View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2007/08
Green_Hoop
07/05/2008, 11:08 AM
Repeat of last seasons MJC final I'd say(scoreline and general play),especially with the Pike pitch in perfect condition.
mulla
07/05/2008, 11:20 AM
balla will be at full strenght sunday players rested last week cos of the big games coming up for the club
no players rested,lads on holidays and out for personal reasons
hoops12
07/05/2008, 11:41 AM
Repeat of last seasons MJC final I'd say(scoreline and general play),especially with the Pike pitch in perfect condition.
would,nt go that far but i def expect pike to win.balla bullied us in bateman earlier this season but since then we,v toughened up and we,r dictating games now from start to finish,and more importantly we,r finishing teams off
the dazzler
07/05/2008, 4:48 PM
2 lads still be on hols?
Green_Hoop
07/05/2008, 5:05 PM
Other fixtures Sunday?
Star v. S'Ville anyway
2 lads still be on hols?
1 as far as i know
summervilleman
07/05/2008, 6:10 PM
1 as far as i know
Star v summerville
Carew park v Fairview
Aisling v Boro
Corbally v Regional!!!!
I think if we win on sunday that will relegate ye or there abouts abbeyvale..If ye win it opens it right up and if its a draw(well i don't want to go there)....
I think pike well give balla a hiding to be honest on sunday..I am not a pike lover to be honest but i think they are a lot better then balla from what i have seen of both teams this year!!!I hope i am wrong though!!
da bishop
07/05/2008, 7:33 PM
cant understand fellas going on hols this time of year,its the business end of the season especially for big clubs.:eek:
abbeyvale
07/05/2008, 7:43 PM
In terms of the junior teams I only pay attention to the Premier and on the odd occasion 1B for Pike B(any note your man PikeB having like 11.80 posts a day,madness),I've no involving interests in any others,and it was only a Joke abbey! :|
I know bud, no harm.
abbeyvale
07/05/2008, 7:47 PM
Star v summerville
Carew park v Fairview
Aisling v Boro
Corbally v Regional!!!!
I think if we win on sunday that will relegate ye or there abouts abbeyvale..If ye win it opens it right up and if its a draw(well i don't want to go there)....
I think pike well give balla a hiding to be honest on sunday..I am not a pike lover to be honest but i think they are a lot better then balla from what i have seen of both teams this year!!!I hope i am wrong though!!
The maths are simple for us on Sunday really.
If we win.........we still have an outside chance of staying up.
If we draw.......the best we can hope for is the same amount of points as Corbally (and possibly a play off, if we won our last 2 games and Corbally lost theirs......very unlikely)
If we lose.........we are relegated.
All I will say thought is, if we beat Summerville, Corbally lose to Regional and Carew lose to the View on Sunday, it really will be squeky bum time, as the bottom will look like this.
Carew 20/18
Sville 20/16
Cbally 19/16
Granville 18/14
Star 20/12
Green_Hoop
07/05/2008, 8:14 PM
The maths are simple for us on Sunday really.
If we win.........we still have an outside chance of staying up.
If we draw.......the best we can hope for is the same amount of points as Corbally (and possibly a play off, if we won our last 2 games and Corbally lost theirs......very unlikely)
If we lose.........we are relegated.
All I will say thought is, if we beat Summerville, Corbally lose to Regional and Carew lose to the View on Sunday, it really will be squeky bum time, as the bottom will look like this.
Carew 20/18
Sville 20/16
Cbally 19/16
Granville 18/14
Star 20/12
Hows training been for ye last 2-3 weeks?
abbeyvale
07/05/2008, 10:26 PM
Hows training been for ye last 2-3 weeks?
I wont lie, it hasn't been great, we're lucky to get 8-10 bodies each session.
Gerry the ferry
07/05/2008, 10:48 PM
Abbeyvale doesnt look like being yer season unfortunately,hopefully and with a bit of luck if ye do get relegated that ye will win promotion straight away and return to premier
abbeyvale
07/05/2008, 10:49 PM
Abbeyvale doesnt look like being yer season unfortunately,hopefully and with a bit of luck if ye do get relegated that ye will win promotion straight away and return to premier
We'll play out this season first and worry about next season once we know our faith.
IF we do get relegated though, hopefully we can come straight back up at the first attempt.
Green_Hoop
07/05/2008, 11:52 PM
We'll play out this season first and worry about next season once we know our faith.
IF we do get relegated though, hopefully we can come straight back up at the first attempt.
