View Full Version : Worst ground for visitors
Im preparing an article and im just wondering what everyone's worst 3 stadium are for the visiting supporter. this could range from poor stewarding, to worst facilities, to most risk of trouble before/after game, ie most hostile atmosphere.
northern lads feel free to submit your views, but fot this artcile im really only interested in eL grounds
16/07/2007, 9:22 PM
its got to be united park. the facilities are, frankly, pathetic and embarrassing at this level of football, and you're guaranteed of those little ****s by the corner on the way out of the town pelting your bus with stones.can't comment on the stewarding except that there weren't enough to be noticeable.
tolka is the most disheartening. here is where most people in ireland think of when they think eircom league ground - and its got trees growing in one of its stands.
dishonourable mention goes to flancare park for being the coldest place in the known universe.
Rovers fan
16/07/2007, 9:29 PM
.can't comment on the stewarding except that there weren't enough to be noticeable.
The meanies took drink and a whistle off me:mad::mad:
16/07/2007, 9:34 PM
Worst facilities is definitely Finn Park in my view.
gufcfan
16/07/2007, 10:10 PM
Worst facilities is definitely Finn Park in my view.
I haven't been to all of other el grounds but finn park wasnt the best of them
gufcfan
16/07/2007, 10:11 PM
Slightly off-top but what do people think of terryland park?
It's nice, a credit to the Galway FA :) . In all fairness a very good ground now and with a bit of development at each end will be truly excellent.
Weird the way noise doesn't travel along the old stand though.
16/07/2007, 10:16 PM
This thread is just asking for trouble and i'll give it another 10 posts before it decends into chaos.
16/07/2007, 10:24 PM
united park.. what a kip..
This thread is just asking for trouble and i'll give it another 10 posts before it decends into chaos.
Yip- quite looking forward to it.
There are very few decent grounds in Ireland, and none without either problems with the facilities or the matchday management.
16/07/2007, 10:29 PM
United Park is one of my favourite actually. Great stand for away fans :cool:. Facilities don't really bother me just happy enough with a bit of cover for when it starts pishing down.
Most disheartening for me is the RSC - poxy running track :rolleyes:
Gotta agree with that, United Park has always been one of my favourite trips.
Aaron
16/07/2007, 10:35 PM
Finn Park. Awful view, ****e ground, need milkcrates to see. ****e!!:)
16/07/2007, 10:41 PM
Now St. Merls is gone it makes it a lot more closer in terms of bad quality....
Tolka is poor and getting poorer definetely...Finn Park is also fairly poor....didn't like Belfield at all to be honest...
16/07/2007, 10:50 PM
Would milk bottles not do a slightly better job?!
:D:p
16/07/2007, 10:56 PM
The Brandywell hands down. You can't see the game from where they put the away fans.
The Carlisle is next for me just because its always windy which ruins the game (even more than Bohs style of play).
Belfield Park comes in a close third.
I have to say I love the away shed in United park and I'll be sorry to see it go.
LeixlipRed
16/07/2007, 11:07 PM
Turner's Cross has the worst toilet facilities for away fans in the league. One portaloo! It's a joke considering how good the rest of the ground is. Have they rectified this since the new shed went in?
16/07/2007, 11:08 PM
Turner's Cross has the worst toilet facilities for away fans in the league. One portaloo! It's a joke considering how good the rest of the ground is. Have they rectified this since the new shed went in?
They had three portaloos at the cross this year for us. Maybe they like us better? :D
sonofstan
16/07/2007, 11:09 PM
The ground I least like going to is Belfield; not really facilities related, more the total lack of atmosphere; doesn't help that i spend a lot of time there anyway, so it feels a bit like being at work. The RSC is similarly uninspiring, though i like Waterford as a city at least; problem with the RSC is the running track, the one stand, and the fact that I've never seen a decent game there.
Tolka, while the venue of one of my favourite days football - one guess - is dislikeable for the fact that it takes forever to get out of the Riverside, there's pillars everywhere and my two least favourite teams play there.....
