View Full Version : ENOUGH ALREADY - Stop Slagging Refs!!!

Juanace
08/08/2007, 3:33 PM
I've read just about enough posts slagging off refs as biased, espesically biased towards Dublin teams.

This is just rubbish. I was a ref myself, at quite a high level. I know these guys. Some are better than others granted, but one thing they are NOT is biased in ANY way.

They make calls as they see them, honestly. Yeah they make mistakes. But you dont see refs coming out slagging off managers and players for their mistakes. Yet managers have carte blache to say what they like, personal in some cases, and the ref just has to take it!!

These guys give up a lot, and put up with a lot to facilitate the game be played at all levels.

I gave up because of the crap i had to put up with, these guys should be praised - big time.

By the way the guys saying Alan Kelly is biased towards Dublin teams?? Why the f**k would he be?? He's not even a Dub!!

sfc red
08/08/2007, 3:34 PM
Hello Alan, how are you?

08/08/2007, 3:35 PM
I've read just about enough posts slagging off refs as biased, espesically biased towards Dublin teams.

This is just rubbish. I was a ref myself, at quite a high level. I know these guys. Some are better than others granted, but one thing they are NOT is biased in ANY way.

They make calls as they see them, honestly. Yeah they make mistakes. But you dont see refs coming out slagging off managers and players for their mistakes. Yet managers have carte blache to say what they like, personal in some cases, and the ref just has to take it!!

These guys give up a lot, and put up with a lot to facilitate the game be played at all levels.

I gave up because of the crap i had to put up with, these guys should be praised - big time.

By the way the guys saying Alan Kelly is biased towards Dublin teams?? Why the f**k would he be?? He's not even a Dub!!

He's certaionly not ****in biased towards cork teams. Its the fear factor the way the Dublin teams think they own the league. i think hes a fairly good ref prob the best we have.

08/08/2007, 3:36 PM
I agree.

They're not biased, they're just crap.

08/08/2007, 3:37 PM
3 replies in 3 min. This could be good.

08/08/2007, 3:38 PM

You can say this about every EL ref 100% certain? now I dont think so myself, I think theyre just ****e but lets not pretend you're a mind reader here

They make calls as they see them, honestly. Yeah they make mistakes. But you dont see refs coming out slagging off managers and players for their mistakes.
Managers and players mistakes dont affect the ref unlike the other way around...

Yet managers have carte blache to say what they like, personal in some cases, and the ref just has to take it!!
No they dont, they'll be fined.

In the end of the day EL refs are getting paid to do a job. If they dont do it to an acceptable standard they deserve to be reprimanded for it just like in any other job. They understand when taking the job they will get stick from the fans its part of football, and mostly harmless. Of course if anyone goes overboard its unacceptable

08/08/2007, 3:39 PM
Its the fear factor the way the Dublin teams think they own the league.

"Think" we own the league? :D These non-Dublin club supporters are so naive...

08/08/2007, 3:44 PM
If it makes you feel better, when I tell Richie Winters most vociferously that I think he isn't good enough for the DDSL, I don't really mean it.

LeixlipRed
08/08/2007, 3:46 PM
The best refs are at schoolboy level. What does that tell you?? Referees like boys :D

08/08/2007, 3:55 PM
The best refs are at schoolboy level. What does that tell you?? Referees like boys :D

I'm coming to the conclusion that its in our culture to produce ****e refs, like the drink thing, we cant help it. Played schoolboys, youths, AUL, go tot all Rams EL games, one thing always strikes me, how poor the ref standard is. the first time i was impressed with a ref was the polish fella. says it all :D:D

08/08/2007, 3:57 PM
what ive noticed about EL refrees recently is that they seem to over-react in certain situations. they are probably trying to stamp their authority but what most do is try too hard to show some authority and make stupid descsions i.e certain booking offences etc...... this just ends up frustrating managers, players and fans. everyone understands its a tough job and they get alot of stick but sometimes its just a case of them using there heads a bit more when making descsions on the pitch. ive certainly seen some ridiculous yellow cards and sendings off in the EL that if the refree had just taken a second to think about and use his head probably would not have given.

sfc red
08/08/2007, 4:04 PM
the first time i was impressed with a ref was the polish fella. says it all :D:D

Because he should have been working in Centra yeah? :rolleyes:

For the record, that ref was abysmal.

