View Full Version : Paul McGee a disgrace

Pages : 1 [2] 3

LFC in Exile
24/07/2007, 10:20 AM
from a cobh fans point of view nothing bout results but he really left yere club down that day everybody was talking bout your good support bringing a mascot and all, class flags, noisy, great numbers in the bar, and then the manager tells players to break legs, hard man, then makes faces behind 4th officials back. What a ******** of a man.

Still didn't cost us a point. :cool:

thelimerick
24/07/2007, 10:28 AM
Whether anyone here likes it or not the players have huge respect for ski, together they have ensured L37fc has not dipped below third all season. We do not have dwindling gates, we are not loosing our best players, we are not sliding down the table. We are 6 points off top with all to play for. These are happy days.
Personally speaking I can't see what all the fuss is about.

24/07/2007, 10:45 AM
Well you wouldn't really, given that you are involved personally with the club.

I agree with the points you have made. Things are looking up. However, I don't share your views on the gates. They are not consistent, and are dwindling in my opinion.

The concerns I have are with McGees behaviour, and the inability to commit to a contract or be offered one.

thelimerick
24/07/2007, 11:06 AM

I agree with the points you have made. Things are looking up. However, I don't share your views on the gates. They are not consistent, and are dwindling in my opinion.

The concerns I have are with McGees behaviour, and the inability to commit to a contract or be offered one.

Look I'm simply voicing my personal opinion which I'm very much entitled to do. I think your point on the gates is wrong: It has been the wettest summer since rain was invented and there is no doubt this has contributed to the overall attendence, yet even at that there has always been 500+. Remember that last friday it rained solid right up to an hour or so before the game, 500+ was fantastic.
I'd imagine that if the sun is splitting the rocks come friday the Kildare game will see a big crowd. I think this arguemenyt is really clutching at straws. Regarding Ski I don't know anything about contracts or Athlone and I've yet to be told by anyone what either is all about or even if there is truth in any of it, so until that changes I'm still happy out!

JohnD
24/07/2007, 11:16 AM
From our website today:

July 23rd 2007

Ski Quashes Rumours

Ski was quick to quash rumours this week that he was interested in the Athlone job and that he has no contract with Limerick 37.
Commenting on the rumours he was quick to point out the levels of commitment and effort being put into the club by all involved including his coaching staff at all levels. “The commitment from players and coaching staff is second to none at Limerick and I am proud to be a part of it”. Regarding his contract he commented “I have a 2 year contract with Limerick 37 and I am more than happy with the progress we have made so far, I have worked hard to build a solid squad and will continue to improve things as we move on. It is disappointing that some people can find nothing better to do other than cause mischief instead of getting behind the club”

[/I][/I]

Tir Oilean
24/07/2007, 11:27 AM
Show me one club that allows its manager operate without a contract? .

Limerick !:D As another poster said Magee is it of a looney tune. Good luck with it. Id also have to agree that ye'd always be a bigger club than Athlone.

24/07/2007, 11:41 AM
Regarding his contract he commented “I have a 2 year contract with Limerick 37 and I am more than happy with the progress we have made so far, I have worked hard to build a solid squad and will continue to improve things as we move on. It is disappointing that some people can find nothing better to do other than cause mischief instead of getting behind the club”

I'm glad he has stated that he has a contract. It would have been nice if there was this type of clarification earlier and confusions could have been avoided.The main concern I had regarding this was that he was a free agent and that the club would lose financially if he got the job he applied for.

Hopefully now the next two statements to come from him are an apology to the fans for getting sent off twice in a week and making a mockery of the job he has, and secondly to refute categorically that he applied for the Athlone job and that he is not actively looking to move to what he considers 'a bigger club'.

As for people causing mischief instead of supporting the club. Well, I don't think anybody that has criticised him isn't behind the club. It's having Limerick Eircom League football, who has had many legendary managers in the past, managed by someone who encourages people to break players legs from the sideline, and sets a pretty bad example in general that upsets people.

number16
24/07/2007, 11:59 AM
Ski managed Galway Utd ( and was sacked), and has applied for every job vacated in the LOI in the last few years. He has done this while contracted to another club, and his sideline behaviour described on this site is par for the course. Ski is all about Ski - nothing else. Enjoy the ride, cause won't last.