Well if ye compare yourselves/Summerville/Corbally to whats coming up,Shouldn't be too hard to get back up,those 3 above have performed reasonably well for large parts against the "top" teams,whereas the the likely 2 to get promoted Dromore and Kilmallock have been hockied against the top teams.
the dazzler
08/05/2008, 12:02 AM
well lads abbeyale was slagging off granville 2weeks ago looks like he made a fool off himself with star finishing bottom:)
L37Ultra
08/05/2008, 8:30 AM
well lads abbeyale was slagging off granville 2weeks ago looks like he made a fool off himself with star finishing bottom:)
They havn't finished last just yet ;) We'll see after tonight.
lifegoeson
08/05/2008, 1:25 PM
star will make it to the last game against corbally by beating s/vile and ashling to see who stays up..........
abbeyvale
08/05/2008, 4:19 PM
I never slagged Granville, I just stated the facts at the time.
And by the way, we haven't finished bottom yet!!!!:rolleyes:
abbeyvale
08/05/2008, 4:22 PM
They havn't finished last just yet ;) We'll see after tonight.
Whats on tonight?
Any outcome of the objection Granville had against Corbally?? This could have a major impact at the bottom of the table.
Well if ye compare yourselves/Summerville/Corbally to whats coming up,Shouldn't be too hard to get back up,those 3 above have performed reasonably well for large parts against the "top" teams,whereas the the likely 2 to get promoted Dromore and Kilmallock have been hockied against the top teams.
as far as i'm aware our a team beat kilmallock 2-1,hardly call that hockied
Green_Hoop
08/05/2008, 7:00 PM
as far as i'm aware our a team beat kilmallock 2-1,hardly call that hockied
Who's you?
Twinkle Toes
09/05/2008, 9:01 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by the dazzler well lads abbeyale was slagging off granville 2weeks ago looks like he made a fool off himself with star finishing bottom
Oringially posted by Abbeyvale
And by the way, we haven't finished bottom yet!!!!
I can tell you The Dazzler is not from Granville. I thought that was cleared up a while back. Never anything positive posted from him regardless of the Thread.
No one relegated as yet.....Points to be played for !!
lifegoeson
09/05/2008, 9:35 AM
predictions for the weekend
Star v summerville- 1-3 star without robbie (keeper)
Carew park v Fairview- 1-2
Aisling v Boro 1-1
Corbally v Regional!!!!- 0-2
summervilleman
10/05/2008, 7:11 AM
summerville missin a few for tomorrow as well with a few suspensions handed out over the 5 yellow card ruling!!!!Not sayin who but the person in question was only told last night..Joke!!!!And this players last yellow card was about 3 games ago and they wait until now to hand it out(1 of the bigest games of Our season)
A few injuries also..But again not giving nothing away ....It'll be tough!!!
hoops12
10/05/2008, 9:58 AM
summerville missin a few for tomorrow as well with a few suspensions handed out over the 5 yellow card ruling!!!!Not sayin who but the person in question was only told last night..Joke!!!!And this players last yellow card was about 3 games ago and they wait until now to hand it out(1 of the bigest games of Our season)
A few injuries also..But again not giving nothing away ....It'll be tough!!!
agree with you on yellow card fiasco we,r in the same boat being told 2 days before the view game that dave o grady was suspended
summervilleman
10/05/2008, 1:49 PM
what is the story with this..This rule was implemented ages ago and they are only bringing it into force this year all of a sudden and when they are telling people they are suspended its a night or 2 b4 a game...Joke..Well at least u know now that if u do get 5 cards u can nearly pick a game to miss b4 they come ack to u ...he he
10/05/2008, 4:56 PM
Reminder ,text-speak is not allowed on the site,type out your words like the rest of us.
summervilleman
10/05/2008, 5:27 PM
I thought every1 wrote like that these days 12th man. or is it twelvethman?? he he
Green_Hoop
10/05/2008, 5:59 PM
Reminder ,text-speak is not allowed on the site,type out your words like the rest of us.
The average age in the junior forum is slipping along with the levels of intelligence..
10/05/2008, 6:00 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Foot.ie is a website, not a mobile phone, and you have a full keyboard and all your fingers available. Use them please.
11/05/2008, 12:10 PM
predictions for the weekend
Star v summerville- 1-3 star without robbie (keeper)
Carew park v Fairview- 1-2
Aisling v Boro 1-1
Corbally v Regional!!!!- 0-2
one minute you say Star will beat Summerville, the n predict Summerville will win 3-1, you were wrong on both accounts as it was a 2-2 draw, and Robbie did play........
