View Full Version : Gaa/afl

27/07/2007, 7:28 AM
According to reports this morning, the GAA is trying to put rules in place stopping Irish people earning a living by becoming professional sportsmen by trying to ban the AFL from "taking" "their" players.

Is there no end to how low the GAA will stoop? It won't pay the players out of their massive coffers that the players themselves earn for the organisation, and now it wants to stop (the few) players that go to Australia having the chance to live out everyone who's every played sports' dream?

Toned down report here (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/gaa-want-answers-as-afl-target-youngsters-1046260.html)

G-Man
27/07/2007, 8:06 AM
According to reports this morning, the GAA is trying to put rules in place stopping Irish people earning a living by becoming professional sportsmen by trying to ban the AFL from "taking" "their" players.

Is there no end to how low the GAA will stoop? It won't pay the players out of their massive coffers that the players themselves earn for the organisation, and now it wants to stop (the few) players that go to Australia having the chance to live out everyone who's every played sports' dream?

Toned down report here (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/gaa-want-answers-as-afl-target-youngsters-1046260.html)

not wanting to be smart, but where are the GAA saying they will ban players going to Australia? They have every right being concerned with AFL clubs coming in and exploiting their drafting system. They even know it themselves.

Australia's International Rules Chairman of Selectors Gerard Healy even commented this year that Ireland is "one of the great untapped areas of (AFL) talent".

However, Healy also conceded it was not fair of the AFL to build a relationship with the GAA while "simply pillaging their stocks of young players".

The lads who have gone to Australia have done really well, and more power to them. Would love to see a few more make it out there too, but there has tobe something done to make rules on it otherwise the AFL will target more and the counties will lose more of their better underage players.

And also, I hate stupid comments about 'massive coffers'. Do you think they just hide the money under their bed or something? Money is being spent down through clubs and back into the game, inluding finishing off paying for Croke Park.

27/07/2007, 8:18 AM
They won't pay the players themselves, but they'll do everything they can to stop someone else paying them. That's the bottom line. As for not having massive coffers - how much did the leinster final, for example bring in? How much went to the players? Managers and Administrators are the only one's to earn a living off the GAA, never mind the players that bring the punters through the turnstiles, and turn out for training 4 or 5 nights a week.

27/07/2007, 9:34 AM
And also, I hate stupid comments about 'massive coffers'. Do you think they just hide the money under their bed or something? Money is being spent down through clubs and back into the game, inluding finishing off paying for Croke Park.

first example of this is training at least 4 people in every club to be able use a defibrillator and to install one in every club at a cost of 1100 euro. How many soccer clubs in the country have these? very few I would guess. G-Man, ye know macy, a blow in from england that hasn't a clue about the G.A.A and just likes WUM-ing.

A lot of players get expenses for intercounty teams, they also get meals and a 2 week holiday every year. A lot of county teams also get a weeks training camp. Not bad for a few nights training a week for half a year?!

27/07/2007, 9:51 AM
G-Man, ye know macy, a blow in from england

Intersting comment from a man who made the opposit journey. You might also conside you don't know the family history of everyone here

As for the GAA funding clubs, don't make me laugh. I know a lot of people who work tirelessly for local GAA clubs and they don't receive a penny from HQ. Its all pretty much raised by players/parents/volunteers (and good luck to him)

It astounds me that GAA fans never ask where the money is going

27/07/2007, 9:55 AM
I'm surprised you have such a problem with people moving abroad to earn money Paul, which is all the GAA players would be doing. Would you be in favour of banning foreign recruitment agencies too, or indeed Irish recruitment agencies from going abroad?

Not sure what defibrillators have to do with the GAA blocking players from pursuing a career in professional sport?

Your personal attack is beneath contempt, and is an insult to anyone whose family had to emigrate. Maybe even your own children if you choose to stay in London.

27/07/2007, 10:00 AM
I'm surprised you have such a problem with people moving abroad to earn money Paul, which is all the GAA players would be doing. Would you be in favour of banning foreign recruitment agencies too, or indeed Irish recruitment agencies from going abroad?

i was following up to G-Mans respone of "money coffers". It doesnt just disappear into a big well or under beds as he said, and I provided an example, thats all. I never mentioned anything about players emigrating to play AFL?! :confused:

Intersting comment from a man who made the opposit journey. You might also conside you don't know the family history of everyone here

I wont go into a thread commentating on the state of polo or cricket for example, when I haven't experienced/played/been involved in it from a young age and know nothing about it, why would I?!

