View Full Version : Owen Wilson attempted suicide
Surprised it hasn't come up here.
One of my favourite people in hollywood. Fabulously funny actor, and a brilliant writer to boot. He co-wrote The Royal Tenebaums, in which a charachter (played by his brother) attempts suicide by slitting his wrists.
CNN (http://www.cnn.com/2007/SHOWBIZ/Movies/08/28/people.owen.wilson.ap/index.html?section=cnn_latest)
You'll find loads and loads of theories at what happened on the net
29/08/2007, 3:13 PM
Did anyone not think it is a tad ironic how he played the fella ( in wedding crashers ) that gets all depressed and stuff and is reading a book titled "dont jump" after splitting up with a girl and not being able get over it?
I wish him well, and hope he gets through whatever it is he's going through, but I can't stand anything that he has done.
29/08/2007, 3:19 PM
There's a two-page spread in today's London Independent (http://news.independent.co.uk/world/americas/article2903568.ece) about Wilson. The Royal Tenenbaums is one of my favourite films and Wilson is an actor that I like very much. I wish him well and I hope he finds the privacy that he needs to come to terms with whatever he is going through.
:ball: PP
29/08/2007, 3:55 PM
Mad turn of events alright. Stiller and himself were legends in Starsky and Hutch.
Fingers crossed for the weirdest nose in Hollywood........
29/08/2007, 3:59 PM
shocked when I heard this today.
29/08/2007, 4:03 PM
really like his films to be honest, think he is typecasted at this stage. Reminds me of me to be honest :D. Think he plays himself when filming to be honest, but I remember reading before about him having serious ups and downs, and was a very deep thinker. Always thought that deep thinking can really make ye feel a bit depressed tbh.
29/08/2007, 4:06 PM
Always thought that deep thinking can really make ye feel a bit depressed tbh.
Well O'Shea, you don't have to worry about that now, do you.:D
29/08/2007, 4:16 PM
Well O'Shea, you don't have to worry about that now, do you.
No, I was on about the women part :D
galwayhoop
29/08/2007, 5:12 PM
really like his films to be honest, think he is typecasted at this stage. Reminds me of me to be honest :D. Think he plays himself when filming to be honest, but I remember reading before about him having serious ups and downs, and was a very deep thinker. Always thought that deep thinking can really make ye feel a bit depressed tbh.
paul i cant help wondering that you must surely be the most emmm, ... honest, person on this forum!
3 sentences and 4 protestations of honesty....
The lady doth protest too much, methinks!!!
29/08/2007, 5:29 PM
Think he's feckin terrible but i wish him all the best. You think someone like that has it all, the media, as well as the public put them on this pedestool but it takes something like this to realise they are just like us too. God Bless him.
29/08/2007, 6:10 PM
Jays, I think he's brilliant McC, at what he does anyway. Only Ferrell to match him in his domain.
Obviously not as chirpy as he seems.
RuwZCJkEhbE
theworm2345
29/08/2007, 6:37 PM
Did anyone not think it is a tad ironic how he played the fella ( in wedding crashers ) that gets all depressed and stuff and is reading a book titled "dont jump" after splitting up with a girl and not being able get over it?
Thats exactly what I was going to say
29/08/2007, 6:46 PM
Jays, I think he's brilliant McC, at what he does anyway.
Different strokes and all that, i never really got into him or Ben Stiller. Now Bens father, Jerry Stiller - that guy is feckin hillarious :)
kingdom hoop
29/08/2007, 6:52 PM
Always thought that deep thinking can really make ye feel a bit depressed tbh.
Ah yes, but the flip side is that without thinking deeply you won't get next nor near self-actualisation, or, as Scott Peck details in his wonderful book on spiritual growth, The Road Less Travelled, God-like status. But you're right, in that it's a bit of a double-edged sword, a rocky road where crash barriers aren't always there to save you. Now that I've gone deep I must be careful not to resurface too quickly, don't want the bends kicking in!
