View Full Version : Championship Manager General Thread

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Ruairi
22/11/2003, 5:46 PM
Originally posted by sadloserkid
After this Eidos will keep the name and Sports Interactive will retain the game engine and database.

Hmmmm... seems like SI will be winners hands down there.

When's 03-04 out?

Yesterday actually :rolleyes:

gamesrader.com (http://gamesradar.msn.co.uk/news/default.asp?subsectionid=161&articleid=66233&pagetype=2)

UCD_4_Life
22/11/2003, 8:20 PM
Originally posted by deise deserter
Well reported SLK. www.gamesradar.com is a great site to browse through info for the new CM game. It seems not to recieve as much of a push from most websites as this seems to be a game with limited appeal outside of the Uk/Irish market.

Yeah, that's why there are huge CM communities in Spain, France, Russia, America, Holland, Belgium, Brazil and Portugal. :rolleyes:

Ruairi
26/11/2003, 10:10 AM
Got 03-04

Only played it for an hour or so, but it seems alot smoother, loads a bit faster...

can't wait to get stuck into it for a godd seven hours or so this evening

26/11/2003, 12:43 PM
would you think that some1 who had a problem running cm4 on their pc could be able to run 03 04 relativly smoothly?

Ruairi
27/11/2003, 1:48 PM
No. It's the exact same engine, just an update really

dcnags
07/01/2004, 9:58 PM
presume ye've all got stuck into the new cm, so what ye all think of it?

I think its fairly good myself, a bit more real in terms of cork city stats where last year some of them would have been way off.

Got a nice city team going:

Devine

D.Murray D.Coughlan W.Charles

Georgie O'Grady D.Mulcahy B.Woods

N.Fenn

Flynny CP O'Brien

Out of 10 i'd prob give it nine because i simply think it can't get much better but the power of my pc is a bit slow and playing so many useless under 18 friendlies is just annoying:( :mad:

08/01/2004, 10:25 AM
question, i can't get any of my staff to resign contracts, scouts, coachs etc, any ideas on what to do

08/01/2004, 1:28 PM
Be nicer to them!

08/01/2004, 1:30 PM
i am, at leave 18 months before their contracts are up i offer them new ones and its no use no matter what i do and i can't hire any others as they are not interested either, i'm playing this game for years and have never encountered this problem before

13/01/2004, 5:26 PM
Lying 4th in my league even the talents of Abel Balbo, and Stefan Selakovic upfront and Lorenzo Amoruso the defensive rock. Bizarrely, i signed Fergal Harkin and hes sworn enemies with Vinny Perth! How do i get them to get along in the same team?

dcnags
14/01/2004, 11:38 PM
If they just hate each other its harder to do but if a few dislike the one player then sell him and the others will be happy.

Selling a player who is didliked by only 1 player can make a lot of the players dislike you, especially if they're playing well. Selling big-named players who are playing well to get money will also annoy them.

I don't know about the staff contracts, maybe you're offering them a pre-set job.eg an assistant manager a coaching job?

15/01/2004, 11:48 AM
The only problem I had with staff is that when their contracts expired they weren't happy to keep working for pittance and started demanding silly money. I found that I was able to negotiate with them a little though and overall hadn't any real problems. I finished my first full season a few weeks back and won the first division with Limerick. I only brought in a couple of players (Warren Kenna and Hristo Stoichkov in a Player/Coach role) and shed as many as possible in a bid to shrink the old wage bill because the club is leaking cash overall. Hopefully promotion will help with that though...

adamcarr
08/02/2004, 4:22 PM
i Finally won the league with CCFC todayand am still in the uefa cup 3rd round against real madrid(bohs knocked them out in the CL qualifiers).
Just atip for anyone playin with EL clubs loan this fella called portillo off real madrid if you can he scored 82 goials in 46 games for me

Hitman
26/03/2004, 1:32 PM
Has anyone succeeded in taking out an option on a player?

adamcarr
26/03/2004, 3:52 PM
Has anyone succeeded in taking out an option on a player?
Huh???

Bosco
26/03/2004, 9:25 PM
Won the league and the cup with the town in the first season,signed no-one.Now half-way through the second season lying in fifth.Bought Alan cawley from ucd for 8,000 and paul keegan for 2,000 and stephen elliot on loan from man city(hasn't done much).Ferguson won't sign a new contract so he's leaving at the end of the season and paul mc nally and stewie byrne have signed pre-contracts and are coming back at the end of the season

adamcarr
27/03/2004, 11:27 AM
I have Mario Melchiot, Richard Dunne, Walter Pandiani, Portillo, Tote, Carlos Merino and Brett Emerton all in my CCFC team and I am unbeatable!!!! ;)

