hughes.

"Then a couple of days before I was due to leave I got a call to say that I hadn't been properly registered for the tournament.

"I thought that was an absolute joke and I was left wondering if they really wanted me to play for Northern Ireland.

"All I've ever been interested in is playing football and when I was offered the chance to play for the Republic it felt good to be wanted and for me it was the right decision at the time because I didn't feel that Northern Ireland wanted me.

And Worthington's calls were enough for Kane to turn his back on the Republic - for good.

"It was nice to have the Northern Ireland manager make that effort and make it known that he wanted me to be part of the set-up," said Kane, whose call-up came as something of a late 20th birthday present.

SwanVsDalton
06/09/2007, 1:34 AM
In so far as I consider that FIFA's Rules may be being broken by the FAI, I want to see them enforced, the effect of which would be to prevent the likes of Gibson representing the ROI.

But throughout all my long correspondance on this topic, both here and on OWC, I have consistently argued this for footballing reasons and nothing else.

Problem is, by preventing footballers from playing for the Irish team of their choosing, it becomes intrinsically political. It's supremely naive to think otherwise.

And saying to those players 'Lump it', simply because FIFA'S rules do not take into account Ireland's particuarly unique status, is ridicuously undiplomatic.

The end result may be that thousands of young footballers are prevented of playing for the Republic, even though they will feel that it is their right to play for the nationality of their choosing.

As much as I'd like it to be simply about football, it isn't and it probably never will be.

sylvo
06/09/2007, 3:57 AM
I don't believe a word of it, it's just more lies put about by the IFA, through their in-house rag, the Belfast Telegraph. In fact I wouldn't be at all surprised if Howard Wells was holding a gun to Kane's head, whilst somebody else from the IFA phoned a murder threat to his family...:eek:

Good man, thats it bring in a kidnapped little girl to back up your bullsh1te argument about your little pub team, you lads are a right laugh from ourweeminds.

Your comment was just sick, but coming from that shower of bigots you follow I shouldn't be surprised really.

Not Brazil
06/09/2007, 8:40 AM
but coming from that shower of bigots you follow I shouldn't be surprised really.

Oh dear.:rolleyes:

cheifo
06/09/2007, 9:13 AM
To tar a body of people who want to support their football team with the same brush is using the tools of bigotry.
I hope we beat Slovakia with Darron Gibsons help.I hope NI also win with Tony
Kane on board if need be.
The somewhat unique political landscape on this Island is always going to throw up some anomolies regarding Sporting representation.
Will some of you chill out ffs.

Not Brazil
06/09/2007, 9:17 AM
To tar a body of people who want to support their football team with the same brush is using the tools of bigotry.

Well said cheifo.

youngirish
06/09/2007, 9:31 AM

Don't be such a fool. Are you really so blinkered when it comes to NI? Kane was at the time a ROI player and not a NI player. You really don't have a clue. Whenever someone shoots you down (which is fairly easy to do if one can be bothered to read the entirety of one of your posts) with a logical argument you either ignore them (as in my last post on this thread) or make some ridiculous, nonsensical statement with a stupid smiley face as per above.

What the IFA did with Kane and Gibson when they were ROI players is no different to what you claim the FAI were trying to do with Baird and/or McKenna. Face this fact at least and try to grow up.

To everyone else. Why do we put up with this endless NI dribble polluting our boards when ourweecountry ban you for a single post if you don't agree with the general consensus?

cheifo
06/09/2007, 9:51 AM
Maybe YI,
but some of the comments by a minority of our supporters are embarressing and bordering on something nasty.Theres no point quoting the GFA unless you agree the spirit of it is a two way street.Some of the comments on the DG situation have been unfortunate but can you honestly say they have only come from NI supporters.The referals to NI being a pub team is at best begrudgery and at worst downright prejudice.Any real football fan would surely agree that when a country of One&3/4 million people take on the prima donnas of the Primera league and the Premiership and puts them in their place then the team from that country deserves all the credit they are due.Goodness, I wish our team would start playing to its strenghts in the same fashion.

