View Full Version : Derry City v FC Pyunik (Live)

17/07/2007, 11:09 AM
for those of you outside of ireland and have internet access, PM me and i will tell you where you can watch it.

can someone edit the title to read the other way round....

18/07/2007, 6:35 PM
i tryyyeeeeed to soiiiggn the lad when he was at ipswich, this is about me me me me me me me me me, why amn't i managing a team playing in europe? :D

LeixlipRed
18/07/2007, 6:37 PM
good spot paul!! Roddy ya tool. Also Dave Barry seemed to have some difficulty saying the word turmoil :D

18/07/2007, 6:45 PM
I've laid Derry at 1.67 on betfair

18/07/2007, 6:47 PM
who else have you laid recently?

im assuming on derry to win, thats decent enough. stil remember armenia beat poland, and they have 7 or so internationals plus that striker who scored the goal

18/07/2007, 6:47 PM
McCourt goes close.

18/07/2007, 6:48 PM
First chance for Derry. Surprise, surprse it was McCourt

18/07/2007, 6:49 PM
who else have you laid recently?

im assuming on derry to win, thats decent enough. stil remember armenia beat poland, and they have 7 or so internationals plus that striker who scored the goal

Laid meaning I backed against Derry winning

18/07/2007, 6:49 PM
savage run inside and shot.

18/07/2007, 6:50 PM
Derry much the better start

18/07/2007, 6:54 PM
martyn should have left the ball there the dope. its always nervy when an Irish team are on the back foot around the 18 yard box or being counter-attacked.

Mccourt playing very well. Derry holding up the ball a lot better than the last time i saw them, prolly because more time on the ball to do so.

Morrow looks a step above the rest of them.

Great challenge by mcglynn( is it? ) on the counter attack there.

LeixlipRed
18/07/2007, 6:55 PM
McCourt running the show. Better b careful or he'll find himself playing in the Iranian 1st Division next year

18/07/2007, 6:58 PM
McCourt running the show. Better b careful or he'll find himself playing in the Iranian 1st Division next year

Stretching it a bit. He's got the ball twice...

18/07/2007, 6:59 PM
Molloy from distance which keeper parries.

it was an easy save to make

18/07/2007, 7:04 PM
Stretching it a bit. He's got the ball twice...

he has had the ball more than that, just 2 clear chances

surface is awful uneven and bumpy.

18/07/2007, 7:05 PM
Yeah, now he has... Back then though :)

LeixlipRed
18/07/2007, 7:06 PM
Set pieces from Derry have been very poor so far

LeixlipRed
18/07/2007, 7:08 PM
Did Hamilton just say Derry got to the 3rd round of CL qualifying last year??

18/07/2007, 7:09 PM
Did Hamilton just say Derry got to the 3rd round of CL qualifying last year??

Yep

For the record Derry's odds just below waht they were pre match. I've also backed 0-0 at 10 on betfair

LeixlipRed
18/07/2007, 7:11 PM
Ah George you fool. Anyone noticed the balding assitant referees have matching moustaches? :D Seperated at birth

18/07/2007, 7:17 PM
are ye ennjoying the match that much lexlip? ya i saw that too!!! funny!! :D

set pieces have been terible, that free that morrow won the resulting free kick was terrible. straight into a puny player.

one of several south americans?

18/07/2007, 7:19 PM
very good point there, punik havent done much but its been hard to gauge whether they really are that limited. its becoming a bit tame now to be honest....derry need to get back on top again. from my limited viewing experience of derry, kenny seemed to be very good at keeping them motivated throughout the game.

paddy oshan has anyone else noticed thats what his name sounds like>

has kelly been dropped since handing in a transfer request or was he dropped before that?

18/07/2007, 7:30 PM
robertson looks like "is this what i signed myself up for?" :D

18/07/2007, 7:31 PM
After a good opening its been a terrible game. Armenians not looking for anything other than 0-0 and I'm not sure Derry have enough going forward (McCourt apart)

gufcfan
18/07/2007, 7:33 PM
Hope derry dont let pyiunik... or whatever they are called into the game in the second half. if derry got a goal, pyuin dont look like they'd have it in them to pull it back here

18/07/2007, 7:36 PM
derry need 2 goals to win this overall. im confident they will score at home. But you are right dodge nothing to offer, and its their attacking midfield that is the problem, morrow and mccourty are alright but thats about it.

in fairness roddy is talking sense......