24/07/2007, 12:06 PM
It is disappointing that some people can find nothing better to do other than cause mischief instead of getting behind the club”
[/I][/I]

hendo take a tip on what never to say to supporters. What a ******* of a man. Causing mischief by bringing over 100 to cobh in full voice for 90mins.

24/07/2007, 12:49 PM
It is disappointing that some people can find nothing better to do other than cause mischief instead of getting behind the club”

Replace getting behind with the word managing and you get a good description of Skee's match day management.

Seriously, how anyone can think it's acceptable to make faces behind official's backs and generally act like Bozo the Clown on the sideline is beyond me. I'm not calling for him to be sacked, unless proven that he tried to leave Limerick for Athlone last week, then I'd hop him out the door to be honest, but I'm sure the club already know whether he did or not (I'm still being told he did, but thats not proof is it).

In fairness In Exile the players looked like they hadn't a clue what to do after Skee was sent off. When Cobh went a man down they had no idea how to exploit that, you can say that that's the players fault, but I'd lay it at the door of the guy who was supposed to be analyising the game and changing tactics accordingly, who at that minute was probably sipping back a pint in the Cobh bar.

Oh and could we have less of this 'stop moaning' attitude, I remember myself and Nempton getting that by the barrell full for criticising Danny straight after he took over the club for the way he sacked Mike Kerley, we called him a clown, most people called us moaners, we were proved right in the end. Similar happened after NOC took us to the top of the league that season, we were called moaners, were told we were biased against him, we continued calling him a poor manager, we were proved right in the end.

L37Ultra
24/07/2007, 12:54 PM

Exactly, he is involved with the club so he can see first hand that Ski is a great manager and that there was no need to start a thread complaining about the manager when things are going so well... Whoever started this thread is just sour and should realise how well things are going. As i said before i thought this season was going to be different, but a lot of Limerick fans have gone back to the bad old days when the negatives seemed to jump out at ye before the positives. "Ski" did not cost us a point in Cobh, it was an unlucky last minute goal. He was an irish international and has great experience so lets get off his back and support our manager!! If you watch this video http://www.tangledupinblueandblack.com/test.html, you will see that McGee really does care and his sending offs were a reaction as he has passion, just like everyone on here. Whether that reaction was over the top or not, is another days conversation. :ball:

L37Ultra
24/07/2007, 1:00 PM
In fairness In Exile the players looked like they hadn't a clue what to do after Skee was sent off. When Cobh went a man down they had no idea how to exploit that, you can say that that's the players fault, but I'd lay it at the door of the guy who was supposed to be analyising the game and changing tactics accordingly, who at that minute was probably sipping back a pint in the Cobh bar.

Doesnt that show how good a manager he is!! That when he got sent off, the team where clueless :rolleyes:

24/07/2007, 1:02 PM
"Ski" did not cost us a point in Cobh, it was an unlucky last minute goal.

That's ******** in fairness, we had no direction on the pitch, so we couldn't push on for a winner, or even close the game out for the draw, and Cobh's goal was very well worked and fully deserved as far as I'm concerned, nothing unlucky about us losing down there

Doesnt that show how good a manager he is!! That when he got sent off, the team where clueless :rolleyes:

I never said he was techinally poor, he clearly isn't, his antics are that of a child though

L37Ultra
24/07/2007, 1:09 PM
I never said he was techinally poor, he clearly isn't, his antics are that of a child though

They are true, but that is no reason to ask for the man to be sacked. Im not suggesting you said that, jebus, but if your agreeing that he is techinally good, then lets get behind the manager and concentrate on the excellent 4-1 win :)

24/07/2007, 1:13 PM
They are true, but that is no reason to ask for the man to be sacked. Im not suggesting you said that, jebus, but if your agreeing that he is techinally good, then lets get behind the manager and concentrate on the excellent 4-1 win :)