LeixlipRed
08/08/2007, 4:14 PM
I think a lot of the problem comes down to the attitude players have to referees. From a young age you're almost taught to despise them. They in turn grow an attitude in response to this abuse and so begins the downward spiral!! If a referee imposes himself from the beginning (ie pre kick off) and makes it clear he'll take no **** from anyone then ususally the game is incident free. For example, our game v Dundalk two weeks ago. No. 7 for Dundalk told the referee several times in one stream of abuse that he "was ****ing ****". Screaming it he was, right in the ref's personal space. That's an instant red card in my mind. But most ref's let that go in some vain attempt to appease the players or some such rubbish. Make it clear before the whistle that a zero tolerance approach to verbally abusing opponents or yourself and that'll never happen

08/08/2007, 4:17 PM
I think a lot of the problem comes down to the attitude players have to referees. From a young age you're almost taught to despise them. They in turn grow an attitude in response to this abuse and so begins the downward spiral!! If a referee imposes himself from the beginning (ie pre kick off) and makes it clear he'll take no **** from anyone then ususally the game is incident free. For example, our game v Dundalk two weeks ago. No. 7 for Dundalk told the referee several times in one stream of abuse that he "weas ****ing ****". Screaming it he was, right in the ref's personal space. That's an instant red card in my mind. But most ref's let that go in some vain attempt to appease the players or some such rubbish. Make it clear before the whistle that a zero tolerance approach to verbally abusing opponents or yourself and that'll never happen

But then if the ref actually did that and say ended up sending someone off there would be uproar.

It needs to be sorted from the top. Some sort of system, like rugby, that affords respect to the ref. Only the captains should be allowed approach the ref etc.

passerrby
08/08/2007, 4:19 PM
they are very well paid for their 90 minutes of useless contribution to the EL

08/08/2007, 4:21 PM
I don't care what anyone says, but Paul Deering has a DEFINITE bias against Sligo Rovers.

LeixlipRed
08/08/2007, 4:41 PM
But then if the ref actually did that and say ended up sending someone off there would be uproar.

It needs to be sorted from the top. Some sort of system, like rugby, that affords respect to the ref. Only the captains should be allowed approach the ref etc.

The captain idea is long overdue at this stage. It works so well in rugby. And as for sending that lad, of course there would have been uproar. But a firm hand by the ref (gaining him some respect)from the beginning would have indicated to this player that something like that was going to result in a sending off meaning it would never have happened. In theory it works great :D

TheBoss
08/08/2007, 5:11 PM
There is more Dublin teams than any other county so in that fact appears to make it look as though they are biased as the decisions are spread across more than 1 team.

08/08/2007, 6:06 PM
Right, I was going to let this lie because I actually concur with some of the original poster's points - I have enormous respect for referees at lower levels of the game who give up their time for little reward and anyone who abuses, threatens or strikes a match official at any level should have the book thrown at them; in addition to which the notion of Dublin bias has been irrefutably debunked. But this bit really stuck in my craw;

Yet managers have carte blache to say what they like, personal in some cases, and the ref just has to take it!!
This, as you well know, simply isn't true. Anyone who looks at a referee crossways is hauled over the coals these days.

Let me make it plain for you, Juanace. Eircom League refs don't get a hard time because the overwhelming majority of them aren't competent enough to control professional games anywhere in the world. They get a hard time because a significant minority (and I'm being charitable here) of them are arrogant, egotistical and above all unaccountable for their actions. The get a hard time because they can (and sometimes do) p1ss all over the hard work done by players, coaches, club officials and volunteers the length and breadth of the country on the basis of nothing more than a momentary whim or personal vendetta, and do it with complete and utter impunity.

Let's have some accountability first. Then we can talk about respect.

passerrby
08/08/2007, 6:20 PM
Right, I was going to let this lie because I actually concur with some of the original poster's points - I have enormous respect for referees at lower levels of the game who give up their time for little reward and anyone who abuses, threatens or strikes a match official at any level should have the book thrown at them; in addition to which the notion of Dublin bias has been irrefutably debunked. But this bit really stuck in my craw;

This, as you well know, simply isn't true. Anyone who looks at a referee crossways is hauled over the coals these days.

Let me make it plain for you, Juanace. Eircom League refs don't get a hard time because the overwhelming majority of them aren't competent enough to control professional games anywhere in the world. They get a hard time because a significant minority (and I'm being charitable here) of them are arrogant, egotistical and above all unaccountable for their actions. The get a hard time because they can (and sometimes do) p1ss all over the hard work done by players, coaches, club officials and volunteers the length and breadth of the country on the basis of nothing more than a momentary whim or personal vendetta, and do it with complete and utter impunity.