abbeyvale
11/05/2008, 12:21 PM
Premier League Table
Pike Rovers......... 19 / 47 (Max Pts 56)
Ballynanty Rovers 17 / 40 (Max Pts 55)
Fairview Rangers 18 / 36 (Max Pts 48)
Janesboro............20 / 35 (Max Pts 41)
Regional United.... 19 / 35 (Max Pts 44)
Aisling Annacotty 19 / 29 (Max Pts 38)
Wembley Rovers..19 / 26 (Max Pts 35)
Carew Park......... 20 / 19 (Max Pts 25)
Summerville Rovers 20 / 17 (Max Pts 23)
Corbally United.... 19 / 16 (Max Pts 25)
Granville Rangers... 18 / 14 (Max Pts 26)
Star Rovers.......... 20 / 10 (Max Pts 16)
Remaining Games
Aisling(3)- STAR,Balla,Granville,
Balla(5)- AISLING,CORBALLY,JANESBORO,Fairview,Summerville
Carew Pk(2)- GRANVILLE,WEMBLEY,
Corbally(3)- PIKE,STAR,Balla
Fairview(4)- BALLA,Granville,Regional,Wembley
Granville(4)- AISLING,FAIRVIEW,REGIONAL,Carew,
Janesboro(2)-PIKE, Balla,
Pike Rvs(3)- WEMBLEY,Corbally,Janesboro
Regional(3)- FAIRVIEW,Granville, Summerville
Star Rvs(2)-Aisling,Corbally,
Summerville(2)-BALLA,REGIONAL,
Wembley(3)-FAIRVIEW,Carew,Pike,
Results
Sunday 11th May (10.30)
Carew 2-2 Fairview
Pike 1-1 Balla
Star 2-2 Summerville
Aisling 6-1 Boro
Corbally 0-2 Regional
Fixtures
Thursday 15th May (18.45)
Granville v Regional
Aisling v Star
Wembley v Fairview
Corbally v Pike
abbeyvale
11/05/2008, 12:24 PM
regional 2 corbally 0
star 2 sville2
star was robbed..sville keeper cost sumerville the match. stars first goal was the funniest one iv ever seen!!sville keeper did an enkelmen... tried to trap the ball wit his foot anf it trickled under it to make it 2-1.. gave star hope when they looked buried!summerville look down now too!
summerville down to ten men after 5 mins.. shine got a straight red.and as said cyril was not playing.. massive loss in midfield.
yeah in fairness we should have won the game, and even booster and summervilleman will agree, we battered summerville in the 2nd half, and but for their keeper we would have won.
Yes he made a howler for our first goal as our defender cleared the ball 70 yards up front and while looking for his next pass their keeper let it slip under his foot, but my god he made up for it later wih 3 great saves that got them a draw.
abbeyvale
11/05/2008, 12:30 PM
Premier League Table
Remaining Games
Results
Sunday 11th May (10.30)
Carew 2-2 Fairview
Pike 1-1 Balla
Star 2-2 Summerville
Aisling 6-1 Boro
Corbally 0-2 Regional
Fixtures
Granville v Regional
Aisling v Star
Wembley v Fairview
Corbally v Pike
Its a massive ask for us now to stay up, as we need to win away to Aisling next Thursday night, then beat Corbally away (which would put us on 16pts)
Then hope that Corbally dont pick up any points versus Pike & Balla (which would leave them on 16pts, if they lost to us as well) and also hope that Granville dont pick up more than 2pts in their remaining games.
Its a big ask but in fairness Corbally will be doing well to collect anything versus Pike & Balla, and Granville need 3pts or more versus (home) Aisling, Fairview, Regional, & (away) Carew,
But as I said all along, we'll keep going until it impossible for us to stay up, and our next job is to beat Aisling next Thursday evening (anything less and we'll be relegated).
abbeyvale
11/05/2008, 12:34 PM
ah hear u cant give him credit for wat he did after it..he got dog abuse from the locals..fair funny
I agree it was a terrible mistake, but in fairness he was very good after that, and by the way, I'll be claiming that goal as well;)
abbeyvale
11/05/2008, 12:46 PM
an o g i tought,
ya i know in fairness.. one of the saves was outstanding...im only slagging cos i no he reads the posts.
Yeah, but my clearance was on target, so more of a deflection than an OG......;)
no17 fan
11/05/2008, 1:16 PM
to be fair star dominated the second half but we could have been four up in the first half.
great heart from star comming back from two down the og gave ye hope and no shine and cyril were a massive loss. fair play to star kept going till the end,, granville and corbally for the drop he he
Green_Hoop
11/05/2008, 4:45 PM
Thought Pike played well enough considering.Lost Hartnett after 25-30minutes,he took some punishing tackles. Messy first goal for Balla,complete mix up between Enright and Bennis. O'Donovan put in a great Cross for the Pike goal from Purcell. I'd say the 1-1 draw suited Pike down to the ground. Completely in there hands to lose now.
was it a series of tackles that done him or one challenge,ya ye look favourites,big ask for balla to win all there remaining and even if they do i can't see ye losing,what was the football like by both sides considering what was being said about the pitch suiting ye better?
kingofkillteely
11/05/2008, 5:43 PM
was it a series of tackles that done him or one challenge,ya ye look favourites,big ask for balla to win all there remaining and even if they do i can't see ye losing,what was the football like by both sides considering what was being said about the pitch suiting ye better?
