View Full Version : Tonights Latest
Or horny.
Hopefully it's what you said though.
monutdfc
04/08/2007, 6:38 AM
My match report:
Monaghan United 2 Dundalk 0......HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!
Aw sorry am just delighted...It is our world cup when we beat them.
Sorry Magicme but that's embarrassing. Yes, it's sweet to beat them, but if that is height of our ambition then it says a lot about the club.
onceahoop
04/08/2007, 8:31 AM
Hey Lionel, u should have come up to say hello to me! I was the one announcing the goals & I have to say it was the thrill of the year for me to be able to announce "Monaghan United 2 Dundalk 0 and the goal scorer was Willie Doyle again!" Aw will go down as one of the best moments of my life!
That must have been you screamig on the radio when RTE went over for the end of match report. :D
The Sheliban
04/08/2007, 8:45 AM
Sorry Magicme but that's embarrassing. Yes, it's sweet to beat them, but if that is height of our ambition then it says a lot about the club.
Oh I don't know - beating your bitterest rivals in a crunch game is the best thing ever. Probably a more intense high than winning the League.
04/08/2007, 8:49 AM
I pity you, I really, really do.
Pity away ...what's the score!!!!!
passerrby
04/08/2007, 8:58 AM
I've rarely seen such a sorry more dejected looking bunch of supporters than those Dundalk folks ...who's mockney chanting, while being admirable for it's consistency for 85 mins, trailed off almost instantly once the first goal went in. I shouldn't laugh -I'd have been sickened to the pits if it'd been Limerick -but still ...priceless.:cool:
Well done Mighty Mons!!!
have to agree some real *******s with the dundalk support althought have to say some real suporters as well .. some even though it funny to do monkey chants at alvin rouse... poor *******s
mcgonigle
04/08/2007, 10:25 AM
Your completely right monutdfc, I know if it was the other way round I would be irrate with Dundalk, lifting their game for two games a season and then playing half assed the rest of it.
Soory Mons fans but whats the point in coming bottom three every season and justifying it because you beat your rivals once that season, it really shows a terrible lack of ambition by all parties.
That's a bit harsh. Right enough, it says more about your club than Magicme's attitude.
I know what Harps fans would be like if we beat Derry in a few weeks.
04/08/2007, 10:40 AM
I hear the Cork fans cheered our players off with a redintion of "we want you" shows how fickle footy fans are !
how is it fickle? i've stuck by this group of players for 18 months. now i've given up hope, we need wholesale changes. the point was, while the talent in your squad may be limited, at least they give a damn. squad, manager - everyone must go. the rot has set in and i can't see anything turning it around. with the cash flowing into dublin clubs, we're in freefall and we're going to end up accepting our position as just another "provincial" club.
04/08/2007, 10:46 AM
That's a bit harsh. Right enough, it says more about your club than Magicme's attitude.
exactly buddy, bring 'em on, it will be the highlight of alot of Harps fans football life IF we beat Derry. The way we r playing im fairly optimistic goin into that game :cool:
Fair played Mons, maybe ye can get a good support out now. Last time we were down there, we had a disapointing crowd down yet we still out numbered the home fans. I suppose a club cant really progress if it hasnt much support.
mcgonigle
04/08/2007, 11:18 AM
Sorry mate but thats a completely different situation, firstly is the cup against rivals that you dont play every season and second Harps are a club that has title ambitions every year, so your team is giving it all every week in the league.
What Im sure annoys monutdfc as a monaghan fan is the fact that they can play with that attitude and determination but only seem to do it when Dundalk visit if it was my team it would **** me off, and try forget for a minute Im a Dundalk fan being bitter about last night, it was disappointing last night but I would feel the same even if I wasnt a Dundalk fan.
04/08/2007, 11:22 AM
Harps are a club that has title ambitions every year, so your team is giving it all every week in the league.
"13th best team in the league" is not a title.
04/08/2007, 11:25 AM
I watched Monaghan lose 0-1 to Limerick a month ago and there was no difference whatsoever in the attitude of the Monaghan players last night.
They made Limerick work for it to the final whistle.
This notion that they raise their game for Dundalk and no-one else is fanciful self importance and condecension on Dundalk supporters part.
Dr.Nightdub
04/08/2007, 11:37 AM
squad, manager - everyone must go.
Noticed that last week in Richmond - when they were announcing squads etc, Dave Hill got a bigger cheer from your lot than Rico, who got a few boos.
As for squad, surely that's your problem - what was a very good squad a couple of years ago has been sold without being replaced. ROD is just the latest instalment.
04/08/2007, 11:45 AM
Noticed that last week in Richmond - when they were announcing squads etc, Dave Hill got a bigger cheer from your lot than Rico, who got a few boos.