29/03/2004, 11:48 AM
Alan cawley from ucd for 8,000
He's damn good in the game. I turned down 100k from Shels 2 seasons in.

adamcarr
29/03/2004, 3:59 PM
Lads Colin Patrick O'Brien from CCFC will do the biz up front for ya!!! :cool:

ccfcman
07/04/2004, 10:20 AM
im old skool on this CM3 00/01!try kim kallstrom,kristian tanem,kennedy bakircioglou,jermaine pennant,pa modou kha

23/04/2004, 11:28 AM
ah kim kallstrom, the greatest player ever ;)

CM1: Shearer
CM2: Cantona
CM97/98: Tommy Svindal Larson
CM3: Ibrahim Bakayoko
CM01/02: Kim Kallstrom
CM02/03: Tó Madeira (controversial, turned out some portuguese fella made him up)
CM4: Tonton Zola Moukoko
CM03/04?

23/04/2004, 1:00 PM
welll from what i can remember from champ man 3 in various version the golden rule was .. when in doubt buy kennedy bakirciouglu

adamcarr
23/04/2004, 9:29 PM
In CM4 when yoy are playing with an EL team always loan:
Brett Emerton
Portillo
Tote
Julio Alvarez.
Portillo got 69 goals in one season for me! :)

Qunnie
24/04/2004, 1:52 PM
david welsh from cork city scores for fun for me....if only i had played him sooner

Enda M
01/05/2004, 11:03 PM
CM4-
Tijjani Babangida-Class Act nearly always got above 8 in ratings every game

Ruairi
02/05/2004, 12:58 PM
if anyone's playing in the el do a search for danny murphy (the cork city version, he'll have no club), you can get him on a free transfer or something like 5o grand. play him at left back and he'll be getting 8's and 9's. best buy i ever made i have to say

adamcarr
02/05/2004, 4:42 PM
CM4-
Tijjani Babangida-Class Act nearly always got above 8 in ratings every game
Got him with Carlisle and got up to Division 1. Pure Class!

adamcarr
02/05/2004, 4:43 PM
if anyone's playing in the el do a search for danny murphy (the cork city version, he'll have no club), you can get him on a free transfer or something like 5o grand. play him at left back and he'll be getting 8's and 9's. best buy i ever made i have to say
Is this in CM4 or what game?

Ruairi
02/05/2004, 5:21 PM
Is this in CM4 or what game?
]
cm 03-04

adamcarr
02/05/2004, 5:31 PM
Bollo*x! I never got the game! I went down to Gamesworld and they said some dissagreement between sports interactive and Eidos so it was not coming out again! :mad:

eircomfan
26/08/2004, 11:59 AM
Decided to reopen this post , just got a mail back from SI games and they told me if i send my picture into them they will include me in the game as a regenerated player ie. real madrids star centre forward for 2015, you should do it!!!!!!!

adamcarr
26/08/2004, 1:22 PM
I finished doing CCFC and Limerick just last week. :)

eircomfan
26/08/2004, 1:50 PM
pictures? info? what?

26/08/2004, 7:02 PM
Decided to reopen this post , just got a mail back from SI games and they told me if i send my picture into them they will include me in the game as a regenerated player ie. real madrids star centre forward for 2015, you should do it!!!!!!!

Oooooooooohhh! What kind of pictures - game shots or real life stuff?

adamcarr
26/08/2004, 10:06 PM
pictures? info? what?
I gave info on all the players!

anfield_shadows
06/09/2004, 12:23 PM
I was playing football management games since 1985 (I was 12). Serious football managers please e-mail me at nzatsepin@yahoo.com We can start a new network game or you or me can join existing clans (yours or mine).

Nikolay Zatsepin
as an old english football fan

gufcfan
07/10/2004, 5:39 PM
Wat are u using to make the facepacks, just out of curiousity?

11/10/2004, 4:56 PM
Does anyone know where to download/play online the new Champ Man 5? if you can yet

pedro
19/11/2004, 9:34 AM
heres the dream team which won 3 champions leagues 2 runners up and 6 leagues 5 scottish cups for celtic

gk richard wright
cb tonel
cb alan archibald
lb clegg (man u)
rb julio arca
cm gatusso
cm richard wellens
lw partridge
rw tonton zola mokouko
cf gianni comandini
cf daniel sjolund

subs
ibrahimavic
saviola (legend)
viana
jose mari

sold sjolund to barca for 28 million
savila to inter 45 million
had a 90,000 seater stadium and 160million in the bank and some top yoths comin through

20/12/2004, 10:07 PM
This is the first time I've read this thread and I fudgucking love CM4-
In the EL at the start of a season-