I'll happily support him if he didn't apply to be manager of Athlone last week, I don't mind him going at the end of the season, but leaving us in the middle of a promotion chasing season wouldn't be on, and would put him right up there with Jamie Nolan and CP O'Brien in my estimations. You lot may want it proven, but from what I've heard, and from who, I'd more want it disproven than anything else. Until then I shan't be joining in with Skee McGee's Blue and White Army chants, instead will sing Limerick's Blue and White Army

L37Ultra
24/07/2007, 1:17 PM
I'll happily support him if he didn't apply to be manager of Athlone last week, I don't mind him going at the end of the season, but leaving us in the middle of a promotion chasing season wouldn't be on, and would put him right up there with Jamie Nolan and CP O'Brien in my estimations. You lot may want it proven, but from what I've heard, and from who, I'd more want it disproven than anything else. Until then I shan't be joining in with Skee McGee's Blue and White Army chants, instead will sing Limerick's Blue and White Army

Well im yet to have proof that he did apply for the Athlone job so i wont comment on that... How about Ski McGee's............ An Athlone Reject? :D

LFC in Exile
24/07/2007, 1:29 PM
but I'd lay it at the door of the guy who was supposed to be analyising the game and changing tactics accordingly, who at that minute was probably sipping back a pint in the Cobh bar.

Actually he was standing directly behind the dug-out talking to his assistants. He was hard to miss, even from where we were standing. Like the Limerick equivalent of the Tango Man. :)

shelbourne1904
24/07/2007, 1:44 PM

The opposite.Ask anyone in any management walk of life.The test of your management skils is when your not there how does the set up work!!

L37Ultra
24/07/2007, 1:55 PM
I think Ski reads foot.ie lads, :D Quote from Ski Mcgee: "It is disappointing that some people can find nothing better to do other than cause mischief instead of getting behind the club"

24/07/2007, 1:58 PM
i reckon alot of managers do, and i know alot of players do.

24/07/2007, 4:29 PM
"It is disappointing that some people can find nothing better to do other than cause mischief instead of getting behind the club"

This is exactly what I mean! What mischief? If the man hadn't been sent off twice in a row it wouldn't even be an issue! :confused: I don't have to fall behind everything the club does just because I'm a supporter and anybody who thinks I should is living in a Drew Wonderland to be honest.

Our manager, leaving aside his assorted merits for now, has a discipline problem that needs to be corrected. If a player was sent off twice in a row there'd be no excuses about passion and enthusiasm. Passion and enthusiasm are wonderful things but surely we can expect a grown man with McGee's experience to channel them properly?

fc hammer
24/07/2007, 6:45 PM
Great attitude. Nice to see that you're happy to blow a stack of money to finish third bottom. If the club wanted to finish in that position then they would have signed the players to do it, instead of the crack squad that's there now. Before you call people muppets might I suggest a look in the nearest mirror. :rolleyes:

go back and read my post again joesoap.i was talking about when we did'nt know if we were going to have a club to support or not.you lot are never happy shower of big girls the lot of ye!!:)

KevB76
24/07/2007, 7:26 PM

The statement on the website begins "Ski was quick to quash rumours this week that he was interested in the Athlone job ...."
Thats good enough for me.
As I dont know you from Adam, and I dont know your mysterious friend in the know, you'll understand my reluctance to go along with your point of view over the official line.

24/07/2007, 7:36 PM
The statement on the website begins "Ski was quick to quash rumours this week that he was interested in the Athlone job ...."
Thats good enough for me.

It says that alright, but then he doesn't say he didn't apply for it, and in fact he doesn't even mention Athlone after that opening statement, so that's not good enough for me

24/07/2007, 8:44 PM
This is exactly what I mean! What mischief? If the man hadn't been sent off twice in a row it wouldn't even be an issue! :confused: I don't have to fall behind everything the club does just because I'm a supporter and anybody who thinks I should is living in a Drew Wonderland to be honest.

Spot On.

