View Full Version : Any links to the Derry game tonight
Teams with fraudulent accounting practices are a far bigger black eye for the league that European results
25/07/2007, 4:45 PM
I don't know,,
It's hard to pick a strong team this year that would put up a fight.
I agree with there being no strong teams this year, but I think its unfair to suggest Derry aren't putting up a fight.
higgins
25/07/2007, 4:47 PM
soko ,,,
go out and play with the traffic
stick to the topic
This is a bad day for the league and anyone who says different is an idiot. They are ranked below Bate and Tallinn and we've come past them in previous years.
I guess we've not progressed as much as people like to think.
McHugh fouled, player booked. Carried off on a stretcher
dapman1
25/07/2007, 4:48 PM
header off the line from a corner by derry
Header cleared off the line from Kelly...good save
dapman1
25/07/2007, 4:49 PM
why didnt derry put in corners like this at the brandwell?
higgins
25/07/2007, 4:50 PM
I agree with there being no strong teams this year, but I think its unfair to suggest Derry aren't putting up a fight.
You're making that team look good due to not knowing what to do. They gave you so much of the ball up in Derry and you produced nothing with it. They are an awful team who you have managed to make look fairly decent.
However, a team that had some direction and purpose about them would have got the job done and made it look easy.
It's Derrys fault they're not in Round 2, not Armani Sputniks
These kind of games upset me :(
25/07/2007, 4:52 PM
You're making that team look good due to not knowing what to do. They gave you so much of the ball up in Derry and you produced nothing with it. They are an awful team who you have managed to make look fairly decent.
However, a team that had some direction and purpose about them would have got the job done and made it look easy.
It's Derrys fault they're not in Round 2, not Armani Sputniks
These kind of games upset me :(
Have you looked at the league table lately? Hate to burst yer bubble higgins but Derry are 1 point clear of Bray Wanderers. We're in 7th spot for a reason. Use that to put a bit of perpective on your apparent huge disappointment.
SwanVsDalton
25/07/2007, 4:52 PM
Derry have been poor over two legs, I agree, but every team needs a little luck to go their way and it's all gone for Pyunik. Clearance off the line? That would've went in at the other end...
The damage was done last week. Again, I agree, this isn't a great side but they're extremely well organised and have one or two exceptional individuals. We could've done better but we've been treading water all year, best we can hope for is to regroup and have a go at the Cups.
gilberto_eire
25/07/2007, 4:54 PM
that last gasp shot just summed it up...if ya cant stick them you wont beat anyone....
i suppose its not that shocking considering there league position this year there way of the pace!
higgins
25/07/2007, 4:55 PM
dancinpants ,, It don;t matter where you are in the league at present. Your team is capable of finishing this league in the top 4. You do have a team that should be finishing higher than 7th. Although the fact you are 7th just shows the passion and drive that you lack... Something I didnt get from these two Champions League games. If you were going to turn a corner this was your chance and you blew it...
Also I'd look into changing your signature :)
dapman1
25/07/2007, 4:55 PM
Derry where denied a penalty,missed a sitter in the first.They hit the woodwork and have had one cleared off the line in the second.
But two dreadful bits of defending have allowed to fairly soft goals in against a team that would probably struggle in the Eircom. there was some good passing throughout from Derry but, a real lack of anything in front of goal and one of the worst displays at full back for a long time have done for the Candystripes. :(
25/07/2007, 5:00 PM
Nah, think I'll leave it there, todays result doesn't even come close that.
People need to remember the humidity and temperature out there, pkus the fact that the players had a nightmare trip. Yes we were caught out in defence but had we had a bit of luck, we would have went through.
SwanVsDalton
25/07/2007, 5:06 PM
dancinpants ,, It don;t matter where you are in the league at present. Your team is capable of finishing this league in the top 4. You do have a team that should be finishing higher than 7th. Although the fact you are 7th just shows the passion and drive that you lack... Something I didnt get from these two Champions League games. If you were going to turn a corner this was your chance and you blew it...
We have a team which has performed poorly all year, achieved very little in the way of consistency, played under three seperate managers so far and were given an awkward European draw. As far as corner-turns go, an away trip to Yerevan is not the easiest. I'd take a wee dander down to Tolka any day over that.
