View Full Version : Brady hails LOI
geezer
22/08/2007, 10:11 PM
Nice to hear someone like brady recognise the National League and quality of player coming from it on RTE tonight
22/08/2007, 10:14 PM
Passing comment really.
22/08/2007, 10:17 PM
What did he say?
22/08/2007, 10:19 PM
What did he say?
Nothing .... compared to the years of slating. eL fans will hardly even acknowledge it given his treatment of domestic football in the past. In short, its a nothing.
Doesn't past dismissal of the league mean that his words actually kinda mean more?
Every little helps.
The Man Himself
22/08/2007, 10:36 PM
i cant stand brady.
hes only a **^%$£%
sfc red
22/08/2007, 11:09 PM
Jaysis can't believe there's a thread about this. Let alone "hailing" the eL.
22/08/2007, 11:43 PM
Can't remember Brady ever slating the league
Can't believe anyone things he's an **^%$£%
22/08/2007, 11:45 PM
Come off it Dodge
Well theres two of us, is it more believable now?
22/08/2007, 11:51 PM
Seriously, when did he slate the league? Genuine question. Never heard him do it. have heard the rest do it enough
22/08/2007, 11:57 PM
Seriously, when did he slate the league? Genuine question. Never heard him do it. have heard the rest do it enough
Not so much recently to be fair (well he'd look a fool if he did in the last four years) but definitely going back before that. I can remember threads as far back as Johnny Wards where people were trying to argue that it was OK for him to be dismissive of the league but in the same threads the same people couldn't justify some of the harsher comments he made. There was one particular thread where he had told blatant lies and people were trying to analysis his motive for it.
Edit: I'll be honest here aswell, i dislike the guy because he offers nothing to domestic football. He came from a time when literally 80% of the team were English but using the granny rule. He WAS an actual Irish man and never gave anything back. At a time when there were few true Irish role models, he could have been one but never stepped up to the plate.
Before anyone jumps on this, i have discussed this for years in countless threads and conversations in the pub. I have never gotten a reasonable reason to contest my opinion or make me even consider reconsidering. If no one offers anything decent then i will not be discussing it further. He failed domestic football, end of.
LukeO
23/08/2007, 12:39 AM
I can't remember him ever slating the league either, probably just your stereotypical eircom League fan siege mentality over-reaction to a minor criticism. And if it was as far back as Johnny Ward's message board, it was probably a justified criticism of the professionalism, or lack thereof in the league. Can't believe anyone thinks he's an arsehole, great analyst in my opinion… apart from when it comes to Arsenal related matters.
At a time when there were few true Irish role models, he could have been one but never stepped up to the plate.
Was he not a role model on the pitch? What could he have done differently?
Gareth
23/08/2007, 7:13 AM
Brady's comment was strange to hear, but it was a passing tipping of the hat to the fact three players playing were in the LOI recently. Positives to be taken from this: he didn't call it the irish league. After that, not sure a thread is deserved, makes the LOI fans appear quite desparate for some love from the pundits.
ForzaHoop
23/08/2007, 8:05 AM
Another Interview with Brady : He said we need to Develop from the Ground level in order for us to have a better England team and English players in the EPL.
endabob1
23/08/2007, 8:20 AM
Another Interview with Brady : He said we need to Develop from the Ground level in order for us to have a better England team and English players in the EPL.
Was that an interview with him in the context of his Job as youth development officer for English Premier League side Arsenal by any chance?
23/08/2007, 8:28 AM
So Brady criticised the LoI back in the day when the standard was muck and is giving it a bit of credit now that its improved?
Can't see much wrong there. Face, you're a hard man to please!
WoodquayBoy
23/08/2007, 8:35 AM
Quote:
No, there are three of us. Great analyst my foot. 'Arsenal are great, Man Utd are crap, Chelsea buying success' . . blah blah blah. He is a prat.
CJTheGull
23/08/2007, 8:37 AM
Could be a siege mentality here I think. He basically agreed with Billo's assumption that credit must be given to the League of Ireland for the quality of the younger players coming into the Ireland Senior squad - 4 or so coming via eircom League teams in the few years or so. Echoes Roy Keane's compliments about the fitness and quality of the teams over here during the Sunderland tour.
This is not a sell-out!!! - it's just an example of how the League is gaining much more mainstream credability and there's no point people getting all high and mighty about it.