Let's have some accountability first. Then we can talk about respect.

wow ya

Erstwhile Bóz
08/08/2007, 6:38 PM
The new guy McCann for Bohs shouted abuse at the linesman for not flagging for a wild over-the-top challenge from the Rovers left back (worse than the first yellow Rossiter received) and the linesman called the ref over and got him to give him a yellow. Second half, the Rovers number 7 screamed abuse at the same linesman, effing and blinding, for about 40 seconds and he did nothing.

What are you actually allowed to say to them?

kdjaC
08/08/2007, 6:41 PM
All i can think if posting the Bohs disallowed goal, seriously enough in that moment alone to abuse refs and linesman for years.

Fair enough if it was a dodgy tackle and the ref was blindsided or other physics related thing made him not see the incident, but when a player cracks in a volley from 25 yards and it goes into the net and comes back out and both ref and lino disallow it....well your digging your own grave there.

kdjac

Aaron
08/08/2007, 7:16 PM
I find your post hard to accept Juanace after watchin ELW and specifically the Rovers-Derry game. In that match there were 3 late tackles, 2 from Rovers and 1 from Derry. The 3 tackles were all similar, all late and all deserving bookings. How can the ref of the game justify NOT sending the 2 Rovers players off and sending the Derry player off? I it poor reffereeing or is he being biased, I know what my answer is.;)

DvB
08/08/2007, 7:48 PM
I find your post hard to accept Juanace after watchin ELW and specifically the Rovers-Derry game. In that match there were 3 late tackles, 2 from Rovers and 1 from Derry. The 3 tackles were all similar, all late and all deserving bookings. How can the ref of the game justify NOT sending the 2 Rovers players off and sending the Derry player off? I it poor reffereeing or is he being biased, I know what my answer is.;)

I called it spot on refereeing!:D

Koh

sullanefc
08/08/2007, 8:43 PM

Saw that last night and was appalled. All 3 tackles were red card offences IMO. All 2 footed, late and over the top. No place in the game for that.

According to Sky, Premiership refs are coming down hard on 2 footed tackles this year. Isn't a 2 footed tackle always a red card offense? Not just this year?

IMO the ref in the Derry game should be suspended for a few matches for putting the players safety in jepordy during the game.

Sonic
08/08/2007, 9:01 PM
The refs are dire bad but the linesmen are a disgrace!!!!

08/08/2007, 9:07 PM
I'd agree with that. It is as if the assistant refs deliberately don't get involved. Maybe this is to avoid stepping on the ref's toes, but the ref and the game overall would benefit if they would get with the program.

If they would flag just some of the stuff they obviously see the standard of officiating would shoot up.

Juanace
08/08/2007, 9:48 PM
Wow, well at least i got a response to this!

From your responses to date im glad i've quit refereeing.

I've been on all sides of the game, playing, coaching, watching etc so i can see all viewpints.

I wonder how many of you have actually gone out on a Saturday or Sunday morning and stood in the middle to do a game.

I did it for 6 years, im only 24 and its by far the most challenging thing i've ever done.

I've been spat at, assulted, called the most unbelievable things, yet i kept going back because i dont like to quit and, dare i say it, i was good.

Let me make it plain for you, Juanace. Eircom League refs don't get a hard time because the overwhelming majority of them aren't competent enough to control professional games anywhere in the world.

This is bulls**t. Alan Kelly (and i dont know him!) just did Inter v. Valenica. Irish refs have done Champions League games, European and World Qualifiers and are contiually getting better gigs.

The get a hard time because they can (and sometimes do) p1ss all over the hard work done by players, coaches, club officials and volunteers the length and breadth of the country on the basis of nothing more than a momentary whim or personal vendetta, and do it with complete and utter impunity.

This point is one of the reasons i quit. Im fed up with this label. Its bull. Absolute bull. For 99% of refs i know would never do this. I do not believe it. It is not true. I dont care how you justify it.

Yes there is the occassional bad egg, ill agree to that. But in 6 years refereeing i've never come across a biased ref, or a ref who screwed a team over for a personnal vendetta. Incompetence yes, stupdiity yes, cheating no.

For all of you who've had a pop, had a dig, do a beginners course, go check out the FAI website. There gagging for refs. Ireland has 1 ref to every 10 games. The UEFA average is 1 in 2. They certainly need ye. if the'ye all so incompetent and biased do it yourselves.