As for squad, surely that's your problem - what was a very good squad a couple of years ago has been sold without being replaced. ROD is just the latest instalment.
there are several areas a manager can be judged on.
talking the talk - rico has it.
signing players - either rico hasn't got it, or its not possible. last season he said we had money to buy players, then when we didnt, he said actually we didnt have the money. this season he's saying we have money to sign players, and still hasn't this transfer window, while after the wait, healy/farrelly are not quite the messiahs we'd hoped for.
tactics - rico is off and on. sometimes he'll do something, and you know exactly why he's doing it, but its just destined to fail - e.g. playing defensively away to hammarby, playing softic on the wing yesterday.
motivation - and this is the key - he doesnt seem to have the players playing for him. there are a few players who will motivate themselves - dan murray, joe gamble, neale horgan - others won't. generally, put a few timewasters in any team and the only result is a poor performance.
allied to his inability to commit himself to the club, and quite a few elements of the club bearing grudges, and i just dont see him recovering from this season
onephillyhughes
04/08/2007, 12:14 PM
I saw the true colours of some Dundalk 'fans' last night, the typical fickleness (is that a word?) that I've grown accustomed to seeing over the years. Yes they were very bad, but 'you're not fit to wear the shirt' from 2 idiots? I rightly had a go at them over that. Quick to forget despite not showing up last nite, we're still (just about) top, we've only lost three times in 21 games. We have some dodgy fans fair enough, most clubs do, but most of us sang our hearts out for 85 mins :D
As for Mons number 4, absolute disgrace that he wasn't sent off.
Who was that blonde centre half? Your best player, therefore expect him to be with Dundalk next season :D
"13th best team in the league" is not a title.
Yeah, you're right. Of course we're not challenging for a title. Much the same as yourselves.
04/08/2007, 12:20 PM
Yeah, you're right. Of course we're not challenging for a title. Much the same as yourselves.
Exactly.
onephillyhughes
04/08/2007, 12:20 PM
You're wrong fbtn, they're still holding onto that tiny little ray of light, but he's off to sunderland :D
We played Mons on Tuesday night and they played out of their skins but once we scored our first, that was it. They have a great keeper in Rouse. They held us to scoreless draw in Finn Park at the start of the season and we just about beat them in Monaghan.
To say they only try against Dundalk is a dose of paranoia usually reserved Turners Cross.
Too bad if a Mons fan can't get excited about beating their rivals and champions elect.
mon_cutie07
04/08/2007, 12:50 PM
You're wrong fbtn, they're still holding onto that tiny little ray of light, but he's off to sunderland :D
dont mean we need him to win us a game!! go on the magic mon's!! :)
04/08/2007, 12:58 PM
I know what Harps fans would be like if we beat Derry in a few weeks.Deluded?;)
onephillyhughes
04/08/2007, 1:11 PM
dont mean we need him to win us a game!! go on the magic mon's!! :)
I meant Roy O'Donovan?
mon_cutie07
04/08/2007, 1:16 PM
I meant Roy O'Donovan?
sure ya did!!:ball:
04/08/2007, 2:17 PM
monutdfc: You havent been to as many games this season (no fault of yours I know) but they havent just raised their game for Dundalk. They have played quite consistently most of the season. Ask fans from every club in the 1st division & we gave them at least one good game each. We havent beaten Shels 4-0, Kilkenny 3-0, Wexford Youths 4-0 for nothing. The mighty super Dundalk (bar their 6-2 thumping of Athlone) have only had similar scorelines against those teams.
At the start of the season United fielded a heavily weighted local side, Mick has strengthened the team with some quality (Luke Fitzpatrick is the blondey you were on about onephillywho, Jason McCartney & Darren Meenan) with the always stated ambtion for this season to finish midtable. That is attainable at the mo and yes there are teams with games in hand etc but we can finish 5th or 6th.
Next season is the title challenge year. Its so not the case that we are not ambtious. We are realists and know that unless we are in a position to throw s**t loads of money at the team (which we are not) that it is going to take time.
Last night we beat Dundalk without Jason McCartney, Paul Whelan or Cian Mackey. D'arcy was struggling injury wise as was Meenan.
They played a blinder coz thats the kinda team they have become.
Yes I was over excited last nite, but its not every week you get to show Dundalk up.
Oh and if what I heard about some Dundalk fans was true, then it disgusts me. How dare they come here & act like that. They are a disgrace.
04/08/2007, 3:03 PM
Yea the days of rubbish football are but misty eyed memories, ah well , he'll be getting his P45 soon he can come back to us and do some PR work maybe :DBenny the bull could do with a partner. Sean Connor could be his bitch:D
eelmonster
04/08/2007, 3:41 PM
monutdfc: You havent been to as many games this season (no fault of yours I know) but they havent just raised their game for Dundalk. They have played quite consistently most of the season. Ask fans from every club in the 1st division & we gave them at least one good game each. We havent beaten Shels 4-0, Kilkenny 3-0, Wexford Youths 4-0 for nothing. The mighty super Dundalk (bar their 6-2 thumping of Athlone) have only had similar scorelines against those teams.
