View Full Version : FAI Poll

09/08/2007, 11:05 AM
I've been hearing on the radio and in last nights herald that the FAI have some sort of poll going at the moment to name the greatest Irish players, but Roy Keane isn't in it, but Mark Kennedy and Gary Breen are.:eek:

Surely this is a whole load of bull crap?

09/08/2007, 11:10 AM
it's not a poll, it's a page on their site: http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=36&Itemid=51

09/08/2007, 11:12 AM
Someone on here noticed that Roy Keane wasn't in the list of Irish legends on the FAI website. The Star had an article about it yesterday quoting a couple of posts on here. The FAI said the original FAI site had a list of Irish legends on it. All were retired, Keane was still playing at the time. They said that after that they would get nominations from people to add a player to the list. If they got enough nominations they'd add that player.

Just to show they weren't biased against Keane they also said "note that Steven Staunton isn't there".

Claret Murph
09/08/2007, 11:55 AM
I am sure Keane should be very near the top of the list for people who have walked out on their country .......................

Never forget that .

RogerMilla
09/08/2007, 12:03 PM
I am sure Keane should be very near the top of the list for people who have walked out on their country .......................

Never forget that .

fair play claret , there i was having forgotten the whole sad, sorry, sordid, drawn out , over exposed , over cooked affair and you were good enough to mention it unlike so many other who chose to keep quiet on the matter over the last 5 years. I'll never forget that....

ofjames
09/08/2007, 12:03 PM
I believe I am responsible for getting this in the news:D

(FROM THE GREATEST IRISH PLAYER THREAD) im only 21 so i didnt have the chance to see brady, giles etc. in their pomp. mcgrath was heroic, but there's no doubt in my mind that it's keane. he is my absolute hero:D

also, on a related topic. keane is not included in the FAI's selction of 'irish football greats' on their website. Typical of the cuunnts!!!!! they have mark kennedy in there but not roy keane! ridiculous

Im amazing!:cool:

shanman2
09/08/2007, 12:04 PM

Never forget that .

Would he make the list of MEN that single handedly pulled a poor side kicking and screaming into a world cup, with argueably the worst manager at the world cup....

citizenerased
09/08/2007, 12:14 PM

Never forget that .

Keano greatest player to play for ireland...this is typical of the shambles he stood up against how petty can they get...FAI are sad foockin muppets..Mick McCarthy!! HA

citizenerased
09/08/2007, 12:15 PM
whats the email address..

SunderlandBohs
09/08/2007, 12:29 PM
Good to see the greatest central half in the world 'King' Charlie Hurley made it & Gary Breen?!! Did Robbie Keane not make it either? Love him or hate, Roy Keane should have been there. He was one of the greatest players ever to play for us regardless of what he done.

joema
09/08/2007, 12:38 PM
Someone on here noticed that Roy Keane wasn't in the list of Irish legends on the FAI website. The Star had an article about it yesterday quoting a couple of posts on here. The FAI said the original FAI site had a list of Irish legends on it. All were retired, Keane was still playing at the time. They said that after that they would get nominations from people to add a player to the list. If they got enough nominations they'd add that player.

Just to show they weren't biased against Keane they also said "note that Steven Staunton isn't there".

The Star read foot.ie!!? :D :p

09/08/2007, 12:44 PM
Would he make the list of MEN that single handedly pulled a poor side kicking and screaming into a world cup, with argueably the worst manager at the world cup....

Yawn. I think Shay Given played an important part as well as did many other players, including Jason who scored that unforgettable goal against the Dutch.

Also on what do you base your argument about one of the "worst managers" at the World Cup? We got to the last 16 without Keane and were a penalty shoot out away from the last 8. Mick also got us to within a whisker of qualifying for other tournaments, got Sunderland promoted (no money to spend when they got there) and is doing reasonably well with Wolves.

Dr. Ogba
09/08/2007, 12:52 PM
do you know what this forum is really lacking these days? A good Keane/McCarthy debate....carry on!