08/08/2007, 10:03 PM
For all of you who've had a pop, had a dig, do a beginners course, go check out the FAI website. There gagging for refs. Ireland has 1 ref to every 10 games. The UEFA average is 1 in 2. They certainly need ye. if the'ye all so incompetent and biased do it yourselves.Can't find any info on ref's courses on FAI site. Can you link?

Snoop Drog
08/08/2007, 10:18 PM
But in 6 years refereeing i've never come across a biased ref, or a ref who screwed a team over for a personnal vendetta.

Damien Hancock hates Drogs- He is certainly incompetent but I belive it goes beyond that and he is biased too.

don ramo
09/08/2007, 7:44 AM
all the kelly hate rams, thats 4 of them the kids and daddy, daddy went wild there giving out to stewarts at or game whne we scored a late winner because someone mooned him earlier in teh game,

refereing is suppose to be transparent, but theres a 20 foot thick solid wall in the way of the glass, prime example here(alan kelly, whos daddy is head of the reffing panel in the eircom league f***s up a goal decision he doesn't give a totally obvious gaol that even the keeper kicked it back to the center circle to restart, his punnishment was a three game (game, not weeks or months but games) ban, he was assigned three game in five days, he was given the ban monday was reffin that saturday) also he suppose to be the best ref in ireland, who actually decides this

09/08/2007, 8:08 AM
also he suppose to be the best ref in ireland, who actually decides this

It's based on the UEFA Assessment Rankings

As for courses - iirc there are two coming up at the end of August at the ALSAA (near to Dublin Airport) - best to call the FAI for details: (01) 7037 500

Neish
09/08/2007, 10:29 AM
I'

And there in lies the reason

09/08/2007, 11:47 AM
I think the refs have to earn respect, and probably need more training on how to avoid becoming the centre of attention.
Every single match report I read of the Bohs-Rovers match called Rossiter's sending-off by one D. Hancock as 'harsh', which is sports hack speak for simply daft. Rossiter, who apparently had never been booked up until the Longford match last week, will now miss the final over this idiocy. Hancock was the most excitable person at the game - that takes a lot at a Bohs-Rovers derby.
And we cannot forget the immortal Alan Kelly fiasco at Bray.

sfc red
09/08/2007, 11:59 AM
Some unreal refereeing decisions for us this year:

(1) Alan Murphy red carded for back pedalling into the ref.

(2) Monaghan player sent off and then gets back into the wall. Referee waves play on.

(3) JP Kelly not even booked for breaking John Brophy's leg with a two footed tackle.

(4) Shels player the subject of a two footed tackle right in front of the lineswoman. Lineswoman steps over Shels player.

(5) Dav Walsh sent off for giving the ball back to the keeper.

Copa Mundial
09/08/2007, 12:12 PM
all the kelly hate rams, thats 4 of them the kids and daddy, daddy went wild there giving out to stewarts at or game whne we scored a late winner because someone mooned him earlier in teh game,

refereing is suppose to be transparent, but theres a 20 foot thick solid wall in the way of the glass, prime example here(alan kelly, whos daddy is head of the reffing panel in the eircom league f***s up a goal decision he doesn't give a totally obvious gaol that even the keeper kicked it back to the center circle to restart, his punnishment was a three game (game, not weeks or months but games) ban, he was assigned three game in five days, he was given the ban monday was reffin that saturday) also he suppose to be the best ref in ireland, who actually decides this

Just on a point of correction, 2 sons and a father makes 3!!!

On the rest of your post, where do you get your information and statistics? I believe the game he was reprimanded for last year was the Bray v Bohs 'goal that never was'. He refereed the next weekend and then was 'dropped' 'rested' 'Suspended' whatever you want to call it for almost 6 weeks. This is fact. His first game back was an U-21 game. This is also fact. He had no choice but to hold his hand up and accept the punishment, what happened was unacceptable but it happened and was dealt with. He also wrote and apologised to Bohemians Football, Paul Devlin (who hit the shot) and the Supporters of Bohemians FC for the mistake that he made. This information does not make it into the public domain but i would class that as being held accountable and accepting the consequences of actions.

I have said it before, the fact is that when you have a league with only 12 teams in the Prem along with 14 referees and 10 teams in the first with approximately 14 referees then it is an unhealthy situation for all parties. Familiarity breeds contempt. Supporters see the same referees too often during a season and supporters being supporters will only remeber the 'bad' decisions. Thats a fact of life. In other countries if a referee gets to referee a club 3 times in a season it is deemed a lot. Here a referee could referee the same club up to 8 times in a season. That is unhealthy. You could have the best referee on the planet come to this country to referee at the beginning of a season and by the end of it supporters would have battered him/her from pillar to post with there opinions on how poor he/she is. Its a numbers game and unfortunately numbers are not in refs favour.

