View Full Version : Lee Trundle Again

Pages : 1 [2] 3

14/08/2007, 10:56 AM
Look at the games that Keane and Connolly have played together and they have been a disaster. Keane and Connolly should and will never play together again. Keane and Doyle has all the potential to be a good partnership as it should allow Keanie to drop off like he likes to do and he wont get the abuse he gets when he is playing up top on his own and then he drops off.

shanman2
14/08/2007, 11:26 AM
Look at the games that Keane and Connolly have played together and they have been a disaster. Keane and Connolly should and will never play together again. Keane and Doyle has all the potential to be a good partnership as it should allow Keanie to drop off like he likes to do and he wont get the abuse he gets when he is playing up top on his own and then he drops off.

You saying you want Robbie to end up in our half when we are attacking again like he tried to do under Kerr. Robbie Keane is a striker not a playmaker he will score us goals if he is up there to take the chances. Leaving Doyle up front on his own is not our best way of playing. :ball:

cavan_fan
14/08/2007, 11:32 AM
keane and Connolly as a pair are much more threatening than Keane and Doyle

Only if it is a comeptition for jumped up midget strikers

14/08/2007, 11:38 AM
I'll get slated for this but... !
If you'd only stopped there you'd have been 100% correct.

Doyle would not lace Trundles boots in terms of ability! ...maybe Doyle laces a pretty mean boot.

those who say we are blessed with 10 top strikers are very optimistic - some of them not international standard - even Morrison wasn't up to it - just had to use him cos there was no one else - too often on the ground moaning looking for a free!

If you can find an Irish forward, in any division, who's better than Morrison at holding up a ball to buy a few seconds to get people involved ...you pick him!

citizenerased
14/08/2007, 12:20 PM
keane naturally drops deep to link up play, its a fundamental part of his game and his biggest strenght..

shanman2
14/08/2007, 1:19 PM
keane naturally drops deep to link up play, its a fundamental part of his game and his biggest strenght..

Simple answer no its not... I try to get to as many games as i can and watch as much as possible but I always seem to notice Keane trying to do a defensive midfielders job. I mean when Spurs are attacking sometimes when Keane and berba play together Berba gets isolated something that Roy Keane exploited very well last week. Frustrated the two of them something rotten

citizenerased
14/08/2007, 9:06 PM
yeah big time, mcshane was immense..

youngirish
15/08/2007, 10:43 AM
Lee Trundle is pants. He should have declared for Wales since they love him there so much and they've crap strikers so he might get a game.

25/08/2007, 3:54 PM
Scored two today to open his account for this season.

25/08/2007, 3:56 PM
Makes him the top scoring Irishman in the league?

25/08/2007, 3:58 PM
Makes him the top scoring Irishman in the league?
Alan Lee is on 3 (Ipswich are playing tomorrow) and Clinton has 2 (Palace playing tomorrow also).

Cymro
25/08/2007, 4:18 PM
Well done Lee, nice to see him getting off the mark. Was a bit worried he might struggle after not scoring in the first 3 games. I shouldn't have doubted the lad though.

Cymro
25/08/2007, 4:24 PM
Lee Trundle is pants. He should have declared for Wales since they love him there so much and they've crap strikers so he might get a game.

Well, Lee's good but would he get ahead of Eastwood, Bellamy & Earnshaw?

Irrelevant anyway as he doesn't qualify for us.

You're way too harsh on Lee and would do well to take a glance at one or two of my posts on the matter since I've managed to dispel more or less every argument thrown against him.

25/08/2007, 6:14 PM
He is not Irish. :rolleyes:

livehead1
25/08/2007, 6:15 PM
He is not Irish. :rolleyes:

Why???

livehead1
25/08/2007, 6:18 PM
Well, Lee's good but would he get ahead of Eastwood, Bellamy & Earnshaw?

Irrelevant anyway as he doesn't qualify for us.

You're way too harsh on Lee and would do well to take a glance at one or two of my posts on the matter since I've managed to dispel more or less every argument thrown against him.

Yes he does qualify for Wales through residency. He has lived there for a period of 3 years, in a similar way when Cudicini was contemplating playing for England.

25/08/2007, 6:23 PM
Why???

Does he have a passport?

Cymro
25/08/2007, 6:24 PM
I thought that rule only applied to those born outside the UK. Cudicini also contemplated playing for Wales and even had discussions with the FAW, but nothing came of it.