What every Derry fan has come to turms with this year (and what you will haev to, judging by your post) is that the Candystipes are struggling. Whether we're capable or not is neither here nor there, the reality is that this was a tough assignment for a new manager manning a team low on confidence. That's it.
25/07/2007, 5:07 PM
Wouldn't get too exercised about this result, just the wrong game at the wrong time for Derry. Should still have won it though, they're a much better team than Pyunik. Not sure it was entirely wise to let Robertson pick the team for this one, it was injudicious team selection which cost Derry the tie more than anything else (playing Brennan at left back, using Morrow as the forward pivot and leaving him on.)
Fair play to Pyunik, they came and attacked from the off when it would have been very easy not to. Won't see as open a game as that in the CL proper.
I find it hilarious that the majority of this bile is coming from shels fan. Derry should have done better, there's not doubting that but the world is not going to end. The league table does not lie and they are 7th for a reason
Saint Tom
25/07/2007, 6:12 PM
I hate to say it guys, but this year is going to be a disaster for Irish clubs in Europe.
As for shelbourne, you cheated and got your comeupponce. However, dreams of past glories is all you have now so enjoy them. Bet La riazor seems a long way from Gortakeegan on a cold tuesday night.
25/07/2007, 6:18 PM
Very poor result. Derry were unfortunate though. Definitely a penalty in the first half.
Torn-Ado
25/07/2007, 6:23 PM
Couldnt actually see the game. Something came up.
Not surprised by the result either. Last weeks game was enough to know that Derry weren't good enough.
lofty9
25/07/2007, 6:34 PM
Beaten by a **** poor team. I thought we played too open to be honest. A team with European experience would have sat back for an hour and soaked up any pressure. We should have tried to make it difficult for them. We played gung ho, leaving the defence exposed.
Ceirtlis
25/07/2007, 7:40 PM
Pyunik looked dangerous most of the time they attacked. They played to their strength and what was noticeable was that they where very quick on the attack and could be in dangerous positions with just 2 or 3 passes usually via the wing. Derry were only really dangerous from set plays apart from that it was long range stuff or get it in the box as quick as possible. They didnt have any idea how to break that crowd down. I dont know if it his himself or the manager to blame but McCourt was dreadful. Disappointing but not entirely unpredictable.
25/07/2007, 7:52 PM
There number 9 was pure fast. Had the running of the Derry defence every time.
25/07/2007, 8:24 PM
Nah, think I'll leave it there, todays result doesn't even come close that.
Yes because Armenia are so much better then Liechtenstein...
25/07/2007, 8:32 PM
Yes because Armenia are so much better then Liechtenstein...
Actually the Carmarthen result was more at the forefront of my mind at that stage. ;)
25/07/2007, 9:12 PM
Actually the Carmarthen result was more at the forefront of my mind at that stage. ;)
Wales are a quality footballing nation :o
Cymro
25/07/2007, 10:53 PM
Wales are a quality footballing nation :o
:rolleyes: We are :p
TheBoss
25/07/2007, 11:30 PM
This result is a really poor result, Derry should be beating teams like this Home and Away, pity they were not in good form, but if they were, would have an easy qualification to the 2nd Round.
25/07/2007, 11:37 PM
This result is a really poor result, Derry should be beating teams like this Home and Away, pity they were not in good form, but if they were, would have an easy qualification to the 2nd Round.
It ranks right up there with a 1-1 draw in San Marino :rolleyes:
Saint MacDara
25/07/2007, 11:38 PM
Oh you are asking for trouble:D
TheBoss
25/07/2007, 11:38 PM
What has that got to do with Derry messing it up ?
26/07/2007, 12:46 AM
Absolutely sod all, but you should know that's how foot.ie logic works by now (not that I necessarily agree with your assessment of the result.)
higgins
26/07/2007, 1:01 AM
As for shelbourne, you cheated and got your comeupponce. However, dreams of past glories is all you have now so enjoy them. Bet La riazor seems a long way from Gortakeegan on a cold tuesday night.
I'd take another 10 years of trips to Monagahan in the first division as long as I can keep that memory. I don't want to get into the rights and wrongs of Shels, they were wrong, but this is a Derry topic and I don't see what Shels and me being a Shels fan has to do with it ?
foot is full of childish comment such as yours, the main reason I try not to post too much. Any sort of adult debate is shot down by small minded comments.
I was talking about the thread topic.
I'd suggest you stick to that too ...
