View Full Version : Cork AUL 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

Innishvilla
03/10/2007, 2:27 PM
Lads wheres Mayo,they have more to say on football than us.Ye should be ashamed of yourselves.Come on posts,posts,posts.Galway and Clare have more to say than us,its practically a Limerick Aul website they have so much to say.

Wheir fallen behind lads their has to be somethin worth talkin about in junior(or Senior,sorry)football in Cork.Je'sus even Dub boy,who hates the culchices and everythin outside the Pale has more hits than us.We are the rebel county least we not forget,back on top where we belong quick sharp.Refs,the price of balls,the Aul even me,their has to be somethin worth sayin,Il be dammed if I have to read all those posts from out side CORK tellin us how good they are and how shiite we are in the Fai and Mjc this year.From the start lads,up the rebels ha ha.

A post just for you littleman... Nothing else to say. (Innishvilla supporters have to stay quiet after our start to the season)...

littleman
03/10/2007, 6:11 PM
Well done Innish,tis a start.Football is a silly ol game,bad start it maybe but 3 or 4 wins and its back on track.Look at Bella,had to bide his time for his chance but stuck to his guns and took his chance with the Springers,be positive.With the way Knockavilla have been goin ye might pick up some of their lads soon,they might jump ship:D

Shilts
04/10/2007, 11:08 AM
Anyone know what punishment was given to Springers for assaulting the ref in their Linnane Cup match versus Knockavilla? :ball:

DiscoPants
04/10/2007, 4:28 PM
Any Wilton lads post on here? Marooned up here in Dublin and dying to know how the new season is going!
Thought ye would make it through the M Linnane this year. No messing around in the FAI this season and just make sure ye get promoted to the Premier.

Rudge.

therise
05/10/2007, 7:25 AM
Alright Disco Pants. Messed up in the Mossie alright. Threw it away with a 2-2 draw with springfield. Other than that seasons going well. Won first league game for a change.

Playing any ball in Dublin?

DiscoPants
05/10/2007, 9:48 AM
Alright Rise!

No ball in Dublin at the moment. In fact, the last time I kicked a ball in anger was with Wilton two seasons ago. Up the walls with work unfortunately.

Didn't realise you posted on here. Good to see a Cork AUL thread eventually.
Who are the main rivals in the Premier A this season. What kinda team do ye have? Any new lads? Thats a lot of questions! I need answers!

le tizz
05/10/2007, 10:19 AM
you can follow all results from schoolboys to div 3b on here disco http://billylyons.blogspot.com/

the weather is sposed to be cracking and the pitches should be as good as they're gonna get (even fort hill littleman !) so get out and catch a game

grattan vs park is prob the pick of the bunch in the league but could be good efforts in kinsale vs villa and ballyphehane vs glenthorn too, four of the top 5 contenders are in here, leeside taking a break for the w/e, which games if any will ye be attending leeside boys ??

on a good note for everyone, kinsale welcomed back spongebob & crouch & bionic cally training last night, kilty due back next week, this should further strengthen a squad which has the excellent derek mccarthy in good form, derek varian scoring for fun and a steely defense with mongo & ben ryan playing lovely stuff from the back, coupled with the ever flamboyant danny searls and a few new signings, it is a big squad who wont be the threadbare team that were the only unbeaten side in the league last year, even when down to a bare 11 (and less in some games)

any updates from the oscar management ?? 1st game is at the end of the month so surely the squad should be getting together soon, how many will togher have this year i wonder

good luck all round, lookin forward to getting match reports on monday, i'll try to give an unbiased view from the kinsale villa game and will be interested to hear how the rest get on, i'm sure you leeside boys will be lookin on in interest too, anyone out there from bally, glenthorn, coachford, park, castleview, kanturk, villa - like littleman said, be lovely to hear from ye

therise
05/10/2007, 12:31 PM
Alright Rise!

No ball in Dublin at the moment. In fact, the last time I kicked a ball in anger was with Wilton two seasons ago. Up the walls with work unfortunately.

Who are the main rivals in the Premier A this season. What kinda team do ye have? Any new lads? Thats a lot of questions! I need answers!

Fancy us to do something this year. Hopefully get promoted. A lot more commitment from everyone this season. Not sure what to expect this year in the league, a lot of new teams. I would expect that Macroom would be in the shake up but haven't heard anything about them this season although we have them away tomorrow.

A couple of good signings alright which is increasing competition everyone has had to step up a level and most have responded. I'll keep ya informed.

