View Full Version : Limerick Division 1B 2007/08
platini
23/10/2007, 9:42 AM
Correct,otherwise there will end up being 6 at training weekly,with 10 players not training because they know they are walking into the team without showing for training sessions.
Seems to me like this could blow up soon, Finnan wont worry about picking guys who don't train, his job is to get results. I know from past teams he has managed this is his only concern. His attitude has always been Judge him on results.
brutus
23/10/2007, 10:42 AM
Seems to me like this could blow up soon, Finnan wont worry about picking guys who don't train, his job is to get results. I know from past teams he has managed this is his only concern. His attitude has always been Judge him on results.
A manager should always be thinking of results,thats the main factor as a manager and to be successful you need good results,but to pick lads that aint training before lads who are is wrong,you might as well forget about results then because at the end of the day,if he cant keep lads happy there going to look for a transfer which leaves him in trouble with a shortage of players to try and get what you said all he cares about (results).
ParkLife
23/10/2007, 10:56 AM
A manager should always be thinking of results,thats the main factor as a manager and to be successful you need good results,but to pick lads that aint training before lads who are is wrong,you might as well forget about results then because at the end of the day,if he cant keep lads happy there going to look for a transfer which leaves him in trouble with a shortage of players to try and get what you said all he cares about (results).
Couldn't agree more, some lads are still fuming after the Holycross fiasco. Bare 11 showed up, the lads gave it there all,and came away with a 1- nil win, then come the following Tuseday not a word was said to all the lads that didn't bother showing up.THEN,come the following Sunday some of the lads that showed up for the Holycross game were dropped and not a word said.Left a very bad taste in the mouths of alot of the lads.
old git
23/10/2007, 11:02 AM
he may struggle to get results if players get frustrated at lack of games and deceide to look for transfers or leave club ... :ball:
brutus
23/10/2007, 11:07 AM
Couldn't agree more, some lads are still fuming after the Holycross fiasco. Bare 11 showed up, the lads gave it there all,and came away with a 1- nil win, then come the following Tuseday not a word was said to all the lads that didn't bother showing up.THEN,come the following Sunday some of the lads that showed up for the Holycross game were dropped and not a word said.Left a very bad taste in the mouths of alot of the lads.
I dont blame them for being angry,thats not fair on the players who played the holycross game,but at the same time these players with bitter taste in there mouths are just bickering amongst themselves,if a player has a problem he should go straight to peter or dermot,not be sitting on the sideline bitching about not being played,:ball:
ParkLife
23/10/2007, 11:18 AM
I agree, it needs to be addressed before it gets worse. When you have the likes of Shane Mc Carthy packing it in,then there must be something wrong.
brutus
23/10/2007, 11:25 AM
I agree, it needs to be addressed before it gets worse. When you have the likes of Shane Mc Carthy packing it in,then there must be something wrong.
Is Shane definetely gone,or just another stupid rumour on this website,big loss if true,one of the better players at the club.
shanman2
23/10/2007, 11:46 AM
Lads don't be complaining on a forum about who is not playing. The best thing to do is for all of the side to get together and trash out what problems that all of you think exist. Whoever the captain is of the side I suggest that you all have a word with him and not be airing the dirty linen in public.
ParkLife
23/10/2007, 11:47 AM
He hasn't been at training for the past few weeks, and one of the lads met him last Saturday and he said he was packing it in,cos his knees are banjaxed!!
old git
23/10/2007, 12:09 PM
Lads don't be complaining on a forum about who is not playing. The best thing to do is for all of the side to get together and trash out what problems that all of you think exist. Whoever the captain is of the side I suggest that you all have a word with him and not be airing the dirty linen in public.
as you said either captain or players ask to meet manager... but it seems crazy at this early stage of season that fellas are already frustrated & fed up with situation at park .. :ball:
brutus
23/10/2007, 12:16 PM
Lads this is getting blown out of proportion,Park in a great position at the moment and lets just drop this subject on players not happy,if there not theyl leave,but at 7 o clock this evening we will have at least 18 training again so lets leave it at that.
