View Full Version : Foot.ie team?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

theworm2345
11/07/2007, 11:37 PM
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2177
I figure the site could sponsor a team with members of the site comprising it. I don't know the talent level here.

11/07/2007, 11:42 PM
Well we did play a Dutch side last year (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=29173&highlight=foot.ie+dutch):D.

12/07/2007, 1:56 AM
I am a hero. I play football.

12/07/2007, 8:49 AM
Well we did play a Dutch side last year (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=29173&highlight=foot.ie+dutch):D.
Unfortunately.....

12/07/2007, 10:30 AM
did ye win?

aido_b
12/07/2007, 10:46 AM
I've never been around for the previous matches but am well up for playing this year!

12/07/2007, 1:38 PM
And also played boards.ie last year

There's a decent team amongst a motley crew to be had if there's regular participation :D

12/07/2007, 1:38 PM
Time it well, and I might come back for it.

Dunno about the prospect of playing in the "A" Championship though, we'd be a bit lacking in the fitness, talent, experience and sobriety stakes.

Now if we were talking about the A League in Australia, things might be different...

kdjaC
12/07/2007, 1:53 PM
And also played boards.ie last year

There's a decent team amongst a motley crew to be had if there's regular participation :D

Not that day ;)

Anto McC stood out as a very good player.

kdjac

12/07/2007, 2:06 PM
Not that day ;)You didn't see me in action that day though*;)

*Lucky for you:o

LeixlipRed
12/07/2007, 3:24 PM
Not that day ;)

kdjac

Yeh he's a quality player. Peter Crouchesque :D

12/07/2007, 3:27 PM
Not that day ;)

It was only late on that the goals piled in...:p

kdjaC
12/07/2007, 3:31 PM
It was only late on that the goals piled in...:p

I scored in the 3rd minute, oh you were in goal :D

kdjac

neville neville
12/07/2007, 3:37 PM
is there not a few EL players mascerading as normal posters around here, i remember reading about Gary Dicker been caught out at one stage by some UCD lads????

and theres probably a load more

fill the team with them lads

12/07/2007, 3:39 PM
fill the team with them ladsYeah but they'd be too busy playing for EL sides that they won't be able to play in A championship.

12/07/2007, 3:48 PM
Peter Crouchesque :D

I'm better than him for a start.

Thanks for all the praise lads :o I'm interested if it gets up and running anyway.

Foot.ie have had a few games,there was one against Northen Ireland one Febuary (that gspain organised,i think). The one against the Dutch that Sligoman pointed out and we'd that one against the Boards.ie team recently enough. I'm sure we could muster a team from the rements of those 3.

neville neville
12/07/2007, 3:50 PM
Yeah but they'd be too busy playing for EL sides that they won't be able to play in A championship.

ok i didnt think it thru

12/07/2007, 3:50 PM
I scored in the 3rd minute, oh you were in goal :D

Maybe...I got a knee to the head in the first couple of minutes, the ball could've been going in 10 times and I wouldn't have noticed a thing :D

12/07/2007, 3:53 PM
dfx was quality in goal against the boards.ie team that day,even with concussion.

aido_b
12/07/2007, 5:17 PM
would anyone be up for an eleven a side at some stage over the next month, at least then we can see if we have enough decent players to enter a league?!

LeixlipRed
12/07/2007, 5:28 PM
Didn't play in the other games but i'd defo be up for it. Anto McC can testify that I can atleast kick a ball anyway :D

12/07/2007, 5:42 PM
...I got a knee to the head in the first couple of minutes

Did some Sligo fella push a defender into you:confused: They're always at that. :)

12/07/2007, 5:57 PM
would anyone be up for an eleven a side at some stage over the next month, at least then we can see if we have enough decent players to enter a league?!

We should have enough decent players. The Dutch game was close enough at 10-8 against a fitter side who played a good bit. I'd be up for 'keeper anyway.

They are indeed Jerry, but alas not on this occasion...and the ball didn't go in either :cool: :)

12/07/2007, 7:38 PM
I'll defo sign up again. You always need a striker........that gets caught offside a lot. In fairness, the guy doing the lines wasn't even a proper lino. :D

12/07/2007, 7:39 PM
We should have enough decent players. The Dutch game was close enough at 10-8 against a fitter side who played a good bit. I'd be up for 'keeper anyway.
Not forgetting Speedy Gonzalez up front!

12/07/2007, 11:16 PM
Didn't play in the other games but i'd defo be up for it. Anto McC can testify that I can atleast kick a ball anyway :D

He can indeed,he can even kick it straight :p

I'd be up for an 11 a side if it gets going and i'd have another lad with me too.

LeixlipRed
12/07/2007, 11:24 PM
I'm a shoe in now. Cheers anto :D

13/07/2007, 12:48 AM
If Rovers are away in Dublin the weekend ye play, it's possible I could go again, not that I was any good:D.

Kildare Lad
13/07/2007, 11:17 AM
What age will most of youse playing be?

13/07/2007, 11:33 AM
I'm looking to join a team at the moment so foot.ie might be as good as any. If it looks like getting going, even a one off match I'd be interested.

On a slightly related note does anyone on here play for Terenure FC? It'd be handy for me to join as it's nearby.

13/07/2007, 12:10 PM
What age will most of youse playing be?
I'm 19.

13/07/2007, 12:29 PM
I'm interested in playing.

LeixlipRed
13/07/2007, 3:07 PM
I'm 22. This weather is aging me at an increased rate though. Plus our match is off tonight :(

theworm2345
15/07/2007, 4:36 PM
Don't forget you don't have to join the 3rd tier, there is also a 4th tier if you don't think you'll be good enough to play in the 3rd.
EDIT: nevermind, the 4th tier is U-20s

aido_b
17/07/2007, 10:49 PM
Are we still interested in getting this going lads?!

17/07/2007, 10:57 PM
Are we still interested in getting this going lads?!
I am anyway.

17/07/2007, 10:59 PM
im in if so

17/07/2007, 11:11 PM
I am indeed...might need to get meself some boots/gloves this time though:o

17/07/2007, 11:16 PM
might need to get meself some boots/gloves this time though:oWould these suit? (http://shoes.lovetoknow.com/images/b/b6/Brown_cowboy_boot.jpg):D

LeixlipRed
17/07/2007, 11:30 PM
I'm definitely on for this. Somone get organising and hen i'll just turn up like the lazy sod i am :D

17/07/2007, 11:42 PM
Would these suit? (http://shoes.lovetoknow.com/images/b/b6/Brown_cowboy_boot.jpg):D

They can't be worse:D

18/07/2007, 6:09 PM
I'll show up if it gets off the ground. I'll make the tea at half time or something

18/07/2007, 8:57 PM
Are we forming a proper team for a league? Or is it just a one-off thing?

18/07/2007, 9:03 PM
Somebody needs to take the bull by the horns and organise this. I'm no good at this kinda of thing and to be honest it's way too much effort for me but be it a one off game or a team,count me in.

bray boy
18/07/2007, 9:33 PM
how old do you have to be???

LeixlipRed
18/07/2007, 9:34 PM
Well if it's a once off game who can we play against? Perhaps the Shels AFL team would give us a game and I'm sure plenty of you on here would love to get one over on a team wearing Shels jerseys :)

LeixlipRed
18/07/2007, 9:35 PM
how old do you have to be???

How old are you?

bray boy
18/07/2007, 9:37 PM
does it matter though ???

LeixlipRed
18/07/2007, 9:43 PM
Well there'll be the obligatory check of ID before the warm up so you better had get your story straight now :D

bray boy
19/07/2007, 2:11 PM
so just turn up then yeah??