View Full Version : ENOUGH ALREADY - Stop Slagging Refs!!!
10/08/2007, 10:42 PM
I think all refs are great,especially Alan Kelly and the little man who was at the Harps match tonight against Wexford!:D
yeah just brill, what an example of some1 wanting to be centre of attention :rolleyes: how can any1 defend this kind of ref? I dont think your sarcasm is harsh enough for that %$^&)(&$$"!$ of an &*^£%^&%$$"£$! hole.
passerrby
10/08/2007, 11:26 PM
sam you have issues
carrickharp
11/08/2007, 12:53 AM
Sam is right, from what I've heard from a few lads back from the game tonight he was one of the worst ever refs at Finn Park (that says a lot) FFS it's not rocket science to ref a match or have a bit of common sense in wet conditions or are the FAS refs sent to Division One for their apprenticeships??
To be honest if Wexford had got an equalizer the sh1t would really have hit the fan, this is not on in such an important stage of the season in Division 1, this should not happen as dropping the points tonight would have been a big blow to Harps (or any team in the same position) people like this make the league a laughing stock, them and the “Power Trips they go on at times, I believe Dundalk fans also have a problem this person…
Stop slagging refs, jesus they don't help themselves do they.
Tonight at the Brandywell, Longford number 9 straight through, Pizza halfs him outside the box. Ref gives a peno but doesn't send Pizza off!! Now obviously I don't want our players sent off but Pizza was the last man. Correct decision was Pizza off and free outside the box, Whelan got both wrong. I rest my case get rid of the lot of them and replace them with robots:D
11/08/2007, 9:02 AM
sam you have issues
Feckin right I do but my psychiatrist told me not to tell any1 so ..........
KevB76
11/08/2007, 9:37 AM
I never have. Its the well paid EL ones I and most people have a problem with
So, you wouldn't be so bothered if they were paid a bit less ?? :rolleyes:
Not as bothered no....It might be a bit more understandable if they were getting paid **** all, everybody works better with incentives
KevB76
11/08/2007, 9:59 AM
Not as bothered no....
Sorry bud, I dont believe that for a second, we've all seen ref's taking abuse at junior and scoolboy level. Dont think anyone thinks in a moment of so called passion "oops, I better tone it down, he's not paid so much". Sniping at their pay is just petty and frankly I dont think its anybodys business, not the likes of you and me anyways. And yes I've heard people grumbling about the pay that junior and schoolboy refs get as well !
The refereeing last night in Finn Park was absolutely diabolical. This is twice this season that he reffed us. In Oriel he sent Curran off for two very soft yellow cards and turned away a stonewall penalty.
Last night he dished out 2 reds and about 6 yellows in a game that there wasn't one bad tackle. It is people like this that is helping to destroy the game in this country.
To come out and say that they shouldn't be slagged is a laugh. Mistakes can happen. It is part and parcel of the game. But some refs in this league are no where near the standard and it is these people that annoy the average football fan.
The wee ****** that wrecked the game last night obviously never kicked a ball before in his life as he hadn't a clue. In my opinion, some people get into refereeing because they love the game, others because they love the power. Unfortunately there is too many of the latter in this country.
13/08/2007, 11:22 AM
prettty **** in oriel the weekend too.
13/08/2007, 11:37 AM
Sorry bud, I dont believe that for a second, we've all seen ref's taking abuse at junior and scoolboy level. Dont think anyone thinks in a moment of so called passion "oops, I better tone it down, he's not paid so much". Sniping at their pay is just petty and frankly I dont think its anybodys business, not the likes of you and me anyways. And yes I've heard people grumbling about the pay that junior and schoolboy refs get as well !