Seyi Ogunsanya
Musi Ajoa
Paul Nwa..... somethin (nigerian)
Uche Okafor
Tijani Babangida
Sead Kapetanovic
Micheal Hughes
Mark Bosnich
Ivan hurtado
Eduardo hurtado
Niklas Gudmundsson
Lee Sharpe (actually ****)

are all good free transfer signing's and fairly easy to get and -

Brett Emerton
Stillian Petrov
Diego Gavillan
Mikael Forsell
Mathew Etherington
Neil Mellor
Peter Luccin
Pablo Orbaiz
P Christinval
Fabbio Rochemback
Robert Trasshorras (I think)

are all easy enough to get on loan (5 per season of course)

Sweden is the best place for bargains-
Alex Farnerund
Nicolaj Rassmussen
Thomas Magnusson
and Trellborg's left back who's name I cant remember........
legends they be, argh ;)

the ox
29/12/2004, 2:10 PM
best game: got oxford utd, my english team, to win the prem on the last CM. they were one of top teams in europe. got appointed ireland manager and led them to world cup final.

most goals: christian vieri once hit 104 in a season for me

best av rating: richie partridge once had an ave rat of 9.04 over a season for me.

on football manager have oxford in the championship at the mo with £12m in the bank

12/01/2005, 1:03 PM
In CM 03-04 I just started it again, amnaging Sheff Weds. Got promoted via play offs to the 1st div, yet the board say they are extremely disspointed with my performance. The only gave me €110k for transfers.

I have already brought in John Oster and Graham Kavanagh on frees, and Richie Partridge on loan.

Anyone know of any hidden gems that are on the cheap/free transfers in this game?

22/01/2005, 9:39 PM
CM4. In my current season with Bray (in the 2nd season) I’m eleven points clear with a game in hand and about 7 or 8 games left.
Went out of the Inter-toto 1-2 on agg to VFB Stuttgart after beating Polish (5-2 agg) ,Greek (5-1 agg), and Ukrainian (6-0 agg) opposition.
Dalymount is my bogey ground (yet to win there in about 7 attempts) and they knocked me out of Leinster and League Cups.
Biggest shock- losing 6-1 to St James’s Gate in a cup replay at the Iveagh grounds.

I’ve made about 40 signings over the 2 seasons and the club is in the red by about 150 grand but, with the squad I have, Chaps Lge Group stages are a possibility next season which should clear any debt.

I had Mikael Forssell on a 12 month loan deal and he scored 17 times - not bad when you consider that he spent 11 months and a week out injured, making 7 appearances.

best ever achievment on CM: CM 00/01: taking Shels to champs lge semi-final until Milan stuffed me 8-0 , the best matches along the way included beating Rangers 4-3 on agg in the final qualifier with 2 goals in the last 15 mins, Auxerre 4-1 and 2-0, Hamburg 4-2 and a 1-1 draw against Barca.

22/01/2005, 11:26 PM
Still stuck with 01-02, but have Forest Green Rovers up to fourth in the Premiership half-way through our second season in the top flight (not to mention a League Cup semi to come). Have won at Old Trafford both seasons! In season ten now (finished ninth last year)...confidently predict a European spot next season!

All this inspired me a couple of seasons ago to actually get out the atlas and work out where the hell Forest Green were based! :p

23/01/2005, 1:22 AM
My best is getting Dundalk to the Champions League Quarter Final - Real Madrid knocked me out on away goals.

23/01/2005, 10:12 PM
This was a first for me. Just finished my 2nd season with Sheffield Wednesday. Finished 7th in 1st. But what really ****ed me off was this

I had the EXACT same goal difference, goals scored, and goals against and points as Crystal Palace who finished 6th, and got a play off spot. My results against them were better. Im sure the reason I didnt get the play-off spot was due to alphabetical order!

New season, I have taken in Carl Cort, Phil Babb, John Otsemobor, Aliou Diarra, Matthew Jones, Peter Hovarth and Davy Garcia all on frees, and paid £1m for Partridge. Im reckoning a right crack off promotion is possible.

24/01/2005, 1:32 PM
I had the EXACT same goal difference, goals scored, and goals against and points as Crystal Palace who finished 6th, and got a play off spot. My results against them were better. Im sure the reason I didnt get the play-off spot was due to alphabetical order!
Something very similar happened me but it was the league cup so I didn't really care! All three teams in my league cup group (Irish league cup!) had 2-1 home wins and so had identical records. They were ranked in alphabetical order so I came last.

12/02/2005, 4:56 PM
Where is the thread on Football Manager 2005 gone?

My game cuts out at the end of the second season :( , is the patch for it available yet? please help

15/02/2005, 12:04 PM
Yeah the patch is out alright, should stop that problem

16/02/2005, 12:16 AM
Yeah the patch is out alright, should stop that problem

Ok where do you get it? can you please post the link here for me, thanks ;)