06/09/2007, 9:55 AM
Maybe YI,
but some of the comments by a minority of our supporters are embarressing and bordering on something nasty.Theres no point quoting the GFA unless you agree the spirit of it is a two way street.Some of the comments on the DG situation have been unfortunate but can you honestly say they have only come from NI supporters.The referals to NI being a pub team is at best begrudgery and at worst downright prejudice.Any real football fan would surely agree that when a country of One&3/4 million people take on the prima donnas of the Primera league and the Premiership and puts them in their place then the team from that country deserves all the credit they are due.Goodness, I wish our team would start playing to its strenghts in the same fashion.

What that man said. :)

There's a few on here who apply one (quite lowly at times) standard or us and a very different one for them.

06/09/2007, 10:00 AM
Youngirish, do you not think you would last very long on that OWC forum if you restricted your content to football matters only?
Your mild, measured and balanced approach when offering another perspective (eg. on David Healy) would surely be welcome :)

youngirish
06/09/2007, 10:03 AM
What that man said. :)

There's a few on here who apply one (quite lowly at times) standard or us and a very different one for them.

There are also a number of people that give credence to a lot of what EG posts just because he is a supporter of NI when the content often deserves nothing of the sort. Similar comments by the majority on here would be shot down.

It's clear to see the unreasonable, biased muck he often posts when comparing his opinions on the actions of the FAI regarding Baird and McKenna (which I might add are just pure speculation on his part) compared with those of NI and Gibson and Kane (which are clear to see for everyone).

EalingGreen
06/09/2007, 12:08 PM
Good man, thats it bring in a kidnapped little girl to back up your bullsh1te argument about your little pub team, you lads are a right laugh from ourweeminds.

Your comment was just sick, but coming from that shower of bigots you follow I shouldn't be surprised really.

The "pub team" and "shower of bigots" insults I can withstand, since I'm used to that sort of thing from certain quarters.
But spare me the mock indignation over Maddy McCann. It was a harmless analogy (look it up), with no perjorative content whatever.
Besides, I daresay the McCanns have bigger things to worry about than a fleeting reference on a website that they'll never even read...:(

WembleyGreen
06/09/2007, 12:47 PM
This thread seems to be turning into a slagging match with more s***e flying around than you'd find on a farmers muck spreader. Everyone get a grip please, the young lads at the centre of all this only want to play football. Wether we all like it or not they do have a choice in this and at the end of the day THEY will choose the best option for themselves and who can blame them, being a footballer is short career and money aside if your ambition is to play at the highest level then International football is going to be one of your aims. Darron Gibson is on the verge of his International competitive debut for HIS country as chosen by him. Tony Kane is would appear is on at the same point for HIS country as chosen by him. That's the way it is and that's the way it ought to be. They decide who they play for and everyone should respect that. Lets just wish both of them all the best and leave it at that.

cheifo
06/09/2007, 1:19 PM
Now,Now Wembly Green we will have none of that common sense around here young man.:)

WembleyGreen
06/09/2007, 1:28 PM
Sorry cheifo, forgot where I was there for a minute!

06/09/2007, 1:36 PM
Why do we put up with this endless NI dribble polluting our boards when ourweecountry ban you for a single post if you don't agree with the general consensus?

We??

You put up with him because you don't have the power to ban him from this site.

I've no doubt that you would ban him if you had the chance.

Don't paint yourself as somebody so tolerant of others views. You clearly are not.

06/09/2007, 1:45 PM
They decide who they play for and everyone should respect that. Lets just wish both of them all the best and leave it at that.

I agree with the sentiments of your post Wembley Green, but it is FIFA, and not the players themselves who decide.

Ealing Green and others seem to feel that they may not be eligible for the ROI, whereas others feel they are. EG and the others of the same opinion would like a ruling by FIFA on this issue, whereas those of the other opinion feel that no such ruling is needed.

The issue is not only who these players want to play for, but also who they are eligible to play for.

youngirish
06/09/2007, 1:49 PM
We??

You put up with him because you don't have the power to ban him from this site.

I've no doubt that you would ban him if you had the chance.

Don't paint yourself as somebody so tolerant of others views. You clearly are not.

I personally don't think he or anyone else should be banned from these boards. Not unless they are maliciously attempting to sabotage the workings of the forums.

I'm more against the endless posts that people feed him when his original points have all been answered. This only encourages more dribble. This is what I meant to refer to above.

06/09/2007, 1:58 PM
I personally don't think he or anyone else should be banned from these boards. Not unless they are maliciously attempting to sabotage the workings of the forums.