Your personal attack is beneath contempt, and is an insult to anyone whose family had to emigrate. Maybe even your own children if you choose to stay in London.

It had nothing to do with emigration or maybe in your case "migration". I moved across the other way so I couldn't possibly make a comment on your family or any others need to emigrate to find decent paying work.

27/07/2007, 10:09 AM
I wont go into a thread commentating on the state of polo or cricket for example, when I haven't experienced/played/been involved in it from a young age and know nothing about it, why would I?!

paul_oshea not commenting on cricket (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=607216&postcount=19)

And Paul you've already received an infraction so stop getting personal...

27/07/2007, 10:10 AM
dodge, that has nothing to do with the "state" of cricket as i mentioned above, its to do with a player choosing to play for england. thats all, anybody can read the news ( without having an opinion )!

27/07/2007, 10:17 AM
You had an opinion on Rugby league...

27/07/2007, 10:19 AM
Since when has there been no GAA clubs in England for you to make any assumptions about what someone brought up in England played or didn't play when they were younger?

27/07/2007, 10:26 AM
You had an opinion on Rugby league...

i had an opinion about a player again who said the uk and i proved you wrong, based on what was said in the interview :p :D

However we used to play that at home, sort of.....

Since when has there been no GAA clubs in England for you to make any assumptions about what someone brought up in England played or didn't play when they were younger?

I didnt, and thats a very valid point Macy, however being involved with a club over here, it is a complete different entity to home. Its a pity really, because I reckon with a little more funding ( in london at least ) and organisation there could be some very good clubs. So were you involved with a club in lancashire, just wondering like?

I feel sorry for the bad blood you feel for the GAA based on whatever it is, you seem to be consumed by it, i assume some bad experience, but as a whole it is a decent and well organised association run by decent people, it just gets my goat that on a football forum, i rarely see you comment on anything other than GAA and your negative feelings toward(s) it, but that could be because i dont look at the bray wanderers or certain other sections :D

27/07/2007, 10:29 AM
but back on topic, somewhat as i dont really know what the exercise of this thread was really ;), but I think if a player chooses to go playing AFL then why not, its the players individual right and so it should be. I didn't bother to read the article as I reckon I have a fair idea of what it says but I beleive its a persons individual right to go do whatever they want, the same as its the GAAs right to try to protect its game and its entities in the game i.e. players.

27/07/2007, 10:35 AM
I didn't bother to read the article
You've argued about it and you haven't even read it yet? Sums you up Paul...

27/07/2007, 10:39 AM
You've argued about it and you haven't even read it yet? Sums you up Paul...

Dodge, i really dont understand what you are getting at. I amn't commenting on the piece, I am making my own observation about the GAAs right and the right of the individual player(s) and I also made a point about money coffers.

Btw, I am not arguing - simply making a point - about anything, seriouslly though what are you trying to get at?

27/07/2007, 10:41 AM
oh and why i havent read it is because i read a similar post from another forum stolensheep.tk that featured on the western people or telegraph, hence i said "i have a fair idea".....

27/07/2007, 10:52 AM
The point was that Macy posted an article and rather than read it and comment on it, you had a go at him for being birn in England and then defending the GAA about something totally different, whilst at the same time saying you didn't know the reason why the thread was started.

*sigh*

27/07/2007, 11:00 AM
The point was that Macy posted an article and rather than read it and comment on it, you had a go at him for being birn in England and then defending the GAA about something totally different, whilst at the same time saying you didn't know the reason why the thread was started.

I know well why it was started, surely the wink gave that away. It was started just to have another pop at the "GAA", "money cofferes" etc, please read between the lines, its not that difficult ;)

In his first post he mentioned money cofferes, which has no relation to the article, so why wouldnt I comment on that. IF he only wanted to comment on that then he should have. Dodge, you know this is going nowhere and I made my points, dont keep coming back to it with silly things completely unrelated to what was being discussed previously. I dont know what the *sigh* is all about either.

The point about england, fair enough may have come across harsh, but being immersed in it I have a different stand point, and i think all those that have will have the same stand point. It was not meant as a pop at where he grew up and that is the honest truth.