As for the mischief, Ski might want to have a look where the rumour first originated from online rather than blaming the fans ;)

L37Ultra
24/07/2007, 10:34 PM
It says that alright, but then he doesn't say he didn't apply for it, and in fact he doesn't even mention Athlone after that opening statement, so that's not good enough for me

Well i can confirm tonight from speaking with Limerick37 u-21 manager Billy Barrett that Paul Mcgee did not apply for the Athlone job. All a stupid rumour.

waylanderj
24/07/2007, 11:55 PM
Hi Lads
Just my 2 cents worth
I think he was entitled to apply for the job
Most if not all have applied for a job while in another one
if he thought it was a better job well and good ( i don't it is anyway)
we are all entitled to look for another job with more money better terms etc..
As for the double sending that on the other hand i think we need a statment from Ski or the club regarding his behavior
As someone said if that happened to a player sent off twice in a week he and we would expect a fine of some sort
Has Ski had to explain his actions to any of the board of the club(old keeper etc..)
my last point . i have been reading this forum for about a year and a bit now
and to be honest i am a bit disapointed in some people .
if you go back 6 months.The dire state that the club was in
and the current position we find ourselves now !
How can people still be complaing ?how?
Ski isn't the best manager in the world we all know that, thats why he is here, He may do very stupid things now and again. so what!
if you look at Shelborne and look at limerick 37 and their positions we both had similar problems at start of seaon but they had an experianced manager in keely
but we are doing so much better then them with Ski
just think back to Last year
and to where we are now, i for one won't be asking for Ski's head !
relax and enjoy Lads
its nice to be able to talk to other EL fans with a bit of cheer about your own club for a change.

25/07/2007, 7:50 AM
I don't really see anyone calling for his head. The main concerns that some have relate to his behaviour, the alleged approach to Athlone and the fact that everyone was in the dark regarding the contract situation. He has since quelled rumours regarding the contract situation. Fair enough and at least there is some stability there now, which is very important. I just don't know why it took so long to clarify.

A statement from him categorically denying his intentions for the Athlone job are now required, especially as he says he is under contract to Limerick 37.

The club also need to address his image. Aping the officials, playing to the crowd and getting sent off twice in a week are not standards becoming an EL manager. Especially our manager.

Rams-07
25/07/2007, 9:59 AM
We had the problems a few years ago with Dave Hill...the discipline in the club was terrible and the managers antics and comments didn`t help...we had to get rid of him eventually...reading your forum reminds me of that time....ski reminds me a little of hill....

LFC in Exile
25/07/2007, 10:03 AM
A statement from him categorically denying his intentions for the Athlone job are now required, especially as he says he is under contract to Limerick 37.

Jaysus lads what is this - the bloddy peace process? The statement says "quick to quash rumours this week that he was interested in the Athlone job". Is that not enough - you want to give him a form of words that he should utter for a small group of fans that are worried about it? If you are not interested in a job you will not apply for it. I read from the statement that he doesn't want to go to Athlone and (by implication) he wants to stay here. End of.

As our friends up North are wont to say - get over yourselves lads.:rolleyes:

LFC in Exile
25/07/2007, 10:04 AM
ski reminds me a little of hill....

The only Hill he reminds me of is Harry Hill. :)

JohnD
25/07/2007, 10:09 AM
What about ....Benny Hill :D

Battery Rover
25/07/2007, 10:28 AM
This is becoming a bit like the John Gill saga we had a couple of seasons ago. From what I can remeber about it he said he hadn't applied for the Dundalk job even though it had appeared in the Dundalk Democrat but a few weeks later there he was made manager so statements mean nothing.

Lim Till I Die was chatting to me Friday night and asked me did he apply for the job but no one up here other than the chosen few would have access to that info and thats the way it should be but just for the record I don't know where the story started but we had heard about himself and Paugie being interested in the job weeks before the departure of Mickey O'Connor.

It is up to people themselves now to decide if he is a man of his word or just trying to stop the stories that are doing the rounds.