I said I wouldnt be as bothered. I cant speak for everyone. So you're saying that you dont expect better quality from someone paid say a few hundred Euro to do a job as opposed 50 euro to do a job? I certainly do. (Random figures)
Aaron
13/08/2007, 10:17 PM
Yet another poor decision at the Brandy last Friday night. Here was Longfords penalty decision
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y128/tonymcbride/peno.jpg
kkontour
13/08/2007, 11:04 PM
Yet another poor decision at the Brandy last Friday night. Here was Longfords penalty decision
You sure
http://s189.photobucket.com/albums/z44/kkontour/?action=view¤t=der-long-1.jpg
Aaron
13/08/2007, 11:07 PM
You sure
http://s189.photobucket.com/albums/z44/kkontour/?action=view¤t=der-long-1.jpg
Yes I am sure because someone has obviously edited that:rolleyes:Look at the line beside Pizza's leg, they forgot to edit that, they forgot to do the line from the byline to the box
soccerc
13/08/2007, 11:15 PM
Yes I am sure because someone has obviously edited that:rolleyes:Look at the line beside Pizza's leg, they forgot to edit that, they forgot to do the line from the byline to the box
Shadows, Shadows, Shadows
kkontour
13/08/2007, 11:16 PM
Sorry
forgot the:D
KK
KevB76
13/08/2007, 11:24 PM
I said I wouldnt be as bothered. I cant speak for everyone. So you're saying that you dont expect better quality from someone paid say a few hundred Euro to do a job as opposed 50 euro to do a job? I certainly do. (Random figures)
No, I'm saying I expect a better standard of reffing because of the level they are reffing at, not because of what they are paid. I'm saying their pay should never be an issue.
The issue is their competence, and on that matter, I think we do get mostly the best refs available in the el. This is clear to see when you follow junior football, taking limerick district league as an example, someof the refs used in div 3b are ridiculous, they are clearly better in div.1b, and there is a noticable step up in the standard for div 1a. Then when I watch an el game I can honestly say the standard in general is better again compared to the junior refs (although they're are some very good junior refs who could easily make the step up but not all want to).
They make calls as they see them, honestly. Yeah they make mistakes. But you dont see refs coming out slagging off managers and players for their mistakes. Yet managers have carte blache to say what they like, personal in some cases, and the ref just has to take it!!
For all the abuse eL refs get it is the lines-people who are so much worse. I have lost count of the times when the ref makes the decision for throw ins but linesman is closer. If a lineman does not get to make throw in decisions all he is left with a guessing at offside calls as he is 20 yards behind the play.
Btw they are linemen as to be called an Assistant you need to actually assist the referee.
For all the abuse eL refs get it is the lines-people who are so much worse. I have lost count of the times when the ref makes the decision for throw ins but linesman is closer. If a lineman does not get to make throw in decisions all he is left with a guessing at offside calls as he is 20 yards behind the play.
Agree wholeheartedly.
Pizza should have walked then? Last man back by the look of it there.
Dazzy
14/08/2007, 12:24 AM
Pizza should have walked then? Last man back by the look of it there.
Yes he should have. Dont think he even got a card.
14/08/2007, 7:57 AM
Watching the weekly last night, referees didnt do themselves any favours again.
I was giving out about the ref sendin the Rams player off the weekend, must apologise it was all the linesman doing.
14/08/2007, 11:55 AM
What was the first Bray player sent off for?
onceahoop
14/08/2007, 12:29 PM
Btw they are linemen as to be called an Assistant you need to actually assist the referee.
I don't know how they do it in Senior football but at junior and schoolboy level I've met refs who'll tell you to put up the flag when the ball goes out and they'll make the decision as to which way it goes. Now that's all rght if they keep up with the play but when they don't......!!
14/08/2007, 12:36 PM
What was the first Bray player sent off for?
Gettin hammered by a 2 foot lunge:)
14/08/2007, 12:56 PM
What was the first Bray player sent off for?Same as Ventre, two footed tackle.
14/08/2007, 1:45 PM
Same as Ventre, two footed tackle.
bit harsh on him though wasnt it. considering he came out second best.
14/08/2007, 1:46 PM
bit harsh on him though wasnt it. considering he came out second best.His own fault for not being as good as Ventre at it:p
14/08/2007, 1:47 PM
Exactly. When Martin was pulled down by the sligo keeper a few weeks ago the linesman was looking directly at it.
It all comes back to respect for the ref. There is none because they dont communicate. Arrogance and attitude problems seems to define their personality. Good example is Kelly.
And yet if you call them into question you get fined. Joeshop.
Although Richard Damienson was wrong about McGuinness' challenge. In all fairness ref did well there.
14/08/2007, 1:51 PM
His own fault for not being as good as Ventre at it:p
:D:D....
Cant argue with that