27/07/2007, 11:17 AM
first example of this is training at least 4 people in every club to be able use a defibrillator and to install one in every club at a cost of 1100 euro. How many soccer clubs in the country have these? very few I would guess. G-Man, ye know macy, a blow in from england that hasn't a clue about the G.A.A and just likes WUM-ing.

A lot of players get expenses for intercounty teams, they also get meals and a 2 week holiday every year. A lot of county teams also get a weeks training camp. Not bad for a few nights training a week for half a year?!

This is precisely the kind of GAA "Aren't we the great lads altogether?" BS that I can't stand. I can't speak for all football clubs but my brother runs 2 LSL teams and they have defibrillators for a couple of years now.

Under LSL rules you have to have them. Difference being the football lads just get on with it while the GAA constantly feel the need to blow their own trumpet.

As for the thread topic and the quasi-racist jibe at Macy, typical GAA attitude. :rolleyes:

27/07/2007, 11:25 AM
As for the thread topic and the quasi-racist jibe at Macy

How could it be racist, he is from an irish family? After all aren't we all supposed to be the same anyhow, i mean those of us in the UK and Ireland? :D

I can't speak for all football clubs but my brother runs 2 LSL teams and they have defibrillators for a couple of years now.

Thats a fair point, I obviouslly wasn't aware of this, again I only know of 6 clubs in ros that have it ( but i beleive there is a direction in place to get them for all clubs ). As a matter of interest how many people are trained to use them though WAR ( how apt a username might i add ;) ), i beleive you have to be trained to use one....

Btw they arent cheap either.

27/07/2007, 11:26 AM
It wasn't started to have a pop at the GAA. It was started to discuss something that was in the news this morning. Player rights is something that I've long had issue with the GAA about, having witnessed it close hand. No different from me having issue with other organisations that treat their workers poorly. I find it hypocritical of the GAA to try and stop players earning money from sport whilst they refuse to pay the players themselves. They want to deny GAA players the chance to be professional sportsmen.

Maybe it was a bit of glib comment about the GAA coffers, but you have to accept that it is the richest sporting organisation in this country? Who are the only ones to get paid by this organisation? Administrators and Managers. What do players get - poor expenses and a holiday if they're lucky.

The fact that this type of debate is stiffled the whole time is one of the reasons I would generally not be a fan of the GAA anymore. If you dare criticise it's because you couldn't possibly understand, or because you're not really irish. It is never because there is a valid case to bloody answer.

27/07/2007, 11:29 AM
Thats a fair point, I obviouslly wasn't aware of this, again I only know of 6 clubs in ros that have it ( but i beleive there is a direction in place to get them for all clubs ). As a matter of interest how many people are trained to use them though WAR ( how apt a username might i add ;) ), i beleive you have to be trained to use one....

Btw they arent cheap either.

My brother and his mate who run the 2 teams are both trained to use them and the club paid for them themselves.

My point is that junior 'soccer' has done this without feeling the need to pat themselves on the back. Unlike the GAA.

27/07/2007, 11:33 AM
very good post Macy. Completely agree with your first paragraph. Ill have to read it now and respond properly related to that :D

IN relation to the second I dont have enough information, neither do you I would assume or most of us lay people, to the breakdown of the GAA expenditure, but in relation to the FAI or IRFU for example, the GAA only gets money internally from games such as leinster finals etc, If ireland appear at world cups or euro champs or rugby world cups they get money externally plus extra sponsorship and what not. How much funds do EL clubs get from the FAI? THe full professional ones paying proper wages, that stop players from having day to day jobs, unlike the GAA players again, who have day to day jobs to make their own income.

My brother and his mate who run the 2 teams are both trained to use them and the club paid for them themselves.

its 4 per club for gaelic clubs. IF every soccer club up and down the country was to get one, not just the LSL, I am sure the FAI would have come out with something similar. To say otherwise is very naive or just blind.

Ceirtlis
27/07/2007, 11:39 AM
The cost of running the Tipperary intercounty hurling team for this year was €800,000 according to their manager Babs Keating, i would imagine it is similar for any team of a similar standard. They also have to pay for their football team. The GAA have built up alot of stadiums recently like Pearse Stadium in Galway, the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick, Portlaoise, Wexford, Leitrim and refurbishment of Thurles and Croke Park. Yes they have plenty of money but that is not to say it is disappearing down black holes.
As for this thing with the Aussies, they are always giving out about it but there is not alot they can or really should be able to do about it, you cannot impede a persons chance from making a living in a professional sport if they feel like it.