Trundle was born in the UK, although he qualifies for NI, the ROI and England through various means. he's always said he wants to play for Ireland though.

25/08/2007, 6:45 PM
Does he have a passport?

There are plenty of people who were born in Ireland to Irish parents, who have lived their entire lives Ireland and can trace their familly tree back to St Patrick and who do not have an Irish passport or indeed want one.
You don't have to have an Irish passport to be Irish.

livehead1
25/08/2007, 6:59 PM
Does he have a passport?

Margaret Hassan who was killed in Iraq was born in Dublin yet had a British passport, is she not Irish?

What a poor question to ask. In my eyes, and many others he is Irish.

hoops1
25/08/2007, 8:06 PM
Have to agree with pete

Cymro
25/08/2007, 8:09 PM
As of now, no-one. He's Wales for the rest of his days now having won a senior cap.

I think he only qualified for England other than us before.

carloz
25/08/2007, 9:29 PM
He won me money today, i had Bristol City in my accumulator:D

livehead1
26/08/2007, 1:35 AM
Have to agree with pete

ARE YOU ON DRUGS?

if you can get a passport for a specific country that makes you Irish.... hypocrits the lot of you...this forums full of fcking clowns...paul butler has an irish passport...is he irish?

adamcarr
27/08/2007, 11:51 PM
Here is a link to Trundles goals at the weekend. Two stunning finishes.

http://www.football.virginmedia.com/page/championshipvideo/0,,12555~1099692,00.html

27/08/2007, 11:54 PM
If he keeps that up he can't be left out of the squad.

Rebel11
28/08/2007, 8:16 AM
Id love to see him called up i lived in Wales for a year saw him play for the Swans a load of times. Class Act

livehead1
28/08/2007, 9:37 AM
If you watch that second goal its clear he has a gift. He is given a reasonable amount of time on the ball, not too much though, most players wouldn't shoot from there. He sees the spot and chips it in, probably the only possible place in the goal he could have scored; most players wouldn't even be aware of that possibility. Hes good enough to be in the Ireland squad, its a simple as that, anyone disagree?

28/08/2007, 8:46 PM
i was saying on another thread that natural left-footers always seem to make the most skilful or that the more skilful ones are left footers and he fits this mould exactly. 2 brilliant goals.

29/08/2007, 10:26 AM
how old is he now?

Rebel11
29/08/2007, 10:28 AM
I think he is 29 i know he is pushing on i would still like to see him get a chance do.

shanman2
29/08/2007, 10:41 AM
said it before in this thread - trundle would wipe the floor with doyle who will suffer severely from secondpremseasonitis - get trundle in the squad now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

He is at it again lads!!! god you talk some rubbish!!! Did you have a sleep mask on at all the Ireland matches you have attended, thats if you even attended then!!!:eek: some of Doyles advantages: Age, Level of Play, Club he is with, consistentcy and oh lets not not forget he is IRISH, and not just another Jon Maken shambles. Did you hear trundles interview about the possibility of linking up with the Irish squad, memories of Maken's first press conference with Ireland came flooding back.:ball:

livehead1
29/08/2007, 10:50 AM
He is at it again lads!!! god you talk some rubbish!!! Did you have a sleep mask on at all the Ireland matches you have attended, thats if you even attended then!!!:eek: some of Doyles advantages: Age, Level of Play, Club he is with, consistentcy and oh lets not not forget he is IRISH, and not just another Jon Maken shambles. Did you hear trundles interview about the possibility of linking up with the Irish squad, memories of Maken's first press conference with Ireland came flooding back.:ball:

Really? What did he say? From what I remember, Trundle's comments were something like, "I've always wanted to play for Ireland" and when he was younger he was wearing the Ireland shirt whilst all his friends had England shirts on. He has also turned down a chance to play for the North (seems to be quite a common occurance now apparently)

youngirish
29/08/2007, 10:55 AM
Lee Trundle is pants lads. Fair enough if he was 23 or 24 then I could see cause for excitement but when at 31 you're only starting to make it in the Championship then surely International football is a step too far. At his age you would expect that he has only a couple of seasons playing at the top of his game left in him. Strikers generally don't last as long as defenders.

It would be far better to blood the future talent in the games that Doyle or Keane are not available than waste caps on a lost cause.