Also, Brady is alright so leave him alone.
Can't understand why anyone could not think he's a ****. He is the most one-sided anylist around when it comes to Arsenal, absolutely hates Man Utd and Chelsea, and his regular diatribes are funded by our tax, which makes it all the more disgraceful. His comments on the league aren't going to be the key to its successes and failures though, so I can't see why his opinion of the league is an issue. :confused:
23/08/2007, 9:02 AM
I gotta say that I think the man's a knob. A superb footballer in his day, no question but a massive failure as a manager and a pundit thereafter. To me he comes across as smarmy, patronising and a yes man.
Quite simply, I don't like him....but that's just me.
23/08/2007, 9:10 AM
I've no problem with Brady. He's the only member of the RTÉ panel who knows anything about modern football, especially outside Britain. Didn't hear his comments about the league, but he used to attend games at a kid and I've never heard him openly disdaining it.
He is the most one-sided anylist.. absolutely hates... Chelsea,
Yep, he's the biased one :rolleyes:
Brady is a superb analyst. He's without equal on any Irish or British station IMO. But because he doesn't fawn all over certain teams people think he's biased. BTW he has regularly criticised Arsenal, despite being employed by them
galwayhoop
23/08/2007, 9:43 AM
Was that an interview with him in the context of his Job as youth development officer for English Premier League side Arsenal by any chance?
Yes. Saw the interview, it was on SKY. the subject was about the amount of clubs who 'buy-in' foreign players as opposed to developing them and how Arsenal are trying to redress the situation (ironic considering they were the first English team to field a totally non-English team iirc). The interview was from a background of how few transfers involved english players in the EPL as opposed to foreign ones. he was intewed in his capacity as 'Head of Youth Development' at Arsenal, not because he was a former professional footballer who repesented Ireland.
Saw absolutely nothing wrong with his comments in this interview.
I like Brady myself. He was a class footballer, is a knowlegable pundit and the fact he has been at Arsenal for so long in his present role indicates he is good at his job.
BTW he owes nothing to the LoI as his route to football was by signing as a schoolboy with Arsenal. Had he taken a similar route to English football as, say Roy Keane, then I would expect him to be more vocal about the virtues of the eL.
I'm wholly in favour of this eL siege mentality thing if it means I get to pour boiling oil on people.
I also like the idea of randomly catapulting cows at them.
Brady is a superb analyst. He's without equal on any Irish or British station IMO. But because he doesn't fawn all over certain teams people think he's biased. BTW he has regularly criticised Arsenal, despite being employed by them
Agree!
Oh, one thing dodge, i can guarantee you he's not a pats fan!!:D
Koh
lofty9
23/08/2007, 10:02 AM
He came out with a very postive comment about the league. By saying so he is finally acknowledging progress the league has made. There are two guys in my work who actually have discussed his comments and they are "Liverpool" fans who wouldn't know what colour Derry City play in.
On a side note, did anyone notice how alien it was for him and Giles to praise Ireland initially, they choked on their opening words. It must have been the only time they haven't had a moan.
No, there are three of us. Great analyst my foot. 'Arsenal are great, Man Utd are crap, Chelsea buying success' . . blah blah blah. He is a prat.
He's no better a pundit than my cat. Part of the RTÉ's changing-more-than-the-wind panel about AC Milan and United last year.
After Roma, "United will blow a poor ageing Milan side away, they are unstoppable"
....before the first leg: "Milan are too old and United will be all over them"
...after the first leg: "After Rooney's winner, I can't see United not winning"
....after the second leg: "Milan were too classy tonight for a naive United side"
....after winning the final "they are the best team in Europe"
23/08/2007, 10:11 AM
Oh, one thing dodge, i can guarantee you he's not a pats fan!!
he loves our kit
23/08/2007, 10:43 AM
i cant stand brady.
hes only a **^%$£%
Quote:
Can't understand why anyone could not think he's a ****.
Have to be honest, this thread is in very poor taste lads. :( What if Liam's uncle, nephew or brother-in-law read this thread? They might be very upset to see people commenting on his opinions and mocking him.
I trust the mods will take appropriate action.
Jaime
23/08/2007, 10:44 AM
Yep, he's the biased one :rolleyes:
You'll probably remember his foaming at the mouth about Barcelona-Chelsea anytime they play. "I hope they go on and finish them off in the second leg". Without equal indeed. Well, maybe equal to Phil Thompson or someone.