27/07/2007, 11:48 AM
but in relation to the FAI or IRFU for example, the GAA only gets money internally from games such as leinster finals etc, If ireland appear at world cups or euro champs or rugby world cups they get money externally plus extra sponsorship and what not. what is it with you and location? The FAi have had one senior team qualify for a major finals in the past 13 years. The amount of money they earned from that is far, far exceeded by the amount of money they've spent bringing teams from under16 to amateur to seniors to all parts of the world over that time. The only money they earn is at home for senior internationals and even them its about 6-8 a year max, much much less than the GAA have

27/07/2007, 12:28 PM
To say otherwise is very naive or just blind.

I'll repeat my point one more time - the FAI can do this stuff without the need for banging on about it as if they are the most wonderful people on Earth. the GAA on the other hand have such an inferiority complex that they have to pat themselves on the back every time. That is all.

27/07/2007, 12:47 PM
I'll repeat my point one more time - the FAI can do this stuff without the need for banging on about it as if they are the most wonderful people on Earth. the GAA on the other hand have such an inferiority complex that they have to pat themselves on the back every time. That is all.

You haven't said anything other than they can. lets start when at least one club in every county ( or its a directive from FAI hq ) or district league has at least one with trained people to use it, then we will see ;) And the inferiority complex, hmmm ya ye can really nail that one down there cant ye.:rolleyes:

what is it with you and location? The FAi have had one senior team qualify for a major finals in the past 13 years. The amount of money they earned from that is far, far exceeded by the amount of money they've spent bringing teams from under16 to amateur to seniors to all parts of the world over that time. The only money they earn is at home for senior internationals and even them its about 6-8 a year max, much much less than the GAA have

Fair point 8 mil. thats fair enough i asked though how many clubs get funding from the FAI and how much? Also look at the stadiums ( gaa ) and how they have been rebuilt such as pearse stadium in galway, the money is being distributed, they help pay for every hurling and gaelic intercounty team. How many 'soccer' clubs own their own stadiums etc? There is loads of examples of how the money is being used through underage coaching from u6 all the way up etc, the facilities NOW being provided ( unlike when i was a young fella :) ) to all ages. The local club at home has 17 teams alone, dont think that this is all paid for by the local community is it fup. They are creating a second pitch with a stand and floodlights and training pitch, partly funded by gaa HQ. The local socccer club? Well they had to go to the government for a grant and fundraise the rest. NO support from the FAI. Thats just one example but id be pretty sure its the same up and down the country. The soccer facilities are savage now though ( for a town the size, especially competing in a mainly gaa-playing ( not supporting necessarily) county ) as well so fair play there. Thats the difference where the 8 mil being made by the FAI and 15 - 20 mil being made by the GAA goes.

Aberdonian Stu
27/07/2007, 1:24 PM
Could a mod please bin all the NON afl related crap in this thread. That's roughly everything bar the first couple of posts.

27/07/2007, 1:27 PM

**** poor aguements
I find nothing in the article or linked article to suggest more than a state of resentment exists
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/afl-summit-off-but-poaching-on-agenda-1046261.html

Resentment
´Brennan is well aware of the deep-seated resentment from GAA county boards to the poaching of their young talent.

Australia's International Rules Chairman of Selectors Gerard Healy even commented this year that Ireland is "one of the great untapped areas of (AFL) talent".

However, Healy also conceded it was not fair of the AFL to build a relationship with the GAA while "simply pillaging their stocks of young players".´

Would it be fair to say that any EL club losing it's top players to the EPL with no transfer fee involved would have an element of resentment.
elements of deep resentment and elements of downright indignant deep seated hostile resentment

"massive coffers"
The GAA is probably the most astute finacially run sporting organization in the country, whatever about other aspects snail pace.
Take the time to examine facts
annual reports here
http://www.gaa.ie/page/official_reports.html.

An annual report is easy enough to assimilate.
Take a look at operating profit and expenditures.