At the start of the season United fielded a heavily weighted local side, Mick has strengthened the team with some quality (Luke Fitzpatrick is the blondey you were on about onephillywho, Jason McCartney & Darren Meenan) with the always stated ambtion for this season to finish midtable. That is attainable at the mo and yes there are teams with games in hand etc but we can finish 5th or 6th.
And with 5 wins this season that is entirely achievable.
eelmonster
04/08/2007, 3:53 PM
In fairness, Cobh are 20 games unbeaten or something at this stage. If that's not momentum...
Dundalk went 20 games unbeaten last season (run ended in Monaghan, surprise, surprise) but it still wasn't enough. And we won the promotion play-off ... the injustice burns as brightly as fairy lights on Merrion Square Christmas trees. As has been mentioned above, the race for top spot will go to the wire.
04/08/2007, 4:00 PM
And with 5 wins this season that is entirely achievable.
Its still a long way to the end of the season. Mid-table is achievable with draws and wins. You should know, Dundalk wallowed there for many years. 2004 & 2005 spring to mind.
eelmonster
04/08/2007, 4:19 PM
Its still a long way to the end of the season. Mid-table is achievable with draws and wins. You should know, Dundalk wallowed there for many years. 2004 & 2005 spring to mind.
Well, since being elected to the league 81 years ago, we've only spent 6 seasons in the lower tier, so I'll refrain from further comment in light of Mons superior familiarity with the First Division.
04/08/2007, 4:46 PM
Of course Dundalk are the big club. Silly me.
Pleased for Monaghan...even more pleased for Dundalk
Positively thrilled for the Dundalk fans' reaction on this thread :D
04/08/2007, 5:32 PM
Thanks dfx.
Am just milking it now coz its winding them up. Have spent most of the day getting on with my life but somehow knowing how much its wrecking their heads is making me smile even broader than usual!
04/08/2007, 6:05 PM
Wexford 0-2 Kildare per livescore - half an hour gone.
Game yet to start per Aertel.
04/08/2007, 6:43 PM
2-1 Kildare.
Still yet to start per Aertel.
04/08/2007, 7:00 PM
l'ford 1 up :D:D:D
04/08/2007, 7:11 PM
Kilkenny 1 up away to Cobh :eek:
04/08/2007, 7:13 PM
And me with E30 on Cobh...
04/08/2007, 7:15 PM
And me with E30 on Cobh...
Theres confusion over the score now. Livescore are showing 1-0 but someone on the city matchday chatroom said it was disallowed :confused:
EDIT* And some 20 minutes later livescore are now saying Cobh are 1 up
Battery Rover
04/08/2007, 7:25 PM
Cobh 1 Kilkenny 0
Live score is awful lads, try some of these (all much better)
http://www.7m.cn:10008/default_split_en.aspx?view=all&line=no
http://www.xscores.com/LiveScore.do
http://futbol24.com/f24_livenow/LiveNow.html
Battery Rover
04/08/2007, 7:35 PM
Cobh 1 Kilkenny 0
but when you click on the score it give Cobh 0 Kilkenny 1 :confused:
MojoPin
04/08/2007, 7:46 PM
live score now says cobh 1 up.. scorer davin o neill 34 mins.....
04/08/2007, 7:51 PM
fudgin errortel must be on strike (i know hard to tell the difference) they havnt updated the loi games or the gaa scores or even the scots scores.
MojoPin
04/08/2007, 7:55 PM
fudgin errortel must be on strike (i know hard to tell the difference) they havnt updated the loi games or the gaa scores or even the scots scores.
holy jesus there must be something seriously wrong if their are not updating the scots scores.... maybe they are boycotting the scots becaue of the outbreak of foot and mouth in engerland?
04/08/2007, 8:00 PM
Cobh 2 up
Make that 3
04/08/2007, 8:20 PM
Derry 1 up - Morrow :D
Longford 2 up
Erstwhile Bóz
04/08/2007, 8:24 PM
Holy ****. Longford 2-0 Bohs.
04/08/2007, 8:29 PM
Holy ****. Longford 2-0 Bohs.
Nope its 3-0 Longford.
Derry down to 10 men :o
EDIT* and Shams just equalised. 1-1
Cobh 4-0
04/08/2007, 8:36 PM
4-0 nil to cobh now.
Longford beat bohs 3-0 :eek: they are making a real fist of it now, only 6 points off galway and 7 off waterford. It could get interesting before the season is over.