05/10/2007, 12:54 PM
Anyone know what punishment was given to Springers for assaulting the ref in their Linnane Cup match versus Knockavilla? :ball:
There was no asssault what so ever, he got 6 month ban and a fine.

I imagine he teams that got relegated last year, Village, Wilton and ourselves have as good a shot as anybody, we need to get 2 players back and were laughin. Any questions i can help you with i will no bother. Wilton were unlucky in mossie we were down to ten men for all of second half so the chances were there they just didnt take them.Very Good team though.

callyno3
05/10/2007, 2:50 PM
Vioolent incident best describes it,

one of our players attacked the referee.

There was no asssault what so ever, he got 6 month ban and a fine.

:). Mmm, Bella can ya give us a bit more detail?

Innishvilla
05/10/2007, 3:21 PM
:). Mmm, Bella can ya give us a bit more detail?

I agree... Oh what we would do for a Knockavilla players description of the event!!!

05/10/2007, 4:56 PM
He ran at the ref but noever got to him, if he did well maybe but he didnt. The ref did well and went up to far corner. Simple as. End of.

therise
06/10/2007, 4:21 PM
Alright Rise!

Keeping you up to date Discopants. Won 5-1 away to Macroom.

07/10/2007, 2:57 AM

Great result well done.

therise
07/10/2007, 6:06 PM
Great result well done.

Cheers. How did springers get on?

08/10/2007, 2:27 AM
Cheers. How did springers get on?

Drew 1-1, we could have won it easily bt we didnt get out of blocks a all in 2nd half until nearly 20 mins gone, bella had goal disallowed for offside, i was never off swear ;), but even the defender said i was never off like, anyway in a humourous note the ref pulled his calf, :D, actually quite a god ref though very fair just doesn't understand the offside rule. :D. To me leeds are better team than Ballyvolane who beat us 3 nil and they definitly play better football so best of luck to them.

Innishvilla
08/10/2007, 7:54 AM
Big weekend in league:
Kinsale 3 : 1 Villa
Park 1 : 1 Grattan...
Ballypheane 2 : 1 Glenthorn

Littleman what happened???

Le Tizz were you at Kinsale game?

Shilts
08/10/2007, 9:46 AM
Kinsale won very comfortably last sat v Villa. 2 Derek McCarthy goals early on set Kinsale up for the 3 points and it really should have been 5 by half time. Villa nearly made a game of it by scoring from a free kick in the 2nd half (their only shot on target all day) but Derek Varian finished it with a fantastic lob over Paddy O'Shea soon after.
Kinsale created chances at will. I can see how they've been getting some high scores already this season. The front two of McCarthy and Varian look pretty unstoppable at this level.
I wasn't surprised that Park drew with Grattan. Park gave Kinsale 2 very good games last year and were the only team to beat Grattan. They could be a dark horse this year (if you can say that about a team who finished 3rd last year).

08/10/2007, 1:12 PM
just noticed there on Billy Lyons webiste http://billylyons.blogspot.com/ that during ballyphehanes match with posal there was a MOTM award given out, how long has this been going on.

le tizz
08/10/2007, 1:19 PM
it was all summed up by shilts gentlemen ! kinsale started strongly, played some very good football for most of the game and could have won by a lot more if they took a few more of the chances they created, gave away a silly free kick which was well converted by villa midway thru the 2nd half but 3-1 and 3 points will do just fine for the opening game, derek mccarthy ran the show for the seasiders and derek varian had flashes of sheer brilliance, he has bundles of ability, its just getting him to perform over the 90 minutes that will make him any better, good solid performance by all and the football played at times was great to watch, t-shirts, shorts & shades all round at the seaside, what else would you be doing !!
there was a bit of a fracas at half time between one of the villa subs & one of the lads on the line, a few slaps thrown and looked like there was a lot of anger with whatever went on, villa struggling for results and leaking goals, could be a long season for them
we'd all be interested to hear the report from o'neill park littleman, did ye leave it after ye or did park perform as predicted (by me), ballyphehane also off the mark with a win, lookin at the photo on billy's site they look like a team full of young fellas, wonder will they have the experience to compete over a full season and give a good account of themselves in the cups, good luck to em
a good team can win silverware but its takes a great team to win year in year out, hopefully the aul will run things better than last year and not have the mental end to the year with 3 games a week,
if you're tuning in aul committee you have to give preferential treatment to the teams that will perform across league & cup competitions, this is the premier & the premier a teams and no offence to the rest, postponing games and missing fixtures should not be tolerated during the year unless absolutely necessary, if a premier team was to reach the final of all competitions (or even get a decent run such as grattan in the fai last year) they have to get some help at the end of the season for league games, not be punished for their success by playing every 2nd night to catch up with fixtures once the summer evenings come back ! we should be trying to help the cork clubs compete better in the fai & munster junior cups
nobody wants to miss a w/e's football this time of the year because of other teams being facilitated to fulfill games which can be run off later in the year !
sorry bout the rant fellers
what news from hollyhill's stadium of light littleman ??
well done to wilton, is that old fella anto buckley still playin ? :D