And last I heard fans are allowed to be biased btw :rolleyes::rolleyes: Y'know the way fans aren't paid to provide objective analysis n all...
23/08/2007, 10:48 AM
Point I'm making is you only dislike him because he dislikes Mourinho and Chelsea's brand of anti-football.
If Chelsea ever play a team off the park with fast attacking play, I'm sure he'd applaud them. As it is he generally calls them efficient, and that he despises Mourinho
Jaime
23/08/2007, 11:00 AM
Point I'm making is you only dislike him because he dislikes Mourinho and Chelsea's brand of anti-football.
If Chelsea ever play a team off the park with fast attacking play, I'm sure he'd applaud them. As it is he generally calls them efficient, and that he despises Mourinho
I disliked him before Mourinho ever came to England.
I seem to remember Chelsea playing Barcelona off the park with fast attacking play at home a few years back. There wasn't much praise forthcoming to be honest. :rolleyes:
Chelsea win 4-2 and the game was remembered for a goal scored by a player from the losing team, which was all that was talked about afterwards.
23/08/2007, 11:02 AM
Have to be honest, this thread is in very poor taste lads. :( What if Liam's uncle, nephew or brother-in-law read this thread? They might be very upset to see people commenting on his opinions and mocking him.
Yes, especially as he doesn't seem right in the head. That Arsenal bias is unbelievable...
I did not hear what Brady said so I cannot comment on it. I don't remember him saying anything about the eL in the past good or bad...
I can tell you that Mr. Giles is no patron of the eL. Heard him last year being asked if we should be looking for the eL for more players after Kevin Doyles success & he was very dismissive just saying that the good players will always go abroad. He couldn't even suggest that the eL be developed to give more options. Seems like he holds a grudge longer than Dunphy :rolleyes:
stann
23/08/2007, 11:45 AM
He basically agreed with Billo's assumption that credit must be given to the League of Ireland for the quality of the younger players coming into the Ireland Senior squad - 4 or so coming via eircom League teams in the few years or so.
I thought he came out with the statement unprompted, but either way it was a nice thing to say, when very little nice things are said about the eL on telly, but no more than that.
Brady, BTW, is a top analyst, and very much not a yes man as stated elsewhere. In actual fact at times he seems to delight in taking the opposite view to Giles (a joyless grinder in comparison) and Dunphy (the Eoghan Harris of punditry, and that's not a good thing), and to call him biased because he doesn't fawn all over Man Utd and Chelsea is just... not right.
Also, pointing out random predictions he got wrong does not make him a bad pundit.
:D :D
23/08/2007, 12:18 PM
Come off it, after the years of neglect and cynicism people should be burning effigies of the man, very upset indeed.
stann
23/08/2007, 12:46 PM
Em.... don't think you quite got that one face!
23/08/2007, 12:59 PM
After Roma, "United will blow a poor ageing Milan side away, they are unstoppable"
....after the second leg: "Milan were too classy tonight for a naive United side"
Sorry but whats wrong with that? After United blew Roma away there were plenty who said they would be too much for Milan's defence, it was the sensible thing for a pundit to say, in fact I was the only person I know who didn't think that, and that was because I'm so staunchly against anything United that I couldn't see past it. What he said after the Roma game is what he said before the first leg, so why does that warrant two seperate points? As for Rooney's winner comment, again most people thought that at leats United would get a draw in Milan as they were scoring goals for fun around that time, sensible thing to say again if you ask me.
Then when Milan beat United roundly, well it showed up most football people, Brady wasn't alone in that respect, and when they won the Final with ease, well how could you not say they weren't the best team in Europe that year? They blew United and Liverpool out of the water, Chelsea didn't win anything significant last year, Spainish clubs had a poor season in Europe, Bayern were a joke, and Inter didn't show up in Europe again. Pretty accurate to call Milan that if you ask, and if football isn't about revised opinions then I don't know what is. Last year's thoroughbred becomes this year's donkey in a lot of people's eyes quite frequently.
Brady was a credit as a player (greatest Irish player of all time in my opinion), and is still a credit as a pundit
Shelsman
23/08/2007, 1:00 PM
He's no better a pundit than my cat. Part of the RTÉ's changing-more-than-the-wind panel about AC Milan and United last year.
So you've never anticipated one team performing in one way or getting a certain result, then be surprised to find you were wrong?