Different strokes and all that, i never really got into him or Ben Stiller. Now Bens father, Jerry Stiller - that guy is feckin hillarious :)
Look at the films he's written, co-written or produced. Far smarter than the comedies he acts in (which I still love btw) - Tenebaums, Bottle Rocket, Rushmore
29/08/2007, 7:36 PM
Ah yes, but the flip side is that without thinking deeply you won't get next nor near self-actualisation, or, as Scott Peck details in his wonderful book on spiritual growth, The Road Less Travelled, God-like status. But you're right, in that it's a bit of a double-edged sword, a rocky road where crash barriers aren't always there to save you. Now that I've gone deep I must be careful not to resurface too quickly, don't want the bends kicking in!
I'd an argument over this before and realised that life would be much better if you were thick stupid.
I remember reading of some philosopher, John Stuart Mill who is alleged to have had a nervous breakdown when he was in his early teens.
Just get ****ed, fornicate and play football and you'll be grand.
Now Bens father, Jerry Stiller - that guy is feckin hillarious :)
I hope Owen Wilson wasn't following his advise. Serenity Now!
5513mXmQbw4
29/08/2007, 10:06 PM
paul i cant help wondering that you must surely be the most emmm, ... honest, person on this forum!
3 sentences and 4 protestations of honesty....
The lady doth protest too much, methinks!!!
Having watched POS literally steal the shirt off my back, I can confirm that he is in fact Foot.ie's most scurrilous character..... :D
29/08/2007, 10:10 PM
I'd an argument over this before and realised that life would be much better if you were thick stupid.
Nahhhh - I'd hate to be a Dub........ :D
Look at the films he's written, co-written or produced. Far smarter than the comedies he acts in (which I still love btw) - Tenebaums, Bottle Rocket, Rushmore
I don't think anyone's questioning his intelligence, but the majority of films I've seen him act in I have not been impressed with at all.
30/08/2007, 1:12 AM
Sligoman swoops in! Good job brother.
Was really shocked when I heard this. I wish him well, terrible to have something so serious for him publicised so much but as a celeb that is what happens!
30/08/2007, 9:15 AM
Nahhhh - I'd hate to be a Dub........ :D
quality :D
30/08/2007, 9:41 AM
Was really shocked when I heard this. I wish him well, terrible to have something so serious for him publicised so much but as a celeb that is what happens!
Too true.
I'd say Irish cops would be much more considerate in regards keeping the press out of it and just enjoy watching the unsubstantiated rumour grow.
It seems Steve Coogan is getting the blame.
At what age do you become big enough to make, and live by, your own choices?
30/08/2007, 9:57 AM
Why is Steve Coogan being dragged into it?
30/08/2007, 10:07 AM
Why is Steve Coogan being dragged into it?
Making a film with Wilson and became close friends. Coogan is notoriously into hard drugs.
30/08/2007, 10:13 AM
I was going to write that kinda differently about coogan.
But thats the jist, he is a bad influence according to Courtney Love, which is where it is coming from which Dodge didnt mention. I never knew Courtney could be so easily swayed, nor did I know she wasn't into drugs till she met him! :8:
30/08/2007, 10:16 AM
Oh rite.
cheifo
30/08/2007, 10:17 AM
I would say some people are more predisposed to deep thinking than others.
To expand the theme its funny how you get people who of seemingly average intellingence become very wealthy while the deeper thinker who is a genius at Quizs or whatever doesnt seem to progress "up the ladder".Chances are the second guy wants answers to big questions and goes seeking for them and is proably more prone to depression.First guys mind is not cluttered with what he would regard as unhelpful trivia and is focused on getting from A to B.
Second guy is interested in all aspects of footbal including social and cultural but cant afford a season ticket, first guy will go on to own Tottenham Hotspur.:)
Good luck Owen.
l
30/08/2007, 10:21 AM
he is a bad influence according to Courtney Love, which is where it is coming from which Dodge didnt mention.
She wasn't the first to talk about his "party" lifestyle.
30/08/2007, 10:57 AM
Gutted to hear this, hes a legend, his films are class. Wedding Crashers my favourite, the combination of stiller ferrell vaughn, and the other dude from evan almighty are class.
30/08/2007, 11:24 AM
I would say some people are more predisposed to deep thinking than others.
To expand the theme its funny how you get people who of seemingly average intellingence become very wealthy while the deeper thinker who is a genius at Quizs or whatever doesnt seem to progress "up the ladder".Chances are the second guy wants answers to big questions and goes seeking for them and is proably more prone to depression.First guys mind is not cluttered with what he would regard as unhelpful trivia and is focused on getting from A to B.