Any one any fixtures for this weekend?
ParkLife
23/10/2007, 12:17 PM
To be honest, I don't think too many are fed up with Finnan,I think it's the fact that they're are about 18/20 lads down at every game,and you can only play 11.I mean meeting at 8.45 on a cold and windy sunday morning away to Knockainy,you would have thought 13 maybe 14 lads would show up.there was at least 18 lads at it.So the desire to play for him is there,especially when the team is doing so well.
shanman2
23/10/2007, 12:17 PM
as you said either captain or players ask to meet manager... but it seems crazy at this early stage of season that fellas are already frustrated & fed up with situation at park .. :ball:
Probably more of an inevitability than a probability that players are going to be unhappy. Well I feel for them really if they are not wanted/needed then why tag them along. A few simple words by the manager and this would have been avoided.
ParkLife
23/10/2007, 12:20 PM
No fixtures yet. Is it just me or is the LDMC website the worst in the world. Every time I check it for fixtures I get "No report" and the tables still aren't up to date. They should take a look at the claresoccer.net website. They have the topscorers,even players that have only scored one goal!!!
Goals4fun
23/10/2007, 12:30 PM
Probably more of an inevitability than a probability that players are going to be unhappy. Well I feel for them really if they are not wanted/needed then why tag them along. A few simple words by the manager and this would have been avoided.
dermot has a history of signing anything with a heart beat so they can't play elsewhere.
Any player would not be happy to stay on the sidelines. all they can do is wait for their chance (hopefully given a fair chance) and take it. If somebody is pulling the **** he is only doing this to his fellow players.
Dermot is paid to do a job and that is get the team back to the permier. he will do that his own way. Nice guys win nothing.
What do most of these players think when they get promoted and he gets more players in as they aren't good enough for 1a or premier.... then the fun begins
shanman2
23/10/2007, 12:41 PM
dermot has a history of signing anything with a heart beat so they can't play elsewhere.
Any player would not be happy to stay on the sidelines. all they can do is wait for their chance (hopefully given a fair chance) and take it. If somebody is pulling the **** he is only doing this to his fellow players.
Dermot is paid to do a job and that is get the team back to the permier. he will do that his own way. Nice guys win nothing.
What do most of these players think when they get promoted and he gets more players in as they aren't good enough for 1a or premier.... then the fun begins
Ya that was tried before at Park they ended the season after bottom of 1A getting trashed by everyone and anyone. Since then players who walked away in Parks hour of need then re-appear in a heroic fashion to wrestle Park AFC from the depths of lower league football. A man who is loyal to players will achieve much more than a man who abuses his players. Might be mistaken but I think it ended in tears at Fairview?
Goals4fun
23/10/2007, 1:06 PM
Ya that was tried before at Park they ended the season after bottom of 1A getting trashed by everyone and anyone. Since then players who walked away in Parks hour of need then re-appear in a heroic fashion to wrestle Park AFC from the depths of lower league football. A man who is loyal to players will achieve much more than a man who abuses his players. Might be mistaken but I think it ended in tears at Fairview?
he was with park before and started very well. Then after winning 7 on the bounce the wheels came off.
The team was taken over for the next 3 season by Nobber and albert and reached the 1/4 final of the fai. The next year they hung on to premier status with a fight. The club then relegated themselves. Some of the players that left had put in good time with park. Some will never return. None of the current players feel they are back in heroic form. maybe playing 1b it is a bit easier to have a drink the night before.
Now DF is back to get Park back where they belong. will he do it?
old git
23/10/2007, 1:14 PM
paid to do a job managing in division 1b ... f**k me i must start thinking about getting into management :)
brutus
23/10/2007, 1:16 PM
he was with park before and started very well. Then after winning 7 on the bounce the wheels came off.