25/07/2007, 10:30 AM
Jaysus lads what is this - the bloddy peace process? The statement says "quick to quash rumours this week that he was interested in the Athlone job". Is that not enough - you want to give him a form of words that he should utter for a small group of fans that are worried about it? If you are not interested in a job you will not apply for it. I read from the statement that he doesn't want to go to Athlone and (by implication) he wants to stay here. End of.

As our friends up North are wont to say - get over yourselves lads.:rolleyes: The statement said that he was quick to quash the rumours..yet when he was directly quoted he didn't do so, and seemed pre-occupied in pointing out that fans were being mischevious.

Fairkop
25/07/2007, 4:24 PM
Replace getting behind with the word managing and you get a good description of Skee's match day management.

Seriously, how anyone can think it's acceptable to make faces behind official's backs and generally act like Bozo the Clown on the sideline is beyond me. I'm not calling for him to be sacked, unless proven that he tried to leave Limerick for Athlone last week, then I'd hop him out the door to be honest, but I'm sure the club already know whether he did or not (I'm still being told he did, but thats not proof is it).

Oh and could we have less of this 'stop moaning' attitude, I remember myself and Nempton getting that by the barrell full for criticising Danny straight after he took over the club for the way he sacked Mike Kerley, we called him a clown, most people called us moaners, we were proved right in the end. Similar happened after NOC took us to the top of the league that season, we were called moaners, were told we were biased against him, we continued calling him a poor manager, we were proved right in the end.
and how exactly were you proved right on the butcher...from what i can recall he did manage over a right few poxy results before his departure...is that what makes him a poor manager,as you said this ..poor.. manager did have us top of the league and prior to departure despite that run were 7pts off the top,s,final league cup,last 16 of fai and won m.s.cup,it became a shambles after he left.as for skee the results have been great,the problem for many is his ego is starting to dominate everything.he actually didn,t apply for the athlone job but what he did do as let the powers that be know he was available to be approached,he was disappointed he was,n no doubt and for people to say its alright for him to tout for other job while managng lims totally demeans the job his supposed to be committed to.if he has signed a contract why no press conference...we,v had one for everything else.also P.B.WIZARDS reference to slippery slopes should not be ignored,the other ego in the club ,while well intentioned, has in recent times let matters off the pitch start to overcome him,already ....a lifeboat has been launched last month....hopefully the club will prevail.

25/07/2007, 4:26 PM
I was proved right on the Butcher in that he was sacked for being a **** manager, clear enough for you, or have you not taken off the NOC blindfold yet? Jesus even Danny would probably concede I was right at this stage :rolleyes:

number16
26/07/2007, 12:12 AM
Ski will break any contract you put in place, because he doesn't give a **** about L37, or indeed any other club, he cares about himself. He has consistently applied for every available LOI job, regardless of contract, over the last few years. Interestingly the word in galway is that he had agreed a new improved contract with his existing club the night before he was announced by L37. So much for loyalty.
Ski is a legend.

thelimerick
26/07/2007, 8:07 AM
"I love playing with Limerick 37, they're a great bunch of lads, the manager is top class and it is great to see all soccer in Limerick under the one umbrella"
Paul Finucane (This weeks Limerick Independent)
Maybe I'm stupid but the fact that Ski has the squad behind him and we're third pushing hard for promotion is enough for me. On a personal level I don't have any reason to doubt Ski's statement.

LFC in Exile
26/07/2007, 8:07 AM
Ski will break any contract you put in place, because he doesn't give a **** about L37, or indeed any other club, he cares about himself. He has consistently applied for every available LOI job, regardless of contract, over the last few years. Interestingly the word in galway is that he had agreed a new improved contract with his existing club the night before he was announced by L37. So much for loyalty.
Ski is a legend.

So what you're saying he is like the vast majority of football players and managers then.

number16
26/07/2007, 12:06 PM
Most people, in life, look out for number one. Most people have a degree of loyalty, and most people have an ounce of common sense.
Ski scores on only one of the above.

26/07/2007, 8:39 PM
"I love playing with Limerick 37, they're a great bunch of lads, the manager is top class and it is great to see all soccer in Limerick under the one umbrella"
Paul Finucane (This weeks Limerick Independent)
Maybe I'm stupid but the fact that Ski has the squad behind him and we're third pushing hard for promotion is enough for me. On a personal level I don't have any reason to doubt Ski's statement.