29/08/2007, 10:59 AM
I think he is 29 i know he is pushing on i would still like to see him get a chance do.

Lee Trundle is pants lads. Fair enough if he was 23 or 24 then I could see cause for excitement but when at 31 you're only starting to make it in the Championship then surely International football is a step too far.
His birthday is 10th October 1976, he's 30 at the moment and will be 31 in about 6 weeks.

livehead1
29/08/2007, 11:07 AM
Lee Trundle is pants lads.

It would be far better to blood the future talent in the games that Doyle or Keane are not available than waste caps on a lost cause.

1. He is not "pants". He is better than some of the players in the squad. I don't believe in this blooding people in competative games. You pick the best players available at any one time; very much in the same way that Beckham is picked for England where the future talent is clearly someone like David Bentley etc.

2. I would rather pick a 30 or 50 year old if it gave us a better chance of qualifying. If Joe Lapira, Gleeson, Murphy from Carlisle etc etc have had a chance, it seems unfortunate Trundle hasn't.

Rebel11
29/08/2007, 11:17 AM
livehead1 agree with you 100% mate

FarBeag
29/08/2007, 11:30 AM
I think he should be in the squad and should have been there along time ago .He may have lost some of his pace but he can score a goal and has done so consistently throughout his career be it lower league. He my be 31 but he is a big strong skillful player and we could get a few years out of him.

I like Doyle but to be fair he has not been at it since he was injured late last season. Murphy is a limited player and Long has good potential but limited experience.

It probably won’t happen but what have we got to lose by including him?

livehead1
29/08/2007, 11:48 AM
I think he should be in the squad and should have been there along time ago .He may have lost some of his pace but he can score a goal and has done so consistently throughout his career be it lower league. He my be 31 but he is a big strong skillful player and we could get a few years out of him.

I like Doyle but to be fair he has not been at it since he was injured late last season. Murphy is a limited player and Long has good potential but limited experience.

It probably won’t happen but what have we got to lose by including him?

He's only 30. He has a good few years left in him yet. The reason why professional footballers have to retire when they do (around the 31-34 mark) is due to the wear and tear their bodies have been put through. They have generally been training as a professional for around 15-18 years by this stage. Lee Trundle turned professional at around 24-25, therefore his body has been put through far less and as a result I believe he will be able to go on past this stage if he looks after himself and steers clear of serious injury.

Dr. Ogba
29/08/2007, 12:35 PM
He's only 30. He has a good few years left in him yet. The reason why professional footballers have to retire when they do (around the 31-34 mark) is due to the wear and tear their bodies have been put through. They have generally been training as a professional for around 15-18 years by this stage. Lee Trundle turned professional at around 24-25, therefore his body has been put through far less and as a result I believe he will be able to go on past this stage if he looks after himself and steers clear of serious injury.

yeah but surely he didn't just "take up" football at 24-25? he must've been playing at some kind of decent amateur level for many years previous to that. I'm sorry but that argument just doesn't hold any sway with me. Fact of the matter is, he's 30 and has only played a handful of games in the second tier of English football. That just doesn't warrant a place in an international side where there's plenty of competition for places already.

We have a lot of strikers now that are just breaking on to the scene at a young age that hav the potential to play at a high level for the next 10 years, we should be blooding these guys (Doyle,Stokes, Long, Keogh, Clarke) instead of relying on a 30 year old "never was"...

29/08/2007, 2:47 PM
some of Doyles advantages: Age, Level of Play, Club he is with, consistentcy and oh lets not not forget he is IRISH,
Age means nothing in international football. You pick the best players at the moment, simple as that.

29/08/2007, 6:34 PM
id love to see what he can do in an ireland shirt. Theres no denyng hes an exciting player and a great talent. Wouldnt put him in the squad for the upcoming games but he should definitely be considered against the minnows.

29/08/2007, 8:44 PM
Didn't do much against Man City tonight, but the defence had him well marshalled.

livehead1
29/08/2007, 9:44 PM
Didn't do much against Man City tonight, but the defence had him well marshalled.

Yeh, watched a decent amount of it in between celtic match. Thought he played well, can tell hes a good footballer in the true sense of that word, that said man city are v. good at the back and did well; hes not the first forward not to score against that defence though to be fair!

danonion
29/08/2007, 9:56 PM
Is he going to offer us something different in Bratislava or Prague? No. So why bother talking about him again. He's 31 FFS!!!!