Innishvilla
08/10/2007, 2:03 PM
just noticed there on Billy Lyons webiste http://billylyons.blogspot.com/ that during ballyphehanes match with posal there was a MOTM award given out, how long has this been going on.

It's been going on with a while but it only happens at the game that Billy features...

09/10/2007, 12:22 AM
It's been going on with a while but it only happens at the game that Billy features...

he covered few of ours the year we won double and there was never one handed out????????

callyno3
09/10/2007, 2:06 AM
he covered few of ours the year we won double and there was never one handed out????????

I think it started last season. Its for the man of the match in the "match of the week" not just any match billy covers.

Innishvilla
09/10/2007, 7:48 AM
I think it started last season. Its for the man of the match in the "match of the week" not just any match billy covers.

yes sorry meant to say only for Billy's Match of the week...

bogwarrior
09/10/2007, 2:58 PM
Was the AUL squad announced?

Innishvilla
09/10/2007, 3:02 PM
Just noticed it's a very quiet weekend for the "top" sides in terms of league games and close to predict cup games. Kinsale, Park free weekends;
Mostly FAI Junior 2nd round games:
Grattan playing Mayfields seconds...
Ballypheane v UCC a bit unknown...
Leeside v Macroom could be interesting but Macroom got stuffed 5:1 by Wilton last week.
Bella: Greenmount v Springers prediction???
I suppose Wilton are one of the form teams at the moment. They play Brookelodge.

Littleman: you were asking us to post loads on the website but you've gone very quiet the start of the week...

therise
09/10/2007, 9:27 PM
Drew 1-1, we could have won it easily bt we didnt get out of blocks a all in 2nd half until nearly 20 mins gone, bella had goal disallowed for offside, i was never off swear ;), but even the defender said i was never off like, anyway in a humourous note the ref pulled his calf, :D, actually quite a god ref though very fair just doesn't understand the offside rule. :D. To me leeds are better team than Ballyvolane who beat us 3 nil and they definitly play better football so best of luck to them.

Slow start for ye. Ballyvolane aren't great to watch but on fairness they seem to pull a few results out, beat us twice last season.

therise
09/10/2007, 9:33 PM
[
well done to wilton, is that old fella anto buckley still playin ? :D[/QUOTE]

Bucks is still hanging in there, pulling the strings in midfield. The hairs nearly gone but the legs are still going:D

Innishvilla
10/10/2007, 8:30 AM
Looks like Grattan have a free weekend now as well, Billy Lyons' site saying their game with Mayfield is cancelled...

10/10/2007, 11:26 AM
Bella: Greenmount v Springers prediction???
We should beat them, hate playin in Murph's Farm though. Am confident alright.

Slow start for ye. Ballyvolane aren't great to watch but on fairness they seem to pull a few results out, beat us twice last season.

Agreed a point of possible 6 is bad, but draw away to leeds not a bad result.

Innishvilla
10/10/2007, 1:03 PM
We should beat them, hate playin in Murph's Farm though. Am confident alright.

Yeah, the top pitch (Greenmount) and bottom pitch (Dunbar) can be total lottery as to their condition. One sideline in Greenmounts pitch is very tight... At least the weather has been good.
Does this now mean that Greenmount don't use the ESB grounds anymore? I used to think their 2nd team used Murphy's Farm while the first team played up at the ESB social club grounds???

pass&move
11/10/2007, 10:51 AM
Cashmans Boomakers has the betting out for the local leagues see page below

http://www.cashmans.ie/othersports/othersports6.html

bogwarrior
11/10/2007, 1:47 PM
Ha ha - i love looking at that! Leeside a very generous 8/1! How could Kanturk be shorter than them? Park seem to be a handy side- according to d'echo last nite were much the better team than Grattan in the first half on sat with Grattan shading the second... anyone from Park offer an insight? Even Grattan for that matter with Littleman on a go slow!

If i were a betting man i'd lump the money on Rockmount and Wilton! A tasty little double which would be worth a few bob! Our league i simply cant call! There's a grand view up here on this fence!:D

pass&move
11/10/2007, 2:05 PM
Grattan never performed on the day 4 or 5 big players missing

Last year I won on Grattan at 7/2 at the start of the season.