I share the affection above for United Park, and agree that Finn Park is a dump, but again, like going there; like Terryland, neutral about the Showgrounds, dislike Flancare; despite the awful view from the away end, I like the Brandywell - at least its usually fullish - and really like Turner's Cross and Richmond. Monaghan's cute too. Haven't been to Jackman, Wexford or Cobh
harry crumb
16/07/2007, 11:11 PM
Graveyards
1. Belfield
2. RSC
Kips
1. Colmans Park
2. Richmond Park(before the new owner)
16/07/2007, 11:13 PM
I share the affection above for United Park, and agree that Finn Park is a dump, but again, like going there; like Terryland, neutral about the Showgrounds, dislike Flancare; despite the awful view from the away end, I like the Brandywell - at least its usually fullish - and really like Turner's Cross and Richmond. Monaghan's cute too. Haven't been to Jackman, Wexford or Cobh
Awww bless :D
16/07/2007, 11:14 PM
Worst-
Finn Park
Colemans Park(Cobh)
Any Limerick Ground is usually poor.
Connaught Street
Oriel
Flancare
Hogan Park
in my experience
16/07/2007, 11:27 PM
They had three portaloos at the cross this year for us. Maybe they like us better? :D
i can confirm it is now 3. With the derrynane stand (the one away fans go in) being so shallow and the st anns end (the as-yet uncovered hill with seats) being open, there is no place for a permanent toilet near the away fans section. i doubt the 3 ever get used, there are rarely more than a handful of away fans to experience the stadium anyway.
however, i have to question your nomination as the worst for toilet facilities - waterford united only provide a single shared urinal for both sets of fans, and tolka park itself has that absolutely disgusting tunnel thing for away fans, which regularly floods. nothing worse than ****ing whilst in 3 inches of water. also, the tap was not working as of our last cup game. having to walk from the riverside stand to that kip is surely worse than walking across to the relatively fantastic facilities under the donie forde, even without the extra 2 portaloos?
16/07/2007, 11:31 PM
Hogan Park
No longer a league ground. That said Jackman is pretty basic too. Think Monaghan is a bit of a hole too, only one baby stand that's puzzlingly far back from the pitch. RSC is souless.
16/07/2007, 11:33 PM
Richmond.
Snoop Drog
17/07/2007, 12:13 AM
its got to be united park.
Let it go GZ, your anti-Drog rants are getting more and more tiresome...
As if Langerland is like the feckin San Siro.
17/07/2007, 12:14 AM
The dinginess of the RSC is very disheartening.
As said above it's a bit of a graveyard and in that sense, helps the team.
I wouldn't be too enthusiastic about it if i was a WUFC fan though.
One-sided ground with a crap view far back from the pitch and a running track to add in.
Packie Holden shouting at the ballboys to slow down and waste time.
Sound out stewards don't amount to a redeeming factor.
17/07/2007, 12:35 AM
Let it go GZ, your anti-Drog rants are getting more and more tiresome...
As if Langerland is like the feckin San Siro.Compared to United park, it is. The wonderful thing is, the FAI and UEFA ground inspectors agree with me!
I fail to see how its "another anti drog rant" (when was my last? i thought i was focusing on slaphead mcdonell this year :confused: ), as it wouldnt matter if we played there ourselves, its a terrible ground, and drogs are doing the right thing in abandoning it anyway, right?
Celdrog
17/07/2007, 12:54 AM
waterford united only provide a single shared urinal for both sets of fans
I was down there a few weeks ago and there was a proper gents toilet at the side of the stand, plenty of urinals and cubicles sinks and paper towels.
17/07/2007, 2:48 AM
I was down there a few weeks ago and there was a proper gents toilet at the side of the stand, plenty of urinals and cubicles sinks and paper towels.
4 cubicles, 1 "wall" style urinal, unsegregated and in only one part of the ground - though the paper towels are an advancement! :eek:
Snoop Drog
17/07/2007, 3:07 AM
I fail to see how its "another anti drog rant" (when was my last?
Only this week Langer with your prediction that we would be trounced in San Marino.
17/07/2007, 3:09 AM
Only this week Langer with your prediction that we would be trounced in San Marino.
what? :confused: my prediction was 1:1, away from home. hardly a trouncing, but i think you might underestimate them.
You've got the wrong langer i think! :p
Snoop Drog
17/07/2007, 3:17 AM
You've got the wrong langer i think! :p
Ah well, you all look the same to me ;)
Snoop Drog
17/07/2007, 3:37 AM
While we are on the subject...
I recall United Park being listed as a favourite of many visiting fans in a previous thread. Ok, they certainly aren't coming for the corporate facitites (such as seats...) but they acknowledged that the tight enclosed ground can lead to a cracking athmosphere.