18/07/2007, 7:38 PM
Dear God, this is a desperate game of football. Dunno why people were talking Pyunik up, they're game enough and fairly well-disciplined but techinically they look primitive and they don't even seem that fit.

18/07/2007, 7:43 PM
Dunno why people were talking Pyunik up.

It's the Irish thing to do. :rolleyes:

18/07/2007, 7:44 PM
mypost has the night shift started?

LeixlipRed
18/07/2007, 7:45 PM
Agree, Pyunik are rubbish. It's a terrible game. Derry want to win this 2-0 but I can't see that happening

18/07/2007, 7:51 PM
derry need 2 goals to win this overall...

No they don't!
1-1 away would do them, and the way it's going, that score is not likely to come until extra time, in the second leg.

18/07/2007, 7:56 PM
these lads dont appear to be up to much, but when they get home they could be a completely different kettle of fish. Therefore 2-0 at home is required for comfort. IF they cant score at home, in front of their home crowd ( almost full ), then how after a 3000 mile trip ( that these boys arent used to )do you think they will score away from home?

great run there by mccourt, how was their not a midfiedler running onto that?

18/07/2007, 8:00 PM
great chance there for martyn, should have done better totally unmarked, again not taking chances typical of EL teams in europe. You arent going to get an easier chance than that....

18/07/2007, 8:04 PM
Laid the 0-0 off at 2.72 for lovely profit any score. Backed Derry at 2.2

18/07/2007, 8:09 PM
i wish i understood betfair better.....fair play.

that was crap there, great ball by mccourt again and such a bad shot/cross by martyn again.

18/07/2007, 8:12 PM
lovely build up play again, but what does that martyn fella need?

tippex
18/07/2007, 8:19 PM
mcallion's final ball has been dreadful

18/07/2007, 8:25 PM
one really worrying thing about derry is the ease pyunik have ran through the middle of the field without any tackles being made until near the 18 yard line.

18/07/2007, 8:40 PM
"Yeah, well, it was a hard chance for CiarĂ¡n because, when you watch it, he was coming out of the box and it cae to him wrong and...oh no, well maybe he wasn't"

Mongo

tippex
18/07/2007, 8:40 PM
best comment yet "mccourt is just like George Best" lol

18/07/2007, 8:47 PM
best comment yet "mccourt is just like George Best" lol

or as someone over on the bohs mb said, he's just like Seanie from big brother

Seanie (http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/images/2006/1025/thumb/1161565747906_1.jpg)

Paddy McCourt (http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42413000/jpg/_42413692_seany.jpg)

18/07/2007, 8:56 PM
the funniest line was:

"john knows about Europe, hes been there before" ...."he nearly knows as much as I do" :D thats waht he wanted to say next.

18/07/2007, 9:02 PM
I fell asleep. Glad of the 0-0 financially though

sonofstan
18/07/2007, 9:06 PM
'The Dalai Lama is in Derry today for a conference, but even he would have difficulty maintaining his composure in the Brandywell tonight'

Tenuous or what?, (from George)

LeixlipRed
18/07/2007, 9:41 PM
The Dalai Lama is counted among John Hume, that lad off TV and Jesus as one of Derry's most famous fans. Unfortunately, even he couldn't get a ticket tonight as the Derry fateful flocked to see some of the worst crossing in the world courtesy of young Eddie McCallion. But he did manage to find his way to a local for a few pints with those other ticketless fans and was heard saying "If only Paddy would shave his flowing locks and join us at our mountain retreat, his karma on the pitch would help enlighten the folks back home"

18/07/2007, 10:09 PM
Paul O'Shea - where'd you watch the game tonight ?

We were all up in the Quays on Holloway Rd. The boys will be back up there again next Weds if you fancy joining them (except those of us who are off to Yerevan.... :D)

harry crumb
18/07/2007, 10:10 PM
The Dalai Lama is counted among John Hume, that lad off TV and Jesus as one of Derry's most famous fans. Unfortunately, even he couldn't get a ticket tonight as the Derry fateful flocked to see some of the worst crossing in the world courtesy of young Eddie McCallion. But he did manage to find his way to a local for a few pints with those other ticketless fans and was heard saying "If only Paddy would shave his flowing locks and join us at our mountain retreat, his karma on the pitch would help enlighten the folks back home"

Very good:D

18/07/2007, 10:27 PM
Derry were awful tonight. I wouldn't be surprised if this goes to penalties.

Aaron
18/07/2007, 10:31 PM
Derry were awful tonight. I wouldn't be surprised if this goes to penalties.

18/07/2007, 10:34 PM
Sad.