Second guy is interested in all aspects of footbal including social and cultural but cant afford a season ticket, first guy will go on to own Tottenham Hotspur.:)
Good luck Owen.
l
I think it's not as straight-forward as the morbid ponderer versus the untroubled simpleton, though I suspect there is a seed of truth in there.
The fundamental principle of nature is 'balance'. You often find that the more cerebral/academic a person is, for example, the less practical they tend to be or the less socialy capable they are. Nature tends not to give everyone all life's skills in abundance (or at least, not outside of Derry..... :D).
Without getting into the whole social and behavioural psychology of group roles etc, people tend to lie somewhere along a continum between thinking and doing. Hence - it's not unusual to find a very intelligent person who is totally disorganised or feckin clueless at simple things or at looking after themselves. It's not that they're too high brow for such trivial mundane matters - it's just that they're not wired that way. Likewise, I'm sure we all know people who have done very well for themselves in life despite not being all that bright - because they're hard workers, risk-takers, tenacious, intelligent in non-traditional/non-academic ways (e.g. emotional intelligence, people skills, networking) etc. Just because they're not rocket scientists doesn't stop them getting on and doing/achieving stuff.
The ideal scenario is to twin a good creative thinker with a dynamic doer. Otherwise the thinker gets nothing done, and the doer is just a bundle of poorly channeled energy.
30/08/2007, 11:25 AM
HHhhhhhhhhhmmmm. Interesting concept dcfcsteve.
As for those actors, apparently they're collectively called the Frat Pack.
I don't know why.
30/08/2007, 11:42 AM
Because Americans like to put titles on actors who work in the same area at the same time. The Rat pack being the first, then the 80s Brat Pack, and now the college humour Frat Pack.
30/08/2007, 12:07 PM
I think it's not as straight-forward as the morbid ponderer versus the untroubled simpleton, though I suspect there is a seed of truth in there.
The fundamental principle of nature is 'balance'. You often find that the more cerebral/academic a person is, for example, the less practical they tend to be or the less socialy capable they are. Nature tends not to give everyone all life's skills in abundance (or at least, not outside of Derry..... :D).
Without getting into the whole social and behavioural psychology of group roles etc, people tend to lie somewhere along a continum between thinking and doing. Hence - it's not unusual to find a very intelligent person who is totally disorganised or feckin clueless at simple things or at looking after themselves. It's not that they're too high brow for such trivial mundane matters - it's just that they're not wired that way. Likewise, I'm sure we all know people who have done very well for themselves in life despite not being all that bright - because they're hard workers, risk-takers, tenacious, intelligent in non-traditional/non-academic ways (e.g. emotional intelligence, people skills, networking) etc. Just because they're not rocket scientists doesn't stop them getting on and doing/achieving stuff.
The ideal scenario is to twin a good creative thinker with a dynamic doer. Otherwise the thinker gets nothing done, and the doer is just a bundle of poorly channeled energy.
great post cheifo, but without getting into a "DCFCSTEVE ive just pulled this out of a book " theory, generally that is correct. However a point to disproof this is that travellers are amongst the highest rate of suicides a year. Though you could say these are the smarter ones who realise that a life that they lead is not what they so wish, but actually the IQ was quite low in a lot of cases.
Frat Pack.
its a pun on fraternity and rat pack, as the modern day rat pack, but the mindset of college fraternity boys. A La Old school.
At least thats what I reckon, and I know if I go google it i will be right :D
30/08/2007, 12:38 PM
but without getting into a "DCFCSTEVE ive just pulled this out of a book " theory,
Who pulled anything out of a book POS ? Typical consultant's approach to life..... :D
Some of us just know things dude. :p
30/08/2007, 12:41 PM
Some of us just know things dude. :p
Doesn't everyone have to have proof of a source on here though steve :p
30/08/2007, 1:46 PM
first guy will go on to own Tottenham Hotspur.:)
l
Now that truly is horrible :D :D
kingdom hoop
30/08/2007, 2:00 PM
To expand the theme its funny how you get people who of seemingly average intellingence become very wealthy while the deeper thinker who is a genius at Quizs or whatever doesnt seem to progress "up the ladder".Chances are the second guy wants answers to big questions and goes seeking for them and is proably more prone to depression.