Claret Murph
09/08/2007, 1:23 PM
do you know what this forum is really lacking these days? A good Keane/McCarthy debate....carry on!

Sorry I am one of these middle aged men who will never forget what Keane did . I have said for years on the whole if you are from Cork or a Man Utd fan you are in the Keane camp and most of the rest of us are not .
I would have given both my arms for a chance of turning out for my country and now I have to make do with just watching .
On that day in Saipan millions saw him walk out for all the Irish here in Ireland and around the world it was a lowest of the low . After all these years I am still fired up thinking of what might have been with him in the team .

Still I had my chance to put things right last Wedensday at Galway only to be stopped by the stwards that said they would not let me bring am Usi and a rocket lancher into the ground :eek: maybe they had a point errrrrr but then again ...........:D:D

09/08/2007, 2:04 PM
Foot and mouth strikes footie again.
Somebody put this thread out of its misery.

09/08/2007, 2:14 PM
Lads whats the craic with Keane and Saipan? Never heard of it before? Some sort of aggro with the manager?

ofjames
09/08/2007, 2:25 PM
traitor or hero, he's was still way better than kennedy, holland or breen....get a grip lads

09/08/2007, 2:35 PM
Lads whats the craic with Keane and Saipan? Never heard of it before? Some sort of aggro with the manager?
Dunno. I keep hearing two versions. In one, a poor, tortured man was made slave around some Japanese island with inadequate equipment. I heard Letters from Iwo Jima is based on his story. The other suggests that he sold orphan's organs into sex slavery on the Late Late Show. Who knows what to believe?

shanman2
09/08/2007, 2:39 PM
Yawn. I think Shay Given played an important part as well as did many other players, including Jason who scored that unforgettable goal against the Dutch.

Also on what do you base your argument about one of the "worst managers" at the World Cup? We got to the last 16 without Keane and were a penalty shoot out away from the last 8. Mick also got us to within a whisker of qualifying for other tournaments, got Sunderland promoted (no money to spend when they got there) and is doing reasonably well with Wolves.

Do you remember how Roy was taking pain killing injections in the lead up to the game for his hip injury? Do you remember how he set that tempo good and early with his tackle on Overmars do. Do you remember the tackle he made to win possesion leading up to THAT goal. Correct me if Im wrong but surely he would have just walked around for a bit and cried off after half an hour if he didnt care. Ya though group alright with Cameroon, Saudi Arabia, Germany were always going to win the group.

Billsthoughts
09/08/2007, 2:42 PM

By God its been a while....and on a slow thursday and all.....:D...so here we go...

Macarthy has one of the worst records in premiership if not the worst, no?
getting a load of young lads who owe their careers to you to play out of their skins will only get you so far and after that you need something a bit more.....altho having said that this will be the season we see if Keane has anything else in his managerial box of tricks. Cant beleive people are still pushing the "shay got us to Japorea" line. watch the matches again.

09/08/2007, 2:46 PM
Cant beleive people are still pushing the "shay got us to Japorea" line. watch the matches again.Not over a series of games, but undoubtedly in the two Iran games.

09/08/2007, 2:50 PM
I'm sick of this crap of Keane walking away when in fact he was sent home.:rolleyes:

09/08/2007, 2:58 PM
Please close this thread.

It has already disintegrated from a "should he be on the list" thread to a "is he a traitor/victim" thread. We're going round in circles as usual.

shanman2
09/08/2007, 3:06 PM
Please close this thread.

It has already disintegrated from a "should he be on the list" thread to a "is he a traitor/victim" thread. We're going round in circles as usual.

These are all in the "reasons why he should be on the list" list.

09/08/2007, 3:07 PM
Do you remember how Roy was taking pain killing injections in the lead up to the game for his hip injury? Do you remember how he set that tempo good and early with his tackle on Overmars do. Do you remember the tackle he made to win possesion leading up to THAT goal. Correct me if Im wrong but surely he would have just walked around for a bit and cried off after half an hour if he didnt care. Ya though group alright with Cameroon, Saudi Arabia, Germany were always going to win the group.