Village let my treble down with Grattan and Blarney St

This year Grattan again. Treble Grattan,Wilton and Douglas Hall
Might have a look at Bohemians in 1A and Boscos 1B

DiscoPants
11/10/2007, 2:09 PM

Great result Rise. Was talking to B Kelly and he sid the new lad from Togher got three. How good is he? Not a patch on that lanky ginger lad wo used to knock in all those goals in the past!!!

How good were Macroom? They were always handy in the past.
How is Gilts doing this season?

DiscoPants
11/10/2007, 2:41 PM
[
well done to wilton, is that old fella anto buckley still playin ? :D

Bucks is still hanging in there, pulling the strings in midfield. The hairs nearly gone but the legs are still going:D[/QUOTE]

Top man is Bucks. Great to see him giving something back to the old club after all these years. Few of the other old heads back as well and it's clearly working. Don't think there is a better passer of the ball in the AUL than Bucks at the moment.

therise
11/10/2007, 5:51 PM
Great result Rise. Was talking to B Kelly and he sid the new lad from Togher got three. How good is he? Not a patch on that lanky ginger lad wo used to knock in all those goals in the past!!!

How good were Macroom? They were always handy in the past.
How is Gilts doing this season?

Packie's a fine player, lovely touch. Most important thing is that he's fitting in well. Who's that Ginger fella??

Gilts is playing well, defence has been fairly solid.

Macroom played well in the first but we just clicked in the second. I'd say they'll be thereabouts at the end of the season.

DiscoPants
11/10/2007, 6:17 PM
Packie's a fine player, lovely touch. Most important thing is that he's fitting in well. Who's that Ginger fella??

Gilts is playing well, defence has been fairly solid.

Macroom played well in the first but we just clicked in the second. I'd say they'll be thereabouts at the end of the season.

I think his name was Murphy. Poor man's Peter Crouch! Good feet for a big man though.

Who do ye have at the weekend?

11/10/2007, 6:28 PM
How come tom was missing when we played wilton. TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMM, biggest shout in the aul.

DiscoPants
11/10/2007, 6:40 PM
How come tom was missing when we played wilton. TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMM, biggest shout in the aul.

Haha. That's my brother. He has officially retired. He'll be back at some stage though. He was always saying he was going to hang up his boots and then he finally did it.

He's a bit of a head the ball at the best of times!

12/10/2007, 2:10 AM
Haha. That's my brother. He has officially retired. He'll be back at some stage though. He was always saying he was going to hang up his boots and then he finally did it.

He's a bit of a head the ball at the best of times!

Tell hm come down to springers,:D, he's a quality CB,a nightmare to play against, we were saying it last game massive blow for wilton, bulb off your man from eastenders too.

therise
12/10/2007, 7:57 AM
I think his name was Murphy. Poor man's Peter Crouch! Good feet for a big man though.

Who do ye have at the weekend?

At home to Brooklodge in the FAI on Sunday. I think they are top of the MJ 1st division.

therise
12/10/2007, 7:59 AM
Oscar Traynor squad is on Billy Lyons blog. http://billylyons.blogspot.com/

Innishvilla
12/10/2007, 8:17 AM
Oscar Traynor squad is on Billy Lyons blog. http://billylyons.blogspot.com/

Pat Tynan (Greenmount), John Betts (Blarney Street), Anthony Buckley, Shane O'Neill and Alberto Pulmieno (Wilton), Darren Haines, Jason Keegan, Derek Delea, Joe Lyons (Leeside), John Paul O'Sullivan, David O'Sullivan, Mark O'Sullivan, Brian O'Sullivan, Pat O'Connor, John Kelleher (Grattan), Alan O'Mahoney, Trevor Dunlea and John Paul Heffernan (Ballyphehane), Derek McCarthy and Derek Varian (Kinsale).

Just for those who can't click on a link...

I'll be honest I don't know much about some of the teams players, there is a good spread, but I figure Park would like to think that they could have gotten a player or 2 in... 3rd in the table last year doing ok this year. Village and Ballyvolane have started well also, but that said there is a good spread of players - based more on last year and the Mossy performances...

Innishvilla
12/10/2007, 8:20 AM
I've just noticed both Grattan's games this weekend have been canceled... anyone know the reason?