l
You're right to an extent, but if the deep thinker also has a bit of cop-on/common sense(something intellectuals often lack) he'll realise that the answer to the big questions are, often imperceptibly, reached through an interminably winding series of small issues. A bit like a tricky maths problem in that if you just look at it as one big problem without delineating it you'll quickly get flustered at the impossibility of reaching a solution. Similarly, if you start asking yourself 'what is my place in life' and expect a signposted route to a clear-cut answer, granted you are showing a capacity to think on a reasonably deep level, but there is a lack of focus and understanding as to the vast complexity inherent with any such 'big' question. Thus, my thesis conclusion would be that a deep thinker without comparative realism and pragmatism is in a precarious position, much worse than the reasonably successful fella who happily ambles along unconcerned with the big questions, and also worse than the thick stupid guy Risteard envies. How sweet blissful ignorance must be! I suppose the point is that if we think and realise something is going wrong but don't have the wherewithal to do anything about it, or don't have a broad perspective on it to appreciate it isn't really a problem, we're a bit fooked.
By the way, I don't think financial wealth is a great parameter to use here as we tend to assume that happiness/fulfillment is a corollary. Like people who, I feel misguidedly, choose a certain career as it will lead to an enviable salary or status, and not because they think it is what they are best suited for(and hence what they should get the most pleasure out of). Of course, some will be happy just because they are rich, they are obviously likely to be intelligent, in some form, but generally lack, not necessarily to their detriment, a deep thinking competence.
I tend to fall into the former category. So now I know what to look for in my wife! Together, we will conquer the world:)
(*Apologies if I don't make sense, I just typed what I was thinking, definitely not from a book!!)
30/08/2007, 2:08 PM
You're right to an extent, but if the deep thinker also has a bit of cop-on/common sense(something intellectuals often lack) he'll realise that the answer to the big questions are, often imperceptibly, reached through an interminably winding series of small issues. A bit like a tricky maths problem in that if you just look at it as one big problem without delineating it you'll quickly get flustered at the impossibility of reaching a solution. Similarly, if you start asking yourself 'what is my place in life' and expect a signposted route to a clear-cut answer, granted you are showing a capacity to think on a reasonably deep level, but there is a lack of focus and understanding as to the vast complexity inherent with any such 'big' question. Thus, my thesis conclusion would be that a deep thinker without comparative realism and pragmatism is in a precarious position, much worse than the reasonably successful fella who happily ambles along unconcerned with the big questions, and also worse than the thick stupid guy Risteard envies. How sweet blissful ignorance must be! I suppose the point is that if we think and realise something is going wrong but don't have the wherewithal to do anything about it, or don't have a broad perspective on it to appreciate it isn't really a problem, we're a bit fooked.
By the way, I don't think financial wealth is a great parameter to use here as we tend to assume that happiness/fulfillment is a corollary. Like people who, I feel misguidedly, choose a certain career as it will lead to an enviable salary or status, and not because they think it is what they are best suited for(and hence what they should get the most pleasure out of). Of course, some will be happy just because they are rich, they are obviously likely to be intelligent, in some form, but generally lack, not necessarily to their detriment, a deep thinking competence.
I tend to fall into the former category. So now I know what to look for in my wife! Together, we will conquer the world:)
(*Apologies if I don't make sense, I just typed what I was thinking, definitely not from a book!!)
Yes, hoop, there is definitely a "creative" side to you anyhow thats for sure.
Brilliant post though, I could almost completely agree with what you are saying and I would say that, if a highly intellectual has got no "social intelligence" ( touched on briefly by dcfcsteve ) he is in serious trouble. You find a lot that extremely intelligent people without any social cop on if you wish are acutally autistic. how do i get that funny exclaimation mark?
kingdom hoop
30/08/2007, 2:12 PM
Yes, hoop, there is definitely a "creative" side to you anyhow thats for sure.
I have been dubbed the next Andy Reid in my time alright:p
30/08/2007, 2:17 PM
She wasn't the first to talk about his "party" lifestyle.