Don't disagree that Keane was great for the games he played in and immense against Holland at home but he single handedly didn't get us to Japan/Korea. That's palpable nonsense and it has nothing to with Saipan.

Cameroon had done well in previous tournaments. Not a foregone conclusion that we'd qualify from that group.

Bill, no doubt McCarthy's record when Sunderland got promoted was abysmal but that also ignores that they walked away with the Championship and then got no money to invest in players. What did they expect? His record for Ireland was better than any previous manager, other than Big jack. Hence I dispute the statement that he was the worst manager at the World Cup.

shanman2
09/08/2007, 3:23 PM
Don't disagree that Keane was great for the games he played in and immense against Holland at home but he single handedly didn't get us to Japan/Korea. That's palpable nonsense and it has nothing to with Saipan.

Cameroon had done well in previous tournaments. Not a foregone conclusion that we'd qualify from that group.

Bill, no doubt McCarthy's record when Sunderland got promoted was abysmal but that also ignores that they walked away with the Championship and then got no money to invest in players. What did they expect? His record for Ireland was better than any previous manager, other than Big jack. Hence I dispute the statement that he was the worst manager at the World Cup.

To make out he wanted to go home is nonsense. Might i use the mighty Reading as an example of organised management compared to mac carthys shambles. his record with Ireland is great only because the squad we had at the time was probably the best squad Ireland had ever and will ever have....

09/08/2007, 3:27 PM
This is all in the reasons why he should be on the list.

That makes no sense to me.

Billsthoughts
09/08/2007, 3:31 PM

well sweeping statements like "worst Manager at WC" or "singlehandedly got us qualification" are always going to ring a tad false. Just saying Macarthy is a limited manager and was even more limited when he was Ireland manager.
and Orasun if you dont want to read the thread dont read it....simple as that.

09/08/2007, 3:33 PM
and Orasun if you dont want to read the thread dont read it....simple as that.

Fair enough. At least get my name right though;)

Billsthoughts
09/08/2007, 7:13 PM
god knows what i have just called ya in japanese monkey boy!:D

ofjames
09/08/2007, 7:52 PM
Forget about discussing Saipan, it's irrelevant to this thread, and everyone has their own minds made up about it for years, no one will change their opinion based on this crap talk.

I'd like to depart from opinions for a moment and focus on the facts,

In his playing career, Keane won 7 Premiership Titles, 4 FA Cups, 1 Champions League, 1 World Club Cup, 1 SPL Title, 1 Scottish League Cup and 66 caps for Ireland.

Besides that, he was the FAI 'player of the tournament' at USA1994 and must have captained his country more than 20 times. He also won the rarely achieved double of the PFA and Soccer Writers player of the year awards in England.

Furthermore, he captained Manchester United for 8 years (during the most succesful spell of any English club in history), and is regarded by all and sundry as one of the very, very best players in the history of the Premiership (rivalled only by the likes of Shearer, Henry and Cantona).

In light of this record, to suggest that Keano is anything other than one of Ireland's greatest ever sportsmen (let alone footballers) is just nonsense.

Alex Ferguson reckons Keane's the best player he's ever worked with, Ruud Van Nistelrooy reckons Keane was the greatest player he ever played with, but the FAI consider him not even worthy of mention in their list of so-called Irish greats. It beggars belief!!!!

Whatever your opinions are regarding Saipan, is there really anyone on this board that thinks Mark Kennedy is more worthy of inclusion as an 'irish great' than Roy Keane???

KoemansCC
10/08/2007, 5:27 AM
I have said for years on the whole if you are from Cork or a Man Utd fan you are in the Keane camp and most of the rest of us are not .