It was a p!ss poor result.
The distance between the clubs is no excuse. The whole reason behind the home and away legs is to cancel out any effect that has.
Derry were beaten by a sh!te team ,,,
As bad as Cakemakers or Hibs that beat Shels. It's very bad day , 7th or not , they should have got through this round.
We are now UNSEEDED for next seasons UEFA Cup
26/07/2007, 4:56 AM
Dry your eyes. You fraudulently got enough spins of the European dice over the last few years.
Poor enough result but, as I sit writing this in Prague, 6 hours into the return journey with another 6 to go, the distance, heat and general toughness of the location cant be underestimated.
Sheridans post above sums it up for me.
This game was lost in the Brandywell.
DaveyCakes
26/07/2007, 10:16 AM
Poor enough result but, as I sit writing this in Prague, 6 hours into the return journey with another 6 to go, the distance, heat and general toughness of the location cant be underestimated.
a) Pyunik had to travel exactly the same distance as Derry.
b) Derry had a month to sort out better travel arrangements...why the hell did they go to Prague via London? Why not fly direct to Prague, or direct to Yerevan from London or Paris or Amsterdam or Frankfurt or the numerous other airports that have direct flights to both Dublin and Yerevan
26/07/2007, 10:47 AM
Don't worry you won't qualify. :rolleyes:
26/07/2007, 5:02 PM
a) Pyunik had to travel exactly the same distance as Derry.Nonsensical. Its a lot easier for Armenians acclimatising to Irish weather conditions than us to 40 degree heat.
b) Derry had a month to sort out better travel arrangements...why the hell did they go to Prague via London? Why not fly direct to Prague, or direct to Yerevan from London or Paris or Amsterdam or Frankfurt or the numerous other airports that have direct flights to both Dublin and YerevanAvailability. Have you ever tried booking 25+ seats on specific planes in the middle of high season?
As for the "numerous airports" that have flights to Yerevan, thats a short list when you exclude the ex-Soviet carriers with dubious safety records.
26/07/2007, 5:57 PM
Very dissapointed with Derry City, my god what a waste of 90 minutes of my life looking at that rubbish
Typical irish moaning..........."the heat", "the ref", "the flight over", "the pitch".......etc etc
Derry didnt charter a flight so they could save some money, about 60,000 grand or so, well done, saved your money:rolleyes:
The pitch is the same for both teams, and wouldnt many LOI pitches be worse, Im thinking of Longford in particular!
The ref was ok, yes it was a peno, but did derry really deserve to win this tie? And I didnt like to see the derry players mouthing off all the time (hence about 3 yellow cards), you do your talking on the pitch
The heat is a factor for both teasm but when you have a 5 man midfield it cant be used as an excuse, especially againsta poor team
Robertson was rubbish, stupid tactics having 5 mids........its not Ac Milan for chriss sakes
Mccourt.......first time i have seen him..........was told he was great.............i didnt notice anything too great
RTe were terrible.................Morley and his "different class"........yeah bottom of the fcuking class more like
Terrible result for the LOI................Derry should have had that team in their pocket
Ok rant over!:)
Very dissapointed with Derry City, my god what a waste of 90 minutes of my life looking at that rubbish
Typical irish moaning..........."the heat", "the ref", "the flight over", "the pitch".......etc etc
Derry didnt charter a flight so they could save some money, about 60,000 grand or so, well done, saved your money:rolleyes:
The pitch is the same for both teams, and wouldnt many LOI pitches be worse, Im thinking of Longford in particular!
The ref was ok, yes it was a peno, but did derry really deserve to win this tie? And I didnt like to see the derry players mouthing off all the time (hence about 3 yellow cards), you do your talking on the pitch
The heat is a factor for both teasm but when you have a 5 man midfield it cant be used as an excuse, especially againsta poor team
Robertson was rubbish, stupid tactics having 5 mids........its not Ac Milan for chriss sakes
Mccourt.......first time i have seen him..........was told he was great.............i didnt notice anything too great
RTe were terrible.................Morley and his "different class"........yeah bottom of the fcuking class more like
Terrible result for the LOI................Derry should have had that team in their pocket
Ok rant over!:)
1. Send a Welsh team over there and see how they fare in those temperatures, I somehow dont think they'd do any better.
2. Who is blaming the ref? Yes he didnt give us a penalty but no-one blamed him.
3. What would you do if you were playing on a pitch that had holes in it filled with concrete.
The fact is this was John Robertson' 3rd game in charge. Had he been here a few weeks longer I think we would have done better. Your concept of both teams having to deal with the temperatures is rubbish, Pyunik are well used to playing in those conditions, its easier for them to acclimatise to our conditions than it is for us to theirs.