If Brady could predict every result he'd be a multi-millionaire courtesy of the bookies!
Did you predict Ireland winning 4-0 last night? Or even winning by a comfortable margin?
Nailer77
23/08/2007, 1:37 PM
My jesus, hard to believe some of the bitter comments in here. All he said was 'credit the LOI'. Thats it, the same bitter b@stards would be moaning if he'd said nothing. And given the state of the LOI up to relatively recently he'd have been right too, A Face even referred to it knowingly or not with his 'last 4 years' comment.
MyTown
23/08/2007, 1:57 PM
Will those of you who have posted anti-Brady stuff on this thread own up to your ManUre allegiance?
Personally he never seemed a likable chap, but:
- he was a class act on the field for club and country.
- he played hard ball with the FAI in the run up to Germany '88 and Italia '90 to ensure the players pool saw what they regarded as their fair share of the mullah
- he tells it as he sees it - something for which Dunphy, Giles and others are canonised for, but which is too hard to stomach coming from Brady:confused:
I'd say the anti Brady vibe is a straigtforward red mist - pity ye never had a midfielder to compare :D
Regarding last nights coverage I thought the praise of Reid was OTT, only in so far as Potter got no credit at all and, from my viewing, contributed just as much.
23/08/2007, 2:06 PM
What the **** would you know about the state of the LOI, Nailler77? This appears to be your first post in any eL-related thread.
Nailer77
23/08/2007, 2:23 PM
What the **** would you know about the state of the LOI, Nailler77? This appears to be your first post in any eL-related thread.
Ah yeh I was waiting for one of you boys and you're 'barstooler' comments. You might notice that there's not a lot of action on the Shels thread, probably because Shels have an excellent forum of their own, but I suppose you didn't know I was Shels did you? Because you actually know f*ck all about me don't you? So maybe hold fire next time before you lash out a childish little comment like that one Sheridan, just because I don't post on this site in regards to Shels doens't mean I know f**k all about the state of the LOI. I know enough about it to know that anyone criticising it up to relatively recently would have had plenty of ammunition to back them up, and I formed that opinion by going to matches. And furthermore this is about the only site were you can have decent discussion on the international team and its why I only frequent it around international matches.
Ceirtlis
23/08/2007, 5:19 PM
I have read his piece in the Sunday Tribune from time to time and i have to say he doesnt hold the eircom league in too high of a regard. I cant remember him ever slating it, but i do remember reading one piece where he said that Irish youngsters should be allowed over to England at 13 or 14, just for training initially i think, because the alternative was the eircom league which wasnt up to much. He has also said that Irish football should be on its knees thanking the English leagues for developing our players.
He did say the same thing about the eircom league in the paper on Sunday so i think he was geniunely trying to give it abit of credit which is fair enough.
The RTE panel like to see themselves as coneisseurs of the game. They often slag off the english premiership so its no surprise then what their views on the eircom league are.
I have read his piece in the Sunday Tribune from time to time and i have to say he doesnt hold the eircom league in too high of a regard. I cant remember him ever slating it, but i do remember reading one piece where he said that Irish youngsters should be allowed over to England at 13 or 14, just for training initially i think, because the alternative was the eircom league which wasnt up to much. He has also said that Irish football should be on its knees thanking the English leagues for developing our players.
In fairness what he is on about here is Arsenal's youth policy, Wenger is highly critical of laws that don't allow clubs take the cream of footballing talent from whatever age they want. Plus if I had to pick a team to train up my kid, and it was between Arsenal and any EL side I'd pick Arsenal everytime. Even if they don't make it at Arsenal I'm sure they would be more rounded players for having worked within one of the best youth systems in the world.
Billy Lord
23/08/2007, 7:28 PM
Wenger is highly critical of laws that don't allow clubs take the cream of footballing talent from whatever age they want.
That's nothing less than a proposal for licensed child abuse.
It is, but when has breaking employment laws ever stopped football clubs
So you've never anticipated one team performing in one way or getting a certain result, then be surprised to find you were wrong?
Yes and that's precisely my point. I'm not remotely bitter towards him in particular but he's no better a pundit than anyone else in the pub who changes their mind after every turn in a game.
As a quality pundit, I'd expect not to be drawn in by the lure of a 7-1 result and realise how bad Roma were particularly after the first leg at Old Trafford.