The more I think about it I'm inclined to agree :eek:

Once the players are happy under him it doesn't really matter what we think

Needtoknow
26/07/2007, 9:31 PM
The more I think about it I'm inclined to agree :eek:

Once the players are happy under him it doesn't really matter what we think

Totally agree! I don't want to sound too optimistic, but we will win the league! :eek::D

26/07/2007, 9:45 PM
Totally agree! I don't want to sound too optimistic, but we will win the league! :eek::D

Have you been sucking the Apple Sauce again :D

Needtoknow
27/07/2007, 12:43 AM
Have you been sucking the Apple Sauce again :D

Beautiful Apple sauce.:D:D ooooooooohhhh

the hoops
27/07/2007, 6:42 AM
robbie hammond thinks lim37 will win it anyway:eek: go to flannereys always singing there praises but then again he does the same with aisling what did they ever win?

27/07/2007, 10:03 AM
robbie hammond thinks lim37 will win it anyway:eek: go to flannereys always singing there praises but then again he does the same with aisling what did they ever win?

I don't know, I follow grown ups football

ramblers
28/07/2007, 3:51 PM
"We had the problems a few years ago with Dave Hill...the discipline in the club was terrible and the managers antics and comments didn`t help...we had to get rid of him eventually...reading your forum reminds me of that time....ski reminds me a little of hill...."

Rams 07 Dave Hill resigned we did not get rid of him. There was nothing wrong with the disipline in his first season in charge. The disipline problem came later due to the lack of backing from the commitee at the time. Which caused frustration for everyone involved.

And also remember he got us to the playoffs in his first season how long has it taken Hendo and we are still not there.

A Dave Hill was nothing like ski he never sent out players to break other players legs.

If you dont know the facts then dont say anything.

ramsfan
28/07/2007, 4:20 PM
dave hill was a nutter, should have been sacked before he resigned

28/07/2007, 11:19 PM
Rams 07 Dave Hill resigned we did not get rid of him. There was nothing wrong with the disipline in his first season in charge. The disipline problem came later due to the lack of backing from the commitee at the time. Which caused frustration for everyone involved.

And also remember he got us to the playoffs in his first season how long has it taken Hendo and we are still not there.*

A Dave Hill was nothing like ski he never sent out players to break other players legs.**
If you dont know the facts then dont say anything.

*tut bloody tut,:mad: hill wouldnt do what hendo done this year.
** he did it himself, that y didnt ask players to do it.

Anyway IMO Hill was a class manager really liked him at Rams, was very disapointed at the time to see him go, I remember though everytime we played Lim Sadloserkid and co, winding him all game and Hill embarassing us everytime getting sent off, wit Ski we dont even have to open our mouths and he embarasses himself and the club, i always thought and always will think of Dave Hill as being a great manager really proud of him when he was at Rams, and i agree with u that if he had more support he would have been far more sucsessful, Ski with what hes got isnt doing a bad job in fairness, a clown, but a good manager, third, for a newly formed clubs with little or no pre season isnt bad and he doesnt have the wage bill to match Dundalk and so on Limerick have been up there all season long and have beaten us and drawn Dunalk and us. Really worth there place in 3rd and hope they beat harps to 3rd mainly because of the difference in ambition i seen between the two clubs on the field, and thats y i do say Ski is a ok manager.

Ramblers, (your name is as imaginative as your comments bout hendo by the way) I think even lim fans would say that what Hendo has done under circumstances this season especially is near miracolous, and for you to come on a lim site and say how dave hill is better than hendo, is really lettin our club down. Thats all i say bout that. (fingers fookin fallin off after that one:D)

28/07/2007, 11:23 PM
I remember though everytime we played Lim Sadloserkid and co, winding him all game and Hill embarassing us everytime getting sent off

I met Dave Hill in Cork once actually after his Cobh spell and he turned out to be a pretty decent guy. :)