Fair enough, that is a decent, rational answer, and you're not as intolerant as I thought.

WembleyGreen
06/09/2007, 3:23 PM
Osarusan, I am aware of the IFA and FAI's different take on the eligibiity communique from FIFA and I have been following the threads etc, but surely even FIFA can see that the rights of a citizen to play for their country goes to the very core of that citizenship. I think the IFA need to back off on this before they do any more damage and risk souring what was an improving situation between the two associations. This carry on is only going to alienate even more of the people the IFA are trying to appeal to with their 'football for all' campaign and it certainly won't encourage youngsters who may be faced with the same choice in future and who's background may be Irish nationalist from joining their (NI) team. Fair enough they are 'losing' potential players to us but that is going to be tha case no matter what, they have to accept that there is a part of the population in NI that simply do not want to play for NI just like there is part who would not want to play for us. You can't force people to play for you and citing technicalities and even making veiled threats like 'points could be deducted' etc like Worthington has been quoted as saying are just pathetic. I can't see what they hope to achieve by this, it's just opening a can of worms and giving the usual suspects a stick to beat each other with!

greendeiseboy
06/09/2007, 3:44 PM
How many players in the last ten years have actualyy "defected" to the republic.

The one's i can think of off hand are ger crossan, saul deeney, marc wilson, mark mukendi, darren gibson and one other recently whose name escapes me

Hardly what you'd call a drain. It might also be worth pointing out that probably with the exception of marc wilson, who is from lurgan, that the remainder come from strong nationalist communities in belfast or derry. where in the main would have grown up supporting the republic

The other point i'm making is that how many of these, with perhaps the exception of gibson, will actually go on to have full professional and international carrers

The reality is that there will be some that want to play for us in the same way as those born in england and scotland do but the overall majority are still declaring for the north and want to play for them regardless of their backround

lopez
06/09/2007, 4:15 PM
And if the McCanns were to chance upon Maddy somewhere and take her back, that would be kidnapping, would it?...Now that's what I call taking the subject off topic. Don't ever criticise me again about going off subject. W*nker!

Mods, dahamster, you can ban me for that last remark. It'll be f*cking worth it. The rest of you who like to indulge this d*ckhead, you're exactly the same.

EalingGreen
06/09/2007, 4:43 PM
How many players in the last ten years have actualyy "defected" to the republic.

The one's i can think of off hand are ger crossan, saul deeney, marc wilson, mark mukendi, darren gibson and one other recently whose name escapes me

Hardly what you'd call a drain. It might also be worth pointing out that probably with the exception of marc wilson, who is from lurgan, that the remainder come from strong nationalist communities in belfast or derry. where in the main would have grown up supporting the republic

The other point i'm making is that how many of these, with perhaps the exception of gibson, will actually go on to have full professional and international carrers

The reality is that there will be some that want to play for us in the same way as those born in england and scotland do but the overall majority are still declaring for the north and want to play for them regardless of their backround

Greendeise,
The reason the numbers have been so low is because it was only comparatively recently, when Kerr took over, that the FAI started proactively to recruit/accept NI-born players, in contravention of the "Gentlemens' Agreement" which had existed previously over decades.
And since most of the obvious players were already tied to NI by having played for our senior team, then they had to concentrate on our youngsters.
And as we know, only a minority of promising youngsters ever progress all the way to senior status, after a process that takes several years.

That said, if we only lost one Darron Gibson every other year, that would amount to four senior players over the course of two Qualifying tournaments, or six over the course of the average player's international career. We have a small enough squad as it is - how would you like it if you suddenly lost even 2 or 3 of your starting XI for Slovakia on Saturday, never mind half your team?

Moreover, the ROI, with generally a bigger/stronger squad than us, will only be interested in the best of our youngsters, leaving us with those who fear they might not be good enough to represent the ROI. What happens if the next player recruited after Gibson is the next David Healy?

On top of which, it is quite clear that the FAI are only targeting youngsters from a Catholic/Nationalist background. Does anyone other than a bigot really want to see a situation where the two Irish sides are effectively segregated between the "Prod team" (IFA) and the "Catholic team" (FAI)? I know that I certainly don't.

Besides, there is a principle at stake, so it shouldn't matter whether we are talking one player or 100 players; if FIFA's Rules are being broken, that situation must not be allowed to continue unchecked.