The team was taken over for the next 3 season by Nobber and albert and reached the 1/4 final of the fai. The next year they hung on to premier status with a fight. The club then relegated themselves. Some of the players that left had put in good time with park. Some will never return. None of the current players feel they are back in heroic form. maybe playing 1b it is a bit easier to have a drink the night before.
Now DF is back to get Park back where they belong. will he do it?
Yes he will do it if he keeps his squad,
old git
23/10/2007, 1:52 PM
Yes he will do it if he keeps his squad,
looks like he is starting to lose some of squad already...
as per earlier post 4-5 newtown lads joined due to lack of games at newtown ... how long will they stay if same thing is happening at park :ball:
brutus
23/10/2007, 2:09 PM
looks like he is starting to lose some of squad already...
as per earlier post 4-5 newtown lads joined due to lack of games at newtown ... how long will they stay if same thing is happening at park :ball:
Old git who has left park?apart from shane mcarthy due to his knees are gone.
old git
23/10/2007, 3:27 PM
Old git who has left park?apart from shane mcarthy due to his knees are gone.
knees gone could be an excuse ,, & has mc keogh also gone as per earlier threads.. ithere is still a long hard season to come will be very intresting down at riverside park in the coming months looking forward to watching a few games to see if any furthur developments :ball:
brutus
23/10/2007, 3:46 PM
knees gone could be an excuse ,, & has mc keogh also gone as per earlier threads.. ithere is still a long hard season to come will be very intresting down at riverside park in the coming months looking forward to watching a few games to see if any furthur developments :ball:
In my opinion it aint no excuse because he is usually a starter for park,as for mark if he leaves i think it would be farely disappointing because its still early days,everyone is going to be given a chance,you just gotta be strong enough to stick with the trainings and wait for your oppurtunity.:ball:
old git
23/10/2007, 4:24 PM
In my opinion it aint no excuse because he is usually a starter for park,as for mark if he leaves i think it would be farely disappointing because its still early days,everyone is going to be given a chance,you just gotta be strong enough to stick with the trainings and wait for your oppurtunity.:ball:
it's a tough one for lads are you willing to keep training / turning up for matches and maybee not get a game its even harder when you have a large panel.. played long enough & stood on the line a lot longer to know players will get frustrated / fed up the longer the season goes on .. cannot see anyway of keeping everybody happy :ball:
Goals4fun
23/10/2007, 4:32 PM
it's a tough one for lads are you willing to keep training / turning up for matches and maybee not get a game its even harder when you have a large panel.. played long enough & stood on the line a lot longer to know players will get frustrated / fed up the longer the season goes on .. cannot see anyway of keeping everybody happy :ball:
plus it gets harder to keep the fitness and match sharpness going to make an impression if you are not playing regulary.
I hope park get back to the permier with their great facilities. but their best times are behind them i think.
It is a pity that they relegated themselves for 1 season and now will pay a manager to get them back up (cost themselves a lot of money for relegating themselves). However i think they will never learn. it is not the first time they have been stung for money. After Dermot finnan leaves they may try and match 'Stans' wages when he is let go from the irish job :D
brutus
23/10/2007, 5:12 PM
plus it gets harder to keep the fitness and match sharpness going to make an impression if you are not playing regulary.
I hope park get back to the permier with their great facilities. but their best times are behind them i think.