Opinions will always be part and parcel of football and that is what football is all about. Educated opinions will always come to the fore though. For all those on this thread who have offered an opinion on how bad refereeing standards are in this country i have to ask have you ever refereed a football match at any level? If the answer is no, then i challenge you to go and do it. You may even like it. If you do go away and take up the challenge then i ask that you come back and offer an honest opinion of the experience.

For all of those who may be thinking about giving it a shot, i urge you to contact the FAI and ask for dates on the next available course date and venue. August is traditionally the month that they are held.:ball:

half_full
09/08/2007, 12:16 PM
Wow, well at least i got a response to this!

From your responses to date im glad i've quit refereeing.

I've been on all sides of the game, playing, coaching, watching etc so i can see all viewpints.

I wonder how many of you have actually gone out on a Saturday or Sunday morning and stood in the middle to do a game.

I did it for 6 years, im only 24 and its by far the most challenging thing i've ever done.

I've been spat at, assulted, called the most unbelievable things, yet i kept going back because i dont like to quit and, dare i say it, i was good.

Let me make it plain for you, Juanace. Eircom League refs don't get a hard time because the overwhelming majority of them aren't competent enough to control professional games anywhere in the world.

This is bulls**t. Alan Kelly (and i dont know him!) just did Inter v. Valenica. Irish refs have done Champions League games, European and World Qualifiers and are contiually getting better gigs.

The get a hard time because they can (and sometimes do) p1ss all over the hard work done by players, coaches, club officials and volunteers the length and breadth of the country on the basis of nothing more than a momentary whim or personal vendetta, and do it with complete and utter impunity.

This point is one of the reasons i quit. Im fed up with this label. Its bull. Absolute bull. For 99% of refs i know would never do this. I do not believe it. It is not true. I dont care how you justify it.

Yes there is the occassional bad egg, ill agree to that. But in 6 years refereeing i've never come across a biased ref, or a ref who screwed a team over for a personnal vendetta. Incompetence yes, stupdiity yes, cheating no.

For all of you who've had a pop, had a dig, do a beginners course, go check out the FAI website. There gagging for refs. Ireland has 1 ref to every 10 games. The UEFA average is 1 in 2. They certainly need ye. if the'ye all so incompetent and biased do it yourselves.

agree with what you said, most refs go out to do things properley, mistakes happen in every walk of life! and in a high pressure situation such as a football match things will always be amped up. I have to say though, there have been some crazy decision in recent eL seasons which shouldnt have happened.

Tir Oilean
09/08/2007, 4:45 PM
I agree.

They're not biased, they're just crap.

I disagree. They are worse than crap. In fact they are so crap that they appear to be biased.:D In general they have improved since we came up this season but Twomey who reffed us v Waterford recently has to be the worst Ive seen between the 2 Divisions. Why not highlight the linesmen while were at it they all need to grow a pair of balls and flag what they see.

Tis-smeee
09/08/2007, 4:49 PM
My favourite has to be Rhona , however the ball crosses the line you never know which way te **** she is gonna flag for a throw ,goal kick or corner you may aswell just flip a coin

football fan
09/08/2007, 4:51 PM
I disagree. They are worse than crap. In fact they are so crap that they appear to be biased.:D In general they have improved since we came up this season but Twomey who reffed us v Waterford recently has to be the worst Ive seen between the 2 Divisions. Why not highlight the linesmen while were at it they all need to grow a pair of balls and flag what they see.

And why dont you grow a pair of balls and get out of the comfort of the stand and become a referee. Every level of football in this country has a shortage of referees and its so easy to see why with the amount of rubbish you people write on this forum.

To that Cobh supporter who thinks we breed ****e referees, our culture breeds knockers like you. You played the game, support the game and if you think you can do better, why dont you referee the game. But let me know when you are brave enough to do your first game and we will all travel to see how ****e you are!!

09/08/2007, 4:55 PM
And why dont you grow a pair of balls and get out of the comfort of the stand and become a referee. Every level of football in this country has a shortage of referees and its so easy to see why with the amount of rubbish you people write on this forum.

To that Cobh supporter who thinks we breed ****e referees, our culture breeds knockers like you. You played the game, support the game and if you think you can do better, why dont you referee the game. But let me know when you are brave enough to do your first game and we will all travel to see how ****e you are!!

