View Full Version : Drogs v Helsingborgs

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

15/08/2007, 1:04 PM
Henriks Larsson speaks about Ireland

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We will know what we have to do when we get Drogheda back to Helsingborg.

There are some good sides in the next round and although we don't have to face some of the bigger sides like Hamburg, Athletico Madrid or Sampdoria, we have been handed a tricky drawn against Irish side Drogheda.

They are doing well in the League of Ireland at the moment and I'm sure they will be eager to gain our scalp. Last year Drogheda only went out in the second qualifying round to IK Start on penalties so they have a bit of experience at this level.

I know Irish football is getting better all the time and there are players who have played in England, Scotland and other tough leagues going to Ireland, which can only help the standard to keep improving. I have no doubt that this will be a difficult game.

It's good that we will play the away leg first as that is always what you want in two-legged ties. We will know what we have to do when we get Drogheda back to Helsingborg.

I'll be looking forward to going to Ireland as it is a country I like a lot. The Irish are great people and I'm sure they will help to make it a great occasion. I know there are a lot of Celtic fans over there and it would obviously be fantastic if they turned up as it is always great to see Celtic supporters. But I'm sure the majority of people will still be behind
Drogheda and that will give them a big boost.

It's a game we need to win if we want to go forward and that is something everybody here is eager for. We want to get some momentum going and that means getting results in every competition.

From betfair forum.

onephillyhughes
15/08/2007, 1:08 PM
how would you know ? see much off us do ya ? what was the score the last time we played you ? or any of ther last few times actually

Christ lad, relax wil ya! :D

From what everyone seems to say, and from the odd tv game I see of you, Doolin likes his team to sit and get 1 goal and hold on.

And to answer your question - Last time we played competitively, you won 2-0 in the FAI Cup. :p

Anything else, just ask;)

declan hide
15/08/2007, 1:38 PM
can you pay on the gate? is there online ticket sales?

bluemovie
15/08/2007, 1:44 PM
I know there are a lot of Celtic fans over there and it would obviously be fantastic if they turned up as it is always great to see Celtic supporters.

Any Irish person who turns up at this game in a Celtic jersey and shouts for a Swedish team against an Irish team should have their passport revoked an be exiled for life.

Drogman.
15/08/2007, 1:58 PM
can you pay on the gate? is there online ticket sales?

Tickets on the night will only be available for the Des Kelly and Connaught St stands.

The Jodi is sold out afaik.

Soko
15/08/2007, 3:08 PM
It should be on tv, no excuses

MeathDrog
15/08/2007, 3:33 PM
Are tickets sold out yet? I got mine today.I could only get them for the Des Kelly Stand

ndrog
15/08/2007, 3:40 PM
Christ lad, relax wil ya!
From what everyone seems to say, and from the odd tv game I see of you, Doolin likes his team to sit and get 1 goal and hold on.

And to answer your question - Last time we played competitively, you won 2-0 in the FAI Cup. :p

Anything else, just ask;)

thanx mate , forgot the score we beat you so often :D As for us being defensive , we are .But we can play some decent football .Dont care how he plays this game as long as we win !

15/08/2007, 3:44 PM
Any Irish person who turns up at this game in a Celtic jersey and shouts for a Swedish team against an Irish team should have their passport revoked an be exiled for life.

I'd be sending for the "Men in the White Coats" for anybody who did that.:D

15/08/2007, 4:13 PM
I'd love it if thousands of Celtic-beshirted knuckledraggers turned up and Larsson did his hamstring in the warm-up.

MeathDrog
15/08/2007, 4:33 PM
thanx mate , forgot the score we beat you so often :D As for us being defensive , we are .But we can play some decent football .Dont care how he plays this game as long as we win !
For the uefa cup game.I want a win and that's that.But in the league we are expected to win nearly every game now and I would like us to be a bit more entertaining with our football.We have one of the best squads in the country and Doolin should take advantage of that,but it's almost like he cares too much about winning and plays very defensive football when we go ahead.

15/08/2007, 4:41 PM
I'd love it if thousands of Celtic-beshirted knuckledraggers turned up and Larsson did his hamstring in the warm-up.
A few handy quid for Drogheda anyway.

15/08/2007, 5:25 PM
Gamebooker.ie

Drogheda United v Helsingborg
Home: 8/5
Draw: 11/5
Away: 7/5

Drogs 1 Helsingborg 0 8/1

I would have expected Drogs to be a bit longer.

I read somewhere that Drogs have refused Helsingborg from setting up a stall to sell Larsson merchandise during the game.

Might have been interested in going but sitting in the rain does not appeal to me.

MeathDrog
15/08/2007, 6:31 PM
The weather is supposed to be good for tomorrow

http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml?world=0031

15/08/2007, 6:47 PM
Hope Drogs win but wouldnt be too hopeful really , think the bookies are being a bit generous to them but I'm more than happy to be proven wrong.

SPXcyan
15/08/2007, 8:29 PM
Will this game be broadcasted on the radio at least??

15/08/2007, 8:52 PM
Will this game be broadcasted on the radio at least??

Nice one. :D

15/08/2007, 11:36 PM
Just read in the Indo that Helsingborgs wanted to set up a stall selling Larsson merchandise and keep all the profits themselves. Drogs obviously refused.

16/08/2007, 12:36 AM
The weather is supposed to be good for tomorrow

http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml?world=0031

Feckin armchair weather watchers - looking to English sources for their weather, and turning their backs on perfectly good home-grown meteorlogical sources. A disgrace, the lot of them.....