It is a pity that they relegated themselves for 1 season and now will pay a manager to get them back up (cost themselves a lot of money for relegating themselves). However i think they will never learn. it is not the first time they have been stung for money. After Dermot finnan leaves they may try and match 'Stans' wages when he is let go from the irish job :D
To say parks best days are over is insane,if you see the set-up down there for schoolboys,all age groups,tuesday and thursdays kids everywhere,good to see that the club are going in the right direction,all it takes is to keep the consistency going with the junior team,if lads hear park are winning alot of there games,tough training sessions,great facilities,experienced management,of course lads are going to want to join the club,the more players down the better,Its the start of a new era for park,in a excellent way.:ball::ball:
riverside
24/10/2007, 6:21 AM
Its hard ok but we seem at the moment anyway to have a fairly dedicated bunch,training hard, all travelling to the games and i can assure you all, the motivation with Dermot Finnan is not money but results and improvement, and there is a lot of that needed.
shanman2
24/10/2007, 7:55 AM
Its hard ok but we seem at the moment anyway to have a fairly dedicated bunch,training hard, all travelling to the games and i can assure you all, the motivation with Dermot Finnan is not money but results and improvement, and there is a lot of that needed.
Riverside there must be other people at the club capable of taking Park out of 1B. 5-0 versus Herbertstown, 3-0 vs Knockainey and some dreadful performances to boot. I will comment that soon enough Dermot is going to have to make decisions, big decisions, without the money to get a few players. IMO its in the dressing room after being beaten 3-0 where a manager makes his money. The days of using and abusing players is long gone.
brutus
24/10/2007, 8:11 AM
Riverside there must be other people at the club capable of taking Park out of 1B. 5-0 versus Herbertstown, 3-0 vs Knockainey and some dreadful performances to boot. I will comment that soon enough Dermot is going to have to make decisions, big decisions, without the money to get a few players. IMO its in the dressing room after being beaten 3-0 where a manager makes his money. The days of using and abusing players is long gone.
Some dreadful performances are you mad are ya,herbetstown match played them off the park for 80 minutes then when they scored,the lads put there heads down,you obviously dont know we won our first 5 league games of the season and are still in a great position and there is also enough players at the moment 23 signed,so shanman wake up will ya.:eek:
ffffff
24/10/2007, 8:41 AM
all managers at premier and most at 1A get paid - someone of his expericne would be on good money
Goals4fun
24/10/2007, 9:44 AM
all managers at premier and most at 1A get paid - someone of his expericne would be on good money
surely somebody else could have gotten them out of 1b without having to pay him. Sure he should get expenses for travelling.
I don't think his motivation is purely getting park promoted.
it was a pity they didn't pay the likes of nobber & albert (who won them their first ever premier trophies and got to a 1/4 final of fai), anto etc , people who were club men and cared about the club.
By paying dermot it will not have gone down well with some ....
brutus
24/10/2007, 9:56 AM
surely somebody else could have gotten them out of 1b without having to pay him. Sure he should get expenses for travelling.
it was a pity they didn't pay the likes of nobber & albert (who won them their first ever premier trophies and got to a 1/4 final of fai), anto etc , people who were club men and cared about the club.
Peter Webb could have taken it on his own if you ask me,knows hell of alot about the game and good training sessions also,but its good to have someone like Dermot there too for his experience because at the end of the day lads he has 5 f.a.i medals under his belt,how many manager in the country have achieved.
shanman2
24/10/2007, 12:10 PM
Your dead right Goals4fun. Theres a certain man playing with Pike at the moment who would have been worth giving a shout. Personally I think Philly Purcell and Tony Mac would have been the best management team
available to them. They tick all the boxes in terms of management. Above all they seem to care about the club.
riverside
24/10/2007, 12:17 PM
Your dead right Goals4fun. Theres a certain man playing with Pike at the moment who would have been worth giving a shout. Personally I think Philly Purcell and Tony Mac would have been the best management team
available to them. They tick all the boxes in terms of management. Above all they seem to care about the club.