Grow up ffs. Maybe he doesnt want to be a referee. You'd swear the refs were getting forced and coerced into it. They chose to become refs and get paid well for it.

Now we're not allowed to criticise if we dont want to do it ourselves is it :rolleyes:

We don't pretend to be competent officials, they do

stann
09/08/2007, 7:44 PM
the majority of eircom league refs are arrogant and there in lies the problem.now before ye all jump on me as ive stated i referee gaelic.yes i know a totally different sport,but some things are common across all sports.how to deal with people.i find if you are appraochable on the pitch have a little joke with players when it comes to it,youll get on a lot better.and its not just my approach,ive watched other gaelic refs and the ones who set themselves up as above the players are the ones who get abuse.

That's a very good point too. From a playing point of view the best refs are the ones who'll talk to you, explain decisions etc. The very worst are the autocratic types who make their pronouncements, explain nothing, and brook no discussion of any sort, even from captains. There seems be a majority of these in the eL. Whether they get that way from fielding abuse or constant whingeing is something I don't know. But it seems to me that taking a few seconds to say, 'look, that's how I saw that happening, so that's why I made that decision' would go a long way.

When I played the very best ref used to be a good player himself a few years before, knew all the tricks (especially those of centre-halves, he used to be a forward :D ), kept up with play, had a good rapport with players, was consistent, but most of all talked to the players. When he explained his decisions and why he made them, even if we still thought he was wrong (which was rare), it was impossible not to respect them.

09/08/2007, 8:42 PM
As for courses - iirc there are two coming up at the end of August at the ALSAA (near to Dublin Airport) - best to call the FAI for details: (01) 7037 500How long does the beginners course last? Also, what level of games can you do after you pass?:confused:

09/08/2007, 9:16 PM
How long does the beginners course last? Also, what level of games can you do after you pass?:confused:

Not sure how long the course lasts - as when I did mine last season I had my English FA Accreditation with me so I just did the regrading exam.

You'd normally slot onto one of the Amateur Leagues (UCL, AUL, AFL) and go from there

football fan
10/08/2007, 9:11 AM
Grow up ffs. Maybe he doesnt want to be a referee. You'd swear the refs were getting forced and coerced into it. They chose to become refs and get paid well for it.

Now we're not allowed to criticise if we dont want to do it ourselves is it :rolleyes:

We don't pretend to be competent officials, they do

If referees are so well paid, how come there is a major shortage of referees in this country. I have no idea about LOI referees but we are struggling to recruit and retain referees at schoolboy and junior level. There is more football in ireland than LOI. The abuse and the assualts are major reasons for the shortage. The point I was trying to make was that if the cobh supporter became a referee, even for one match, he would have a better understanding of how difficult the job is and the comments these people receive in the name of sport.

Criticism they can handle, the abusive comments is quite a different matter. Referees in junior and schoolboy football dont pretend to be anything other than men and women doing the job to the best of their ability. Dont knock them for that!

10/08/2007, 12:25 PM
Referees in junior and schoolboy football dont pretend to be anything other than men and women doing the job to the best of their ability. Dont knock them for that!

I never have. Its the well paid EL ones I and most people have a problem with

Ceirtlis
10/08/2007, 12:42 PM
He's certaionly not ****in biased towards cork teams. Its the fear factor the way the Dublin teams think they own the league. i think hes a fairly good ref prob the best we have.

He rode Galway United in a cup game against Cork a few seasons ago.
I personally dont think that referees are biased in the eircom league they are just not very good at their job. It is possible that a ref could build up a dislike to a player or team due to the amount of times that they have to referee certain teams games but the pro-Dublin thing is a total red herring in my opinion, funny how Pat Dolan or Damien Richardson never noticed or mentioned it before going to manage Cork.
There isnt a league in the world where people think that the referees are up to standard which leads me to the conclusion that it must be a very hard job to do.

passerrby
10/08/2007, 3:32 PM
bad referees with a superiority complex plus attitude to match are what we are talking about and they are generally found in the EL

10/08/2007, 6:33 PM
Most of the criticism of refs in this thread are totally valid imo. Probably the majority of them are inconsistent. Some of them are totally incompetent and a minority are totally arrogant (walking in the opposite direction of the offending player and then whistling for him to come back as if he had ran off.)
I wouldn't say any of the refferees are biased.

corkharps
10/08/2007, 9:41 PM
I think all refs are great,especially Alan Kelly and the little man who was at the Harps match tonight against Wexford!:D