Nonsense. How can you say he won't offer something different? He is a player from a completely different mould from all our other forwards. And he has bags of ability. The only one of our current crop who is different in terms of his game than the other usual suspects is Murphy. And he's pants.

29/08/2007, 10:58 PM
Well I'm no genius . . . but the fact that he is not playing top level football, is 31 years of age and is at a club that's going nowhere is enough to convince me that our squad is just fine as it is.
If, however, Real Madrid or AC Milan sign him in the next few months then I will buy pints for all the people on here who know far more about the game than I do. But they won't be able to drink them because they'll all be at home watching Soccer AM's showboat section featuring said footballer.

He didn't start playing profesional football untill he was in his mid 20's and he is a different type of player to what we already have, so it would be a different option to try. Also he has a better strike rate than any of the others at 0.45 goals per game. Better than that of a couple of the others put togeather.
Also as it is likely we will not qualify anyway at least you will have some entertainment watching the showboating :D

29/08/2007, 11:31 PM
I think its mainly because of the options we have available.
Doyle- Proven Premiership standard
Keane- Proven Premiership standard
Stokes- Premiership player this year
Murphy- Premiership player this year
Connolly- Premiership player this year and proven himself fully in the Championship.
O' Donovan- A Premiership move is very much looking on the cards for him
Keogh- Excellent season last year with wolves
Long- Squad player for Reading
Morrisson- Has been a good servant to us in the past
Lee- Consistently performed in the Championship

Thats 10 forwards who would be ahead of him, and there probably is a couple of more to be added to that list. Why should we try a player who has yet to play 1 minute of Championship football just because he has his heart set on it. Cymro with those options available we really dont need him. Couldnt Wales do with him???

I will give you a reason, and a simple one. He has a better strike rate than any of them, his strike rate is 0.45 and is current 0.66 in the Championship so far and 0.5 this season.

Now go here and find an Irish player with a better strike rate.
http://www.soccerbase.com/players_details.sd?playerid=12919
Indeed find me any player of any nationality with a better strike rate!!
You reason for not including him seems to boil down to he is not proven at the highest level so he won't get a chance to prove himself at the highest level - which is ridiculous.

danonion
30/08/2007, 1:37 AM
Well I'm no genius . . . but the fact that he is not playing top level football, is 31 years of age and is at a club that's going nowhere is enough to convince me that our squad is just fine as it is.
If, however, Real Madrid or AC Milan sign him in the next few months then I will buy pints for all the people on here who know far more about the game than I do. But they won't be able to drink them because they'll all be at home watching Soccer AM's showboat section featuring said footballer.

Usually I enjoy your posts so don't think I'm having a dig for the sake of it, but you said in the first post in question that he doesn't offer something different. Talking about AC Milan and Real Madrid is a good way to deflect attention from the fact that you stated that he offers nothing different from the other strikers, and objectively speaking he does. Whether or not he offers something entirely better, we dont have any striker who dribbles like him and has a penchant for scoiring the odd wondergoal

Dr. Ogba
30/08/2007, 9:26 AM
I will give you a reason, and a simple one. He has a better strike rate than any of them, his strike rate is 0.45 and is current 0.66 in the Championship so far and 0.5 this season.

Now go here and find an Irish player with a better strike rate.
http://www.soccerbase.com/players_details.sd?playerid=12919
Indeed find me any player of any nationality with a better strike rate!!
You reason for not including him seems to boil down to he is not proven at the highest level so he won't get a chance to prove himself at the highest level - which is ridiculous.

OK lets send Stokes, Long, Doyle, Murphy et al down to League 1 and see what their strike rate would be by the end of the season...The guy has only played 3 games in the Championship for feck sake!!!

livehead1
30/08/2007, 10:38 AM
OK lets send Stokes, Long, Doyle, Murphy et al down to League 1 and see what their strike rate would be by the end of the season...The guy has only played 3 games in the Championship for feck sake!!!

Its not simply the number of goals, its the nature of them, there all different types, tap-ins, power strikes, wondergoals, he can do the lot, he can offer something so different to anything we have, even if it was 20 mins from the end; id love to see him coming on as opposed to shane long on daryll murphy.

And also, I doubt either would get as many goals has he has in League 1