Both asked, Tony is heavily involved at u/12s and assisting with the 8s/9s and doing a great job, Phil is happy where he is for another while,but you never know down the line.Anybody else you can think of ? but i can almost guarantee you they were asked
shanman2
24/10/2007, 12:26 PM
Both asked, Tony is heavily involved at u/12s and assisting with the 8s/9s and doing a great job, Phil is happy where he is for another while,but you never know down the line.Anybody else you can think of ? but i can almost guarantee you they were asked
Sorry riverside wasn't aware of that. Didn't know Tony was with the underage lads. Maybe down the line they might be interested? Who are ye playing this weekend till we try change the subject.
riverside
24/10/2007, 1:01 PM
Sorry riverside wasn't aware of that. Didn't know Tony was with the underage lads. Maybe down the line they might be interested? Who are ye playing this weekend till we try change the subject.
At home to Abbey in the league on Sun. morning at 10.30
brutus
24/10/2007, 3:29 PM
At home to Abbey in the league on Sun. morning at 10.30
Have you heard anything about abbey,are they a good side.:ball:
Goals4fun
24/10/2007, 5:34 PM
to play the devils advocate, maybe if they were offered the same 'deal' as dermot finnan then either might have taken the step. Riverside who who you pay the 'expenses' to, somebody who cares about the job/club (and would be around a long time) or who has the history of success under their belt.
riverside
25/10/2007, 9:45 AM
to play the devils advocate, maybe if they were offered the same 'deal' as dermot finnan then either might have taken the step. Riverside who who you pay the 'expenses' to, somebody who cares about the job/club (and would be around a long time) or who has the history of success under their belt.
Neither wanted the job under any circumstances. Tony had it last year and had enough his direction is schoolboys as i said already and Phil is very happy where he is so we are flogging dead horse here
brutus
25/10/2007, 10:29 AM
Its not all about money goals4fun,these are club men,they wouldnt care about deals and how much they could be offered,maybe if dermot wasnt offered what he was offered he wouldnt of taken it,but after all the hard work tony mc put in for us last year and got nothing back off the players i dont blame him for just sticking with schollboys these days.
larrywhite
29/10/2007, 11:50 AM
Couple of results from yesterday:
Park 4-0 Abbey
St Pats 2-3 Coonagh
Prospect OFF Fairview
Pike OFF Murroe
Jock MIB
29/10/2007, 12:57 PM
Park 4-0 Abbey
St Pats 2-3 Coonagh
Prospect OFF Fairview
Pike OFF Murroe
holycross 0 knockainey 0
brutus
30/10/2007, 11:15 AM
Park 4-0 Abbey
St Pats 2-3 Coonagh
Prospect OFF Fairview
Pike OFF Murroe
Is this all the results from yesterday,were croom not playing no.
Final Frontier
30/10/2007, 11:20 AM
Croom hit for 8 yesterday in FAI......
They cant be that good one thinks...I see they are playing Coonagh next week...should be interesting...where is that on?
See the posh Shannon boys had another home game....:D:confused:
League shaping up nicely esp with last weeks games...
brutus
30/10/2007, 12:44 PM
Croom hit for 8 yesterday in FAI......
They cant be that good one thinks...I see they are playing Coonagh next week...should be interesting...where is that on?
See the posh Shannon boys had another home game....:D:confused:
League shaping up nicely esp with last weeks games...
Sure they could have been playing tough opposition,can you explain to me why you think the shannon lads are posh because there far from posh,more like knackers if you ask me.:D
riverside
30/10/2007, 2:50 PM
Sure they could have been playing tough opposition,can you explain to me why you think the shannon lads are posh because there far from posh,more like knackers if you ask me.:D
Posh, knackers, as long as we are winning league matches who cares,sticks and stones and all that.
brutus
30/10/2007, 3:04 PM
Posh, knackers, as long as we are winning league matches who cares,sticks and stones and all that.
I was only having the crack saying knackers,just curious about the posh bit,you said it as long as there winning,who care what thee called :D
brutus
05/11/2007, 6:54 AM
Any results from yesterdays games?
shanman2
07/11/2007, 12:08 PM
Any fixtures for the weekend or is it free??
brutus
07/11/2007, 12:31 PM
Any fixtures for the weekend or is it free??
Park to play murroe in shannon.