When the club booked flights, they were acting for the best of the financial stability of the club. Had we risked spending on a chartered flight and lost, the financial implications would not be good for the club.
The club has learned from past directors mistakes. It took us years to get over our nearly demise in 2002, but we have and we dont want to fall back into the trap again. I firmly believed they acted on the best interests of the club and commend them for that
26/07/2007, 6:28 PM
Saved 60 grand and p!ssed you off somethin fierce despite the fact that our result has absolutely no impact on you or your club....good result all round I think. ;)
Typical irish moaning..........."the heat"
Well im glad you enjoyed watching it in cool weather through a tv:rolleyes:
26/07/2007, 7:21 PM
Some people seem unable to grasp that a lot of the previous Irish club successes in Europe over the past 5 years have been built on an unsustainable cost base.
I've no doubt we'd have performed better had we chartered a plane and incurred another E100k in cost, but that would have been a ridiculous gamble that Derry City couldn't afford.
As usual the reality of EL football and its administration is sadly lacking from many on here, despite more than enough examples of the consequences of clubs getting carried away with themselves.
higgins
26/07/2007, 11:07 PM
Have you ever tried booking 25+ seats on specific planes in the middle of high season?
As for the "numerous airports" that have flights to Yerevan, thats a short list when you exclude the ex-Soviet carriers with dubious safety records.
Aug 27 to 30 - Czech 600euro per person
Dublin Prague Yerevan
Based on 6 people travelling (highest I could enter)
Found on the first flight website I could think of...
So I don't think you can moan about the travel. As was said they had to do the exact same distance.
My 'awful' comments are based on the two legs by the way. Just thought after the poor display in Derry you'd give it a better go out there.
higgins
26/07/2007, 11:15 PM
I've no doubt we'd have performed better had we chartered a plane and incurred another E100k in cost, but that would have been a ridiculous gamble that Derry City couldn't afford.
As usual the reality of EL football and its administration is sadly lacking from many on here, despite more than enough examples of the consequences of clubs getting carried away with themselves.
You do know you get 100K per round in the Champions League ?
What was the cost of a charter flight to Yerevan ?
You also realise that there are more than than 30 seats on planes. Charging fans to fly along with the team can greatly reduce the cost of the flight over.
You didn't deserve the spot. You wanted to make money off something that wasn't even there to begin with. You should have spent whatever it took out of the 100K you get to secure that place in the second round. I'm sure 200K for getting to Round 2 would have more than made up for it.
and what is it with Derry fans having to slag off the team of everyone who makes a comment on Derry ?? :rolleyes: Not the only ones at it, this is foot!!, but theres really no need.
27/07/2007, 9:11 AM
You didn't deserve the spot.
Well you certainly didn't deserve it so I'm not sure who you would've send instead?
Should I be surprised that a Shels fan favours reckless expenditure?
Seems like the penny still hasn't dropped that your recent European achievements were based squarely on an unsustainable cost base that nearly (and may yet) cost the future of your club.
Derry fans aren't willing to let that happen to us again.
If that means our coefficient is overstated (which it undoubtedly has been over the past couple of years), then so be it. At least I'll have a club to support.
Your brass neck/naivety (whichever it is) is unbelievable by the way :eek::confused:
lofty9
27/07/2007, 9:26 AM
You do know you get 100K per round in the Champions League ?
What was the cost of a charter flight to Yerevan ?
The cost to charter a plane was £145,000 sterling. This figure was given in an interview to Radio Foyle a few days after the draw by Jim Roddy. As Bennocelt said, we are not AC Milan.
DaveyCakes
27/07/2007, 11:53 AM
Nonsensical. Its a lot easier for Armenians acclimatising to Irish weather conditions than us to 40 degree heat.
Availability. Have you ever tried booking 25+ seats on specific planes in the middle of high season?
Let me get this straight...My point that the distance from Yerevan to Derry is the same as the distance from Derry to Yerevan is nonsense, because its hotter at the moment in Yerevan than it is in Derry?