Well, I'm neither a Corkonian or a Man Utdwegian but my allegiance was definately with the man who stood up against minnowism and could see the greater picture...pity about the timing though:rolleyes:.

Happy birthday Roy...

Kivlehan
10/08/2007, 5:46 AM
Forget about discussing Saipan, it's irrelevant to this thread, and everyone has their own minds made up about it for years, no one will change their opinion based on this crap talk.

I'd like to depart from opinions for a moment and focus on the facts,

In his playing career, Keane won 7 Premiership Titles, 4 FA Cups, 1 Champions League, 1 World Club Cup, 1 SPL Title, 1 Scottish League Cup and 66 caps for Ireland.

Besides that, he was the FAI 'player of the tournament' at USA1994 and must have captained his country more than 20 times. He also won the rarely achieved double of the PFA and Soccer Writers player of the year awards in England.

Furthermore, he captained Manchester United for 8 years (during the most succesful spell of any English club in history), and is regarded by all and sundry as one of the very, very best players in the history of the Premiership (rivalled only by the likes of Shearer, Henry and Cantona).

In light of this record, to suggest that Keano is anything other than one of Ireland's greatest ever sportsmen (let alone footballers) is just nonsense.

Alex Ferguson reckons Keane's the best player he's ever worked with, Ruud Van Nistelrooy reckons Keane was the greatest player he ever played with, but the FAI consider him not even worthy of mention in their list of so-called Irish greats. It beggars belief!!!!

Whatever your opinions are regarding Saipan, is there really anyone on this board that thinks Mark Kennedy is more worthy of inclusion as an 'irish great' than Roy Keane???

Well put.

Claret Murph
10/08/2007, 6:46 AM
Well, I'm neither a Corkonian or a Man Utdwegian but my allegiance was definately with the man who stood up against minnowism and could see the greater picture...pity about the timing though:rolleyes:.

Happy birthday Roy...

Koemans
As I said MOST PEOPLE , now I know you don't fall into the above list :rolleyes: but we will see how he gets on this season as a manager in the priemiership . One thing is for certain he will walk out on Sunderland at some stage as you know it's in his make up ;).

OOHH yes I will deal with you later young chap with this back chat sort of thing .

Traps Cat
10/08/2007, 6:57 AM
[QUOTE=ofjames;742781]

Are you George Hamilton in Disguise!!!

Wolfie
10/08/2007, 7:41 AM
I would have given both my arms for a chance of turning out for my country and now I have to make do with just watching .

Had you aspirations of playing in goal?

10/08/2007, 8:47 AM
To make out he wanted to go home is nonsense. Might i use the mighty Reading as an example of organised management compared to mac carthys shambles. his record with Ireland is great only because the squad we had at the time was probably the best squad Ireland had ever and will ever have....

"McCarthy's shambles" :confused:

As for the "best squad we ever had" = Ian Harte, Gary Breen, Matt Holland, Niall Quinn at the end of his career, Kilbane etc compared to previous squads that never qualified or even got to a play off. I don't think so. We had a very average squad with outstanding players in Given and Roy Keane and good players in Finnan, Duff and Robbie Keane.

I wouldn't be Mick Mc's greatest fan but attempts to put him down to glorify Keane irritate me. Anyone who watched the documentary about the campaign which ended in the defeat in the play off in Belgium would realise how Mick gave the job 100% and the tears he shed at the end of that game I found very moving.

shanman2
10/08/2007, 10:16 AM
"McCarthy's shambles" :confused:

As for the "best squad we ever had" = Ian Harte, Gary Breen, Matt Holland, Niall Quinn at the end of his career, Kilbane etc compared to previous squads that never qualified or even got to a play off. I don't think so. We had a very average squad with outstanding players in Given and Roy Keane and good players in Finnan, Duff and Robbie Keane.

I wouldn't be Mick Mc's greatest fan but attempts to put him down to glorify Keane irritate me. Anyone who watched the documentary about the campaign which ended in the defeat in the play off in Belgium would realise how Mick gave the job 100% and the tears he shed at the end of that game I found very moving.