Drogman.
16/08/2007, 8:28 AM
Larsson is doubt. The poor lad has a bit of the flu and mighten play.

Ah well, so much for that :rolleyes:

16/08/2007, 8:47 AM
Feckin armchair weather watchers - looking to English sources for their weather, and turning their backs on perfectly good home-grown meteorlogical sources. A disgrace, the lot of them.....

ah sure - Met Éireann are **** anyway. Couldn't even get radar pictures of the next 48 hours forecast.

Why go and obtain weather from them - their offices are rubbish - and not as good as the plush all-seater Met Office in Bracknell...

bigmac
16/08/2007, 9:30 AM
it's almost like he cares too much about winning

How dare he!! :mad:

16/08/2007, 11:01 AM
Larsson is doubt. The poor lad has a bit of the flu and mighten play.

The rain is the new lethal eL european weapon!

pateen
16/08/2007, 12:00 PM
Does anyone know if it’s live on another channel or Swedish national TV? I know my cousin has a rake of these channels in his pub.

Would really love to see it.

Eurosport showed the Derry PSG game last year
Yeah disgraceful by RTE/TV3/TG4

Torn-Ado
16/08/2007, 12:06 PM
Does anyone know if it’s live on another channel or Swedish national TV? I know my cousin has a rake of these channels in his pub.

Would really love to see it.

Eurosport showed the Derry PSG game last year
Yeah disgraceful by RTE/TV3/TG4

Its not on Swedish TV afaik.

Battery Rover
16/08/2007, 2:11 PM
Full up to date list of soccer being broadcast on satelite tonight available here (http://liveonsat.com/) No sign of Drogheda anywhere on it:mad:

Best bet would be point a dish at 1 degree west and hope that there is a satelite news feed for it. Nothing will show there until about 1 hour before match if that is going to happen

Will post here if I can find anything.

Fingal hoop
16/08/2007, 2:19 PM
hope drogheda get stuffed

16/08/2007, 2:21 PM
Will there be a camera at all at this game from any station or even from Drogheda?

Just seems if you're not in the CL qualifiers there is no coverage at all of other European ties which is a shame.

16/08/2007, 2:26 PM
Will there be a camera at all at this game from any station or even from Drogheda?

Just seems if you're not in the CL qualifiers there is no coverage at all of other European ties which is a shame.

Or maybe Drogheda asked for too mcuh

Real ale Madrid
16/08/2007, 2:30 PM
Regardless of TV coverage this is a vital game for our league. So best of luck to the Drogs tonight.

Drogman.
16/08/2007, 2:39 PM
hope drogheda get stuffed

The jealousy of some :rolleyes:

lofty9
16/08/2007, 2:49 PM
Thought this game was next week for some reason.

Good luck Drogs.

Battery Rover
16/08/2007, 3:05 PM
Anyone with satellite knowledge or a motorised dish can check the satelite feeds that may carry the match here (http://www.satelliweb.com/)

16/08/2007, 3:10 PM
There's nobody covering it live lads...

16/08/2007, 3:11 PM
Bat, there would have to be cameras actually there though.

16/08/2007, 3:22 PM
If anyone was covering RTE would either provide the feed for them or take it from them so if not on RTE won't be on anywhere.

seand
16/08/2007, 3:28 PM
Hope it goes well for the Drogs tonight.... when I say I hope it goes well for the Drogs, I mean the coefficient of course! ;)

And I really hope Larsson doesn't play just to **** off any eejits who are going along just to see him

Fingal hoop
16/08/2007, 3:34 PM
hope he does- give us one last glimpse of his brilliance & he bags a hat trick

ccfcgirl
16/08/2007, 4:38 PM
I wishe Drogheda the Best of Luck tonight ...

16/08/2007, 4:53 PM
Good luck to the Drogs !

Hope Larsson plays and is sh!te. Feckin has-been....

16/08/2007, 5:51 PM
Best of luck to the Drogs tonight.

Hope Gartland goes through Larsson early and nutmegs him:D

C'mon Drawwwwwwwwheda......

16/08/2007, 6:23 PM
Best of luck to the Drogs tonight.

Hope Gartland goes through Larsson early and nutmegs him:D

C'mon Drawwwwwwwwheda......I hope Gartland puts him in the Jodi.

Give all the confused foreign football supporters something they'll not forget.

EireBadBoy
16/08/2007, 6:39 PM
Good luck to Trotters Independent Trading FC.

16/08/2007, 6:42 PM
Any link to RTE commentary?

niallsparky
16/08/2007, 6:54 PM
Don't have a direct link, it's a case of navigating through RTE.ie.

Battery Rover
16/08/2007, 6:55 PM
http://www.rte.ie/radio/liveplayer_av.html?1,null,200,http://www.rte.ie/smiltest/radio_new.smil

Then just click on the live medium wave stream

niallsparky
16/08/2007, 6:57 PM
http://www.rte.ie/radio/index.html Then select media player on the right.

16/08/2007, 7:06 PM
only playing Zayed up front on his own, bit over cautious at home

finnpark
16/08/2007, 7:09 PM
only playing Zayed up front on his own, bit over cautious at home

Ristila is on too.

Sounds like a good game but helsingborg pounding Drogs. Only a matter of time b4 Helsingborgs score.

finnpark
16/08/2007, 7:18 PM
Ristila is on too.

Sounds like a good game but helsingborg pounding Drogs. Only a matter of time b4 Helsingborgs score.

Larson scores 1-0 helsingborg