As a complete neutral i was shocked by the lack of football. There must of been 15 long range efforts with no effect. Thought Maloney was handy for Pike, looks a decent player.
the dazzler
11/05/2008, 9:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by the dazzler well lads abbeyale was slagging off granville 2weeks ago looks like he made a fool off himself with star finishing bottom
Oringially posted by Abbeyvale
And by the way, we haven't finished bottom yet!!!!
I can tell you The Dazzler is not from Granville. I thought that was cleared up a while back. Never anything positive posted from him regardless of the Thread.
No one relegated as yet.....Points to be played for !!
never said i was from granville
summervilleman
11/05/2008, 9:14 PM
yeah in fairness we should have won the game, and even booster and summervilleman will agree, we battered summerville in the 2nd half, and but for their keeper we would have won.
Yes he made a howler for our first goal as our defender cleared the ball 70 yards up front and while looking for his next pass their keeper let it slip under his foot, but my god he made up for it later wih 3 great saves that got them a draw.
Yes i do agree ye should have won the game as ye were playing against 10 men for the whole lot of it practicallly and we still went 2-0 up...We left in a silly goal and then ye believed ye could get something out of the game and we tired because of the 10 men..Ye dominated the second half but we have to be happy with the point i suppose considering!!!A lot more twists and turns yet....Also the ball was cleared 70 yards but it was going on target until gorey headed back to cossy who made the blunder...Og and thats it!!:D
KevB76
11/05/2008, 10:11 PM
what was the football like by both sides considering what was being said about the pitch suiting ye better?
Pike not at their best, kept losing posession too easily with overhit passes or cutting in towards centre and into traffic when could have passed it out to right winger who had more space to get crosses in. Gave away posession at the back a few times as well but got away with it. I thought Balla worked that little bit harder and didnt give Pike any time on the ball, they were that little bit better for me (another neutral perspective). Anyways it was a throughly enjoyable match :)
lifegoeson
12/05/2008, 8:22 AM
one minute you say Star will beat Summerville, the n predict Summerville will win 3-1, you were wrong on both accounts as it was a 2-2 draw, and Robbie did play........
well rob had said he would be away for this match hence why i changed my prediction
gaidin
12/05/2008, 9:34 AM
As a complete neutral i was shocked by the lack of football. There must of been 15 long range efforts with no effect. Thought Maloney was handy for Pike, looks a decent player.
I have to agree with that, I was expecting a lot more football to be played by these two teams, especially considering how good the pitch was. A lot of long balls being played by both teams. Pike played the best of football of the game in the last ten minutes of the first half.
1-1 was a fair result.
It could have been a lot different though had Frankie Lee taken that chance when Balla were 1 up.
lifegoeson
12/05/2008, 12:16 PM
Its a massive ask for us now to stay up, as we need to win away to Aisling next Thursday night, then beat Corbally away (which would put us on 16pts)
Then hope that Corbally dont pick up any points versus Pike & Balla (which would leave them on 16pts, if they lost to us as well) and also hope that Granville dont pick up more than 2pts in their remaining games.
Its a big ask but in fairness Corbally will be doing well to collect anything versus Pike & Balla, and Granville need 3pts or more versus (home) Aisling, Fairview, Regional, & (away) Carew,
But as I said all along, we'll keep going until it impossible for us to stay up, and our next job is to beat Aisling next Thursday evening (anything less and we'll be relegated).
if ..... if star beat ashling and corbally we play in a playoff against corbally if results go stars way were would that match be played???
summervilleman
12/05/2008, 12:23 PM
if ..... if star beat ashling and corbally we play in a playoff against corbally if results go stars way were would that match be played???
well firstly i'd like to see the results go that way to be honest but i would imagine the game would be played in jackman to be honest!!!
Really sqeaky bum time down there now!!!
summervilleman
12/05/2008, 12:25 PM
Premier League Table
Remaining Games
Results
Sunday 11th May (10.30)
Carew 2-2 Fairview
Pike 1-1 Balla
Star 2-2 Summerville
Aisling 6-1 Boro
Corbally 0-2 Regional
Fixtures
Granville v Regional
Aisling v Star
Wembley v Fairview
Corbally v Pike
What i would like to know is if corbally manage to get a point of star and lose there other game and granville win one of theres and lose the rest,then that would leave 3 teams on 17 points and one of the 3 to go down?? What happens there??