Shilts
12/10/2007, 1:20 PM
Pat Tynan (Greenmount), John Betts (Blarney Street), Anthony Buckley, Shane O'Neill and Alberto Pulmieno (Wilton), Darren Haines, Jason Keegan, Derek Delea, Joe Lyons (Leeside), John Paul O'Sullivan, David O'Sullivan, Mark O'Sullivan, Brian O'Sullivan, Pat O'Connor, John Kelleher (Grattan), Alan O'Mahoney, Trevor Dunlea and John Paul Heffernan (Ballyphehane), Derek McCarthy and Derek Varian (Kinsale).

Just for those who can't click on a link...

I'll be honest I don't know much about some of the teams players, there is a good spread, but I figure Park would like to think that they could have gotten a player or 2 in... 3rd in the table last year doing ok this year. Village and Ballyvolane have started well also, but that said there is a good spread of players - based more on last year and the Mossy performances...

Everybody can pick faults with the selection but one glaring omission for me is Ben Ryan (Kinsale). He is the best left mid OR left full in the league. I'd agree with I'villa's comments re Park. They drew with Grattan last week... and had none selected ... Grattan had six. :confused:
Best of luck to all those selected!!!

Towelie
12/10/2007, 1:39 PM
Who does Darren Haines play for?

littleman
13/10/2007, 10:13 AM
Sorry for the delay lads but I was away with work and the lap top i had,well lets just say the internet connection was a tad slow,Iwould have ben better off sendin you all letters haha.I'll do my best to answer some of your questions.

1st.......Grattan v Park.
It would be wrong of me to say that we were robbed or Park did'nt play well because that would'nt be the truth.Park in fairness started great and caused problems from the first whistle.Took a well deserved lead and held onto it for most of the game.w They tired a bit in the 2nd half and we got a jammy equaliser and then missed a hatfull because our final ball was crap.Simple as that.Just about scraped a point.It was a poor performence and I know someone said we were missing 4 or 5 first players but thats no excuse for the way we played.It was the same startin 11 and subs that beat Fermoy the week previous.Ok you could say it was an off day but we have to be honest and say we wer'nt good enough on the day.

As i have said Im not one for tellin billiys but this thing of Park beatin the Gratts last season is a bit much.Last season when Park beat us in the league only Brian O'Sullivan ,Lofty and Harry Goulding started the game.I'm a B player and 34 and started,the B team coach whos 42 started as well and the remainder of the first 11 were all Bplayers as well.Cans and Figo arrived at half time and came on but at that stage it was 3/1.By the way we went 1 up through a peno taken by lofty who played up front on the day.Park took the 3 points and the history books will say they won but I was'nt loosing any sleep over Park this season and were poor last week and they played well simple as that.I was just surprised at the way we played thats all.Normally our delivery is excellent and Jp and Figo dont need to be asked twice but it just did'nt happen for them on the day,Did'nt happen for anyone on the day and thats just beein honest

2nd......Grattan s free weekend........We were supposed to play Mayfield C{aUL} this Saturday,but were told on Tuesday night that due to a mix up by Mayfield when registering their teams for the FAI they we now had to play Mayfields MSL Premier side Sunday morning.That was a change of date and we were havin none of it.We were quite happy to play any Mayfield side,be it A,B or C on a Saturday [the original date for the game} but their was no way we were goin to play them Sunday mornin with 4 of our Fai squad goin to work Saturday night at 7 on 12 hour shifts the Irish game Saturday night also.The FAI is too important a competition to be takin risks with and we would do another team a favour we could but not if it ment we were understrenght as a result.

3rd.......Mintys men.......
Hes never goin to be right by some and I understand that.But from the start theirs no one on the Park team that would have been a better selection for Minty in any position.O'Mahony form Bally and Brian from the Gratts are his best 2 centerhalfs because i'm sorry I dont rate Keegan.T'is football we need to play to beat the best sides and that for the most part is what he has picked.We have 6 because in their perfered positions they are the best players in those positions.The Kinsale lads are an excellent addition to the squad as well and will give Minty no end of selection problems as to who will partner Jp up front.We dont want lads who flatter to deceive on the pitch when they have the ball,just lads who are comfortable on the ball and for the most part bar one or two he has that.

We have a tendency in the Aul to say a guy is a good player because he can run for 90 mins and tackle like a animal.Any one who saw the Dubs teach us a lesson last season will agree that they were an excellent football side first who could mix it rather than the steriotypical Aul sides that run hard and try to add a bit of football.

13/10/2007, 10:49 AM
Who does Darren Haines play for?

Rams 21's if your on about i think.

13/10/2007, 4:21 PM
We won 2 nil today anyway. Roll on next round.