Has anyone got a tissue????? ]
the work of a footballing genious Team From To Games Won Lost Drawn
Wolves 21-07-2006 Present 53 23 17 13
Sunderland 12-03-2003 06-03-2006 147 63 58 26
Ireland 01-03-1996 05-11-2002 48 22 13 13
Millwall 18-03-1992 04-02-1996 203 74 59 70

bwagner
10/08/2007, 10:19 AM
Owls fan
What documentary is that ? And do u have it? or can you buy it online ?

Billsthoughts
10/08/2007, 11:16 AM
think it was called macarthys park
it was dull as dishwater....hardly a great campaign.....
think it had stan saying something like "WE DONT GET BEAT" in it....
dunno if it was the same guy who presided over the thrashings at the hands of holland and germany:rolleyes:

DeNiro
10/08/2007, 11:17 AM
It's called McCarthy's Park. It's a good programme. Followed him for the whole of the campaign. I had it on video but lost it :( Would love to get a copy as well.

Traps Cat
10/08/2007, 2:35 PM
It's called McCarthy's Park. It's a good programme. Followed him for the whole of the campaign. I had it on video but lost it :( Would love to get a copy as well.

It also features a hilarous quote from Eamonn Dunphy "There's a rat in the sausages" - Great stuff.

DeNiro
10/08/2007, 4:36 PM
It also features a hilarous quote from Eamonn Dunphy "There's a rat in the sausages" - Great stuff.

What was that referring to?

I remember some parts of it like McCarthy kicking the hoardings in Romania, bollocking Kennedy after he got sent off in Cyprus and being asked his favourite Spice Girl

stojkovic
10/08/2007, 5:53 PM
Away to Iceland ;

"Jaaayson, Jaaaayson, we're winning 4-2, keep the fcuking ball, ya thick ****"

Billsthoughts
13/08/2007, 10:40 AM
"spaaaarky....I dont know why I f*ckin bother!"
kennedy sent off away to Iceland not cyprus.....(as far as I remember)

13/08/2007, 12:10 PM
Has anyone got a tissue?????
the work of a footballing genious Team From To Games Won Lost Drawn
Wolves 21-07-2006 Present 53 23 17 13
Sunderland 12-03-2003 06-03-2006 147 63 58 26
Ireland 01-03-1996 05-11-2002 48 22 13 13
Millwall 18-03-1992 04-02-1996 203 74 59 70

You think McCarthy is a genius (you certainly aren't because you don't know how to spell the word) ? I wouldn't go as far but based upon the facts you present, he had an very good record as a manager except at Millwall where it was average.

Bill, you obviously feel very little for the Irish cause if you think that documentary was as "dull as dishwater". I suspect you weren't in Belgium that night like I and many thousands of other fans were and suffered the same depths of depression Mick did.

13/08/2007, 12:23 PM
Away to Iceland ;

"Jaaayson, Jaaaayson, we're winning 4-2, keep the fcuking ball, ya thick ****"I reckon he must have been shouting something similar at Boothroyd on Saturday. What an idiot. Potter was a bit thick as well.

shanman2
13/08/2007, 2:25 PM
You think McCarthy is a genius (you certainly aren't because you don't know how to spell the word) ? I wouldn't go as far but based upon the facts you present, he had an very good record as a manager except at Millwall where it was average.

Bill, you obviously feel very little for the Irish cause if you think that documentary was as "dull as dishwater". I suspect you weren't in Belgium that night like I and many thousands of other fans were and suffered the same depths of depression Mick did.

No need to insult my intelligence. A simple typing error is all that is I can as guarantee you that... As usual the only way to get back at someone is to be smug.

citizenerased
13/08/2007, 2:37 PM
yeah slagging off typos is really scrapping the barrell!!

citizenerased
13/08/2007, 10:38 PM
anyone read the letter in the metro this morning concerning this?