Although the lack of toilets and crumbling facade is obviously a big problem, the "real football ground" feel of United Park makes it popular with some.
I like United Park for the reasons above. Love Richmond for much the same reasons (obviousky enough)
In terms of facilities Belfield and Finn park are ptretty bad (never been to Limericks ground)
Oriel is the ground I least like going to. By a country ****ing mile too.
Mental Man
17/07/2007, 7:00 AM
4 cubicles, 1 "wall" style urinal, unsegregated and in only one part of the ground - though the paper towels are an advancement! :eek:
I always love the meaningless comments that always spew forth from our near neighbours, if its not 1 thing its another, toilet facilities have always been bad at the RSC i admit it, but the new stand is about to commence very shortly and that will be rectified along with a complete overhaul of the whole ground. :p
I look forward to our visit to Turners Cross tonight and the fantatsic toilet facilities that they provide in the ground , its like a balancing act when you go to use them, 1 false move and its on the ground with the occupant inside it?
Do every house in Cork use portaloos?
I wouldn't be too enthusiastic about it if i was a WUFC fan though.
We're not. Believe me. Hopefully, as MM said, the new stand will make a difference.
17/07/2007, 8:09 AM
Im preparing an article and im just wondering what everyone's worst 3 stadium are for the visiting supporter. this could range from poor stewarding, to worst facilities, to most risk of trouble before/after game, ie most hostile atmosphere.
northern lads feel free to submit your views, but fot this artcile im really only interested in eL grounds
Pointless negativity for the league if u ask me
17/07/2007, 8:15 AM
No longer a league ground. That said Jackman is pretty basic too. Think Monaghan is a bit of a hole too, only one baby stand that's puzzlingly far back from the pitch. RSC is souless.
Our stand was built at a time when there were plans to turn the pitch so that it would be behind the goal hence the distance from the pitch.
Anyways u havent been up to see it this season, its very prettyful now!
Worst ground for me is the Showgrounds, stewards with no manners, filthy toilets, looks like Beruit as u come in and a hostile crowd. I hear there are loads of improvements being made and am glad.
monutdfc
17/07/2007, 8:31 AM
I hate our stand, and the fact that it's so far from the pitch means that there's never an atmosphere except when it's full. As a Dundalk fan observed to me last time we were in Oriel, it's hard enough to get the fans into KCP, but with that stand it's harder to keep them because the place is dead.
Plus it's at an angle to the pitch so every pass looks offside!
ghBohs
17/07/2007, 8:55 AM
Milltown. Can't see the pitch no matter where you stand.
sfc red
17/07/2007, 9:02 AM
Derry for not being able to see the pitch, Cork for having 300 stewards for every one Shels fan, Dundalk for having no shelter for away fans, Belfield for lack of any atmosphere whatsoever and the RSC for the running track. Have to mention the Connaught St stand too - absolute kip.
Love United Park, Inchicore, Athlone and of course Limerick :)
Ahh I remember the good old days when St Mels Park - Stadium of Tin
would top the poll every time in this category.
Instead of a toilet we had the old unisex, multipurpose wall, sheltered
by a bit of galvanised, behind the far goal.
The old television/reporter gantry that looked like a tower from a WW II
concentration camp.
The roof over the terrace behind the far goals that blew down in the storms
and we couldnt afford to repair it cos the insurance didnt cover "acts of God"
Railway sleepers instead of steps in the terrace and also instead of seats in the mini stand
Good times :p
17/07/2007, 9:09 AM
drog park wouldn't be too bad if the away terrace wasn't so uneven. Myself and many others, have gone on our ear, while celebrating goals, because of a misplaced foot.
Tolka is an absolute kip, which is ironic, given how the FAI seem to love it so much. I would vote to have it razed to the ground.
The RSC is one of the least desirable places to visit. It's not a football ground!
17/07/2007, 9:10 AM
Colmans has new dressin rooms, brand new toilets on both ends, fair enough the stand is in progress but our place is improving so much to be fair.
It just as bad in that end block of the stand in the Brandywell where you lot alway put us
Showgrounds has detoriated so much and the entrance is absolutely shocking.
17/07/2007, 9:28 AM
Derry for not being able to see the pitchIts fairly hard to see it from the 1st division alright...
sfc red
17/07/2007, 9:35 AM
Good man, nominate yourself for POTM there