It won't pay the players out of their massive coffers that the players themselves earn for the organisation
That's the basic concept of amateur sport.

27/07/2007, 1:39 PM
That's the basic concept of amateur sport.
Doesn't seem to apply to managers (or administrators), but you could've always qouted the whole sentence....

and now it wants to stop (the few) players that go to Australia having the chance to live out everyone who's every played sports' dream?

27/07/2007, 1:54 PM
Doesn't seem to apply to managers (or administrators), but you could've always qouted the whole sentence....
Here is the whole sentence. Not a feckin word about managers or admins in there.
"It won't pay the players out of their massive coffers that the players themselves earn for the organisation, and now it wants to stop (the few) players that go to Australia having the chance to live out everyone who's every played sports' dream?"

Amateurs don't get paid :confused:
Coffers?
Wants to stop player's dreams ?

27/07/2007, 2:17 PM
geysir i want to be like you when I grow up :D

27/07/2007, 2:19 PM
geysir i want to be like you when I grow up :D

You already are mate. ;)

noby
27/07/2007, 2:21 PM
Here is the whole sentence.

Um, did Macy not already do that?

noby
27/07/2007, 2:23 PM
By the way, there are a couple of threads on here today that are making this slow-moving Friday move slower, but little nuggets like this keep me going:

i beleive you have to be trained to use one....
I've seen ER; does that count?

27/07/2007, 2:35 PM
I just read that article now, where does it mention they are going to ban players from going to play in australia? unless i missed it, the article itself was very short, and had words such as "amid disquiet", "rumoured" etc, Its just cliona foley trying to pull an article together like she did about fulham irish cos she has nothing better to write about.

However," It is rumoured that this may go one step further this autumn with several AFL clubs reportedly willing to combine their resources to run a camp-style trial for Irish teenagers Down Under. "

A lad 17 or 18, with no college education going to play a sport, that might offer very limited of a career after playing, and very little money to sit back on once finished playing is hardly a smart move and I agree the GAA should trying and stop this. Moving across the other side of the world is growing up too fast way too quickly, away from everything and everyone he knows.

27/07/2007, 2:39 PM
I've seen ER; does that count?

have you watched it more than once and or rewound the tape? Then yes. :D

27/07/2007, 3:10 PM
Um, did Macy not already do that?
Not the the sentence from the post I was answering which was about players.

Anyway WTF have manager expenses or admin wages got to do with the original post about players?

Torn-Ado
27/07/2007, 6:30 PM
Excuse my ignorance but what the fock is a defibrillator :confused:

Torn-Ado
27/07/2007, 6:32 PM
Anyways, the GAA can't really stop players leaving to play in the AFL. Best of luck to them I say. Just as long as they don't start up that International rules bawlox again. My god, that was ridiculous.

27/07/2007, 7:32 PM
Gamer? :)
The electric shock pads that medics use to revive a stopped heart (mainly on tv).

28/07/2007, 11:37 AM

A portable device that is used to try resussitate someone if they have a heart attack,I think it uses electric shock/stimulation.

You need to be trained to use one.

monutdfc
03/08/2007, 2:13 PM
GPA receive complaints from members
Thursday, 02 August 2007

ImageThe GPA has received several complaints from its members over the comments made by GAA President Nickey Brennan concerning the movement of young players to the AFL.

Mr Brennan, concerned at the possible drain of young talent to Aussie Rules, points out the potential for young GAA stars to ‘carve out a good career for themselves on the back of their reputations playing Gaelic football and hurling.’ The GAA has no authority to determine the career choice of any player and we believe that these injudicious remarks only serve to make life more difficult for these young men. ...
Read the full statement at http://www.gaelicplayers.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=65&Itemid=42

06/08/2007, 12:41 PM
an excellent young prospect (Pierce Hanley) from Mayo has decided to head to Oz after being offered a professional contract. Bloody shame but cannot blame the lad.

gilberto_eire
06/08/2007, 3:30 PM
i think the GAA are right to protect there players. if the lads have that much of an interest let them go to australia and work there way up at it from there, why should clubs/counties be training these lads all there lives to benefit another organisation!.

id imagine Rugby chiefs wouldnt be too happy if NFL teams started poaching all the kickers that looked like they'd have the potential!.

any other organisation would take measures to prevent there best players been taken(id imagine compensation isnt even recived)