No, but she did accuse him of pushing drugs on Owen Wilson and being directly responsible for the suicide attempt. If Courtney Love is accusing you of being a bad influence... :eek:
Check this out though:
BBC TWO Listings
Saxondale
Thu 30 Aug, 9:30 pm - 10:00 pm 30mins
Tommy rescues Martin from committing suicide, and decides to change Martin's outlook on life. But Tommy has no professional skills for dealing with the suicidal. Some strong language. [AD,S]
Spooky.
30/08/2007, 2:22 PM
Much respect to kingdom hoop ;)
As someone who considers himself to be a deep-thinker it's nice to see it being discussed. I have often sat , for hours on occasions, thinking about the `big questions`.
In terms of the suggested links with depression,I could see how a deep-thinker could tangle his/herself in confussion, dissillusionment etc and become depressed. I certainly don't reckon I'm depressed and consider myself to be a positive person (partly because of the time spent in deep thought), but hey I'm 18 + 1/2 years old so I've hopefully got plenty of time to be depressed :D
(Best wishes to Owen also.)
30/08/2007, 2:30 PM
I have often sat , for hours on occasions, thinking about the `big questions`.
And did you figure out how the put they fig into the fig rolls in the end using any of the above methods spoken about by da hoop?
Actually, on that sometimes I think about half an hour after Ireland qualify or win a very important match or something that doesn't happen that often, sure what does it matter anyhow? What happens we aren't going to win anything, why is it that i want to see us in etc etc. But if we dont qualify or win I dont have these thoughts, I am extremely depressed and in no mood to do anything and can feel like this for weeks afterwards. I often wonder why this is, but I just try and stop myself doing it, by acting the eejit or such like.
Noticed with the younger posters on here, pre pubery ah no pre early 20s you find you do a lot more of this thinking then than you do as you get older. Until you hit 70s and you become extremely religious, which is also a form of depression might i add.
30/08/2007, 2:39 PM
And did you figure out how the put they fig into the fig rolls in the end using any of the above methods spoken about by da hoop?
Actually, on that sometimes I think about half an hour after Ireland qualify or win a very important match or something that doesn't happen that often, sure what does it matter anyhow? What happens we aren't going to win anything, why is it that i want to see us in etc etc. But if we dont qualify or win I dont have these thoughts, I am extremely depressed and in no mood to do anything and can feel like this for weeks afterwards. I often wonder why this is, but I just try and stop myself doing it, by acting the eejit or such like.
Noticed with the younger posters on here, pre pubery ah no pre early 20s you find you do a lot more of this thinking then than you do as you get older. Until you hit 70s and you become extremely religious, which is also a form of depression might i add.
I'm still working on the fig roll question ;)
I remember reading somewhere a while back that a study in England showed that the national football team had an effect on the national average rates of depression and suicide so it's a fairly common thing I suppose.
If I become extremely religious (and/or narrow minded) during my 70's, you can shoot me if you're still around:cool:
kingdom hoop
30/08/2007, 4:11 PM
Noticed with the younger posters on here, pre pubery ah no pre early 20s you find you do a lot more of this thinking then than you do as you get older.
I'd imagine it could be because around 20ish you, having physically matured, probably begin to intellectually mature, setting up your general Weltanschauung (another one of those great German one worders, meaning world-view, your compass) to guide you for the coming years so that you don't need to constantly evaluate issues with a different perspective. As you age you probably just require, precipitated by experience, occasional slight tinkering.
We could open up a huge can of worms, but, and only speaking for myself, I think I'll leave the lid on, at least until our resident guru Bohs Partisan is around for direction. Where is he? I miss him. :o
30/08/2007, 4:18 PM
Does grammar and bad spelling come with age too, cos I can only get worse.....but i just blame it on having to type quickly and not letting anyone see me spend my days doodling on foot.ie
great post again hoop :) Its hard to be intellectual and funny at the same time, you should check out George Carlin. You will like him. Feminist blowjob and Offensive Language are two starting points. ITs actually suprising how well received he is in america given what i have just said.
smellyfeet
30/08/2007, 4:49 PM
People that are Deep-thinkers don't get anything done because they are too busy thinking..:D...Sorry:o